Bluray Players ~ V2, Profile 1.1 ~ 2.0 ~ BD-Live ~ Mutimedia

TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 10:28 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 26 2009, 01:36 AM)
The PS3 can't bitstream HD audio to AVR, but it can decode the HD Audio first (LPCM) and then send to AVR. That means the AVR don't even need a HD audio decoder, BUT it must be able to accept the decoded LPCM HD audio sound from the PS3 via HDMI (some older AVR can't accept decoded HD Audio through HDMI). For your info, decoded HD audio and bitstream HD Audio is the same quality , both Lossless.
QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Aug 26 2009, 05:25 AM)
Thanks for the info.

From what you have wrote, the BD player does not effect the HD audio sound regardless of using a rm900+ and rm2000+ BD players if I have an AVR (which supports HD audio codec) and a HDMI cable?
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 26 2009, 10:04 AM)
In theory they should both be the same quality, but I do perceive differences between PS3 sending LPCM HD Audio vs BD60 bitstreaming HD Audio (the latter is better sounding). Only thing I can think of is that my AVR is doing a better job decoding the HD Audio than the PS3.
wou...too "theory-garised" le

in layman terms, hopefully someone can shed some light

PS3 send signal to AVR
BD-60 oso send signal (same format) to AVR

so which is better smile.gif
1) a normal AVR
2) a state of the art AVR

so does tis imply to all BD players that cant stream or decode HD signals internally
seriously really dont undersatnd, some output PCM and some LPCM ( are this different signals)

in depth anthology....so here it goes,... we take

1) BD player decode and stream hd signals thru HDMI to AVR

2) BD player decode PCM /LPCM stream thru HDMI to AVR( this possible or am i illusionising rclxub.gif )
(eg sony BDP-S350 cant decode DTS-HD MA but uses AVR to decode)

3) BD player decode multi analog out to multi channel input of AVR

4) BD player pass thru multi analog and OLD AVR w/o HDMIdo the processing

comparing 1 to 2 and also 3 to 4 which would better
and oso 1 and 4

thanks, hope i am not too long winded, think many forumers who dont know how to ask, would just like to know which is better os is it the same
thanks banyak2

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 26 2009, 10:33 AM
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 11:02 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 26 2009, 05:21 AM)
recommended by uncle ho's nephews laugh.gif

my bd60 can't play uncle ho's stuff. i tried 3 different movies from different distributors all unable to load movie. can only load the intro only. s350 can read all 3 movies. anyway better off buy from amazon. can get less than rm60 per title with bulk order. ori some more. why pay rm48 for fake and lousy stuff.
to be frank now ori BD from amazon est RM60 vs RM40-50 unc ho's (no effect)

but for majority story will twist when unc's ho bd come falling to RM20 and below
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 11:34 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

one more stupid question

i see some BD players alow to to calibrate spk level, what are those for???
isnt spk level being calibrated on AVR's

or simply means those BD players can be connected to 5.1/6.1/7.1 Power amps direct, (looks stupid right w/o the volume control) or maybe those bd outputs are variable giving full volume controls on remote>>
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 11:51 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 26 2009, 11:39 AM)
If you are refering to the volume buttons found on the BDP remote control, they are meant for use if you have a "compatible" AVR i.e. Panny BDP with Panny AVR, Sammy with Sammy, Sony with Sony....
wat i meant is the internal setup found in bd players

TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 12:01 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

just like some dedicate cd players they have a fixed stereo as well as variable out,

you can really use the CD as a pre... connect direct to a power and use the CD remote to control the volume

some uses this to match low (volts) input integrated or pre/power amps
sorry this is under hi-fidelity

Added on August 26, 2009, 12:02 pm
QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Aug 26 2009, 11:55 AM)
Wow. A lot of informations here from last night post.

I guess it is still the best to buy a stand alone player rather than using ps3 for maximum performance.

Thank you!
glad its of help to you.. hehe

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 26 2009, 12:02 PM
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 12:14 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 26 2009, 12:03 PM)
There is a case where some AVRs do not do any bass management and room correction for analogue inputs. So this speaker level calibration needs be done in the BD player.

No, it is not advisable to send the 5.1/7.1 out directly to a power amp. It shd be sent to a pre amp that has protective circuits in place to not send too high levels to the amps that could in turn damage your speakers. If u direct a 5.1/7.1 out from a BD player to a power amp it is at full volume control then u can damage your speakers.

Some power amps have volume controls and clipping protection for overcurrent, but still it is a big risk to take.
thanks a million
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 05:29 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Aug 26 2009, 05:13 PM)
Still contemplating lah...so many choices, but so limited $$$ sad.gif

1 - keep playonhd and buy BD60
2 - keep playonhd and buy PS3 Slim
3 - sell playonhd and built dedicated HTPC

Anjua?
bro... i thought you already purchased either bd-60 or s350

so you're like me still deciding.... welcome to the boat... rclxms.gif

so how many of us still deciding which PLAYER to buy??? cry.gif
me make up my mind liao and will definitely get one b4 sept 09 biggrin.gif
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 05:45 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

if really 5more days good lor, might be getting s350 from curve.. hehe

Added on August 26, 2009, 5:52 pm
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 26 2009, 05:38 PM)
Some potential bad news. Some indications of someone who has made comparisons in the US indicate that it is somewhat slower than the old PS3. Pretty much slower. It is pretty much in the BD60 range...PM me if u need the link. I don't have permission to link the test results and load times.
ya that guy, he's good and very neutral rclxms.gif

Added on August 26, 2009, 5:56 pmhmm.... with the arrival of so many new models he still rank the BDP-51FD at the all time No2 spot rclxms.gif
based on price factor its the NO 1 BD player

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 26 2009, 05:58 PM
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 10:52 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 26 2009, 07:09 PM)
guys.. sorry to borrow this thread but.. tongue.gif

in preparation of funds for my new sub I'm thinking of letting go my Pioneer LX-52 which i bought in June 2008. I'm letting it go for a min of RM2k to fellow LYN members.. of coz if there r multiple bidders, will let go to highest bidder la biggrin.gif  Pls pm me those who r interested smile.gif

For those staying in iPoh / KL, I'm going to KL this weekend so can pass to u guys then.

Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
btw its june 2009 then its a deal...
local warranty right??
confirmed your offer.... let me know if i'm the lucky one at the stipulated price..

QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 26 2009, 09:39 PM)
I thought someone mentioned before Sony (The Curve ) selling it for RM999/- ?
shud go there b4 it runs out of stock.

me thought of going Ikea for bkfst this 30th, then drop by to curve and collect the BDP-S350, do some shopping round Power Ikano, Ikea, courts, Tesco,
afternoon, maybe drop by Damansara for the RM10 durian fest...
later Wan Utama shopping center then back to Ipoh.... hehe

well that's my plan, and suddenly comes Bro ronnt88, with the LX-52 offer. smile.gif by right shouldn't smile, but i think its okay as bro ronnt88 has bigger plans for his HT setup.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 26 2009, 10:56 PM
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 11:03 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 26 2009, 10:58 PM)
really good price the s350. thinking of getting 2nd bdp but then maybe should go with new ps3 instead if the price is really 1299 with sony malaysia warranty. at least can play some games whistling.gif
ya s350 @ RM999.00 is damn cheap... guess shud better the BD-60 for DVD playback smile.gif
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 11:19 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 26 2009, 11:10 PM)
s350 on par with bd60 for pq. not sure about sq. should be about the same. anyway s350 can't decode dts-ma only bitstream. bd60 can decode everything.
like they say 350 bitstream.... AVR does the HD-DTS MA lor hehe
now my Faith.....let god decide
if cannot get the LX-52 then will settle for S350, save RM1k le... hehe hehe
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 11:21 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Aug 26 2009, 11:19 PM)
Sharp BDP? hmm.gif
profile 1.0 la bro, still considered ok... lor.. if not fussy

it still can play BD's ... right biggrin.gif
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 11:27 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 26 2009, 11:24 PM)
not an issue at all unless u got non hd decoding amp smile.gif
yup that's right. can still play bd after finishing a mug of milo and a bowl of maggi and a trip to toilet laugh.gif
greatest joke of the forum rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 11:30 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 26 2009, 11:28 PM)
Wah, what 15" monster is that? Velo DD-15? Paradigm?
Lowyat one maybe self assembled one haha haha
joke joke ar biggrin.gif
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 11:44 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Aug 26 2009, 11:34 PM)
taukeh mumu u still duno which BDP to buy ar?

macam left right on pagar wor
confirm liao ma by 30th Aug 2009, (before Harga Beras Jatuh)
my faith is in God's hand, its either LX-52 OR S350

if S350 sold out then BDP-320 biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 26 2009, 11:45 PM
TSmoomoos
post Aug 27 2009, 12:21 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 27 2009, 12:17 AM)
oops... ya, of coz it's june 2009 la... LX-52 only launched in June 09 smile.gif

U r the only bidder rite now, I haven't post on garage sales yet. So u can confirm the said price by laying down a little deposit la. Have to practice this coz i just recently got 747 for my canton sub only sad.gif

let me know icon_rolleyes.gif
dah pm you biggrin.gif

Added on August 27, 2009, 12:37 am
QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 27 2009, 12:21 AM)
dah pm you biggrin.gif
please check a/c

y these ppl like that one r..???

a deal is a deal ma.... i confirmed our dealings, see see i got other better offers oso, i still wait for your reply 1st.
thanks anyway

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 27 2009, 12:41 AM
TSmoomoos
post Aug 27 2009, 12:56 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(chinmh @ Aug 27 2009, 12:54 AM)
Saw a JVC blu ray player just now at Harvey Norman.

Price RM1399.00.
go grab fast...good reviews oso on that one especially load times, can play mkv somemore
TSmoomoos
post Aug 27 2009, 01:03 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(chinmh @ Aug 27 2009, 01:00 AM)
Better than panasonic BD60? Price reasonable?
dont think so, loading times and mkv maybe nia
TSmoomoos
post Aug 27 2009, 01:07 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 27 2009, 01:04 AM)
ya.. some ppl like that wan.. & it was even a guy i sincerely welcomed to my home as a fren sad.gif

anyways..... great dealing with u & thanks for helping me to get 1 step closer to my dream sub smile.gif
no problem la either way oso
thanks for the pioneer
TSmoomoos
post Aug 27 2009, 01:11 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 27 2009, 01:08 AM)
alamak... it's certainly not an elite condo but it's my humble abode & u r welcomed anytime icon_rolleyes.gif

so when u wanna come? tongue.gif
wah stay in condo somemore want power powerfull sub ar biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0427sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:04 PM