4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

PC Audio Edifier Fan Club V2, where great sound comes to life =)

TSshockk
post May 28 2006, 11:30 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

Don't bother about those ports-lah. Those are just for RGB-video output and Coaxial-audio digital output. None of which you will be using here. XD

If the DVD you are playing is using a true 5.1 audio track, then your centre channel should sound. Especially during DVD movies when the person is talking on-screen. Make sure your DVD has true-surround 5.1. Which means, you must be able to hear effects that only the surround speaker has that coincides with what is off-screen.
TSshockk
post May 29 2006, 10:15 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ May 29 2006, 07:36 AM)
I have a question, is the digital output carrying 5.1 signal or 2.0 signal?
Digital output from the dvd-player should be encoded in 5.1. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post May 29 2006, 02:16 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(hyyam85 @ May 29 2006, 02:03 PM)
which 1 better? m2300 or m3300?
Main difference:
- M3300: 2-way satellites (tweeter + mid-range driver)
- M2300: 1-way satellites (full-range driver)
TSshockk
post May 29 2006, 02:30 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ May 29 2006, 02:26 PM)
i played my mp3 player connecting to Line in 1 at R501 but only centre, SW & front left got sound, the rest keep silent. is it normal?

now feel disapponted after getting 5.1 speaker, coz i only can hear 4.1 when played movie cry.gif
You must have got your connections wrongly.
But don't fret just yet.

Relaks first. Unplug everything, and plug them back again accordingly.

When you use your mp3 player on Line 1, it should only sound on the front right and front left speaker (while the bass effect is done by the subwoofer).

If all else fails, would you be able to bring it to the Edifier Showroom and let the guy there teach you? It would surely help you at least. smile.gif
TSshockk
post May 29 2006, 02:38 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ May 29 2006, 02:36 PM)
i will try it again tonight smile.gif

bring it to the edifier showroom, i think not recommended lar since the item kinda heavy sweat.gif
Ok. Post here again if you are having trouble.

Actually you don't need to bring the unit. Just go to the Showroom and the guy there can teach you by showing you the connections on the Showroom R501 demo unit. smile.gif
TSshockk
post May 30 2006, 01:48 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ May 29 2006, 05:07 PM)
thank you shockk, u r really helpfull thumbup.gif

about MK-2 R501 remote control, is it sell separately?? where & how much? i just notice there is no manual for adjust volume, etc...scared if the remote damage, then how to use the speaker?? sad.gif
Yes, sold separately. You can order it directly from the Showroom. Priced at RM29. biggrin.gif
The R501 is purely controlled by the wireless remote, so you might wanna consider a spare anyway. hehe.

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 30 2006, 12:36 AM)
hi. wanna ask. R501MKII and S4.1 which one is better? Because the supplier will bring in S4.1 soon. Bout S4.1, the centre channel illusion really that good? compared to R501 actual center speaker?

thanks for the advise.
Nothing can beat an actual speaker. hehe. So definitely the presence of a centre speaker is better than a 'virtual' centre. biggrin.gif

As for S4.1, personally i would say it is more value-for-money than the R501MKII. Namely because the satellites on the S4.1 totally OWN the R501MKII satellites. The bass on the S4.1 might not sound as good as the R501MKII because it is only 6.5", but hey.. it packs a whopping 60W-RMS just for the sub itself. brows.gif

When the shop brings in the S4.1, ask for a demo. I'm sure you'll be impressed. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by shockk: May 30 2006, 01:49 PM
TSshockk
post May 30 2006, 02:18 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ May 30 2006, 02:15 PM)
confirm RM29 only for the remote? its a reasonable price thumbup.gif
where is edifier showroom?

coz the turn on/off button of R501 MKII at the back side, its really mafan hv to on & off everytime wanna on or off, is it ok to leave on stand by mode all the time? is it safe to leave standby mode when heavy raining with thunder storm ?

just imagine y not edifier put the on/off button at the front side biggrin.gif

sorry for asking too much laugh.gif
Yes, RM29 only. tongue.gif
Showroom is @ Low Yat Plaza 4th Floor.

And yes, you can leave it on standby all the time. No problem, can keep it warm. laugh.gif
But when thunderstorm, better you turn it off lor (if really dont wanna turn off, try to get a voltage regulator for the R501).

And the button put at the back is so the front can look clean, nice, minimalistic. thumbup.gif
Because you have the remote control anyway. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post May 30 2006, 02:25 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ May 30 2006, 02:21 PM)
voltage regulator for R501, lowyat sell that, how much?
mind to post here the picture...
No. No. Not specially for it. laugh.gif
Meaning just get a voltage regulator for the power supply that connects to the R501. Better if got built-in surge protector. Can get this voltage regulator quite easily in Low Yat Plaza.

Usually when u buy ur speakers, the speaker-drivers and amplifier is more or less 'mint' or brand-new. So some people recommend to run the speaker for quite some time to 'loosen-up' the drivers to get a better listening experience. However, sometimes a speaker does not need to be burned in and can be enjoyed right after buying, so it's really a subjective thing.
TSshockk
post May 31 2006, 12:07 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ May 30 2006, 02:38 PM)
F1 button at remote for what?
i try to press it but nothing happen tongue.gif
I also duno what's it for. sweat.gif If no use, i think no need care kua. laugh.gif

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ May 30 2006, 06:15 PM)
@shockk

i just realize one of my DVD player port is not working, thats y i only can hear 4.1 not 5.1.

any solution for this case?
Follow Mr Nicvoo advice. hehe. biggrin.gif
Or send ur DVD-player for warranty/repair. If u use converter, then it's no more a proper experience. It's like you combine left and right front into your centre. Then it's even worse. sweat.gif

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 30 2006, 07:27 PM)
cool. so if i wanted 5.1 sound in movies and gaming, which one u recommend then? hehehe...  laugh.gif
S4.1 of course. muahahha. Coz i'm using. XD
Seriously, the S4.1 satellties are of a different class to the R501 satellites. When you hear music, it's like... WHOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA drool.gif
TSshockk
post May 31 2006, 12:24 PM

11,883 posts

IIANM, the Philips Aurilium PSC805 5.1 External Sound Card is powered by USB. so you can use with your notebook, but not with a DVDplayer. sweat.gif

Anyways, just buy a 5.1 dvd player from Carrefour/Tesco/Giant. It's only RM100-150. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Jun 2 2006, 12:47 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(superdav007 @ Jun 1 2006, 08:00 PM)
what is a good & reasonable price soundcard to pair with a S5.1m?
so are you the guy that went to the showroom to test S5.1M with Hotel California? sweat.gif

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jun 1 2006, 10:17 PM)
i dun really mind music wo. haha..cos most of the time, i blast games only.
how's the woofer then? u said it is smaller. then less umph ah? haha...
damn still duno when's the local pc fair. if not, i can go test it out liaw.  laugh.gif
Oh games kah. XD Not less umph. It's 60W-RMS for the sub wor. Hoho. R501 onli 30W-RMS for the sub. It's more heart-pounding than the R501 sub but just less deep, IMHO. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Trinity @ Jun 1 2006, 11:02 PM)
Today juz went to lowyat plaza 4th floor edifier showroom and tested those speakers.. it's rocks. rclxm9.gif I like the S2.1D most icon_idea.gif ...although it abit pricey for me-->RM399 doh.gif  but i'm collecting money from now onwards to get that speaker.. rclxms.gif
Hmm. You tested the S2.1D at showroom with what music material? And before that, you tested M3300 also?
TSshockk
post Jun 2 2006, 04:32 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ Jun 2 2006, 12:41 PM)
really ar S2.1D beat R501 MKII kaw kaw?

i use R501 MKII, any recommended external sound card for my speaker?
Oops.. hehe. XD

Recommended external sound card.. get the Creative one. you can even use it to direct-connect to a dvd-player because it's using it's own power cable. However, it's much more pricey than the Philips one.

S2.1D.. In terms of musical reproduction, definitely. hehe. Because the satellites have better (and bigger) drivers and have 20W-RMS-each. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Jun 2 2006, 08:17 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ Jun 2 2006, 06:12 PM)
S2.1D better than R501 MKII?? cry.gif
like that i want trade my R501 MKII 1 week old with S2.1D, anyone here???? laugh.gif
somemore i cannot enjoy the 5.1 la, coz my dvd port broken sad.gif
waiting my sound card or another dvd player tongue.gif
Well, you see S2.1D and R501MKII both are same price, and one is 2.1 while the other is 5.1. So instead of giving you more satellites and remote control, the S2.1D gives you more raw power and digital inputs. thumbup.gif

However, for surround sound, the R501 completely wins. hehe. Also, the R501 has a 8" woofer while the S2.1D is a 6.5" woofer, so you can expect a deeper kind of bass on the R501. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Trinity @ Jun 2 2006, 06:22 PM)
yup,i tested the M3300 1st be4 S2.1D..cuz taht moment still hesitating which one should i get. smile.gif
Hmmm. I think you tested the S2.1D for a really short time only right? So short time can judge how powerful the speaker is. hehe. sweat.gif

QUOTE(superdav007 @ Jun 2 2006, 07:16 PM)
yes im the guy who tested the speakers with hotel california yesterday. any sound card that is not so expensive? can recommend?  any suggestion?
Firstly, what sound card are you using at the moment? And do you play a lot of games or watch movies and hear music more? biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Jun 3 2006, 10:47 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(superdav007 @ Jun 2 2006, 09:28 PM)
im using SB Audigy 1. I watch movies play games & mostly listen to music. so is Music> Movies > & games less.
Hmm. The Audigy 1 is actually good enough, IMHO. If you want to upgrade to another Creative, i don't personally recommend it. However, an Audiotrak Prodigy soundcard will have a difference. Up to you, but if it was me, use the Audigy first to test with the S5.1M. It would still produce wonderful results.

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jun 2 2006, 10:54 PM)
yo shockk bro. how bout s5.1 then? how much would the market price be? just one more speaker compared to s4.1 right? S4.1 should be priced around RM400-500 range. how bout the S5.1? hehe...the speakers as good as S4.1? since they are brothers!  laugh.gif  drool.gif
S5.1 not available anymore. XD S5.1M yes. S5.1M has a 8" 60W-RMS woofer, centre speaker, and wireless-remote. And yes, the bass effects of the S5.1M ownz the 6.5" S4.1 woofer. XD
TSshockk
post Jun 4 2006, 02:01 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jun 4 2006, 12:03 PM)
how muchy? RM1k? lol...
RM848 Suggested Retail Price. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Jun 6 2006, 10:20 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jun 4 2006, 11:26 PM)
waaaaa...hefty for just one more centre speaker and larger woof woof (sub) eh? hehe...thanks for the info man. S4.1 should be around RM4-500 right? wanna plan my budget, to hunt the items during pc fair.
Yup. So that's why in terms of value-for-money and for below RM500, really nothing out there beats it at the moment, IMHO. XD biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Jun 9 2006, 11:42 AM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(johnliew @ Jun 9 2006, 11:36 AM)
blackshirt: Wow, didn't know it costed that much. Seems like I had a good buy (by luck!).
Indeed it is a good buy.

I dare say nothing in the market now can fight it for its price. tongue.gif
TSshockk
post Jun 20 2006, 01:33 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jun 11 2006, 09:07 PM)
I'm looking for a pair of canal phones like H260 (I hope what i say is correct). Would like to get Edifier if possible cos since I started using Edifier 2.1, fell in love with Edifier tongue.gif But not many here have used it before (H260). I went to have a look in interasia and can't find any there. Anyone here used Edifier cans before and can give an idea here? Been thru the pinned topic for hours and like, can't find anyone using it at all?

Thanks, dun worry I am Edifier fans, long time no post tongue.gif
There is stock for H260 at the Low Yat Plaza Showroom. Just ask. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jun 11 2006, 10:49 PM)
hopefully i will grab one this coming promo fair or something. hmm...
S4.1 eh...how's the simulated center sound? or u are just into music?
Simulated centre sound is nearly just like the centre speaker is there. But you need to sit really in the middle though.

Also, the simulated centre will only be needed for movies in 5.1 soundtracks and also some 5.1-supported games.

Most of the time if you just watch normal movies (in AVI, WMV format, etc), listen to music, or just want to blast, the centre speaker is not needed. XD
TSshockk
post Jun 21 2006, 10:48 AM

11,883 posts

Whoa.. An Edifier ICE-Showroom. sweat.gif

Come come, need to open one in Msia. happy.gif
TSshockk
post Jun 21 2006, 02:17 PM

11,883 posts

Hello bob. biggrin.gif

For your case, i would say a S4.1 would suit you nicely. Seeing that the M3300 with it's neodynium-magnet technology gives outstanding audio quality for it's price, the S4.1 is on a different level because the power-in-RMS is much greater. For music lovers, the S4.1 is really an excellent buy considering it's sub-RM500 price (which has 5.1 input). The R451's audio quality would not be as great as the M3300 of course, but it is indeed a 5.1-system, so here i would definitely recommend the S4.1 over it seeing that you like to listen to music a lot.

About the series naming, they're more like categories. XD
S-series is for Edifier's current top-range models, M-series is a new series of speakers that would take over the R-series. This series is more to mid-range entertainment but later there might be some M-series speakers that can be considered top-range. X-series is the gaming-speakers series, which is more into hard-hitting bass designed for movies and gaming, also, there might be released a 5.1 version of the X-series.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0347sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:56 AM