Snake Skin Discus user posted image

Leopard Snakeskin Discus user posted image

Snow White Discus user posted image

Golden Discus user posted image

Added on August 27, 2009, 9:31 pmMan Made Discus

San Merah Discus user posted image

Albino Discus user posted image

Added on August 27, 2009, 9:47 pmDear bro tkingt,

Before you go further of having discus as your pet, there are few things that you need to take note.

You will need to understand your discus natural habitat. Discus need a slightly acidic water which is around 6.5 to 6.8 in PH and warm water of 28 Celcius to 30 Celcius. Besides that, weekly maintainance is a must eg. changing of 20% to 25% of water each week. This will keep your discus fish healthy and happy.

Oh ya, you will need to buy at least a group of 6 discus so that they will not be stressed up. Prolong stress on a discus could lead to sickness and if care is not taken fast enuff, the whole stock of your discus will wipe out. Happen to me 7 years ago. 10 discus of mine died becoz i did not notice that they have ack diesease (small white spot around their body).

Just call me or sms me if your discus need help. I will let you know what to do. PM me for my HP number.

About preparing of your aquarium, you will need to have at least a 20gallon tank. More water the better because each time when you do water changes, the water chemistry wont change that much. Refer below for the checklist of item you need in setting up your tank.

1) Filter (power head filter will do)
2) Air pump (not necessary but warm water has lesser oxygen in it)
3) Water Heater (Is a must)
4) Thermometer (To monitor the temperature)
5) 2KG of sand (Not necessary if you want to have clear bottom tank. Will be nicer if you decerate it with sand and plants [artifical or real plants])
6) Gravel vacuum (not necessary if you dont have gravel or sand)
7) Lighting
8) Anti-chlorine and Anti-Chromite water conditioner (is a must)
9) Background poster (Optional, but will be nicer in your tank)

I think this is the least of it. Please let me know if i missed out sumthing.

This post has been edited by samuelkk: Aug 27 2009, 09:47 PM
MusicForLife
post Aug 28 2009, 12:02 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(JustExotic @ Aug 27 2009, 09:10 PM)
Let our Mr Samuel here do tell you more bout the type.

I'm here to poison with pictures  icon_idea.gif

[attachmentid=1162695]
Is it from kean weng?? hmm.gif
TSsamuelkk
post Aug 28 2009, 12:05 AM

69 posts

Hi musicforlife,

Are you into discus too? care to intro your fishes to us? rclxms.gif
JustExotic
post Aug 28 2009, 11:33 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(MusicForLife @ Aug 28 2009, 12:02 AM)
Is it from kean weng?? hmm.gif
Nope.
Good try rclxms.gif
My breeder friend founded the labyrinth type.
Too bad I didn' took a picture of that.

This post has been edited by JustExotic: Aug 28 2009, 11:34 AM
tkingt
post Aug 28 2009, 02:18 PM

33 posts

Samuel,

Thanks alot your Info.

Anyway, I like Albino Discus and San Merah Discus.. so colourful.

Samuel, ur display pic.. izzit Albino Discus? Do you know where can find those 2 types? how much for 1 discus in the market?

Thanks ya smile.gif
TSsamuelkk
post Aug 28 2009, 08:09 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(tkingt @ Aug 28 2009, 02:18 PM)
Samuel,

Thanks alot your Info.

Samuel, ur display pic.. izzit Albino Discus? Do you know where can find those 2 types? how much for 1 discus in the market?

Thanks ya smile.gif
The display picture that you see if my discus fish. Currenly have two adults of this types. It is called Marboro Red. The few pictures that I've posted earlier is only few types of it. There are more of the discus types. Albino discus and San Merah discus is really hard to find. I suggest that you go to a typical fish shop and get about 6 young discus (2.5"). Each young discus should not exceed RM30. Normally they sell it at RM20 to 25 each.

Btw, discus won't show its full colour until they are adult. Approximately 1 year from free swimming discus. The display that you seen earlier is 2 years old already. All discus are actually beautiful when they are fully grown. Dont get too expensive discus because you will need trial and error. Learn from there then only buy better or more expensive discus.

Remember to let us know if you have problem with your discus or things that you dont understand. Eg. discus turn black or keep on hiding, sick, behaviour changes and so on.

Good luck~~
tkingt
post Aug 28 2009, 09:38 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(samuelkk @ Aug 28 2009, 08:09 PM)
The display picture that you see if my discus fish. Currenly have two adults of this types. It is called Marboro Red. The few pictures that I've posted earlier is only few types of it. There are more of the discus types. Albino discus and San Merah discus is really hard to find. I suggest that you go to a typical fish shop and get about 6 young discus (2.5"). Each young discus should not exceed RM30. Normally they sell it at RM20 to 25 each.

Btw, discus won't show its full colour until they are adult. Approximately 1 year from free swimming discus. The display that you seen earlier is 2 years old already. All discus are actually beautiful when they are fully grown. Dont get too expensive discus because you will need trial and error. Learn from there then only buy better or more expensive discus.

Remember to let us know if you have problem with your discus or things that you dont understand. Eg. discus turn black or keep on hiding, sick, behaviour changes and so on.

Good luck~~
Samuel,

This fish tank can fix 6 discus ma? I use it for guppy fishes.

MusicForLife
post Aug 29 2009, 01:13 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(samuelkk @ Aug 28 2009, 12:05 AM)
Hi musicforlife,

Are you into discus too? care to intro your fishes to us?  rclxms.gif
Hello... biggrin.gif
I love discus fish too..rclxms.gif and i had 6 of them before because of i used the wrong bucket(my mom uses it to wash shirt),so all tong tong chiang sad.gif ...

QUOTE(JustExotic @ Aug 28 2009, 11:33 AM)
Nope.
Good try  rclxms.gif
My breeder friend founded the labyrinth type.
Too bad I didn' took a picture of that.

sweat.gif ...by the way really nice discus...stop poisoning me.... shocking.gif
TSsamuelkk
post Aug 29 2009, 03:03 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(tkingt @ Aug 28 2009, 09:38 PM)
Samuel,

You'll need at least 3ft tank le the best is 20gallon tank. You can try but the water chemistry will change too fast. will cause the fish to be stressed when you do water changes. Besides that, discus will not tolerate lazyness in water changes. You need to be committed to them.

Btw, your tank is so so so beautiful. I will upload mine soon.

^^

Added on August 29, 2009, 3:09 am
QUOTE(MusicForLife @ Aug 29 2009, 01:13 AM)
Hello... biggrin.gif
I love discus fish too..rclxms.gif and i had 6 of them before because of i used the wrong bucket(my mom uses it to wash shirt),so all tong tong chiang  sad.gif ...
sweat.gif ...by the way really nice discus...stop poisoning me....  shocking.gif
LoL. normally i dont mix the bucket/pipes/net for each tank. hehe. to prevent any fish dieases transfered to to each other tanks.

This post has been edited by samuelkk: Aug 29 2009, 03:09 AM
JustExotic
post Aug 29 2009, 11:28 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(tkingt @ Aug 28 2009, 09:38 PM)
Samuel,

Can fit ikan bilis tongue.gif Joking

QUOTE(MusicForLife @ Aug 29 2009, 01:13 AM)
Hello... biggrin.gif
I love discus fish too..rclxms.gif and i had 6 of them before because of i used the wrong bucket(my mom uses it to wash shirt),so all tong tong chiang  sad.gif ...
sweat.gif ...by the way really nice discus...stop poisoning me....  shocking.gif
If no poison how this thread will be lifely leh?
Seems like not much keeper since now already page 3.

JustExotic
post Aug 29 2009, 11:32 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(tkingt @ Aug 28 2009, 02:18 PM)
Samuel,

Thanks alot your Info.

Thanks ya smile.gif
Golden albino for you smile.gif

Billian albino
TSsamuelkk
post Aug 30 2009, 12:40 AM

69 posts

i think i know why there are little discus breeder nowdays. most probably discus is hard to keep and take care. it is like 5 times more harder to have a gold fish. discus fish are sensitive to its environment and need clean fresh water from time to time. too high of PH and temperature differences could kill your discus.

my purpose of having this topic created is to help other discus lovers and i believe our common gold is to understand our pet more in details and how or what to do when they are behaving weird or sick.

for me, i spend almost 1 to 2 hours daily looking at my discus while enjoying its beautiful colour. the wonderful things about discus is that it will recognized its owner. it is one of the strong reason of me having them.

oh ya not to mention the least of it, discus can be fed by hands. meaning, i used to feed my discus fish using my hands. the discus will feed directly thru my hand and i am able to touch my discus which they are not scare of me at all. when this happen, each time when i do my tank maintainance, the fish will swim around my hands for food. the size of my newly bought discus is about 5" inches. when i buy them, it is about the sized of only 50 cents coins.

in total i have 4 tanks with 26 discus. rclxms.gif

please tell us more about your experience having discus. we as a discus lovers welcome new comers. ^^
JustExotic
post Aug 30 2009, 08:18 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(samuelkk @ Aug 30 2009, 12:40 AM)
i think i know why there are little discus breeder nowdays.
There are not little discus breeder here in Malaysia. Just in Penang there is more than 5 for sure in large scale, large scale mean around 500 pcs of aquarium or more.. My friend have 700++pcs of aquarium with countless discus.
yewlin
post Aug 31 2009, 11:01 AM

12-06 is my new working days :)
2,084 posts

Hi All,

just to share some of my fish ... smile.gif

sory for the poor quality picture and discus blush.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
JustExotic
post Aug 31 2009, 11:05 AM

23 posts

Another poisoning drool.gif
Nice nice fish there rclxms.gif
MusicForLife
post Aug 31 2009, 11:28 AM

354 posts

shocking.gif i can't stand it......but unfortunately i have SPM to handle first...haiz....oh well maybe you guys can see my future discus in the month of december..hope so sad.gif
TSsamuelkk
post Sep 5 2009, 03:05 AM

69 posts

This is one of my discus collection.

Enjoy the pic and comments plz..

Added on September 5, 2009, 3:09 amuser posted image

This post has been edited by samuelkk: Sep 5 2009, 03:09 AM
cphcphcph
post Sep 5 2009, 09:12 AM

215 posts

8) Anti-chlorine and Anti-Chromite water conditioner (is a must)

can expert explain both of this wat diffrence?
isst recomend discuss to comm with aro?
tkingt
post Sep 5 2009, 09:22 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(samuelkk @ Sep 5 2009, 03:05 AM)
This is one of my discus collection.

Enjoy the pic and comments plz..

Added on September 5, 2009, 3:09 amuser posted image
SO NICE!!

how old r them now in the photo?

Added on September 5, 2009, 9:24 pm
QUOTE(yewlin @ Aug 31 2009, 11:01 AM)
Hi All,

just to share some of my fish ... smile.gif

sory for the poor quality picture and discus blush.gif
wow... so many discus in 1 tank... can 1 meh?

This post has been edited by tkingt: Sep 5 2009, 09:24 PM
JustExotic
post Sep 5 2009, 09:51 PM

23 posts

drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
So so intoxicated now with all the nice collections!

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:46 PM