7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Collectibles Diecast Car Collector V4, Where diecast lovers congregate

jchue73
post Aug 5 2009, 08:26 PM

2,496 posts

Wah, version 4 already... Great and thanks to ericmaxman for initiating and starting it.

Well, I have a few replies and questions from V3 thread and I think I'll continue posting it here;

Jasonist: 599 GTB Super Elite? You mean normal Elite version like this one? biggrin.gif

Or did you mean the Super Elite 575 GTZ Zagato...

Howard Tan: Great. No problem. Would love to see pics of the 1:1 F430 Spider. Didn't realise you were still studying in Oz.

Did somebody say CMC McLaren SLR? ohmy.gif

Sorry, I can only find pics of the SLR from my handphone.

Anyway, the AUD 350 price is a little high for the CMC McLaren SLR. I think you can easily get it with free shipping for that price on ebay without looking very hard.

Also, thanks for posting up the prices of the BBR models from that Gio guy. I did buy something from him on Ebay and he did ask me to sell for hi. And yes, I can confirm that the prices you listed includes FREE shipping to MY too.

leroy87: I looked at the idcow website but there seems to be no option to ship to Malaysia even though they say they do international shipping? If I'm not wrong, they only list Canada besides their own USA for shipping.

AMG_soh: You still waiting to get your Elite Scuderia 60th Aniversary? Why not get from leroy87?

hokuan: PJ got shop selling diecast meh?

REALCollector: Ferrari track version? BBR or Redline? 360 GTC, F40 GTE, 550 Maranello, 575 GTC or F430 GT? biggrin.gif
jchue73
post Aug 6 2009, 12:03 AM

2,496 posts

hokuan: Thanks for the info. Uptown is near where I am. Will check it out.

Howard: Nice Ford GT. I wanted to get the yellow one but ended up with the Ford GT LM Spec. Don't know when it'll arrive. Don't know if the deal goes through or not.

BBR Enzo you say? biggrin.gif What about a yellow one?

Jasonist: I sometimes think that red is not always look good on the Ferrari. Yellow, Black and White look good too. In fact, sometimes it looks better IMHO.

I think Howard is referring to this SL?

jchue73
post Aug 6 2009, 06:40 PM

2,496 posts

jchue73
post Aug 7 2009, 01:54 PM

2,496 posts

REALCollector: Is that the 360 GTC Race Presentation 2001 from IXO? Nice. biggrin.gif Why didn't choose the ones with race livery? Or perhaps it's äkan datang"?

Got one Ferrari 360 N/GT #89 (K.Burt / D.Turner) FIA GT Magny Cours 2003 made and serialised by Autobarn from a BBR kit (PJ316) and it is suppose to be an exact replica of the car that raced in the 2003 N-GT class in Magny Cours. The #88 sibling car is the same kit but I guess just slightly different decals. I think I showed this in one of my teaser pics. So here are some close up pics of it;

Anyway, some brief history about this particular car;

The Team Maranello Concessionaires #89 car was driven by Kelvin Burt (GB) and Darren Turner (GB). They qualified 22nd on the grid overall were 2nd overall in the N-GT class during the 2nd round 2003 FIA-GT at Magny Cours (3 laps behind the winner) with the other team car #88 taking the 1st position but was later disqualified when it was found to have an illegal sized fuel tank.

The #89 car started the 1st round of the N-GT class 2003 season at the Catalunya track in Barcelona, Spain, quite good with 3rd placing behind the the other team car #88 and 10th placing overall after completing 92 laps which is 4 laps behind the GT class winner (Ferrari 550 Maranello from Team BMS Scuderia). Good effort for the team with 2nd and 3rd placing.

In the 3rd round FIA GT championship N-GT class in Enna-Pergusa track in Italy, car #89 finished 8th placing in the N-GT class just one place behind the #88 car and in 16th position overall after retiring at 81 laps due to transmission fault.

In the 4th round at the Brno Circuit, Czech Republic, car #89 finished 10th placing in the N-GT class after completing 79 laps and 19th place overall together with the GT class which means only 9 out of 18 GT class cars were faster than car #89. They were also 8 laps off pace behind the winner. Car #88 driven by Tim Mullen and Jamie Davies did better to secure 3rd place after completing 84 laps of the race.

In the 5th round at Donington Park circuit, the #89 car was not so lucky. They were classified DNF after completing only 37 laps before retiring due to gearbox problems. Car #88 finished 5th in the N-GT class and 14th overall with 6 laps behind the winner. Amazingly, the #89 was faster in qualifying than the #88 car as they were 17th on the starting grid compared to 20th on the starting grid for the #88 car.

In the 6th round for the 24 hours Spa, the #89 car did average but slightly better than the #88 car. After 6 hours, the #89 car was in 7th position while car #88 was in 6th position in the N-GT class both clocking 104 laps. After 12 hours, only the #89 car was classified and went on to register 8th fastest in the N-GT class clocking 203 laps. After 24 hours, #89 car finished 20th overall and 7th in the N-GT class. The #88 car finished in the 39th placing and was classified DNF after only clocking 104 laps.

In the 7th round in Anderstorp, Sweden, car #89 was not so lucky as they finished their worst results finishing last place and were classified DNF after only completing 64 laps. Car #88 finished 9th position overall with only 4 laps behind the winner and finished 3rd in the N-GT class. Both cars #88 and #89 were quite equal in that they qualified 21st and 22nd on the starting grid respectively.

In the 8th round in Oschersleben track, Germany, car #89 finished 3rd placing just behind car #88 and 7th placing overall after finishing 117 laps. They were off by 2 laps behind the GT car winner (Ferrari 550 Maranello from Team BMS Scuderia).

In the 9th round in Estoril track in Portugal, car #89 finished 9th placing in the N-GT class and finished 17th overall. Car #88 fared better and was 2nd in the N-GT class and finished 9th overall. Both cars qualified 18th (#88) and 20th (#89) spot on the starting grid but eventually, luck would have it that car #89 had to retire after 95 laps due to a brake problem.

In the final 10th round in Monza circuit in Italy, car #88 got 9th placing in the N-GT class and 19th overall. They completed were 10 laps behind the overall GT class winner (Ferrari 550 Maranello from Team BMS Scuderia with 87 laps). Not so lucky for car #89 as they were not classified as they fell short of completing the required minimum 70% of winner's distance (in this case only 58 laps) due to some electrical problems with the car.

Overall, the #89 car from Team Maranello Concessionaires did not fare so well in the season compared to the other #88 car and compared to the other cars from the other teams as well especially the Porsche 911 GT3-RS which dominated the N-GT class.

jchue73
post Aug 7 2009, 02:03 PM

2,496 posts

leroy87: I kena only one time lah. Fingers crossed all the time and try to keep package below RM 500 is getting more and more difficult.

myke: 599XX? rclxub.gif USD 250 bucks than can lah... rolleyes.gif Just a small note on the HW Elite 599 GTB Fiorano... It's light like the other Elites and I'm pretty sure if I look hard at the model in detail, they would cut corners using cheap stuff. But what to do right? Currently only HW is making the 599 in 1/18 scale.

Yeah, built and mounted 2 Ikea Bertby shelfs on the wall of my room just a few days ago to house some of my collection. Had to wait till midnight so that I can fix it up without my little daughter interrupting ! My neighbours must be thinking this is one siow neighbour knocking and drilling in the middle of the night. laugh.gif

Anyway, I think the cabinets will suite 1/43 scales better than 1/18 scales since with the 1/18 scales, it takes quite a big real estate and I can only fit 10 cars in one cabinet.

And speaking about the Ford GT LM Spec, any idea what is a right price? It seems to be very expensive and at the same levels as what you would pay for an Autoart Signature series model...

Ok lah, I'll not play games and come clean. biggrin.gif Here's what I got...

jchue73
post Aug 9 2009, 01:25 PM

2,496 posts

REALCollector: Thanks. Wah, nice looking 550 and 575. Will post some pics of my 575 #11 from the 24 hour SPA race livery in 2004 once I stick the rear wing on the car. rolleyes.gif I think I showed a grab shot of it from one of the packages but not the full pic.

Congrats on the yellow Enzo. All those Ferrari road cars in the pic from Kyosho? I know the #30 Schumacher FXX car is from HW Elite right? If all goes well, there will be 10 different 1/43 scale FXX cars coming. At the moment, no stock.

Jasonist: Congrats on the Mika's DTM Merc and Z4 plain white great catch. I hope mine coming soon. Ordered the Team Redbull and Team Schubert livery as well.

Say is your Ford GT the normal one or the LM Spec?

myke: Nice photos of the 2007 version of the 009 car. Congrats. Poison poison ! rclxub.gif
jchue73
post Aug 9 2009, 04:54 PM

2,496 posts

Jasonist: LM Spec for that price is very good price indeed. I think you can only get normal Ford GT for that price nowadays. When did you get yours?

As for the HW Enzo, is yours Elite or normal? 1/43 scale?

myke: Ooophs, my mistake. Should be 2008 winner and not 2007. That orange with light blue Gulf livery is sure sweet.

REALCollector: I think if you want FXX cars in 1/43 scale, the HW Elites are pretty decent. Many different variants too. Let me see... You have

Actually I got that BBR 360 pretty cheap. Cheaper than what a Redline model would cost.

Anyway, I find that for Kyosho 1/43 scale Ferraris, the shop in BTS sells for quite a good price. Better than what one can get online especially after taking into account the shipping cost. Got my first Kyosho Ferraris (Red Enzo and Red 250 GTO) from there and I was very impressed with the Kyosho quality and packaging. The perspex cover is one of the best. Easily better than BBR's.

I'll probably hunt for a black 250 GTO, black and red F40 plus a yellow Enzo too to complement their 1/18 brothers. biggrin.gif
jchue73
post Aug 10 2009, 02:23 PM

2,496 posts

REALCollector: If you're just shooting scale models, then there is no need to upgrade your current setup. In fact, PnS with built-in macro fucntion is very good for the job you need to do. DSLR would be very cumbersome and not to mention very expensive when you factor the flash and the macro lens in. The trick to good pics is steady hands and good lighting. If you have something to hold the camer steady like a tripod, by all means use it. Try and avoid direct flash lighting as it does not do justice to the results. Bounce the light if you can. This is the only part I find DSLR useful. Most of the time, I find PnS more advantagous to use because of the light weight and technically, you get more Depth of Field (DoF) for the subject you want to shoot for the same shutter speed and aperture. All parts of your model subject will be in focus compared to DSLRs with bigger sensor. Smaller sensor of the PnS will always give better DoF.

hokuan: Yeah, good detail there. Nowadays, PnS cameras are very good quaity.

kabuto rider kick: If you're displaying pics for web pages, then 5MP is more than enough. If your intention is to print large poster sized pics (larger than A3), then the quality will begin to show.

I was using a Nikon D2Hs DSLR extensively before this and everyone knows this is a 4MP sensor. A lot of people were laughing to say that even a PnS digicam has more MP. But suffice to say, it's the quality of pixels that matters when capturing light and that camera was a favourite of mine. Super fast and super accurate for lightning action shots.

Anyway, great start of the week when this greeted me this morning. biggrin.gif

It's a huge box but only one item inside. It's a Ferrari but which model and scale? Please tembak. laugh.gif
jchue73
post Aug 10 2009, 07:28 PM

2,496 posts

leroy87: Where got 1/18 BBR Scuderia? biggrin.gif

khsj: Not a California. I believe only HW makes the California in 1/18.

Ok lah, another clue. It's bigger than 1/18 scale. biggrin.gif
jchue73
post Aug 10 2009, 07:50 PM

2,496 posts

Jasonist: Close but not close enough. laugh.gif
jchue73
post Aug 10 2009, 11:03 PM

2,496 posts

hokuan: I'm no Howard. My 1:1 car collection is pathetic. laugh.gif Don't need so many. Just one 1:1 F car or a Merc will do for me. biggrin.gif

myke: Wah, why did you pick Kyosho 1/12 while saru88 and Jasonist picked Tamiya ? hmm.gif

saru88: My reply to Jasonist was vague and I could have implied that it was not a Tamiya and that it's an Enzo which makes it quite possible that it could be a 1/12 Kyosho Enzo, right?

Anyway, congrats both saru88 and Jasonist for making correct guess. biggrin.gif You guys are very smart. It's not one of the more famous Ferrari cars but I could not pass the tempting deal even though it's a "pre-loved" car with no box. I was told that this is the only Tamiya 1/12 series that has a fully diecast body. sweat.gif

Well, I was and am always on the lookout for 1/12 Enzos or F40 LWs or even the McLaren F1 but no luck getting it cheap.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Aug 10 2009, 11:07 PM
jchue73
post Aug 11 2009, 12:02 PM

2,496 posts

saru88: Congrats on the bull. Great comparison there. Yeah, the BBurago is more like 1/19 scale instead of 1/18. I have a BBurago. One of my first actually. Got it during JJ member day sale.

BTW, waiting for the this one to come... rolleyes.gif cry.gif

http://www.amalgamcollection.com/en/produc...l.php?SKU=M5255

Will try and post some initial pics of the F50 monster later.

Anyway, this one greeted me this morning. biggrin.gif

Don't worry. The box states BBR but the contents not. sweat.gif
jchue73
post Aug 11 2009, 05:40 PM

2,496 posts

saru88: Scuderia fever again? biggrin.gif Is that Elite version?

Some quick grab shots late last night after doing some cleaning and polishing and some comparison pics with the 1/18 scale Minichamps Carrera GT.

Took a while to clean up the F50. sweat.gif Well, the comparison would be better if I had a 1/18 scale F50. Anybody can recommend a good F50?

jchue73
post Aug 12 2009, 03:27 AM

2,496 posts

myke: The BBurago is not a real BBurago F50. That's a modified one ! Great looking tyres. Where did you find those black rims? Looks ganas.

Anyway, there's not so many 1/18 scale F50. Maisto, BBurago, HW and HW Elite if I'm not wrong. Rarely see a HW Elite.

Will try and peek at the Tamiya shop at 1U. But chances probbaly already gone. If still got, I'm willing to bet they will not let go at a price tempting enough for me to take it home. Don't think that will happen. Malaysia mah... Some more Tamiya brand is overpriced stuff over here. sad.gif

hokuan: Yes, the 1/12 Carrera GT is tempting indeed. Thought about it. Dangerous. Anyway, initial plan was to get 1/43 scale and 1/18 but somehow somewhere along the way, came across a deal too tempting to resist and I landed with a 1/12. laugh.gif

saru88: laugh.gif Believe it or not, I got the Super Elite for not so much more expensive than a regular Elite. Anyway, I'm anxious to see more of your comparison pics of the BBurago and Autoart Reventon.

Eh, no Suzuka Grey Audi R8 ah? biggrin.gif <cabbuut>

aurion: That's the spirit man. Well, you can still sembang sembang here and provide valuable input and tips. Keep it up.

Jasonist: The F50 is relatively heavy. I weigh it just now and the scales showed 2 kg.

Ok, can you guess what these are? biggrin.gif They're from the BBR box.

REALCollector: I've also lost count on my items already. Expenditure? rclxub.gif cry.gif Anyway, speaking about black beauty, I've got some pics to show too. Will try and post later.

leroy87: Send your F50 for major respray and polish. biggrin.gif BTW, what make is your F50?
jchue73
post Aug 12 2009, 05:16 PM

2,496 posts

khsj: Thanks. Yeah, the Maisto Carrera GT is one of a kind. If you read on forums and websites, in certain ways the Maisto is even better than Autoart's version ! Truly a great buy for good price. What colour did you get?

I have a red one (yeah my Minichamps is also red) and if you put the Maisto and the Minichamps side by side, you'd be hard pressed to differentiate which is which. Paint work is excellent and as good as the Minichamps. Hope you can share some photos of your Maisto Carrera GT.

Blank19: You very hebat ! thumbup.gif Perhaps my photo was a little too "revealling". biggrin.gif Next step is can you guess what colour is the F40? Should not be too hard.

Anyway, can you guess what's the other two? Some more clues here...

Small one came in today from US.

jchue73
post Aug 13 2009, 06:54 PM

2,496 posts

Blank19: I knew you would be fooled by the box. tongue.gif It's a black F40 LW. The main pics on the box shows red colour though but the serial number and description states black. Both the other two boxes are also prancing horses. But what can they be? hmm.gif

Jasonist: Great photos of the Carrera GT as usual. The car in the other 2 boxes look sleek and slender indeed. Nobody wants to take more guesses? Just a peek at the black F40 LW.

Anyway, nice black Carrera GT there. I'm actually hunting for the white one. But only Autoart makes this colour.

Well, I'm actually looking to modify the wheels of the F50 to a black one like what myke did for his BBurago. Make it more like the one on the F50 GT. drool.gif

Black rims with red lining would look great indeed.

myke: laugh.gif Great mod there especially since the BBurago F50 is more than 12 years old. Ok, the first one you got correct. Great guess. Second and third one wrong mate. biggrin.gif Guess again. Aiyah, if I have to give prices for correct guesses, I pokai lah. biggrin.gif

Anyway, in general I'm not a fan of Porsche too but the Carrera GT is a different Porsche to my eyes. So it does get a special place in my collection. The other one that is different and that I like also is the 911 GT1 used in the 1998 FIA GT series and Le Mans.

saru88: Wah, now you poison with R35 pics pulak? Somehow the R35 eludes me. I'm still undecided on the Kyosho or the Autoart. Yeah, the Super Elite was about close to RM 470 after conversion. Close to the price you would pay for a good Autoart model. Well, the shipping was a killer though.

subaru22b: Finally ! Great addition man. Congrats. The version 10 is very seldom seen.

leroy87: If the condition of your F50 is bad, why not just spray it flat black? Would be very nice I think.

khsj: Great photos man. Especially the ones on the internals. thumbup.gif

Anyway, today these two boxes came in the morning. One from Thailand (white box) and the other from Italy. At the first look, the one from Italy looks weird because it was packed like that to include 2 units of 1/43 scale. Ingenious I think. REALCollector would be happy since yesterday's package was also 2 units of 1/43 scale. biggrin.gif The package from Thailand was opened by Kastam to check as indicated by the sticker tape. Presumably since it came from Thailand, they probably suspected something illegal? rolleyes.gif

Anyway, let the guessing game begin again... Anybody want to take a shot as what are the 1/43 scale models and what's in the box from Thailand? The box from Thailand contains a single 1/18 model. The person who guess it right for all will get the Tamiya F50. laugh.gif

jchue73
post Aug 13 2009, 07:01 PM

2,496 posts

hokuan: You are right on the two variations. At least on the Maisto if I'm not mistaken. Something got to do with having different rims. Anyway, just did some quick external pics of the Carrera GTs last night. No side by side comparo on engine and brake details of the Carrera GT. Hope this is ok?

Just for the record, the Minichamps is one of the heaviest 1/18 models I have. I weight it last night and it's 1kg on the dot. The Maisto is 790 grams which is considered quite heavy for a Maisto. The F40 LW on the other hand is really light weight but well made I must say.

I would think the Autoart is around the same weight or lighter than the Maisto since some of the external body parts are made of plastic. Anyway, I've read that the painting on plastic and on diecast can have different shades even though painted with same colour. These shades apparently can be seen and noticeable on the Autoart model.

jchue73
post Aug 13 2009, 08:32 PM

2,496 posts

Jasonist: Ok lah, I give chance... Here's a closer shot of the new package. biggrin.gif

hokuan: The sticker is there for kiasu purposes. laugh.gif It came with the car to protect the Carrera GT photoetched tampo.

Yes, on the Minichamps, the spoiler is functional. Just like the Autoart. And as you can see, the Mnichamps (as well as Autoart) has got the roof while Maisto version not.
jchue73
post Aug 14 2009, 08:47 AM

2,496 posts

REALCollector: Yes, I've been eyeing on the R8 LMS after seeing a little bit of it on last Top Gear's magazine. Oh, speaking about the Ford GT... drool.gif

BTW, nice 1/43 Ferrari collection there. I will always appreciate Kyosho's 1/43 Ferraris because they feature open bonnets / hoods and priced quite "reasonable".

Poisonous pic on the R8 engine. Anyway, if you want a Z4 race version, you can always get a 1/18 scale. <cabbuutt> biggrin.gif

saru88: Thanks. Yes, the Super Elite was a good deal. Will try and post photos of it later. Perhaps with additional photos for comparisons.

Anyway, I hope that day won't come when I won't be poisoned enough to buy BOTH Kyosho and Autoart R35. I like quite the few colours they offered. If have to buy from both, mati lah. laugh.gif

myke: You're on the roll spotting and making guesses. Perhaps you picked up on my clues. Very good and congrats. biggrin.gif This is why I'm reluctant to give prices for correct guesses. Especially if you have people like you around. Bound to get it correct.

But hey, you did not guess what the 2nd package contained. laugh.gif For only 1 correct, you probably can only get to spend one day with the Tamiya F50, just like MIX fm's Dearly Deported. :lol

Anyway, the Ferrari F50 GT remains but an illusive piece for me. Even transkit also nearly impossible to get and nobody seems to make one. sad.gif

This second pic is in respond to REALCollector's Ferrari spam.

Hey, nobody guessing for these two previous cars ah?

jchue73
post Aug 14 2009, 10:50 AM

2,496 posts

Very good guess myke. But you only got the Black 250 GTO correct. biggrin.gif I think I better withdraw or end the contest early. If not mati man... laugh.gif Everybody can guess correctly because Kyosho makes quite a few Ferraris only. laugh.gif

Anyway, the Ford GT is indeed expensive but still got it cheaper than market price. In fact the price I paid is quite close to the Tamiya F50 ! That is why I was quite surprised that Jasonist got his at such a good price indeed. But I guess they were cheaper when it came out and became expensive when they run out of stock everywhere. I would have preferred the Carbon Black version though but it was not the price I was willing to fork out.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0492sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:14 PM