Bluray Players ~ V2, Profile 1.1 ~ 2.0 ~ BD-Live ~ Mutimedia

geforce1999
post Aug 23 2009, 11:11 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

My first BDs were B2F1 Black Hawk Down, Blood Diamond & 28 Weeks Later back in Jan 2008; however, my PS3 was only purchased in Nov 2008 blush.gif rclxub.gif
geforce1999
post Aug 27 2009, 09:54 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

This thread is amazing, just finished reading one page and another page come out... so fast...
geforce1999
post Aug 27 2009, 09:59 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 26 2009, 04:46 PM)
I have to admit I did buy a few real dual-layered DVDs many years ago, long before BD. Those were exact copy of the original, so at least I got the same quality of the original (except maybe disc quality itself). When I bring home I check the disc size in my laptop, if it's lower than 4.3GB then I return it back. whistling.gif

These pirated BD are not even close to original in quality, much worse, being compressed into BD25, and not that cheap to begin with. Heck, I don't even dare to buy those local released original BDs, even with the B2G1 offer.

No more pirated discs for me. wink.gif
Was reading your post on this... Just curious, if there is exact copy of the original BD on BD25 for RM14 and BD50 for RM40 respectively to start up with, depend on the original BD without being compressed , will you go for it? And the price will be dropping further in the near future for sure as the original BD will be dropping as well...

geforce1999
post Aug 27 2009, 10:02 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Aug 26 2009, 07:23 PM)
this is on HDMI, right..?

yea biggrin.gif gotcha... i'm still on Optical... wait till I get back to my own house back in KL only get a proper system with HDMI input.

btw... is there a splitter or something that we can plug the PS3 into and then split into 2 HDMI cables, one to the TV and another to the HTS?
Yes, there is HDMI spliter around. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss?url=sear...s=hdmi+splitter

I'm using this user posted image

geforce1999
post Aug 27 2009, 10:23 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 27 2009, 10:08 AM)
Why need to split? If your receiver has HDMI input, sure got HDMI output as well.
Yes, my Yammy have HDMI 4 in 1 out but I need to output to both my LCD and projector so I use this spliter for that.

I don't think there will be exact copies, even DVDs now no exact copies anymore. But even if there is, I still won't buy, I just don't buy pirate stuffs since I started working. That story was when I was still a student. smile.gif
It is rare but they exist. Anyway you are a few ppl that I know that can resist the temptation. Good! thumbup.gif

geforce1999
post Aug 27 2009, 10:59 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 27 2009, 10:54 AM)
Watch out for HDMI splitters. Make sure you get proper branded ones and better to be powered splitters. A lot of the cheap splitters cause a lot of colour space problems and change the signals quite a bit. I would suggest getting a proper Gefen splitter. Minimum shd be Monoprice powered splitter.
Yes, using that spliter will need some trick

Better yet, get an AVR with dual HDMI out....
I have a better solution, use the existing ARV on projector only for the new HT room, and let the LCD for kids to watch cartoons and TV programs thumbup.gif

geforce1999
post Aug 28 2009, 09:59 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

for RM48 on pirated BD25 is a rip off...
geforce1999
post Oct 21 2009, 12:36 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 21 2009, 12:23 PM)
My old LCD also got only 1 HDMI  biggrin.gifStill waiting for it to spoil so that I can upgrade.
If you want, you can provide a little help to make it happen tongue.gif

geforce1999
post Nov 11 2009, 10:41 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

There is nothing wrong to be difference ;D
geforce1999
post Dec 3 2009, 01:28 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Dec 3 2009, 01:08 PM)
My friend Philips 3000 can't play some BD. But once he updated the firmware it works.

Same with BD60 and Sony. Thats the whole idea we need to update firmware. BD is still in infant stage. Many unknown problem could occur especially those special features in the BD.

But BD60 is one of the best in playing DVD upscalling to 1080p. I chose that over Sony because of this and because we still got a lot of ahem type of DVD in the market.
Btw, got pirate BD meh? Those are DVD in disguise isnt it?... ha ha ha ha
FYI, pirate 25GB BD is already available long time ago in Malaysia. In China mainland 50GB direct copy BD also available, just the matter if you got jalan whistling.gif

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Dec 3 2009, 01:58 PM
geforce1999
post Dec 4 2009, 09:35 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Dec 3 2009, 09:15 PM)
oh really kah.... shocking.gif

I've never seen a 25G BD pirates... it could be expensive too?

China has a version that selling around RM40. But some BD played with quality problem. And it is not even a pirate? or it is? I've no idea.....

It looks to me those are HD 720p niah...
25GB BD pirate is selling around RM48 locally if not mistaken. Never bought any locally unless the original is 25G, else it will be compromised to loose some PQ or SQ to be squeezed the content in 25GB...

I have got some exact duplicate of BD-R copies from China via a friend previously. Meaning the copies are same size as original, be it 50GB or 25GB. So far I have no problem on playing them on my PS3. thumbup.gif

Added on December 4, 2009, 9:59 am25GB for around RM13 and 50GB for around RM40, I think it is a steal, at least for me tongue.gif

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Dec 4 2009, 09:59 AM
geforce1999
post Jan 12 2010, 11:46 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 12 2010, 11:25 AM)
Boss, there will be new models every year. Price will keep tumbling.

Remember when DVDP first came out? Cost a bomb to own it. Now, dirt cheap.
Yup, that's what I'm been waiting for before getting a dedicated BD player.... Hopefully the price of mid range player will drop till more reasonable level...
geforce1999
post Feb 13 2010, 07:58 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

I was watching Terminator Salvation early morning and wanted to continue later but before turning of my ps3 I could not seem to bookmark it at all mad.gif Just want to know if any of the bd player can do the bookmark anytime we want or the feature is all depend on the disc itself? If it is on the disc itself, I would expect such a new movie like this should have the bookmark feature enable...
geforce1999
post Mar 24 2010, 11:34 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 24 2010, 11:00 AM)
that me..i wont claim warranty. too troublesome..
need go back to shop and wait for few month to repair..
just get a new one..easy and fast...
Truely Elite notworthy.gif
geforce1999
post May 5 2010, 10:27 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Just wondering the Oppo BDP83 or Oppo BDP83SE from US is 110v or 220v?

Added on May 5, 2010, 10:32 pmOpps.. got the answer by just simply google "bdp83 votage"..."Universal Power Supply - The BDP-83 features a wide-range world power supply that is compatible with the AC power of all regions. No worries about damaging the player due to incorrect power voltage."

This post has been edited by geforce1999: May 5 2010, 10:32 PM
geforce1999
post May 21 2011, 12:15 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(nazmanson @ May 20 2011, 11:21 PM)
Today I came across a blu ray player selling for RM399 at HOng Kong Video in Penang the salesman state that the player is region free for BD.

Not sure if its true or not, those interested check it out  icon_rolleyes.gif
BD player only RM399 with region free on BD? My gut telling me very unlikely... At least not for the time being...
geforce1999
post Dec 7 2011, 02:41 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Dec 7 2011, 02:11 PM)
hi all, want to double confirm, is all senheng in malaysia selling sony 380 at rm299?
thank you
Looks like it, why don't you just check it out at nearby SenHeng or SenQ?
geforce1999
post Dec 7 2011, 04:44 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Wow, region free BD player? That's good deal...
geforce1999
post Dec 8 2011, 12:29 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(junchoon @ Dec 8 2011, 12:03 PM)
really?  how to check if gamma is an issue?  my untrained eyes cannot detect any issue lah.  does it depends on the TV/projector?  i am using an old optoma hd80.

thanks,
wps
One way that I know is get reputable Anfieldude to find out tongue.gif
geforce1999
post Nov 8 2012, 07:50 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(thkhai @ Nov 8 2012, 01:46 PM)
What's the solution for cinava?
Buy original tongue.gif