6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

==>LYN Yamaha 135LC Club V3<==, ~We Are Riders, Not Rempit~

alexei
post Nov 15 2009, 02:44 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(blue_decamax @ Nov 15 2009, 12:06 AM)
wtf, juz lggar lubang!!! both rim front & rear pecah.  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

Sorry to hear that...

Added on November 15, 2009, 2:52 amDevilVanc, Are_Keem:
After rain, use clean water to splash the bike. Just watch out if you use chrome pipe, may cause scaling if kena water when it is still hot. If already kena, just use metal polish...

To clean chain, if not use O-ring, anything can clean, in fact the cleaner the better. If you wanna use petrol or WD40 or sabun baju also can. Then, let it dry it. Once I used sabun baju to wash chain+sprocket until it shine, and lube it back, no problem.

If O-ring, only use chain cleaner to remove those dirt and grit on the outside.

After cleaning, lube it with chain grease, this this is spray on, and dries up and stick to the chain. Chainlube cost from something between 12-60. Using EO to lube the chain is not the best, but at least it is something.

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 15 2009, 02:52 AM
alexei
post Nov 16 2009, 03:46 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

TryX: Chain cleaner ah, can try Mega Fortune green lane or RacingMate near Komtar. RacingMate also sells Silkolene EO. Not quite sure coz for myself, I haven't cleaned my O-ring before, just add up with Motul chainlube.

DevilVanc: Kerosene to clean O-ring chains is better than using petrol, as petrol MAY damage the O-ring seals. Again, cleaning O-ring is mainly to remove unwanted things on the outside.

Tesco don't sell chainlube AFAIK, look for them in bikeshops. On my O-rings, I've tried capalang brand RM12 doesn't stay on chain very long, about 200km need to add. Motul and Silkolene lasts 500km. Chain lube on normal chain don't stay very long also because these chains do not retain the lube very well... O-ring chain costs ~200+, lasts long but quite heavier.

Spray on grease I never try on chain but I don't like it as very messy, not recommeneded. My fren use it to cover metal surface like nut ends or inside the frame metal tubing to prevent rust - I use undercoat for this purpose.

Silkolene EO, a good brand, sponsors racing teams, strong with 2-stroke and motocross lube too. I would try their midrange COMP series if not mistaken, read website for more info.

Added on November 16, 2009, 3:50 amCoverset is plastic material, and some coverset has a layer of plastic film to make it glossy. don't use wax to make it shiny, instead look for plastic protector. If use wax, you may degrade the plastic and make the cover set look like those apek C70 you can see black cracklines...

Unless if the coverset is painted with color and clear coat, then ok to use car wax.

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 16 2009, 03:50 AM
alexei
post Nov 16 2009, 04:08 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Actually, about aftermarket parts on motorcycles, I don't quite agree why we kena saman becoz we paid for the parts. Maybe the reasons they saman us are to reduce illegal racing, noise pollution, theft rate, inflation etc etc... but they are penalizing the good citizens here. I assume you all don't do illegal racing that would endanger other road users lah! biggrin.gif

It makes me angry to think that I'm stopped at roadblocks because I wash my bike, make it look nice, ride it out during hours when normal ppl goes out that sort of thing, and kena saman... where as those 100++ midnight rangers all over Penang can convoy around the island. What about those emergency respond bikers? They ride even harder to accident scenes breaking a few car reflectors along the way. biggrin.gif, then the PizzaHut delivery boy slogan: Why rempit when you can make money?

Even more frust when thinking about stolen bikes and parts... you go report and they just tell you "sorry la, most likely you will not get it back, but you can try to look for the bangkai near some lake somewhere when the water level is lower... this will help us close case and u can get your insuran pampasan faster la. Who ask you to buy new bike?" I've went backhill running/cycling before and I've found bangkai motor along roads of developing housing estates...

Then, there are these drivers and riders who don't take care of their vehicle, oil leaking here there, sprocket tajam like shuriken, rantai longgar like jambatan gantung, no brake lights, no signal lights, overload with 4 gastanks... I think roadblocks should saman and ban these motorists.

So, I'm not afraid of roadblocks becoz I've done nothing wrong. If they ask about my modifications, I'll just tell them I bought it last month w my gaji and I'm afraid ppl will steal it. I enjoy the performance but I do not race.
alexei
post Nov 17 2009, 04:00 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(bizzy123 @ Nov 16 2009, 06:21 PM)
Can we use this as our chain lubricant?? My bro bought it for his bike from a bicycle shop..
That silicone lube doesn't dry up and stick to the chain, does it?
If it doesn't, then it's not suitable.

Notice the "Anti-fling" from RADIO_8888's chain lube photo? That's a must-have property of road bike chain lubes. These chain lubes will spray on easily, and then dries up, leaving a protective film. WD40 and alcohol will dry up and leave no protection behind.

Added on November 17, 2009, 4:14 am
QUOTE(DevilVanc @ Nov 16 2009, 09:53 PM)
Hmm u 2 buy the lube from which part in penang ah ? The reason I don't go to racingmate is coz they are quite cutthroat.. last time bought my helmet there only to find out it's around 20RM plus more expensive. Though I know they are famous for some track racing stuff. Btw can someone snap a pic of normal chain incomparison to O-RING chain.. I want to know more hehe..
About O-rings: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O-ring
These are small round rubbery/plasticky seals, other shapes includes X-ring, Q-ring, Z-ring etc.

Applications in roller chain: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O-ring_chain
- The o-ring chain is named for the rubber o-rings built into the metal rollers of every link in this particular type of metal chain.
- Also have rough guide to chain-care.

Notice the O-ring seal in between the inner and outer chain links. Normal roller chain does not have this.

Added on November 17, 2009, 4:30 amI know very few brands from the old days, D.I.D, RK & Triple-S (SSS). Nowadays, these are locally made and I've yet to know of their quality - DID Thai, RK-M Malaysia, and SSS ???.

My foreman said SSS not good. For O-rings, I can find DID and RK-M. Costs around 220-240, maybe less for shorter chains.

Foreman recommend 428H for kapcai. Normal RK-M chain is 428M about RM12+ if correct. 428H chains are RM40-60.

Some of the kaki here use Osaki chains. Both foreman tell me don't use on my RGV. (In case you haven't notice, I yet to own LC).

Added on November 17, 2009, 7:59 am
QUOTE(blue_decamax @ Nov 16 2009, 04:51 AM)
if say like that, kne saman or not? hehe...
haha, normally they ask me about my bike, admiring it, then let go...

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 17 2009, 07:59 AM
alexei
post Nov 18 2009, 02:46 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(-=sparkan=- @ Nov 17 2009, 08:21 PM)
hello guys!! i found out about this forum about a week ago.. you guys are quite happening compared to the yamahat135 forum as its like almost dead there.. im from singapore, riding an 08 spark/sniper/jupiter/t135.. hope im welcomed!! haha..

i have questions too so i hop you guys can help me out..

Q 1 - Im using the Yamaha racing footrest, after some time, i noticed that now, it vibrates like hell man.. Didnt vibrate at all last time.. any solutions guys?

Q 2 - Changing gears aint smooth, since the day i used the racing footrest, at times when changing, it tends to get stuck half way before it goes into gear.. is it the shaft connecting to the rod? any solutions?

hope you guys could help me out bros!
Hey buddy, see 1st page for join details. After that, bank in RM500 to me for member fee. LOLz.
Q1 - Vibrate? As in the footrest parts are loose, or the footrest is loose, or the footrest is transferring engine vibration to you?
Q2 - You changed EO the day you changed footrest? How long have you have the footrest? What is the angle of the gear shifter that is attached to the gear shaft on engine block? Try to replicate the angle on stock condition.
alexei
post Nov 20 2009, 02:04 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

yeah, Revoil, that's the cheap one i was talking about. RM12 I think?
alexei
post Nov 21 2009, 05:55 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Are_keem, I'm in US now, different timezone so I didn't see this post earlier.

Generally, Bernoulli does not directly explain friction. It's a function between "relative velocity of gas/liquid" and "pressure at a surface perpendicular to the direction of the gas/liquid movement". In short, the faster it moves, the lower the pressure.

However, I imagine if I were you, sitting for the paper, and "no" is not an answer, I can only think of one application of the Bernoulli principle with interactions to friction - introduction of lubricant into 2-stroke engines via carburation. Did you know some 2-stroke engines use carburetor to mix 2T and petrol and suck into the combustion chamber? And there are some using premix, too.

Hope this helps. How many marks are given for this question, 5?

Added on November 21, 2009, 5:56 amTwist: you're right, Penang shops don't open on Sundays. Try SP.

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 21 2009, 05:56 AM
alexei
post Nov 21 2009, 01:09 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

oh, then the answer is aerodinamik... it is a function of the effective surface perpendicular to the direction of the movement. Principle behind it ah... My best guess would be Newton Laws because you need more force to produce the same amount of work given more friction is working against it...
alexei
post Nov 29 2009, 06:38 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Tryx: Nice helmet. Can you confirm fibre glass by looking at the material under the liner? You should see the fibre plies inside. The helmet should be waving because of the two air vents over the top.

KHI helmet is light, and not recommended by both my mechanics. One friend's shop refused to sell to me.

Helmet should not be too expensive when you can spend RM200 on an exhaust pipe. Your head and your face is more valuable. I talked about helmet 3 months back when I bought my JAX fibre glass. Recently told by my mechanic the fibre glass shell is some cheapo China import and repackaged in Prai one. LTD one ok. MHR made by LTD (So the mechanic said lah.)

Get a decent helmet. No comment on Sirim. DOT standard (Not the DotX brand recently popping up in Penang) is the American one, and then there's ECE, the EU one. Look for EU one because the standard is based on crash test to protect the riders head, and not the durability of the helmet itself. In other words, a DOT standard may survive a crash, but not protect your head from internal damage from a ECE certified helmet... and more I can cakap cakap on helmet, if you're interested. Since you guys here are gang, so let you know lah.

Honda VTEC? Yeah, I'm thinking the CB4...

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 29 2009, 06:40 PM
alexei
post Nov 29 2009, 08:24 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

TryX: Googling a bit, MHR is from China and is DOT certified. Some guy in KL also bought one branded under Rjays and sent a review to webbikeworld (http://www.webbikeworld.com/r2/motorcycle-helmet/rjays-striker/). So far so good. smile.gif

You know how fiber glass looks? Nice on the outside but ugly on the inside? For the helmet, under the liner or the foam, lift it up a bit to look at the shell inner side. If it's smooth with no glue or fibre mesh, it's more likely polycarbonate instead of fibre glass.
alexei
post Nov 29 2009, 08:55 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

rainingzero: Sorry to hear about ur incident. Good thing you're ok...

About your personal ad "help needed click here" on your broken thumbdrive, you can get a similar thumbdrive, and find handphone repair shop that has the hot air solder to help you swap the disk. Good luck. (Worst case, you'll end up with two broken thumbdrives.) Sorry off topic, but I guess it's related to your crash lah.

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 29 2009, 09:02 PM
alexei
post Dec 2 2009, 04:31 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

grinding, cutting, shaving etc... for the looks, ok lah. For real, should get aftermarket springs and fit into the fork tubes. Change to thicker fork oil, at least 15W.
alexei
post Dec 4 2009, 05:58 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(saranjeevi @ Dec 4 2009, 02:47 AM)
wow... really will damage the reflector??  blink.gif  but hw come people using HID its still ok? i mean with ballast, xenon bulbs etc...jz curious..  hmm.gif
HID wattage is very low, rated at about 35W only, but super bright. So, if wanna compare lumens, HID kit is higher per watt - save power, save fuel, lower engine drag etc...
alexei
post Dec 4 2009, 11:12 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(TryX @ Dec 4 2009, 09:49 AM)
Bro i want ask u laa is turpentine = Kerosene = Minyak Tanah??
I'm guessing you're asking them in paint application?
Turpentine = Used to dilute oil based paint.
Kerosene (Minyak tanah) = Used as burning energy source. Used in small amount to lengthen paint dry time, not to dilute oil based paint.
Thinner = Used to clean ink surfaces from oil based stain. Not suitable in diluting paint.

To my knowledge, above is ranked from weak to strong property as a solvent (pelarut). Depends on your purpose, turpentine is a safe bet, but its smelly, kerosene can use for quicker dry and glossy/glazing paintjob. Thinner is used to clean your hands after a day of hard work.

Make sure don't use thinner on plastic, it may damage the surface.
alexei
post Dec 4 2009, 02:26 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

TryX: Petrol, diesel, kerosene, alcohol, WD40, should all be fine. Afterall you're cleaning a bunch of metal chain links. Not O-ring, right?

Saranjeevi: Hope I understand correctly: Projector headlamp includes the reflector. By retrofitting one, it means you'd have to remove the stock one. I don't know if halogen bulbs work well with projector or not, but my guess is 'No' because the lighting element is different. From my experience, fitting a 90W bulb into a 45W reflector definitely melted it. But, 60W bulb should be ok. smile.gif
alexei
post Dec 4 2009, 04:19 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

With the new projector reflector, wouldn't worry about the stock reflector anymore la, since it's not there.
What's the wattage of the new bulb you're gonna put in? Stock bulb 35W is about 3A load, if you plan to increase to higher wattage, example 50W, would increase the load to 4.1A. My guess is the stock wiring is good up to 6~7A, but best if you can add a relay+separate wiring.
alexei
post Dec 5 2009, 04:09 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

TryX: O-ring chain ah, get chain cleaner from bike shops - Megafortune should be cheap liao. Or you wanna try capalang brand from bike spare parts shop near komtar (Jee Tiao Loh) there.

Saranjeevi: What HID is that? 8A? That'd be 100W HID loh... no need leh, just use the standard 35W HID ballast+bulb kit can ady... I'm planning to do this upgrade DIY, bought a 2F cap and a HID kit already...
alexei
post Dec 5 2009, 03:07 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Saranjeevi: It's those HID kit sold everywhere one... Just mudah search "HID" will have a lot, one example pic here. The other ads are blur... this one show 38W: http://img.mudah.my/images/81/8136476292.jpg

Bear in mind the color temperature has nothing to do with the wattage.

TryX: Across LamWahEe hospital along green lane you know?
alexei
post Dec 6 2009, 04:53 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Saran, I think better you use semi of fully syn so peace of mind on your way to KL, and back.

For the guys here also, to motivate you all, here's my ride record:
=> RGV - PG-Seremban (Once, with 2 full backpacks with one strapped to the backseat), PG-Ipoh (2-3), PG-Setiawan/Lumut (5-6).
=> TZM - PG-Singapore (1 - 12hours), PG-Seremban (1), PG-KL (3~4 maybe more), PG-Cameron (1), PG-SP(2-3, for spare parts)... PG-Taiping/Ipoh/Setiawan (Miscount liao...)

Most of the trips I rode alone and took highways. Once a while if I'm on my way back early, I'd hit the old highway for more scenic views. But the road condition can really challenge my stamina.

The most syiok part is when reach the Ipoh tunnel listening to the resonating 11k RPM on my TZM... The fun ride is up/down Cameron doing corners... You all should do this at least once... it doesn't have to be fast, imagine practise leaning at 60-80kmh... cool weather and all... Again, this is to motivate you all.

Twice I went to KL for Sepang GT. Once on the way there, I met the convoy of Yamaha LC/Nuovo/eGo leaving from Ipoh. It was great. On the way back, it rained so heavy and we met again at one of the gas stations in the middle of the night. This year the Sepang GT was on Oct 25th, but I had to pass as I have a plane to catch on the next day.

Added on December 6, 2009, 5:10 pmOh, btw, my TZM full tank get me from PG island to Sg Besi toll, about 11liter fuel.

This post has been edited by alexei: Dec 6 2009, 05:10 PM
alexei
post Dec 6 2009, 05:57 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

No need to worry la. Mineral oil also can use, I wouldn't worry about it. In fact, I was once using SAE40 on my TZM because multigrade EO not really suitable for 2strokes, being the fact that gearbox don't reach as high temperature compared to 4stroke engines.

Go ahead and have a safe trip. I've done over 700km ride in a day with my Yamaha Sports once also, that time even teruk, dunno what EO I was using... smile.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0487sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:03 AM