Bluray Players ~ V2, Profile 1.1 ~ 2.0 ~ BD-Live ~ Mutimedia

ronaldkwok
post Apr 18 2012, 09:54 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(BLazinG @ Apr 17 2012, 06:03 PM)
wondering oso..isit worth it 2 buy stand alone bd player? since alrdy have ps3?
It depends. If you watch a lot of BD then it is better to get a stand alone player like the Sony BDP380 that is only RM299 at some shops. You can also use it for DVD and CD and reserve your PS3 for games. This will prolong the life of the PS3 rather than use it for both games and BD. If you play only BD occassionally, then just the PS3 is sufficient. That's my view.
alesi616
post Apr 18 2012, 01:26 PM

810 posts

hi sifu-sifus,

anyone using Philips BDP-3200 or BDP-3300 bluray player?? The only bluray player in market that can play RM/RMVB format files besides the other common file format (WMV/MKV/MP4/etc).

BDP3300 support DLNA1.5 standard, meaning that you can link your PC or handphone or other DLNA compatible device to share/stream photo,song,movie wirelessly..... just curious anyone using this model?

BDP3200 don't supprt DLNA1.5.

I am looking for bluray player that have DLNA feature and can play RMVB file. because I got quite a lot RMVB movie in the laptop, and I hope can utilize the DLNA feature to play this movie wirelessly on the bluray player + TV without always being plug in n plug out the pendrive/portable hardisk to the TV/bluray player.

Since my TV is not DLNA ready, so the only chance I can do is get a bluray player with DLNA feature.
BLazinG
post Apr 18 2012, 01:43 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Apr 18 2012, 09:54 AM)
It depends. If you watch a lot of BD then it is better to get a stand alone player like the Sony BDP380 that is only RM299 at some shops. You can also use it for DVD and CD and reserve your PS3 for games. This will prolong the life of the PS3 rather than use it for both games and BD. If you play only BD occassionally, then just the PS3 is sufficient. That's my view.
im always watching bd..less play game nw..sumtime i play dvd in my ps3..isit goin 2 shorten ma ps3 lifespan?
d888
post Jun 4 2012, 08:01 PM

hi guys.. can we start a list of new dvd players which don't have cinavia?

was watching moneyball on my ps3 and error 3 came up! wtf. now looking for a bd player.. anyone can help recommend? no need 3d.

thanks!
Maknusia
post Jun 4 2012, 08:22 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(d888 @ Jun 4 2012, 08:01 PM)
hi guys.. can we start a list of new dvd players which don't have cinavia?

was watching moneyball on my ps3 and error 3 came up! wtf. now looking for a bd player.. anyone can help recommend? no need 3d.

thanks!
there are many reputable brand, it all depends on your budget and brand preference.
Sony, Samsung are the top now
Mikeyz
post Jun 4 2012, 08:48 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(BLazinG @ Apr 18 2012, 01:43 PM)
im always watching bd..less play game nw..sumtime i play dvd in my ps3..isit goin 2 shorten ma ps3 lifespan?
If your DVDs are those ahem types that are low quality discs,it may tend to spin more faster then usual BDs and this may not be good for the lens.....fair to say,it may damage your PS3 head lens....if can get a dedicated cheap DVD player for your DVD playback if possible.

tcb2010
post Jun 5 2012, 12:32 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Jun 4 2012, 08:22 PM)
there are many reputable brand, it all depends on your budget and brand preference.
Sony, Samsung are the top now
Get last years model sony s380..so far no cinavia yet on this model...and one of the best around.
d888
post Jun 6 2012, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jun 5 2012, 12:32 PM)
Get last years model sony s380..so far no cinavia yet on this model...and one of the best around.
bro.. sony s380 new batch is now cinavia infected.. gonna get pioneer bdp-140
Mikeyz
post Jun 6 2012, 10:27 PM

586 posts

I want to know if those older players that has no Cinavia attached then what if we update firmwares, i am sure it would have Cinavia Compliant in it right?? If so, then many users wil have to stay away from firmware upgrade?
alesi616
post Jun 7 2012, 09:39 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(d888 @ Jun 6 2012, 09:43 PM)
bro.. sony s380 new batch is now cinavia infected.. gonna get pioneer bdp-140
bro, how you notice the new batch of S380 is CINAVIA infected? what is the firmware version? or u use what ahem BD movie to test out?
tcb2010
post Jun 7 2012, 12:44 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Jun 7 2012, 09:39 AM)
bro, how you notice the new batch of S380 is CINAVIA infected? what is the firmware version? or u use what ahem BD movie to test out?
I bought mine two months ago..at Sen Heng...i can't remember the firmware..its written in the menu. The latest firmware in Sony site is Cinavia enabled from what i heard. So, anything earlier i presume ok.

The way i tested it out was with playing two bluray recorded DVD-9 movies...Columbiana and The girl with Dragon tattoo...both Sony released movies. Let each play about 15-20 minutes..and skip the chapters..
If nothing pops..then its good.

Yeah, i did not know they still produce s380 with updated firmwares as mentioned by earlier commenter..

Added on June 7, 2012, 12:49 pm
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jun 7 2012, 12:44 PM)
I bought mine two months ago..at Sen Heng...i can't remember the firmware..its written in the menu. The latest firmware in Sony site is Cinavia enabled from what i heard. So, anything earlier i presume ok.

The way i tested it out was with playing two bluray recorded DVD-9 movies...Columbiana and The girl with Dragon tattoo...both Sony released movies.  Let each play about 15-20 minutes..and skip the chapters..

Yeah, i did not know they still produce s380 with updated firmwares as mentioned by earlier commenter..
Another model u can get is the Samsung D series...I got mine BD-D53000, a 2011 model.
If you can get ur hand on old stock...and firmware 1022...then its fine.. Anything that is firmware 1023 and above, is screwed..

I know coz thats how i screwed up my samsung with Cinavia, and ended up another player (s380).

This post has been edited by tcb2010: Jun 7 2012, 12:49 PM
d888
post Jun 7 2012, 03:22 PM

i tested it with moneyball normal dvd(not bd).. after 20mins error message came up and audio bo liao. it was a march 2012 batch.. the manufacturing date is printed on the side of the box.

i exchanged it for the pioneer bdp-140.. dec 2011 batch.

there are still a few units of the pioneer left in harvey norman mont kiara and midvalley last i checked.

Mikeyz
post Jun 7 2012, 07:49 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(d888 @ Jun 7 2012, 03:22 PM)
i tested it with moneyball normal dvd(not bd).. after 20mins error message came up and audio bo liao. it was a march 2012 batch.. the manufacturing date is printed on the side of the box.

i exchanged it for the pioneer bdp-140.. dec 2011 batch.

there are still a few units of the pioneer left in harvey norman mont kiara and midvalley last i checked.
Bro how u find the Pioneer BDP -140 PQ 7 SQ output performance...so far all disc playback no problems ey?i also keen to get a dedicated player.

d888
post Jun 7 2012, 09:05 PM

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jun 7 2012, 07:49 PM)
Bro how u find the Pioneer BDP -140 PQ 7 SQ output performance...so far all disc playback no problems ey?i also keen to get a dedicated player.
so far so good... harvey norman is selling for rm649 with 1 year warranty and rm699 for 3 years.. also foc hdmi cable. thumbup.gif

can prob find cheaper outside.. but hn is convenient for me...

here's a review for it http://hometheaterreview.com/pioneer-bdp-1...layer-reviewed/
tcb2010
post Jun 8 2012, 12:05 AM

120 posts

For the S380, the firmware version M06.R.0415 is good to go..any newer something like M06.R.0600 will be cinavia enabled, from what i gather.
alesi616
post Jun 8 2012, 02:33 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jun 7 2012, 12:44 PM)

The way i tested it out was with playing two bluray recorded DVD-9 movies...Columbiana and The girl with Dragon tattoo...both Sony released movies.  Let each play about 15-20 minutes..and skip the chapters..

Added on June 7, 2012, 12:49 pm
Another model u can get is the Samsung D series...I got mine BD-D53000, a 2011 model.
If you can get ur hand on old stock...and firmware 1022...then its fine..  Anything that is firmware 1023 and above, is screwed..

I know coz thats how i screwed up my samsung with Cinavia, and ended up another player (s380).
bro u upgrade your samsung D5300 firmware from 1022 to 1023 version? then CINAVIA infected? can downgrade the firmware ?

so u ended up with 2 bluday player now (1 is useless) ?
tcb2010
post Jun 8 2012, 04:13 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Jun 8 2012, 02:33 PM)
bro u upgrade your samsung D5300 firmware from 1022 to 1023 version? then CINAVIA infected? can downgrade the firmware ?

so u ended up with 2 bluday player now (1 is useless) ?
Yeah ended up with two...i did not know about Cinavia thing until kena on my samsung. Tried to downgrade to 1022 but could not anymore...the player would not detect older firmware....But not so heart broken as i got it for cheaps at RM249. Its not totally useless...as i use it now more for MKV stuff for my the other set....

Then , after some research...decided to get the s380, as it was still cinavia free at that time...and damn good deal at RM299.

All in all, the Sony is definitely the better player..for Blu Ray or MKV stuff.
Mikeyz
post Jun 8 2012, 09:41 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jun 8 2012, 04:13 PM)
Yeah ended up with two...i did not know about Cinavia thing until kena on my samsung. Tried to downgrade to 1022 but could not anymore...the player would not detect older firmware....But not so heart broken as i got it for cheaps at RM249. Its not totally useless...as i use it now more for MKV stuff for my the other set....

Then , after some research...decided to get the s380, as it was still cinavia free at that time...and damn good deal at RM299.

All in all, the Sony is definitely the better player..for Blu Ray or MKV stuff.
Went to Seng Heng @ Puchong....no more on sale already...Zzzzz....ur lucky man.cheers

This post has been edited by Mikeyz: Jun 8 2012, 09:42 PM
alesi616
post Jun 10 2012, 10:50 PM

810 posts

anyone using Philips BDP3200 or BDP3300 and notice whether they are CINAVIA infected??

BDP3200 sell around rm350 (with HDMI cable) and BDP3300 sell for rm399 (without HDMI cable).....both can support RMVB media file.

Tempting.....but scare bought the CINAVIA unit....
Sgt_Pepeer
post Jun 15 2012, 10:26 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Jun 10 2012, 10:50 PM)
anyone using Philips BDP3200 or BDP3300 and notice whether they are CINAVIA infected??

BDP3200 sell around rm350 (with HDMI cable) and BDP3300 sell for rm399 (without HDMI cable).....both can support RMVB media file.

Tempting.....but scare bought the CINAVIA unit....
i just bought BDP3300 2 weeks ago, confirm CINAVIA infected sad.gif not sure about BDP3200
----------------
btw, anyone know any other blu-ray player have subtitle shift funtion ? as i know only Philips & OPPO have.

This post has been edited by Sgt_Pepeer: Jun 15 2012, 10:31 AM

116 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0397sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:19 AM