116 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Bluray Players ~ V2, Profile 1.1 ~ 2.0 ~ BD-Live ~ Mutimedia

TSmoomoos
post Aug 17 2009, 04:26 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(niveksedroul @ Aug 17 2009, 04:04 PM)
Hi guys,
I'll finally be getting a BDP soon. Considering one of the following
1) BD60
2) 51FD
3) Oppo 83

Can someone recommend me a store (and est. price if you know). Thanks a bunch.

Also, if my AV receiver does not support DTS HD (normal DTS) but has analog input, and i hook it up to the Oppo 83, will I get the same results as a system with DTS HD?

Thanks a bunch in advance guys.
if BD 60 consider the JVC XVBP1 also does support mkv (temporarily limited to 4gb )
no local warranty same as oppo 83
niveksedroul
post Aug 17 2009, 04:32 PM

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 17 2009, 04:26 PM)
if BD 60 consider the JVC XVBP1 also does support mkv (temporarily limited to 4gb )
no local warranty same as oppo 83
Cool. Tnx for your reply. Will add to my list.
But any idea where is the best place I can check out all these models (side by side comparison)?
TSmoomoos
post Aug 17 2009, 05:13 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=149

Oppo 83

http://www.enjoythemusic.com/magazine/view...achapter116.htm
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=63192.15
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1136139
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1124287

Pioneer 51FD

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1054927
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1142263
http://www.techradar.com/reviews/audio-vis...d-527043/review
http://hometheatermag.com/discplayers/pion...blu-ray_player/
http://www.retrevo.com/search?q=Pioneer+BDP-51FD&rt=oa
http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/blu-ray-pla...-benchmark.html
http://www.testseek.com/home_electronics/v...b359dc9742.html
http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-cinema/...u-ray-Player/p1
http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2009/03/19/re...oneer_bdp_51fd/

JVC

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1131998

BD-60

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1131783
http://hometheatermag.com/discplayers/pana...yer/index1.html
http://reviews.cnet.com/blu-ray-players-re...?tag=txt%3bpage

guess will take you 2 days to shortlist again biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 17 2009, 05:49 PM
ar188
post Aug 17 2009, 06:39 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 17 2009, 05:13 PM)
just get dune2.. biggrin.gif
TSmoomoos
post Aug 17 2009, 06:58 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 17 2009, 06:39 PM)
just get dune2..  biggrin.gif
not much reviews la bro,

dont mind posting site with reviews, so we can really Look, C and compare
ar188
post Aug 17 2009, 07:10 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 17 2009, 06:58 PM)
not much reviews la bro,

dont mind posting site with reviews, so we can really Look, C and compare
what display you using again, I think maybe display also need to be taken into consideration to see which will match together well.. BDP/display
maybe bro anfield can give insights in this..
TSmoomoos
post Aug 17 2009, 07:25 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 17 2009, 07:10 PM)
what display you using again, I think maybe display also need to be taken into consideration to see which will match together well.. BDP/display
Sony 50" 1080i 3LCD Projection TV
ar188
post Aug 17 2009, 07:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 17 2009, 07:25 PM)
Sony 50" 1080i 3LCD Projection TV

biggrin.gif you join chewkl's RPTV gang ar?
Ngto
post Aug 17 2009, 09:19 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 17 2009, 01:38 PM)
thanks bro Ngto,
i am in Ipoh, have already called uo 03-7673-8325 and it seems that all 3 shops oso dont have
I saw Harvey Norman over here got lots of 51FD. Too bad they don't have any branches over at your location.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Aug 17 2009, 09:24 PM
niveksedroul
post Aug 17 2009, 09:33 PM

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 17 2009, 07:10 PM)
Thanks for the replies guys.
Mine is Sharp 42" 63M series. 60Hz era fellow.
I suppose it won't really be able to take full advantage of those higher end players? My two cents.

This post has been edited by niveksedroul: Aug 17 2009, 09:34 PM
ar188
post Aug 17 2009, 10:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(niveksedroul @ Aug 17 2009, 09:33 PM)
I suppose it won't really be able to take full advantage of those higher end players? My two cents.
you get the idea where I was heading... thumbup.gif

I mean, new model players come out every year, why pay to get this years flagship player when display isn't up to par to take advantage..
especially with BD, we just treat the BDP as bare transport via HDMI.. everything pipe to the AVR and TV to decode (when playing BD materials)..
when upgrade the Display time say 2years later, those mid/entry priced BDP players also will surpass 2years ago flagship BDP already biggrin.gif
anfieldude
post Aug 17 2009, 10:44 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(niveksedroul @ Aug 17 2009, 09:33 PM)
Does it accept a 24Hz signal? Else it would be important to get a proper BD player that can output at 1080p/60Hz to minimize post processing errors in ur set.

As ar188 says, the display is one of the most important aspects of the HT. Any deficiencies will show up there...
ar188
post Aug 17 2009, 10:54 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 17 2009, 10:44 PM)
bro, when coming to KL.. ?? should meet at mpyw's place can TKSS there.. laugh.gif
anfieldude
post Aug 17 2009, 11:03 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 17 2009, 10:54 PM)
bro, when coming to KL.. ?? should meet at mpyw's place can TKSS there..  laugh.gif
Will let u know the next trip. Yeah, want to check out his new Marantz and Dune as well! Will let u know.
ar188
post Aug 17 2009, 11:09 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 17 2009, 11:03 PM)
Will let u know the next trip. Yeah, want to check out his new Marantz and Dune as well! Will let u know.
we ask htkaki to bring bazooka SVS to his house also.. poison him.. laugh.gif
TSmoomoos
post Aug 17 2009, 11:16 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 17 2009, 10:40 PM)
you get the idea where I was heading...  thumbup.gif

I mean, new model players come out every year, why pay to get this years flagship player when display isn't up to par to take advantage..
especially with BD, we just treat the BDP as bare transport via HDMI.. everything pipe to the AVR and TV to decode (when playing BD materials)..
when upgrade the Display time say 2years later, those mid/entry priced BDP players also will surpass 2years ago flagship BDP already  biggrin.gif
already have your thoughts in mind,

My preference is to have a good BD player, with good CD playback thru dedicated Analog outs, to replace my existing player, Mc'Cormack Prism II as i have already sold of all my Hi-fi separates.

If i were to get the OPPO 83 (its only the Warranty status and whether its worth the "RM" being spent or not, else will be the 51FD ) that supports SACD, MKV, then it make sense for me to sell off the Mc'Cormack Prism II, I know SACD maybe is near EOL

If i cant find one to substitute, then will downgrade and follow your way biggrin.gif

Added on August 17, 2009, 11:20 pm
Does it accept a 24Hz signal? Else it would be important to get a proper BD player that can output at 1080p/60Hz to minimize post processing errors in ur set.

As ar188 says, the display is one of the most important aspects of the HT. Any deficiencies will show up there...
I agree, as i believe there are still many people ( maybe ratio 1:30 ) that have LCD's and projectors which do not support the 1080/24p signal as well as 36 and 48 deep colour

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 17 2009, 11:20 PM
ar188
post Aug 17 2009, 11:22 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 17 2009, 11:16 PM)
already have your thoughts in mind,

My preference is to have a good BD player, with good CD playback thru dedicated Analog outs, to replace my existing player, Mc'Cormack Prism II as i have already sold of all my Hi-fi separates.

If i were to get the OPPO 83 (its only the Warranty status and whether its worth the "RM" being spent or not, else will be the 51FD ) that supports SACD, MKV, then it make sense for me to sell off the Mc'Cormack Prism II, I know SACD maybe is near EOL

If i cant find one to substitute, then will downgrade and follow your way biggrin.gif

Added on August 17, 2009, 11:20 pm

I agree, as i believe there are still many people ( maybe ratio 1:30 ) that have LCD's and projectors which do not support the 1080/24p signal as well as 36 and 48 deep colour
my way is just the cost conscious method.. if you do feel otherwise, you are welcome to help the domestic economy.. tongue.gif
niveksedroul
post Aug 17 2009, 11:22 PM

My TV does not support 24p. Bummer. <1yr old and already feeling the obsolete-ness.
Will look for a BDP that outputs at 60Hz.
Thanks anfieldude and ar188.
TSmoomoos
post Aug 17 2009, 11:32 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 17 2009, 11:22 PM)
my way is just the cost conscious method.. if you do feel otherwise, you are welcome to help the domestic economy..  tongue.gif
cost conscious with reasonable facts that maximise usage, "Its beyond unreasonable doubt"

On the contary i heard some Sifu's mumbling b4, that if you can get a source that can say output to the max of 1080/24p at 48 deep colour its definitely better than standard BD Player that outputs at 1080p, so your LCD will have a better pix when it downscale back

anybody can support this theory??
ar188
post Aug 18 2009, 12:08 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 17 2009, 11:32 PM)
cost conscious with reasonable facts that maximise usage, "Its beyond unreasonable doubt"

On the contary i heard some Sifu's mumbling b4, that if you can get a source that can say output to the max of 1080/24p at 48 deep colour its definitely better than standard BD Player that outputs at 1080p, so your LCD will have a better pix when it downscale back

anybody can support this theory??
have to wait for sifu anfield.. he seen /calibrated quite a number of tellys to notice them..

116 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:29 PM