116 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Bluray Players ~ V2, Profile 1.1 ~ 2.0 ~ BD-Live ~ Mutimedia

ar188
post Oct 21 2009, 09:15 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 21 2009, 08:44 AM)
I doubt there is anything major. The only thing that comes to mind is the inability to deinterlace 1080i content. Thus, it relies on ur display to do the work. A lot of displays don't do this too well. This is mainly for concerts....(I believe this only applies to the older PS3, the PS3 slims can deinterlace 1080i content and it does it pretty well as far as I have heard)

For 1080p 24Hz stuff, I think they are both equal. If there are differences, it might be slight and only noticeable on displays with sizes above 50in. More apparent in projectors projecting on screens as big as 105in, in my opinion.

The PS3 is a great BD player and with the new slim being able to bitstream I really am not sure what are its negatives, if any. Not too sure of the fan noise on the slim but the older ones were noisy.

So in short, I believe only fan noise.

SD-DVD performance might be slightly lacking as well. Again, only if u r fussy.
very neutral standing.... nod.gif

Ngto
post Oct 21 2009, 11:14 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Oct 21 2009, 05:39 AM)
hi i want to know whats the difference between bd60 and ps3 in terms of using a blu ray player??
With a dedicated Blu-ray player like BD60 you get more options to play around with the sound and video settings.

For video :- Brightness, contrast, color, sharpness, noise reduction options

Sound :- Dolby TrueHD, DTS-MA decoders (LPCM) or Bitstream, Dialog Enhancer (if use LPCM) , different sound remaster selection ....

Internet :- update firmware directly, play Youtube directly from Internet, Picassa photo albums from Internet etc.

Additional :- USB and SD slot , both for music and photos playback

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 21 2009, 11:17 AM
anfieldude
post Oct 21 2009, 11:32 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 21 2009, 11:14 AM)
With a dedicated Blu-ray player like BD60 you get more options to play around with the sound and video settings.

For video :- Brightness, contrast, color, sharpness, noise reduction options

Sound :-  Dolby TrueHD, DTS-MA decoders (LPCM) or Bitstream, Dialog Enhancer (if use LPCM) , different sound remaster selection ....

Internet :- update firmware directly, play Youtube directly from Internet, Picassa photo albums from Internet etc.

Additional :- USB and SD slot , both for music and photos playback
Ngto,

Actually, brightness, contrast, colour, sharpness and NR already exist on the display so not really needed. Besides the implementation of contrast on some standalone BD players are not right in the sense that they truncate the signals. Not correct implementation in my opinion. I would advise to make the changeds in ur display. Also the sharpness setting is really not necessary for HD content and this shd slowly be taken away as the content in all countries are moved to HD.

Sound: With the ability of the PS3 slim to bitstream and decode internally, its a wash...The others is a feature but the PS3 could easily be made to do that with a firmware change, it is software driven and we all know what processing power the PS3 is capable of

Internet : Firmware wise, PS3 is no 1, second to none. Most production houses use PS3 as a reference when encoding discs, thats why there is a very rare occasion that u would need a firmware update that was not already released to fix an authoring issue on the PS3. YouTube, Picassa , yeah u're right...

I thought the PS3 could also play music and photos from the USB slot?

Honestly, the only thing holding me back from strongly recommending the PS3 slim is since I do not know the fan noise issue resolution. And definately for people requiring analogue multichannels u need to look elsewhere. For most HDMI world people, it looks like its complete. The one thing I would like for them to add is a zoom that fixes the underscan on some the displays that cannot be defeated...

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Oct 21 2009, 11:33 AM
Ngto
post Oct 21 2009, 11:41 AM

4,350 posts

I have a few video devices connected to my TV. I wouldn't want to adjust my TV everytime I use a different device. Fix your TV settings, and adjust each of the devices to suit the TV, that's my way of doing and I am sure some others do the same way too.

That's why these features in a BD player are included for a reason.

Besides my answer is for someone who wanted to know the differences, so I am just pointing them out for his knowledge. Not here to debate what's best for your tastes or my tastes biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 21 2009, 11:48 AM
ar188
post Oct 21 2009, 11:44 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 21 2009, 11:32 AM)
Ngto,

Actually, brightness, contrast, colour, sharpness and NR already exist on the display so not really needed. Besides the implementation of contrast on some standalone BD players are not right in the sense that they truncate the signals. Not correct implementation in my opinion. I would advise to make the changeds in ur display. Also the sharpness setting is really not necessary for HD content and this shd slowly be taken away as the content in all countries are moved to HD.

Sound: With the ability of the PS3 slim to bitstream and decode internally, its a wash...The others is a feature but the PS3 could easily be made to do that with a firmware change, it is software driven and we all know what processing power the PS3 is capable of

Internet : Firmware wise, PS3 is no 1, second to none. Most production houses use PS3 as a reference when encoding discs, thats why there is a very rare occasion that u would need a firmware update that was not already released to fix an authoring issue on the PS3. YouTube, Picassa , yeah u're right...

I thought the PS3 could also play music and photos from the USB slot?

Honestly, the only thing holding me back from strongly recommending the PS3 slim is since I do not know the fan noise issue resolution. And definately for people requiring analogue multichannels u need to look elsewhere. For most HDMI world people, it looks like its complete. The one thing I would like for them to add is a zoom that fixes the underscan on some the displays that cannot be defeated...
yeah, ideally, the player should function as a no frills BD transport used to pipe all the digital data to TV and amp (all video and audio analog settings should be taken care by the TV and amp respectively)

as for the zoom, wah zoom from player and TV underscan back? quite messy hor liddat.. each time DA to AD conversion.. loss some video fidelity.. better get a TV which allows 1:1 full HD pixel mapping liddat..
anfieldude
post Oct 21 2009, 11:47 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 21 2009, 11:41 AM)
I have a few video devices connected to my TV. I wouldn't want to adjust my TV everytime I use a different device. Fix your TV settings, and adjust each of the devices to suit the TV, that's my way of doing and I am sure some others do the same way too.

If you do not have a choice, then that's waht u need to do. However, in my experience with BD players, I have seen many instances that it distorts the signal when u mess around (especially contrast, it starts to clip) This shd only be done with the correct test signals and tools to understand the changes. Also, based on my experience with BD players, most BD players are very neutral when it comes to sending out a proper signal. If ur display is already calibrated for HD (greyscale for SD and HD are the same, only colour space is different, however the colour space for HD and NTSC are very close as such the errors are small), you shd not need to adjust anything in the BD player 99% of the time. The only time I had to change was the sharpness reduction on some of the Panny BD players. The brightness and contrasts need not be touched.

Also, that is where having a display with specific memory for specific inputs comes into play.

Anwyay, its ur wish, I am only recommending based on my experience.
anfieldude
post Oct 21 2009, 11:49 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 21 2009, 11:44 AM)
yeah, ideally, the player should function as a no frills BD transport used to pipe all the digital data to TV and amp (all video and audio analog settings should be taken care by the TV and amp respectively)

as for the zoom, wah zoom from player and TV underscan back?  quite messy hor liddat.. each time DA to AD conversion.. loss some video fidelity.. better get a TV which allows 1:1 full HD pixel mapping liddat..
This is one case where I believe 1:1 pixel mapping is better. However, it depends on the implentation. On the Oppo this is one advantage, it does it very well, it is impossible to see the fidelity loss, trust me I looked...

Edit: Actually I screwed up, most displays add overscan and not underscan. The the BD player underscans to counter the overscan so u do not lose pixels info.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Oct 21 2009, 11:51 AM
ar188
post Oct 21 2009, 11:53 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 21 2009, 11:49 AM)
This is one case where I believe 1:1 pixel mapping is better. However, it depends on the implentation. On the Oppo this is one advantage, it does it very well, it is impossible to see the fidelity loss, trust me I looked...

Edit: Actually I screwed up, most displays add overscan and not underscan. The the BD player underscans to counter the overscan so u do not lose pixels info.
dun worry, I'll be more concerned, if you say RM300 power cables and RM400 HDMI gives you sharper 1080p Video than standard parts.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 21 2009, 11:54 AM
anfieldude
post Oct 21 2009, 11:55 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 21 2009, 11:53 AM)
dun worry, I'll be more concerned, if you say RM300 power cables and RM400 HDMI gives you sharper 1080p Video than standard parts..  biggrin.gif
Good one! biggrin.gif
ar188
post Oct 21 2009, 11:58 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 21 2009, 11:55 AM)
Good one! biggrin.gif
seriously, your next visit to KL with all your ISF calibration tools, we should go to mpyw's place to settle this once and for all.. he got kuro and he got white snake..

see if plug in the white snake power cable into his Dune /BDP or Media player can improve the Video or not.. biggrin.gif

TSmoomoos
post Oct 21 2009, 12:10 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

Besides my answer is for someone who  wanted to know the differences, so I am just pointing them out for his knowledge. Not here to debate what's best for your tastes or my  tastes  biggrin.gif
no debate ok!! smile.gif
individual preference tho'

on the contrary, bro anfield could be correct!!

but for other cases, i believe these generations of LCD that have HDMI input ready,
should have individual video settings for HDMI, PC, DVR, Astro~ component or s-video

but if LCD cant, of only have 1 HDMI input.....then its better to have it controlled by BD player

i like BD player to have it too for the final tweaking biggrin.gif

WHY!!!

my LCD only has 1 HDMI input, my DVD, Dvico, HTPC, BD Player HDMI out routed to AVR same goes for my astro s-video out

and HDMI out from AVR to LCD

so its a common setting for my LCD video settings and the rest by SOURCE biggrin.gif

Added on October 21, 2009, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 21 2009, 11:53 AM)
dun worry, I'll be more concerned, if you say RM300 power cables and RM400 HDMI gives you sharper 1080p Video than standard parts..  biggrin.gif
on the subject of HDMI cables.... anyone tried it....

i'm not comparing prices based on cheapo RM100 to a RM1k HDMI cable. as many ppl say digital is either a 1 or a 0
that means to say either u get a signal or no signal

i am comparing in diameters maybe because of resistance,
my system PQ is better with smaller cored cables

any comment here???

This post has been edited by moomoos: Oct 21 2009, 12:22 PM
Ngto
post Oct 21 2009, 12:23 PM

4,350 posts

My old LCD also got only 1 HDMI biggrin.gif . Still waiting for it to spoil so that I can upgrade.
ar188
post Oct 21 2009, 12:32 PM

9,206 posts

Besides my answer is for someone who  wanted to know the differences, so I am just pointing them out for his knowledge. Not here to debate what's best for your tastes or my  tastes  biggrin.gif
actually anfieldfield is not here to debate.. he's ISF calibration sifu aka professional .. so he's speaking with some authority on the subject... thumbup.gif

if you say you like otherwise, then what's up to you.. cheers!

as for different devices connected to TV, I believe that's why TV got different settings for different devices, not all devices output color in the same way, Film and video sources have different settings, interlace, progressive, D6500 , NTSC /PAL, 1080p, 720p, PC input etc.. so how you set up your DVB and Blu-ray would be different for each input (into receiver or to TV)...

Added on October 21, 2009, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(moomoos @ Oct 21 2009, 12:10 PM)

i'm not comparing prices based on cheapo RM100 to a RM1k HDMI cable. as many ppl say digital is either a 1 or a 0

any comment here???
that's why have to ask anfieldfield to A-B test test.. biggrin.gif

Added on October 21, 2009, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 21 2009, 12:23 PM)
My old LCD also got only 1 HDMI  biggrin.gif .  Still waiting for it to spoil so that I can upgrade.
OIC, can understand your view now.. anyway, maybe a HDMI receiver can take over the video switching workload?

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 21 2009, 12:34 PM
geforce1999
post Oct 21 2009, 12:36 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 21 2009, 12:23 PM)
My old LCD also got only 1 HDMI  biggrin.gifStill waiting for it to spoil so that I can upgrade.
If you want, you can provide a little help to make it happen tongue.gif

Riddhy
post Oct 21 2009, 12:39 PM

1,956 posts

so is it good to go for a ps3?? i am a mild gamer looking to play mgs4 and uncharted series other than that pretty much nothing

i heard that picture quality of BD60 is the best than ps3 or any other blu ray player is it true? how come its possible i thought it depends on your tv/monitor

also philips bdp 3000 is rm 580 is it good? what are the differences i am getting compared to bd 60?? for basic feat like bd 2.0/bd live/bonus view i think its all there i think it also decodes hd audio also there is usb port for firmware upgrade so only thing remains is dvd uscaling and format playback i dont care about those. But for PQ does it matter to BD 60 i thought it depends on your display settings. also does BD 60 play mkv files all samsung and lg players do it would be nice if panasonic and sony/pionner plays them too
Ngto
post Oct 21 2009, 12:41 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Oct 21 2009, 12:36 PM)
If you want, you can provide a little help to make it happen tongue.gif
I can still put up with the limitations for time being smile.gif .

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 21 2009, 12:42 PM
anfieldude
post Oct 21 2009, 01:14 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 21 2009, 11:58 AM)
seriously, your next visit to KL with all your ISF calibration tools, we should go to mpyw's place to settle this once and for all.. he got kuro and he got white snake..

see if plug in the white snake power cable into his Dune /BDP or Media player can improve the Video or not..  biggrin.gif
We can do it when I am there.

However, I have done the measurements for a BDP with/without whitesnake for video and the measurement instrument cannot pick up any differences!

No difference in black levels, no different in peak white levels (windowed or full screen) and no discernible differences in sharpness or grains...

However, there are subtle differences in sound (when hooked up to a CD player) and to tell u the truth, I can't quite explain it. Again, on that sense it was not measurable as well, just different. And before someone asks me, if its placebo, remember, I did not say better or worst, I said different.

anfieldude
post Oct 21 2009, 01:21 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Oct 21 2009, 12:10 PM)
no debate ok!! smile.gif
individual preference tho'

Added on October 21, 2009, 12:22 pm

any comment here???
For HDMI cables, 1stly, I have used different AWG HDMI (28, 24, 22) cables, no differences to my eyes or my equipment. Nothing. I prefer larger AWG (smaller diameter) because it puts less stress on the HDMI connectors that in my opinion is flimsy... I find the heavier the cables the higher chances of it loosening with time. I would, however, like to invest in the HDMI locking cables, but its still too expensive for now due to patent issues.

The general rule of thumb is for cables below 10ft, any old AWG cable would do fine.

For the record, I use BlueJeans Cable Tartan 28AWG (China made, China sourced) and do not see any degradation of PQ (10ft, 3ft). Nor do I see a difference when using an expensive AQ HDMI cable.

Again, this is my opinion and my observation, its up to u what u want to use in ur system. If it works for u go for it. Don't bother abt anyone else.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Oct 21 2009, 01:22 PM
ar188
post Oct 21 2009, 01:24 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 21 2009, 01:14 PM)
We can do it when I am there.
great , for me to see also.. .. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 21 2009, 01:25 PM
arremie
post Oct 21 2009, 01:24 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 21 2009, 01:21 PM)
If it works for u go for it. Don't bother abt anyone else.
true. i loved qed coz its purple laugh.gif

116 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0257sec    1.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:05 PM