LYN Tennis Lovers V3, continued in V4

Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 01:03 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(karom @ Oct 6 2009, 01:00 AM)
I'm using Head MicroGEL Extreme Pro 2009 Racquets after failed to search for the 2008 version which been used by current ATP players.

One can spot the different between the 2008 and 2009 from the grip cap. 2008 version is lighter and the grip cap is black color as compare to the fancy 2009 grib cap.

I am thinking of getting Babolat Pure Drive GT Racquets later.
ohh i thot they told me the 2008 and 2009 diff is just the grommets ... one with the teflon thingy the other dun hav...

well me too .. lookingfor anotehr PDRGT wink.gif where u play .. one day must demo ur microgel extreme pro liaw
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 01:15 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(karom @ Oct 6 2009, 01:14 AM)
I'm from Butterworth. Normally play at  Kepala Batas.
oh oh ... so far.. anyways i dun go butterworth that often .. but if i do drop by mid of this mth (penang).. will c if can arrange with angel-ice n u ... mayb can go hit a bit then makan nasi kandar PELITA...haha
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 10:00 AM

551 posts

bro .. just put the code number in the <youbue>..... </youtube>
just the number ... the link = XXX ...

for e.g. : www.youtube.com/aksjdkfdsf=XXXXXXX

This post has been edited by Yan: Oct 6 2009, 10:01 AM
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 10:05 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 6 2009, 10:04 AM)
Hehehe thanks bro, you know lah, not that tech savvy on certain things x-p
no prob dude... wow nice promo video... i heard fr viper... the new lineup will be called some funny name... some codename BLX or sthing.. unlike k-factor or sthing... quite silly name...

so it'll be the Wilson BLX xxxx

This post has been edited by Yan: Oct 6 2009, 10:14 AM
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 10:15 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 6 2009, 10:13 AM)
I heard the name gonna be BLX or something along those lines, but if Wilson racket is nice and black......argggg I have to rob bank soon!
opps i just edited my post after remembering the name...haha... great timing bro ...

Added on October 6, 2009, 10:18 amthe name of the federer racket will still be:
wilson blx Six-One Tour 90.... such a ugly name to it... blx .. blx ... blx.. blekkk... blekkk

This post has been edited by Yan: Oct 6 2009, 10:18 AM
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 11:33 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Oct 6 2009, 11:28 AM)
hey yan, what strings do u use on APDC? any strings that u recommend?
APDC ar.. i've tried the luxilon alu rough on it.. (too stiff.. arm like falling off).. also tried the Pro Hurricane Tour 17. Though it's also a stiff string but i find that to be okay. i mean if u wanna to have the fullsetup of the "supposedly" nadal's combination.haha... I even tried the duralast strings (his real strings also).

However my last test on it was the Blackcode. and recommended it to carto. he is happy using it now with the added spin. Coz it's soft poly and doesn't hurt your arm as bad as those 2 other stiffer ones above. I would say give it a go since the APDC is renowned for it's spin potential so when coupled with another strong spin strings... go figure .. wink.gif
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 12:15 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(scirocco @ Oct 6 2009, 12:07 PM)
just to provide some feedback to my previous poly string query, i strung up a k61 95 with the topspin cyberblue hybrid with synthetic gut, and it was wonderfully soft. tension at 53/55. very un-poly like. using fully synthetic on the racket caused it to be almost too powerful, had to shorten my swing. but with the poly taming the stringbed a bit it was much better. maybe a slightly stiffer poly in future...

yan, u got your order of pro supex big ace in yet?
hey bro .. u want some big ace also ? i got a few here sharing with me.. i just contacted the seller and he needs to check whether he still got stock or not coz i'm ordering blue gear and big ace red. haven't heard back fr him yet.

well it's true cyberblue is one of the softest poly i've played with .... must agree with u it's so soft n easy u dun feel it's poly at all...haha. the other is the blackcode. one wud think an edgy string wud b hard like pro hurricane, luxilon, .. but surprisingly it's v soft... but tension holding is another issue..

anyways my latest setup i tried pre-stretching them first to c how's the tension maintenance.
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 01:38 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(kokolomondo @ Oct 6 2009, 12:52 PM)
Guys, noob question here, how do you check if the string tension holds well or not? You use your own equipment or you bring it to the stringing shop. How quick (right after strung) do you measure (often)?
ok basically is more like a feel lah .. first hitting and subsequent sessions.. some strings you strung need to like hit a few sessions for the string to come alive. Anyways very subjective lah this matter.

As for string tension device. Well Pacific has one machine imported from Germany. It can test the string bed tension. However mind you, normally when we string our racq the string tension we set is for the pulling tension of the string. But there is no way to recheck the individual string tension, this machine just gives you a reading of the overall string bed tension. so reading might differs from the tension you set. I sometimes go there go just main main with the machine wink.gif
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 01:48 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(scirocco @ Oct 6 2009, 01:47 PM)
yup, what is the gauge u have? looking for 1.25 or preferably 1.22!

only need one set though as i am looking to hybrid it.

PM me pricing if you have it already, thanks!
ok will let u know once i hear back fr the seller... smile.gif he is v slow actually ... shucks
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 02:05 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(scirocco @ Oct 6 2009, 01:58 PM)
now that's something i wonder about... how do u pre-stretch the strings???

so far accumulated a total of about 6 court hrs with the cyberblue hybrid, plays very well now. also can actually move the stringbed if i press on it as compared to when i first got it restringed, it was worryingly stiff...

but it's quite well know that polys do experience quite sever tension loss over a day or so after restringing, so thats to be expected.

if prestretched then would probably need to string at lower tension than usual as you cant expect it to drop by much after that
well few methods to do it but now the easiest n modern way of executing it is via the stringing machine itself (such as the Prince 5000 - has a prestretching function whereby you can set the percentage from the tension you want it to hold). For e.g. say i want to set my tension at 55lbs. But wish to pre-stretch the string 10%. so the machiine will pulll each individual string cross & mains at 60lbs below adjusting it back to 50lbs for the clamps to come in.

correct me if i'm wrong, but from what i understand is prestretching you don't set it lower than what you normally want. the whole idea of doing that is to that your string will hold the tension longer (e.g. 55lbs). as after prestretching at a higher tension, the ability for the string to stretch has been greatly reduced. thus it will stay at 55lbs longer. wink.gif

Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 03:12 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(junebug @ Oct 6 2009, 02:53 PM)
Same technique applies to new undies. I stretch the new undies before putting them on so that they don't feel that tight.
hey bro .. undies ar ? tsk tsk tsk ... too much .. lolx

so u coming this thursday or friday june ? lelucky is coming over, why don't you drop by ? or anybody for that matter
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 03:16 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(grinner @ Oct 6 2009, 03:08 PM)
...*ahem*... anyways, string tension goes due to other factors as well... even an improperly tied knot will cause the string to lose tension... for me, I actually prefer the strings after a few hitting sessions, but if i try to string lower tension straight away, doesn't fell nice, so have to go through same routine again i.e. string hard, then let it come down a few pounds...
actually you may be right.. what i felt was after the pre-stretching at 55lbs, the string doesn't feel as lively as it was via the normal non-stretching way. Or maybe it's also the sign that actually the playing tension that i prefer is actually lower than 55lbs as the normal un-stretch way probably the tension at 55lbs after a few hits is 52lbs or so. So meaning pre-stretching it... i shud hav set the tension lower .. smile.gif well have to give it another try the next stringing job.

Added on October 6, 2009, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(junebug @ Oct 6 2009, 03:14 PM)
I'll try and make it on Thursday. If I can't make it, I'll be there on Friday. smile.gif
ok set. coz let's don't give our outstation fren an easy pass .. lolx. try to make it as challenging as possible... lol. so need the big guns to show up...
well it's a good time for a gathering also lah i guess... ..

lelucky, so we still confirm for thursday ?

Added on October 6, 2009, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(jameschee @ Oct 6 2009, 02:47 PM)
same technique applies to guitar strings. i will pull on new strings and retune it pull after pull, until the tune becomes consistent.
this retains the tune on the guitar for me...
wow din realize you r a musican as well.. multi-talented on string-based equipments ..haha.. one day we gotta jam. ages since i touch the guitar..

This post has been edited by Yan: Oct 6 2009, 03:21 PM
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 03:39 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(lelucky @ Oct 6 2009, 03:36 PM)
yupe coming....and need a favour from you yan...need to fetch me at 101 mall....can rr??
what time bro ? i'll need to arrange my schedule a bit here...
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 04:47 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Oct 6 2009, 04:46 PM)
yan! watch out! org hebat suda mau lawan sama u~~
mati saya... mesti kena hentam left right ... lol. mesti pergi class dengan battousai lagi dah ni...

Added on October 6, 2009, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 6 2009, 04:36 PM)
I just went to sportsprises, strung a pack of blackcode 18 gauge at 57/55 pre-stretched 10%. Just to see if it'll hold tension well.

Thanks Yan for telling me about sportsprises, lots of nice strings there. Infact they even have the cyberblue, BUT repacked as some china brand called DURABLE. laugh.gif
I was asking Peter there, if he has cyberblue or not then I saw it but with a different brand name and cheap-ass packaging. lol...
damn... i think i'm sending too many customers his way already. must really ask him for some chiok-soh already. haha... or a member get member program...haha

This post has been edited by Yan: Oct 6 2009, 04:48 PM
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 10:12 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Oct 6 2009, 06:11 PM)
I would only consider pre-stretching natural gut to get rid of any kinks or muscle memory, I have found out from a couple of tournament stringers that they do not pre-stretch ANY poly string, unless told specifically to do so. I guess it a matter of opinion.
i wud think so too. anyways this newly pre-stretched strings are pretty poor to play. seemed like dead to me. no life. even whacking with chris and viper just now. was just dead ( however mayb today also is not a good day to benchmark.. playing badly ). Anyhow i'll give it another try as prev i prestretched too high at 55lbs. So this time i'll go for 50-52lbs and see how.

Added on October 6, 2009, 10:13 pm
QUOTE(SticH @ Oct 6 2009, 05:54 PM)
Hello guys.. any idea how much is a microgel radical now? My fren had one and it's quite good
no idea bro ... can ask battousai. anyhow i just requested from him to help me get the microgel extreme pro 2009 and youtek MP for me to test ...haha... i can ask him for u too later if he is online...

This post has been edited by Yan: Oct 6 2009, 10:13 PM
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 10:40 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(scirocco @ Oct 6 2009, 10:32 PM)
well it looks like pre-stretching does not really help then...

i'll just stick to the string it and wait 2 days before i play routine...  tongue.gif
i guess it boils down to the routine and experimentation. once you stick to a certain favourite brand you'll know how to adjust the tensions to suit you. just a benchmark tension and then compensate it by + or - from there smile.gif but costly each time to try new strings ..haha... must burn a few strings before can get the proper setup.

This post has been edited by Yan: Oct 6 2009, 10:41 PM
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 10:46 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Oct 6 2009, 10:42 PM)
Wow!! A few years old racket still cost a bomb! I'm looking for a good 2nd hand racket around rm300 with around 100sq inch and 300g weight.. any recommendation?
y dun look at the new dunlop aero300 ? or if u r lucky a secondhand 4d300 or 4d500... smile.gif dunlops are easy to hit with ... smile.gif
Yan
post Oct 6 2009, 11:38 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(Crimson Viper @ Oct 6 2009, 11:36 PM)
Anyone wanna buy a brand new Dunlop Aerogel 4D 300 tour ?  whistling.gif
wow that is fast... haven't taken off ur k5 fr the market yet ? lolx
Yan
post Oct 7 2009, 08:09 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Oct 7 2009, 07:58 AM)
huh why cannot see? filename got kuku?
haha... obscene ? mayb shud host with another server then ... lolx.
Yan
post Oct 7 2009, 11:31 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(scirocco @ Oct 7 2009, 11:25 AM)
eh sure it's 75 for vpost ah? last time i calculated its much more than that, might as well ship it thru fedex. have u tried it before? thanks!
i think he knows.. he just bought his rds001 via the slow way .. (good tahan power)..haha.... salute him..

26 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:18 AM