Everything About Blu-ray Movies v2, Blu-ray media discussions

aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 09:25 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(dynamike @ Aug 27 2009, 09:13 AM)
hi evrybody,

im new to bluray stuff. need to ask sifu sifu for review about pq and sq before i buy my 1st bluray movie. does every movie have bd live?here are my wish list;
1.)ipman
2.)kungfu hustle
3.)fifth element
3.)dark knight
4.)quantum of solace and casino royale
5.)final fantasy advent children complete.
6.)total recall
8.)300
9.)taken
10.)planet earth

hope u guys who owned the title can reviewed it. or maybe we can create a sticky thread for movie review. convenience for everybody
Quick personal PQ/AQ verdict:

1.)ipman - Haven't watch
2.)kungfu hustle - Excellent PQ/AQ
3.)fifth element - Excellent PQ/AQ
3.)dark knight - Excellent PQ/AQ
4.)quantum of solace and casino royale - Excellent PQ/AQ
5.)final fantasy advent children complete. - Haven't watch, but general reviews are good
6.)total recall - Don't have, but general reviews are not good
8.)300 - Don't have
9.)taken - Excellent PQ/AQ
10.)planet earth - Excellent PQ, AQ even though lossy, not bad really.

Professional review:

http://www.blu-ray.com
http://www.highdefdgest.com

Added on August 27, 2009, 9:32 am
QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Aug 27 2009, 09:24 AM)
you're wrong. blu-ray.com is the crappiest site of all review. See the name also u know la BLU-RAY.COM

you dare to say blu-ray.com is better than AVSforum - this already proves how shallow you are  doh.gif
Blu-ray.com is not affiliated with the Blu-ray Disc Association though. smile.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 27 2009, 09:32 AM
aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 09:41 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 27 2009, 09:32 AM)
so if its region lock, can our local BD player play??
For US version of course can, the disc locked for region A, our local BDPs are region A as well.

But for UK version, if locked then can't play with our local BDPs.

Remember we're in the same region with US, but not Europe/Australasia.

aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 10:03 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 27 2009, 09:42 AM)
Yup,its easier and not complicated..Thats my point..But at last,your own hand control the mouse,not me..  smile.gif
There's a handy, easy to reach little yellow button that says "Order Now" on that review page. The mouse will move by itself to that button and click. Be careful. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 10:26 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 27 2009, 10:16 AM)
What don't you like about blu-ray.com? Have you found their reviews to be inaccurate?
Some say their reviews are biased, too positive. This roots back since before the format war ends.

I've read many negative reviews there, some even got half star only.

Many thought Blu-ray.com is owned by the BDA, but in fact they has nothing to do with it.

Added on August 27, 2009, 10:28 am
QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 27 2009, 10:23 AM)
I think he PMS again la just like the others day..  whistling.gif

Added on August 27, 2009, 10:25 am

That button so dangerous..Thats what i said,buying online not hard as buying at Speedo because we need to take out money and we give to the cashier.But with Amacon.just click-click-click and wait...  biggrin.gif
PMS? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 27 2009, 10:28 AM
aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 12:34 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Aug 27 2009, 12:21 PM)
Nope, all BD bought from UK.. I do not think my BDP is modded ler.. am using Sony S350 bought locally. Even PS3 also can play ler...

To be frank, I am not sure the ABC and B located at the back of the BD poster is stating the region... is it?
The region logo at the back doesn't mean it will be locked, and most importantly don't trust the region info on the Amazon page. Someone has created a website compiling region info submitted by those who tested the discs. Here:

http://bluray.liesinc.net/index.php?region=b

That link can be found on the fist page of this thread.

aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 12:35 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 27 2009, 12:26 PM)
I think ABC is for game.But if not,u should refer at PS3 thread to gather about ABC region..
ABC simply means region free.

Added on August 27, 2009, 12:38 pmTo those who is still new, I suggest to check the first page of this thread for info.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 27 2009, 12:38 PM
aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 02:47 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Just bought this from Ezy Video:

aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 02:58 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Aug 27 2009, 02:50 PM)
RM20 each? laugh.gif
Yup! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 27 2009, 02:50 PM)
why? u got hd-dvd player?
Nope, just as a souvenir, something to remember from the War. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 03:38 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(cmw_kwl_6923 @ Aug 27 2009, 03:29 PM)
any audio format  with dts-hd master audio~~~?
Dolby Digital Plus! rclxms.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(wackojacko @ Aug 27 2009, 03:31 PM)
is thr really a diff between dts-hd ma and dolby trueHD??? I tot its just different compression methods?
The million dollar question. Any takers? laugh.gif
aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 03:40 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Aug 27 2009, 03:35 PM)
doesnt matter, he cant even play it ...  laugh.gif
laugh.gif tongue.gif
aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 05:08 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 27 2009, 04:56 PM)
I fall asleep also watching watchmen....
so the watchmen really watch us while we sleep tongue.gif

aiman bro, the Ezy Video have HD DVD for Eagles Live ar???
Not sure, I think no. There were less than 10 titles there, saw the Transformers quickly grab without looking the others. It was ay Ezy Video KLCC.

QUOTE(robinlim @ Aug 27 2009, 05:03 PM)
( .Y. ) only appears for few seconds lar
out of 3 hours

it's really quite boring yawn.gif
So, maybe the blue birdie that keeps them awake. Haven't watched this BD yet.
aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 05:17 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Aug 27 2009, 05:11 PM)
few seconds??? think that's quite a few minutes after the owl fella and the silk lass rescued the kids from the burning school.......in the owl-craft....yummy malin ĂĄkerman...made me re-watch Heartbreak Kid

spare me with the spoiler thing....please.
That's Malin Ackerman? She looks so different, maybe it's the hair. Gotta watch this soon, but must let Aiman sleep first.
aiman04
post Aug 27 2009, 08:33 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Aug 27 2009, 07:09 PM)
whats your fave bit??? i like the great white that jumps out of the water and destroys the poor seal! biggrin.gif
Yes, that slow motion shot when the great white leaps out clear of the water was spectacular. They must have used a really high speed camera for that shot.

That great white was so big, almost like a whale. So cruel, it was playing (bullying actually) the seal before finally finishing it off.

aiman04
post Aug 28 2009, 07:47 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

So many wanna sell their Watchmen BD, I don't think it's that bad. hmm.gif

Apart from Amazon, I also buy my BDs from eBay, can get really good deal sometimes. Just make sure the seller has more than 1000 feedbacks and 99% of them positive. That's my own rule.

Also, VPOST now provides UK address as well, was surprised to see that in my account. thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Aug 28 2009, 08:20 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 28 2009, 08:02 AM)
i despise cheapskates!! tongue.gif
Well, not all people here are elites like you. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Aug 28 2009, 09:00 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 28 2009, 08:51 AM)
haha.. though i'm not elite, proud to say it doesn't take an elite to be a 'non-cheapskate' tongue.gif in fact, most cheapskates r elites coz that's how they got there in the 1st place... laugh.gif

anyways, back to topic... played destiny's child live at atlanta last nite... PQ was 3.5/5, AQ was 4/5 to me.

But i enjoyed this BD... black music's bass is really great. Hokkien says : JIT LIAP JIT LIAP EH thumbup.gif
Hence the saying, once u go black u don't go back laugh.gif

And because I enjoyed it so much, tried looking for more R&B/Hip Hop type concerts etc but couldn't find much. I have MC adventures of mimi & this one only so far... u guys know anything else good out there? smile.gif
So, elites and peasants alike are cheapskates. You despise everybody! laugh.gif tongue.gif

Black music eh? First time heard that. Have you tried Beyonce? Watched it long time ago, all I can remember was Beyonce's and her dancer's hip. drool.gif
aiman04
post Aug 28 2009, 09:09 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 28 2009, 09:04 AM)
woi .... beyonce is is the ex-lead singer for the band Destiny's Child which was the BD i watched last nite lor.. tongue.gif

Added on August 28, 2009, 9:05 am
taukeh mpyw... i haven't gotten any reply from MS sad.gif
depending on outcome this weekend, may need ur help liao tongue.gif
There's another one, her solo concert:

Beyoncé: The Beyoncé Experience Live
aiman04
post Aug 28 2009, 09:14 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Justin Timberlake is also black. Kinda, sorta. laugh.gif

aiman04
post Aug 28 2009, 09:20 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 28 2009, 09:11 AM)
Just finish the Matrix..What i cay say is,WoW.I never watch it before because i didnt understand the story at first place..For the first 15 min,what the crap is the movie all about...After that,"i start to believe myself"...hahaha..Relly good movie..Worth every penny..2 thumbs up!
maryjane9996 (sweet name by the way, albeit misleading tongue.gif ), first time watching Matrix? Yes, the first one I love it, but not so much for the sequels. Be prepared with to scratch your head with the sequels.

Added on August 28, 2009, 9:22 am
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 28 2009, 09:18 AM)
wah.. JT's BD is $49.93 at amazon tongue.gif (2 disc set)

how come it says $18.49 only at bluray.com?? rclxub.gif

Added on August 28, 2009, 9:19 am
one of them lor wink.gif
It's $18.49 bro. Here:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0014DCT06

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 28 2009, 09:22 AM
aiman04
post Aug 28 2009, 09:46 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 28 2009, 09:34 AM)
for me i rather skip this one...25GB only... biggrin.gif

find the format on 16:9 screen, shes a bit shorten(fat) same as the Maria Carey~Mimi concerts

well might stll consider in the end rclxms.gif
What's wrong with 25GB? A 2-hour feature is fine with that size, plus there's no extra. The PQ is still 4-stars, meaning the bitrate is just sufficient.

And the concert was shot on a widescreen HD camera, with aspect ratio 1.78:1 which will fit your widescreen TV nicely. No stretching whatsoever to the image.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0406sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:16 AM