4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

PC Audio Edifier Fan Club V2, where great sound comes to life =)

TSshockk
post Oct 6 2005, 02:44 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,882 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Oct 6 2005, 02:33 PM)
rue but i findthe demo setup for1900t3 at the show room kind of sucky jack said its due to the au2zs used haha so how whistling.gif
lol. quite true. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

so how? u would like to sponsor the showroom with a better soundcard? laugh.gif
TSshockk
post Nov 25 2005, 03:35 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Nov 25 2005, 01:05 PM)
Yaya... but it seem that I haven't fully convince myself between the S2.1D and also R501 MKII sweat.gif... S2.1D definitely pure for music lover and also much more easier for me to position the speakers tongue.gif... as for R501 MKII better in games and movies, rite? Hm... I had tested the R501 MKII in LYP's Showroom... I felt it's lack of clarity that perhaps something S2.1D has... so now still thinking lor... wacko.gif
well, if u love the clarity and richness from the S2.1D, i suggest u go for it.
better sound quality is always a better thing to have than surround, IMHO.
TSshockk
post Dec 23 2005, 10:47 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Dec 23 2005, 08:05 AM)
Yesterday went to an audio shop to buy longer wires to hang my rear satellites at my back... but the shop brankrupt shocking.gif ... Really weird case... I still saw their advertisment on those coffee shop's MiTV TV (dunno correct name or not, but those TV normally advertisment what it's around)
you can go to electrical departments of most departmental stores like Jusco and Giant.
most likely, you can easily find it there. XD
TSshockk
post Dec 24 2005, 11:04 AM

11,882 posts

Get at least the cables that are thick like those given with the Edifier
S-series. The copper inside them is thicker, thus giving you better sound quality.

And compared with the R501's standard wiring, once u change to the better quality ones, you can definitely hear a differnce.
TSshockk
post Jan 3 2006, 03:06 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(Silfrijin @ Jan 2 2006, 07:21 PM)
@blackshirt and guys...

Edifier R1900TIII good at music but not so in movies ?
Any general advices as how do I tweak it to become more sound appealing ? Thanks...
u can set the bass setting on the speaker higher when you are watching movies.
also, you can tweak your bass settings (if you are using a creative sblive/audigy) higher. the 1900t3 will perform like a breeze. do try it out. but try not to max it out.
TSshockk
post Jan 6 2006, 12:42 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(Silfrijin @ Jan 5 2006, 12:00 AM)
Yea, when I adjusted to very high volume, it created many horizontal ripples on my monitor as they are too close... the base where speakers sit and the distance between each speaker as well as the distance between the speaker' back to the wall have substantial impacts on the sound performance of the system right if I am not wrong ?  sweat.gif
LOL. yeah. this is because the bass of speakers can be powerful enough to disturb the refresh rate of the monitor. o.0
and yes, where the speakers sit does have an impact. according to Hifi enthusiasts, the less contact the speaker has with the surface, the better the performance. which is why u see high-end Hifi sets and speaker stands have sharp/edgy bottoms to reduce loss through vibration to the ground or table.
speaking of putting the speakers around your room, you have to test it out yourself. as for me, if i place my 1900 set's back close to my wall, i get more bassy sounds. then if i move it further from the wall, the sound will not be so bassy. so do test it our for yourself. try different positions and see which suits you best. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post Jan 17 2006, 03:18 PM

11,882 posts

wow the first pic's subwoofer unit looks neat. like a shiny black ball.
i wonder what are the specs like. XD
TSshockk
post Apr 19 2006, 12:13 PM

11,882 posts

wow. got alien there in the first pic. cool. thumbup.gif

damn. these speakers look hot. lust.gif
TSshockk
post May 9 2006, 01:36 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(shinnosuke @ May 9 2006, 01:34 PM)
just got mine too from the garage sales. i dun know why they made this as a multimedia speaker. found out that i have to be at least 1 meter from it to enjoy the sound, esp the bass. Superb smooth bass. Not the best, but it is still good.
People, don't place this speaker at the side of your monitor and playing the music while using the pc, it'll sound flat and boring.
Would you mind posting a picture of your setup?
Since you've found a good way of setting up the speaker positioning for better listening, would you kindly share with all of us here?

Thanks. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post May 13 2006, 11:55 AM

11,882 posts

Official Price List has been updated for Edifier speakers in Malaysia.
Please check here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=287501&hl=
TSshockk
post May 14 2006, 06:46 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 14 2006, 06:42 PM)
friends. any more review for R501MKII? i cant really find in on the web. lol...
Bro, i suggest you don't trust reviews.
You from Sarawak or something right?
Maybe you could go to one of the Edifier dealer there to test. If you can't find there, let me know and i see can help you or not. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post May 15 2006, 12:20 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ May 14 2006, 08:27 PM)
Shin, i'm put side of my lcd monitor. Isn't must put away from it? Here my poor setup... sweat.gif

Put it further away from your monitor to increase soundstage-width and to give better stereo-separation. Also, try to place your speakers' back as close to the wall as possible, i find that this helps the sound from the speakers to easily fill the room and give you a better listening experience. biggrin.gif

My setup with Edifier S4.1:

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 14 2006, 10:10 PM)
whoa...not bad. u still remember eh? lol... rclxms.gif
i can find the speakers here already. but it wasnt setup in a show room. they display it with other brands together on a rack. i cant really tell the difference of the sound. lol...given the wide area too. i think the boss wont take the trouble to move/setup the speaker for me unless i really really wanna buy.

lol...cos it is heavy!! u know, i ask them bout R501MKII, the staff asked me, is it the very heavy one? i was like... shocking.gif then he told another staff, hey is that the "really heavy one" just arrived this morning? lol...anything i should do to test the ability of this speakers? it is confirmed a MKII since the speakers have tweeters.  laugh.gif  notworthy.gif  flex.gif

not sure the local dealers here (sarawak) tho. any to intro?
Well, it depends a lot on the sound source also. If they use some crappy CD to play on a crappy player, even the best speakers would sound like crap. XD
Maybe you can come KL for a visiting/holiday then can test @ the official Edifier Showroom. laugh.gif

Will get back to you on the dealers information for Sarawak. Need Mr. Edifier to explain. lol.
TSshockk
post May 15 2006, 02:42 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 15 2006, 01:04 PM)
thanks dude. waiting for good news.
now cant vacation...lol...working busy, hard to take leaves.
UGPM. happy.gif

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ May 15 2006, 01:30 PM)
Thanks shockk for ur opinion. thumbup.gif That's the best setup i have since got small room only. sweat.gif    Btw, isn't possible using stand for my R1900TIII? Showroom got selling it?
There's only Edifier stands for S and R series (those with subs). The R1900TIII, you have to get those different stands. Like from those Hifi shops. or maybe from IKEA. try checking out IKEA's ones and see if they can fit the R1900TIII. It's RM99 per pair, IIANM. Or DIY. hehe. biggrin.gif
TSshockk
post May 16 2006, 11:25 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(shinnosuke @ May 15 2006, 04:12 PM)
found out the table is the culprit. It's made from a weak structure (saw-dust?) and amplifying the resonance thus made the sound abit chaotic. For now i just put a pair of towels underneath the speakers and it improve the sound drasticly (the same towel on my sub in the pic; which i use to rest my leg sweat.gif). The sound is better now even if I am closer to them.

Any idea how to overcome this problem
?.. I dun want to change the table to solid wood because it'll be troublesome if i have to move to other house. The towels cannot be a permanent solution because they're not stable.
Try 'adding' more furniture into your room (and especially near or on your table). XD
When there are more furniture around (like cupboards, chairs, boxes, etc), they can help to provide their own resonances, thus, eliminating the bad resonance from your table.

QUOTE(blackshirt @ May 15 2006, 10:15 PM)
Stand for Big speaker like 2.0 will be available soon mah wink.gif
Even nice to fit S2000 Series laugh.gif
Hmm. Yeah. The new big-speaker stands from Edifier are nice as i've seen them before at 'someone's house. laugh.gif
But no idea when coming. sweat.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 16 2006, 12:29 AM)
nuttin better to do so decided to post an old pic of my R501 MKII Setup.
bought the L-shaped table for the sole purpose of 5.1 surround sound  rclxm9.gif

W00t. Nice-looking setup you got there. thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
How much you bought the table? Damn. It's nice. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ May 16 2006, 01:22 AM)
i really dun hav alot of space on my table..btw here's my s2.1d..got it jus few days ago

Not bad. Maybe you could put something underneath your S2.1D satellites to bring them up to the same level as your ears like what i did (in my picture in the previous post). But if you chair is those 'low-type', then no need. laugh.gif
TSshockk
post May 16 2006, 06:41 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ May 16 2006, 11:43 AM)
Isn't possible like this pictures? laugh.gif
According to Mr Edifier, this is already in stock. :thumb:

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ May 16 2006, 04:50 PM)
thanks  biggrin.gif

the level already fine but one thing..the bass is like too bassy..its like not smooth..mebb i need more burning in or better placement of the sub
Is your Loudness setting set to 'On' or 'Off'? Usually i find the 'On' setting to give much more boomier bass. Maybe you can set it to 'Off' if u haven't.
And if it is already at 'Off', try placing your sub further from the wall (towards the middle of the room), and also, you can try to rearrange your table so that you yourself is not sitting so close to wall (test this out by tryin to play your speakers now and you try standing in the middle of the room, you will find that the bass is not as over-powering like when you sit next to a wall).
TSshockk
post May 17 2006, 04:51 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ May 17 2006, 01:22 PM)
boxed shape furniture shouldn't be added into a room but should be eliminated. They do provide their own resonance especially with low frequency band but that do not make them cancelling each other. instead, by adding more similar things, you amplified the bad effect.

when taking acoustic into consideration, boxed type furiniture like drawer, cupboard should be eliminated and acoustic pading should be added into other things that cannot be eliminated
Yes, i find that by trying different placements with different furniture does make a difference. ^.^
But one major thing. If there's a cupboard that has some loosely-fit doors or drawers or are thin, it might cause a problem. >.<
So far i've tried with some solid wood furnitures (shelves) and some boxes (full of stuff inside them), to enchance the bass effect of my sub. As for clarity, i'm not so sure as it's quite hard to tell the difference (if there is any).
TSshockk
post May 19 2006, 03:42 PM

11,882 posts

Wow. 1 whole page talk about stands. XD thumbup.gif

Ok. The S2000 Speaker Stands are in. rclxm9.gif
Check here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=290453

Sneak-peek. tongue.gif

Available @ Special Introductory Price: RM199 per pair (For a limited period only. And while stocks last!)
TSshockk
post May 24 2006, 10:52 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ May 21 2006, 10:16 AM)
anyone of you here tested the S2000 properly before?

I am living at Penang, so it's impossible for me to travel to the edifier showroom.

Anyone here mind to tell me how it sounds?

I'm still contemplating between this and the gigaworks sad.gif
Maybe there are some dealers in Penang that have the S2000.

Which part of Penang do you live in?
TSshockk
post May 28 2006, 10:31 PM

11,882 posts

dya_ungu,

If possible, try not to read the documentation provided with the R501. As for the Line 1 and 2, they both are additional inputs for the R501, which means that you can plug your discman/mp3player/another music device into the 2 extra inputs. It's a function that was added into the R501 MKII (as the R501 did not have this feature). biggrin.gif

as for your DVD player connections, possible for you to take a clearer picture of it? try to get a picture that shows the connector-ports' names correctly. my advice, try to keep your hands steady while taking the picture.
TSshockk
post May 28 2006, 11:02 PM

11,882 posts

Ok like this.
For those stereoplug cables (both ends have the same type of plug - the single plug type), just put them aside first.

For those RCA-to-stereoplug cables (one end is the stereoplug and the other end is two RCA [red and white] cable connectors), this is what you are gonna use to connect to your DVD-player.

Now, at your R501 back-panel, connect the RCA-to-stereoplug cables accordingly as follows:
- FL/FR [on R501] connect to Front-L and Front-R port [on DVD-player]
- C/SW [on R501] connect to C and SW port [on DVD-player]
- SL/SR [on R501] connect to Sur-L and Sur-R port [on DVD-player]

Make sure that the red-RCA connector goes to the red-RCA port on the DVD-player and the same goes for the white-RCA connector. Follow the colour-coding for the RCA-connectors.
And you can ignore the colour of the stereoplug cables. It's not important for your setup.

As for the Line 1 and Line 2 inputs, i've answered that in my previous post.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0445sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:03 PM