Sabah Property Talk, General property talk in K.K & elsewhere

TSwayfeel
post Jul 27 2009, 07:33 PM, updated 17y ago

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

Some postings here say Sabah real estate is still very behind. overall, yes but for Kota Kinabalu city with a population of barely 580,000, property prices is considered quite high for KK ppl already lol

say, a double storey terrace in the suburb like penampang, Kolombong, Lido, not within KK is also around >RM300,000 and a single storey intermediate easily RM 250,000 for a reasonably good location like Likas, Damai, ect. High end condominium like Bayshore, Jesselton Condo to price ranging from RM500K -1M. For some good out of city location, apartment of ~1,000sf usually @ RM 150- 220k.

The properties in KK prior to 2008 especially have risen quite significantly, not as low as most ppl think. Mostly, due to speculation and the good financial position of the chinese n locals who are mostly businessmen in the state; sustained by timber, aggressive developers, construction, fishery, tourism, port and shipping industry, just to name a couple of the prime business activities of Sabah.

but generally, I reckon KK is a very nice place to live, possibly the best in Msia after having living in KL for past 9 years and travelling to many states in Peninsular during the course of my work. Ofc, this is definitely a personal view.

Having abundantful of natural wonders and metropolitan lifestyle, or even sthg in between- a luxurious 5-star resorts in the middle of the city! aka Sutera Harbor (bangalow lots, 27 holes golf course, hotels, yacht club ect), all blend into one. ofc, u can choose to live in abit outskirt n go to city to work in no more than 30minutes. Moderate jam (compare KL) and no tolls. Definitely, sthg for everyone.

We're not talking about hours of drive but less than an hour drive to National park, 20 minutes drive from airport (KKIA 2nd busiest in MY), <10 minutes drive to the port to Tunku Abdul Rahman park from the center of city. These attractions enable constant stream of western and asian tourist inflow into the city and boost tourism industry altogether. Many hotels are already booking tourism students from KL even before they graduate.

Ask any KK chai, sure can see guai loh everyday at jln Gaya.
KK is also quite a shopping haven for many (ofc, dont compare with KL) there seem to be slightly oversupply of shopping malls at the moment but i would never be tired of varieties

but to be interesting abit, we like to imitate KL wan, now we have 1Borneo mall, KK Times square, the upcoming KK Suria, now i waiting for KK Pavilion (if any) haha . The few earliest essential and hottest malls are Centre Point Sabah (fondly known as CPS) , Kompleks Karamunsing (like LYP), Wisma Merdeka (abit like Sg Wang), and the dying KK Emporium. Upcoming Megalong Penampang and Putatan One Place mall, the cooling City Mall, slacking Asia City mall, foreigner infested KK Plaza, the accidental Tg Aru plaza shopping mall turn office mall lol....
that's 13 shopping malls altogether if i didnt miss. bear in mind that the distant of two furthest malls are <30km apart at most, in the unit of time, roughly 45mins, most of the time, less.

Not to mention it is one of the safest states to live in as Daily Express newspaper recently reported lol sure will further contribute to the overall welfare (& image) of the life in KK. That is why of recent years, there are many Taiwanese, Japanese especially Koreans have selected KK, or Sbh as their popular 2nd home. They've even bought a golf course i think in nearby Beaufort and occasionally charter the entire plane to come here for golf during their holiday. No matter how hot it is here due to clear blue sky but some Taiwanese prefer to think KK is less hot compare to theirs lol.

Not to mention the reasonably affordable seafood (& definitely salivating) in KK without freshness compromise. ok la, myb RM6 base price for a normal seafood noodle is expensive for most, but how about RM6 for best in town prawn tom yam mee in Sinsuran that ownage any other tom yam prawn in KK, wan bet mou? lol this one must bet with locals only lol or if wan XXL seafood, go to Salut ,man Lol

Okla, sry so long winded but damn, I seem to be really promoting about Sabah huh Lol Well, I guess I'm just feel like opening a thread for KK which none at lyp atm so a brief idea on KK overall from some1 who live n grow up here seem like appropriate ^^v

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Aug 10 2009, 10:50 PM
DolphinDiver007
post Jul 28 2009, 02:43 PM

270 posts

absolutely agreed!
perhaps, it's nice place for investment!
Y.K.
post Jul 28 2009, 08:24 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jul 27 2009, 07:33 PM)
Some postings here say Sabah properties is still very behind. overall, yes but for  Kota Kinabalu city with a population of barely 580,000, considered quite high for KK ppl already lol

say, a double storey terrace in the suburb like penampang, Kolombong, Lido, not within KK is also around >RM300,000 and a single storey intermediate easily RM 260,000 for a reasonably good location like Likas, Damai, ect. High end condominium like Bayshore, Jesselton Condo to price ranging from RM500K -1M. For some good out of city location, apartment of ~1,000sf usually @ RM 150- 220k.

The properties in KK prior to 2008 especially have risen quite significantly, not as low as most ppl think. Mostly, due to speculation and the good financial position of the chinese n locals who are mostly businessmen in the city center; sustained by timber, aggressive developers, construction, fishery, tourism, port and shipping industry, just to name a couple of the backbone business activities of KK.

but generally, I reckon KK is a very nice place to live, possibly the best in Msia after having living in KL for past 9 years and travelling to many states in Peninsular during the course of my work. Ofc, this is definitely a personal view.

Having abundantful of natural wonders and metropolitan lifestyle all blend into one. Such as less than an hour drive to National park, 20 minutes drive from airport, 10 minutes to the port to Tunku Abdul Rahman park from the center of city. These attractions enable constant stream of western and asian tourist inflow into the city and boost tourism industry altogether. Ask any KK chai, sure can see guai loh everyday at jln Gaya lol

Not to mention it is one of the safest states to live in as per recent study by Daily Express newspaper reported lol sure will further contribute to the overall welfare (& image) of the life in KK.

Okla, sry so long winded but damn, I seem to be really promoting about Sabah huh Lol Well, I guess I'm just feel like opening a thread for KK which none at lyp atm so a brief idea on KK overall from some1 who live n grow up here seem like appropriate ^^v
nice sharing on the house prices smile.gif

btw TS do you know what is the price range for those apartment/condo around Tanjong Aru? do you think that is a nice place renting out?
TSwayfeel
post Jul 29 2009, 11:49 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(DolphinDiver007 @ Jul 28 2009, 02:43 PM)
absolutely agreed!
perhaps, it's nice place for investment!
yes, there r many potentials in it : )

QUOTE(Y.K. @ Jul 28 2009, 08:24 PM)
nice sharing on the house prices smile.gif

btw TS do you know what is the price range for those apartment/condo around Tanjong Aru? do you think that is a nice place renting out?
I not sure about the prices there. but i think the area should be fine for rent out since the area is so many govt ;jkr, socso, schools, airasia terminal ect. then tht area not many apt/condos n supply will not even increased in the future to compete for rent since land very expensive so it's not economical unless high end projects. so should be fine. we all know it is about assessibility, public transport, security, ect.

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jul 29 2009, 01:31 PM
mouldybread
post Jul 29 2009, 03:00 PM

400 posts

hi TS, i am currently hunting for a relatively cheap (around 150k) apartment to rent out. where would you recommend? i thought of beverly hills, bundusan villa, taman penampang aprtments but some of them left around 70 years only. any thoughts?

TSwayfeel
post Jul 29 2009, 05:35 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(mouldybread @ Jul 29 2009, 03:00 PM)
hi TS, i am currently hunting for a relatively cheap (around 150k) apartment to rent out. where would you recommend? i thought of beverly hills, bundusan villa, taman penampang aprtments but some of them left around 70 years only. any thoughts?
i feel that BHA phase 2 is ur best bet among those u mentioned. bundusan villa is quite deep from main road by foot and not many shops. unless for own staying then ok cuz quiet, like tmn p'pang.

with BHA, not only convenience but in terms of investment also is well protected because the demand in that area is strong, and active, at least for a very long time. then got frequent public transport ,many kinds of shop and eatery of all type till late night, cyber cafes, kfc, workshops, talk till so nice staying there, n my personal favorite, got few reflexology centers brows.gif ect.

moreover, individual strata title for BHA 1/2 were issued a while ago that definitely eases the buying n selling of that property on the same time save administrative fee.

what do other think?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jul 29 2009, 05:51 PM
DolphinDiver007
post Jul 30 2009, 01:21 PM

270 posts

does BHA sit in waterfront area?
ah liew
post Jul 30 2009, 02:07 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

LOL my hometown.
Taman BDC at Kolombong is a nice place to live.
Prices had increased for existing houses.
3 story houses had been built just in front of the primary school cost RM300k & above.
The land for the retired tongue.gif but far better then Johor.
Living standards are good but the food ain't cheap....

DolphinDiver007
post Jul 30 2009, 04:25 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Jul 30 2009, 02:07 PM)
LOL my hometown.
3 story houses had been built just in front of the primary school cost RM300k & above.
where's kolombong? near water front?

tpleong
post Jul 30 2009, 04:27 PM

803 posts

Kolombong is an industial area before Inanam
DolphinDiver007
post Jul 30 2009, 04:29 PM

270 posts

tat considered "nice place to live"??
tpleong
post Jul 30 2009, 04:34 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jul 27 2009, 07:33 PM)
Some postings here say Sabah real estate is still very behind. overall, yes but for  Kota Kinabalu city with a population of barely 580,000, property prices is considered quite high for KK ppl already lol

say, a double storey terrace in the suburb like penampang, Kolombong, Lido, not within KK is also around >RM300,000 and a single storey intermediate easily RM 260,000 for a reasonably good location like Likas, Damai, ect. High end condominium like Bayshore, Jesselton Condo to price ranging from RM500K -1M. For some good out of city location, apartment of ~1,000sf usually @ RM 150- 220k.

The properties in KK prior to 2008 especially have risen quite significantly, not as low as most ppl think. Mostly, due to speculation and the good financial position of the chinese n locals who are mostly businessmen in the state; sustained by timber, aggressive developers, construction, fishery, tourism, port and shipping industry, just to name a couple of the backbone business activities of KK.

Having abundantful of natural wonders and metropolitan lifestyle, or even sthg in between- a luxurious 5-star resorts in the middle of the city! aka Sutera Harbor (bangalow lots, 27 holes golf course, hotels, yacht club ect), all blend into one. Definitely, sthg for everyone.

We're not talking about hours of drive but less than an hour drive to National park, 20 minutes drive from airport, 10 minutes to the port to Tunku Abdul Rahman park from the center of city. These attractions enable constant stream of western and asian tourist inflow into the city and boost tourism industry altogether. Many hotels are already booking tourism students from KL before they even graduate. Ask any KK chai, sure can see guai loh everyday at jln Gaya lol KK is also quite a shopping haven for many (ofc, dont compare with KL!) there seem to be slightly oversupply of shopping malls at times but i would never be tired of varieties lol

Not to mention it is one of the safest states to live in as Daily Express newspaper recently reported lol sure will further contribute to the overall welfare (& image) of the life in KK. That is why of recent years, there are many Taiwanese, Japanese especially Koreans have selected KK, or Sbh as their  popular 2nd home. They've even bought a golf course i think in nearby Beaufort and occasionally charter the entire plane to come here for golf during their holiday. No matter it is hot here but some Taiwanese prefer to think KK is less hot compare to theirs.
Not to mention the lau sai affordable seafood (& definitely salivating) in KK without freshness compromise.

They supposed to build a high end at suteara harbour , that was like 10 years ago but until today, still no news yet sad.gif

TSwayfeel
post Jul 30 2009, 07:33 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(DolphinDiver007 @ Jul 30 2009, 01:21 PM)
does BHA sit in waterfront area?
if it is, the 900sf apt would have cost RM 1,000,000 a piece lol

LOL my hometown.
hmmm, most lau pan or even ta kung chai commoners wud say: food, how much can eat. to mean food aint that expensive.
moreover, most kk r local so stay with family or go home for dinner, ter save alot man. no toll, no fine ect, fuel oso save cuz no jam n short distant anywhere in kk. even noodle RM4.50 can find alot.

3 storey hses is wat tmn? i know sri hartamas there 3 storey *at least* 550,000 a piece lol the developer is first time develop tmn somemore but i think very successful...cuz contemporary design n quality oso good
ah liew
post Jul 31 2009, 10:06 AM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(DolphinDiver007 @ Jul 30 2009, 04:25 PM)
where's kolombong? near water front?
It's near TNT or Taman Khidmat, or Energizer factory.
Perhaps you know where is City Mall right? further down near the warehouse where they keep rice.
Yes, it's an industrial area but the funny thing is, it's quite peaceful inside the taman.

Added on July 31, 2009, 10:21 am
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jul 30 2009, 07:33 PM)
hmmm, most lau pan or even ta kung chai commoners wud say: food, how much can eat. to mean food aint that expensive.
moreover, most kk r local so stay with family or go home for dinner, ter save alot man. no toll, no fine ect, fuel oso save cuz no jam n short distant anywhere in kk. even noodle RM4.50 can find alot.

3 storey hses is wat tmn? i know sri hartamas there 3 storey *at least* 550,000 a piece lol the developer is first time develop tmn somemore but i think very successful...cuz contemporary design n quality oso good
LOL Agreed, most young Sabahans still prefers to stay with the family laugh.gif
They can still survive with a low pay because of family support.
RM4.50 for a bowl of noodle is quite expensive wor.... at Johor Kulai only cost RM3.00 - 3.50 the most.
Office hour is quite jam along Foh Sang Yen or Damai area.... everyone squeezing through... but drives with courtesy lar... laugh.gif unlike West M'sia wink.gif

Have you seen 3 storey houses before? it might be common in West M'sia but I think it's new to KK.
Where did you studied last time?

This post has been edited by ah liew: Jul 31 2009, 10:23 AM
tpleong
post Jul 31 2009, 11:37 AM

803 posts

LOL my hometown.
So cheap, only RM300k for a 3 storey house ? are u sure ? Am a bit out ar regards to property in KK but I won't mind buying a condo there just to rent it out icon_idea.gif
ah liew
post Jul 31 2009, 11:43 AM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Jul 31 2009, 11:37 AM)
So cheap, only RM300k for a 3 storey house ? are u sure ? Am a bit out ar regards to property in KK but I won't mind buying a condo there just to rent it out  icon_idea.gif
I'm sorry wrong info, it should be RM400K
Semi-D houses already cost about RM300K in BDC.
Cheers! icon_rolleyes.gif
tpleong
post Jul 31 2009, 12:05 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Jul 31 2009, 11:43 AM)
Cheers!  icon_rolleyes.gif
I have not been to that area for a very long time, things might have changed a lot. Will pay a visit if I have the chance. I understand that the area that is growing fast is Kingfisher near UMS...don't know how is it now blink.gif
DolphinDiver007
post Jul 31 2009, 01:20 PM

270 posts

i'm more looking forward to those nearby waterfront!
anyone have info to sahre??
am_eniey
post Jul 31 2009, 01:26 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

Houses in the Indah Permai and Taman Kingfisher to me are considered overpriced !
ah liew
post Jul 31 2009, 01:28 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Jul 31 2009, 12:05 PM)
I have not been to that area for a very long time, things might have changed a lot. Will pay a visit if I have the chance.  I understand that the area that is growing fast is Kingfisher near UMS...don't know how is it now blink.gif
I found this interesting website for Taman Kingfisher
http://sudc.showroom.sabahexpress.com/targ...__Phase_5A.html
Zack Styler
post Jul 31 2009, 04:08 PM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

Properties prices in KK are rising by the day, but more improvement is needed in the area of water and electricity supply which is not consistent, which is why every houses surely got a water tank installed..
tpleong
post Jul 31 2009, 04:13 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jul 31 2009, 04:08 PM)
Properties prices in KK are rising by the day, but more improvement is needed in the area of water and electricity supply which is not consistent, which is why every houses surely got a water tank installed..
Sad but true. Other towns like Sandakan is even worse mad.gif

The condo that in my opinion has the best views is the PEAK. Has they started construction of phase 2?
TSwayfeel
post Jul 31 2009, 06:12 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Jul 31 2009, 10:06 AM)
LOL Agreed, most young Sabahans still prefers to stay with the family  laugh.gif
They can still survive with a low pay because of family support.
RM4.50 for a bowl of noodle is quite expensive wor.... at Johor Kulai only cost RM3.00 - 3.50 the most.
Office hour is quite jam along Foh Sang Yen or Damai area.... everyone squeezing through... but drives with courtesy lar...  laugh.gif unlike West M'sia  wink.gif

Have you seen 3 storey houses before? it might be common in West M'sia but I think it's new to KK.
Where did you studied last time?
yes kolombong, BDC, etc is one of the best place to live in KK though ABIT light industrial

stay with family still ok since tis is truly asian culture ,opposite of western :Failure to Launch?: lol
some got parents buy house for their children to live. in kk, one family own few properties....

AND each family own least 2-3 cars, own two cars is too common....i cannot find a family that own 1 car =.=" lol that is why nowadays, as wide car porch seem essential d....so if invest, invest in a at least 20ft front wide is good. 24 sure best la.....

how to compare Kulai price with KK that got KLIA, 1B, Sutera Harbor, Mt KK, Orang Utan......4.50$ for city not bad d

yes the fohsang ter should avoid around 4.30pm. and tshung tsin at 3.30pm- slow traffic. but unlike KL if jam in bt bintang klcc area sometime can hit hour(s) if friday. here nthg compare to that.

number of 3 storey tmn here catching up d. i stay casa palma 3 storey.

Added on July 31, 2009, 6:21 pm
QUOTE(ah liew @ Jul 31 2009, 11:43 AM)
Cheers!  icon_rolleyes.gif
semi D is 300k?
there is a house in tmn khidmat 2storey intermediate recently sold 285k. BDC bungalow about +/- 1million so Semi D 500-800k is accurate.

there's a contemporary new semi-D in BDC that has 13,000sf of land but built up of only <2000sf Lol @ 800-850k I think

Added on July 31, 2009, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jul 31 2009, 04:08 PM)
rising cuz ppl here (them la not me lol) got money n transacted alot.
regarding water, not sure if it is area affected. lintas ,kolombong area like nvr affected b4, at least as my memory recall, i cannot rmb the last time it happened.

but electric cut seem more often of late in these places but brief la ,sometime accompanied with newspaper pre announcement. some places where my fren live in Lido the blackout too frequent like once or twice/week, kesian

but tis shortage alr lama, thats why recently tnb want tambah generater. thats 1 irony about this so called conservation.... i rmb on earth day they rallied to off electric for one day right then the next day, Star paper reported sbh wan add electrichouse dono how many mega power electric Lol tts why i nvr participate these kind of publicity gimmick wat earth day konon nya....aircon still need use, pc still need use, light still need use , hairdryer still need use....as long no waste electric is good enuff d lar, no need earth day like tht geh....

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jul 31 2009, 06:31 PM
DolphinDiver007
post Aug 5 2009, 10:16 AM

270 posts

ALL these condo are lease hold???

1.Graceville 1,2 and Grace Garden (opposite Sutera Harbour)
2.Marina Court (downtown KK, next to waterfront)
3.Waikiki Condo (tg aru, next to the air asia airport and by the beach)
4.The Peak
TSwayfeel
post Aug 9 2009, 08:36 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(DolphinDiver007 @ Aug 5 2009, 10:16 AM)
ALL these condo are lease hold???

1.Graceville 1,2 and Grace Garden (opposite Sutera Harbour)
2.Marina Court (downtown KK, next to waterfront)
3.Waikiki Condo (tg aru, next to the air asia airport and by the beach)
4.The Peak
nowadays, many new development are all leasehold especially those above...y such question?
yumyum77
post Aug 10 2009, 02:17 AM

274 posts

Got 3 storey Semi-D selling for RM300k+ when it launched brows.gif brows.gif . Location drive further in after Taman Grand Millenium brows.gif brows.gif Workmanship not bad, non-gated.
DolphinDiver007
post Aug 10 2009, 09:10 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Aug 9 2009, 08:36 PM)
nowadays, many new development are all leasehold especially those above...y such question?
always interested to get a unit in kk but if it's lease hold..... need to think about it!
do u know how many yrs for kk area lease hold condition? 99 or 60 yrs?

Added on August 10, 2009, 9:12 am
QUOTE(yumyum77 @ Aug 10 2009, 02:17 AM)
Got 3 storey Semi-D selling for RM300k+ when it launched brows.gif  brows.gif . Location drive further in after Taman Grand Millenium brows.gif  brows.gif  Workmanship not bad, non-gated.
mind to share where is tmn grand millenium??

This post has been edited by DolphinDiver007: Aug 10 2009, 09:12 AM
TSwayfeel
post Aug 10 2009, 12:30 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(DolphinDiver007 @ Aug 10 2009, 09:10 AM)
always interested to get a unit in kk but if it's lease hold..... need to think about it!
do u know how many yrs for kk area lease hold condition? 99 or 60 yrs?

Added on August 10, 2009, 9:12 am

mind to share where is tmn grand millenium??
usually 99 yrs.
tmn grd millennium along jln penampang-bypass highway, damn convenient, go lido, penampang, airport near....that area is catching up. the shoplots tere very merry one, almost all open, shops also laku....the apt there also laku lol....
mouldybread
post Aug 10 2009, 12:41 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Aug 10 2009, 12:30 PM)
usually 99 yrs.
tmn grd millennium along jln penampang-bypass highway, damn convenient, go lido, penampang, airport near....that area is catching up. the shoplots tere very merry one, almost all open, shops also laku....the apt there also laku lol....
so far i have not seen any apartments/condo that has the freehold or 999 years title, a bit of a disappointment ohmy.gif
DolphinDiver007
post Aug 10 2009, 03:36 PM

270 posts

usually 99 yrs.
this also lease hold??
tpleong
post Aug 10 2009, 03:51 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(mouldybread @ Aug 10 2009, 12:41 PM)
so far i have not seen any apartments/condo that has the freehold or 999 years title, a bit of a disappointment ohmy.gif
In sabah , land title is either "CL" or "NT" ......where CL is leasehold & NT is freehold. Only bumi can buy NT. smile.gif
DolphinDiver007
post Aug 10 2009, 04:33 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Aug 10 2009, 03:51 PM)
In sabah , land title is either "CL" or "NT" ......where CL is leasehold & NT is freehold. Only bumi can buy NT.  smile.gif
eerrrr...... r u suer?? i never heard about this in malaysia!
if in tat case, kk properties not really attractive as i thought!
Zack Styler
post Aug 10 2009, 05:14 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(DolphinDiver007 @ Aug 10 2009, 04:33 PM)
eerrrr...... r u suer?? i never heard about this in malaysia!
if in tat case, kk properties not really attractive as i thought!
Yes it is, this is Borneo.. tongue.gif
TSwayfeel
post Aug 10 2009, 07:22 PM

2,114 posts

hahahahaha, welcome to Borneo ! sbh got many many NT land we cannot touch, well, so to speak cuz non bumi mah. haha

why u so interested in property in sabah....I hope U not spy from indonesia? jk lol
diylover
post Aug 10 2009, 09:25 PM

51 posts

agree. sabah, especially kk is among the best to live in Malaysia !!

During my course of work & vacation for >10 years in KL, travelled & stayed in every state/cities in penisular, none of them come close to KK.
sabah has beautiful scenery, from mountains to sea. Sabahans drive with courtesy....sure you have less stress on road.

1. Food may not be as tasty as KL food but its freshness (be it seafood or vege) is enough to compensate slack in cooking..
2. ya. it is safer. you may see many foreigner on streets but hardly hear news of death due to robbery or snatch thieve...unlike KL.

DO NOT agree that sabahans are rich. There are many poor peoples, be it bumi or non-bumi. if you do not know, Sabah is having most number of hardcore poor in Malaysia! Yes, those rich are SUPER RICH.

myself a poor sabahan working in KL. After >10 years in KL, find nothing interesting in KL except better salary and shopping/entertainments as compared to KK.
Looking for a landed property in UMS area for own stay/investment. Appreciate suggestion for URL/blogs.
if salary is right in KK, would move back to sabah.

yumyum77
post Aug 10 2009, 10:37 PM

274 posts

usually 99 yrs.
That area left and right of the highway still got lots of land. By KL standards it's not far from town too. yes shoplots all snapped up quite fast. same goes with the 3 storey semi-d i mentioned, it's just further down the highway.
TSwayfeel
post Aug 10 2009, 11:02 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(yumyum77 @ Aug 10 2009, 10:37 PM)
That area left and right of the highway still got lots of land. By KL standards it's not far from town too. yes shoplots all snapped up quite fast. same goes with the 3 storey semi-d i mentioned, it's just further down the highway.
Yea, many bypass highways now is gonna bloom soon, in years ofc. Tuaran bypass, ppang bypass ,etc lands r scooped up fast.

to be honest, even the commercial shoplots in KK are not easy to be found anymore, now is seller market, they willing to hold at high selling price....unconcern whether buyer wan to buy or not cuz now not many sound alternative to investment....moreover, moeny become smaller, once they let go the shops, they cant get anything of similar back.

friend, can PM me the name of the tmn u mentioned? just for my knowledge, im not entirely familiar that place. thanks first : )

QUOTE(diylover @ Aug 10 2009, 09:25 PM)

1. Food may not be as tasty as KL food but its freshness (be it seafood or vege) is enough to compensate  slack in cooking..

actually , kk food is really ONE OF the best in MY ,imo....it is just far unpromoted compare to the titan food famous penang, perak ,etc ....

(personal views)
reason #1, many food come from sdk which come from hk....the cookk style abit similar to hk cuz lastime many sdk from hk de....so there's spilt advantage....the Penampang Supertanker restaurant is from sdk. ...got once a food sifu who tried many dishes around the world said the food in Supertanker r among the best in the world, no joke! unless he's a con lol

# 2, which state in MY can match with KK seafood quality n varieties, 'nuff said. ours export to hk , taiwan ,ect countries.

# 3, here got coconut, sunset beach, local girls who vry nice n flenly accompany u eat, food also become tastier la right! lol

2. ya. it is safer. you may see many foreigner on streets but hardly hear news of death due to robbery or snatch thieve...unlike KL.

cuz in KK, everybody drive car....iz veli difficult to snatch or be snatched even if u roll down ur window lol
then, the life here abit laid back, the snatch thief also feel laid back n feel like holiday everyday lol jk

DO NOT agree that sabahans are rich. There are many poor peoples, be it bumi or non-bumi. if you do not know, Sabah is having most number of hardcore poor in Malaysia!   Yes, those rich are SUPER RICH.

highest hardcore poor cuz we hv one of the highest population mah, no? just like Acer has the highest total defect cuz their total sales oso highest Lol

***Anyway, I updated on the name of shopping malls in KK ! smile.gif smile.gif :
that's 13 of them ! unless I miss any of it . what an amount of malls yea just in kk alone !?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Aug 10 2009, 11:16 PM
DolphinDiver007
post Aug 11 2009, 08:16 AM

270 posts

please do share here if anyone of you got to know NT properties for sale in nice area. smile.gif
Zack Styler
post Aug 11 2009, 09:51 AM

1,282 posts

During my course of work & vacation for >10 years in KL, travelled & stayed in every state/cities in penisular, none of them come close to KK.
sabah has beautiful scenery, from mountains to sea. Sabahans drive with courtesy....sure you have less stress on road.

1. Food may not be as tasty as KL food but its freshness (be it seafood or vege) is enough to compensate  slack in cooking..

DO NOT agree that sabahans are rich. There are many poor peoples, be it bumi or non-bumi. if you do not know, Sabah is having most number of hardcore poor in Malaysia!  Yes, those rich are SUPER RICH.

myself a poor sabahan working in KL.  After >10 years in KL, find nothing interesting in KL except better salary and shopping/entertainments as compared to KK.
Looking for a landed property in UMS area for own stay/investment. Appreciate suggestion  for URL/blogs.
if salary is right in KK, would move back to sabah.
Near to UMS - probably Kingfisher Sulaman, Alam Mesra or further down the Sulaman Highway, just before the intersection to UiTM, there's a project going on, same row as the Church..
TSwayfeel
post Aug 17 2009, 03:48 PM

2,114 posts

what do you guys think of Harbour City shops....good prospect?

If according to plan, sure thing would be massive and another huge booster to KK got da spanish street la, hotels la, got digital theme park la from the same company which does for MGM las vegas digital theme park, etc

but then, seem bleak the outlook, the squatters behind like not moving and still so many phase not even erected yet. even if so, the prospect wont materialize so soon except probably for phase 1 that has good main road frontage
ilovecookies92
post Aug 29 2009, 04:53 PM

SPM Candidate 2009â„¢
765 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Aug 11 2009, 09:51 AM)
Near to UMS - probably Kingfisher Sulaman, Alam Mesra or further down the Sulaman Highway, just before the intersection to UiTM, there's a project going on, same row as the Church..
You mean University Apartments or Country Heights?

@wayfeel

For some reason, IMHO, I can't see much potential on Harbour City so far especially with Phase 1A consisting of offices and shoplots. Indeed I think Suria Sabah will have prospect if there's good management running on the complex once the building has completed.
Shoot@M3
post Aug 23 2011, 04:49 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

fuiyoo, 2 years punya thread i revive
I just got Tmn Penampang here.. poor chap with no $$ from parents watsoever
But still am happy cos I'm gonna have my own place soon

The phase I got is the last last phase in Tmn Penampang already, on the highest slope, Phase 2U

going up and down doing the loans, banks, survey pricing and reading here for suggested electrical items already made me very blur biggrin.gif
cutealex
post Aug 23 2011, 05:01 PM

Buy Lands,Properties& Precious Metals..
4,790 posts

Tmn Penampang is where? Near Lido or Dongogong there?
Shoot@M3
post Aug 23 2011, 05:09 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

From Lido along Penampang road to Dongongon, there is one roundabout before CKS traffic light
on that roundabout turn to left 9pm u will come to SRJK Yue Min and Regency Park
Then go further in a bit and that whole place is Tmn Penampang, got one basketball court, Mr. Bean Carwash and interconnected to Suria Apartment there
From suria there u can come out from Super Tanker also smile.gif

Personally I've lived in Taman Fortuna Phase II, Taman Nelly Kolombong, Delta Heights Bundusan and finally moving to my own place in Tmn Penampang

Best in terms of location would be BDC, Tmn Khidmat, Kolombong area. Very nice residential area
Delta Heights has really really good management and that place is right on top of a hill and not as cooped up like other Condos, very nice and quiet place to live in

By all means, pls avoid BHA Phase 3! there is only one road going to the place and that road gets flooded on heavy rain season and many can't get in or out of BHA P3.

Another place that has problem with flood also, few parts of Kolombong road in the industrial area near Food City side and the small bridge. The road going to Tmn Nelly from 7-Eleven there, once i saw few houses there good flooded up to around Knee area! Pls by all means avoid those places. Apart from flood, it's a good place to live

This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Aug 23 2011, 05:36 PM
edyek
post Aug 25 2011, 11:25 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Aug 23 2011, 05:09 PM)
From Lido along Penampang road to Dongongon, there is one roundabout before CKS traffic light
on that roundabout turn to left 9pm u will come to SRJK Yue Min and Regency Park
Then go further in a bit and that whole place is Tmn Penampang, got one basketball court, Mr. Bean Carwash and interconnected to Suria Apartment there
From suria there u can come out from Super Tanker also smile.gif

Personally I've lived in Taman Fortuna Phase II, Taman Nelly Kolombong, Delta Heights Bundusan and finally moving to my own place in Tmn Penampang

Best in terms of location would be BDC, Tmn Khidmat, Kolombong area. Very nice residential area
Delta Heights has really really good management and that place is right on top of a hill and not as cooped up like other Condos, very nice and quiet place to live in

By all means, pls avoid BHA Phase 3! there is only one road going to the place and that road gets flooded on heavy rain season and many can't get in or out of BHA P3.

Another place that has problem with flood also, few parts of Kolombong road in the industrial area near Food City side and the small bridge. The road going to Tmn Nelly from 7-Eleven there, once i saw few houses there good flooded up to around Knee area! Pls by all means avoid those places. Apart from flood, it's a good place to live
In my opinion Taman Penampang has heavy traffic but still it is a good place to live in.

Do agree on BHA Phase 3. There is always a bypass from Phase 2 to Phase 3 guard house in case there is any heavy rain.

I personally don't like Taman Nelly or anywhere near Kolombong due to traffic problem.
cutealex
post Aug 25 2011, 11:59 AM

4,790 posts

I live at Tmn Jindo, near Lintas there...

the nearby Tmn Jindo got one completed SuperLink/Semi D ...very nice ...last time was RM450k...now become 700k...

Now i am searching for new launching....i heard Penampang there going to have one new launching for double storey..think of buy 1...any new launch?
Shoot@M3
post Aug 25 2011, 01:29 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

oh didn't know got bypass.. means flood prob on the main road not fixable.. haha
Tmn Penampang Traffic still ok la i'd say
Tmn Nelly to me the traffic still ok wor, that place is just nice situated near town area
btw, u travel KK and Kuching often?
QUOTE(edyek @ Aug 25 2011, 11:25 AM)
In my opinion Taman Penampang has heavy traffic but still it is a good place to live in.

Do agree on BHA Phase 3. There is always a bypass from Phase 2 to Phase 3 guard house in case there is any heavy rain.

I personally don't like Taman Nelly or anywhere near Kolombong due to traffic problem.
Tmn Jindo is a very nice place. I have a fren who is renting a house there, big and spacious. Right smack in the middle of intersection as well
sorry, didn't hear any launching oh.. prolly others got hear about it

QUOTE(cutealex @ Aug 25 2011, 11:59 AM)

the nearby Tmn Jindo got one completed SuperLink/Semi D ...very nice ...last time was RM450k...now become 700k...

Now i am searching for new launching....i heard Penampang there going to have one new launching for double storey..think of buy 1...any new launch?
kh8668
post Aug 25 2011, 02:22 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

buy the Tawau's house....hehehehe
edyek
post Aug 25 2011, 02:34 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Aug 25 2011, 01:29 PM)
oh didn't know got bypass.. means flood prob on the main road not fixable.. haha
Tmn Penampang Traffic still ok la i'd say
Tmn Nelly to me the traffic still ok wor, that place is just nice situated near town area
btw, u travel KK and Kuching often?
The by pass is go in Phase 2 and out on the other gate. biggrin.gif

I travel between KK, Lahad Datu, Sandakan and Sibu. smile.gif
Shoot@M3
post Aug 25 2011, 04:39 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

ah ic
btw u noticed there is no phase 4?
they say W group don't want to put phase 4 cos feng shui in the number no good!
I think it's true.. cos really no P4.. shakehead.gif
QUOTE(edyek @ Aug 25 2011, 02:34 PM)
The by pass is go in Phase 2 and out on the other gate.  biggrin.gif

I travel between KK, Lahad Datu, Sandakan and Sibu. smile.gif
cutealex
post Aug 25 2011, 08:14 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Aug 25 2011, 04:39 PM)
ah ic
U meant Wong Kok group? Edyek n shoot@m3....can intro new launch nearby kk,like penampang or luyang area? Now the Luyang old house single storey intermediate lot easily fetch at rm400k ....and all the new launch now is 99 years...i saw nearby abt 1km from One Borneo shopping mall,the 2.5 new completed double storey selling rm525k...wor...some dont like one borneeo due to travelinng too far n jam from Kk old town...
Trustproperty
post Aug 26 2011, 08:25 AM

45 posts

Hi, I invested 2 units shop lot in KK.

One in Sulaman Sentral 2 storey shop (near Indah Permai) and One in Lean Seng Industrial SD shop lot (Inanam). Both enjoying reasonable good rental return.

I noticed KK landed house price surge close to KL these 2 years. I know there are many kaya boss there but wonder can it last?

For commerical property, I heard my KK friends said units snatch up fast, within a month almost all taken. Anytime there are new lauching, ready buyers always stand-by to buy. Overseas investor from HK, Taiwan, Korea & China also join the rush.

HK Fengshui Master even said Sabah will be prosperous for the next 20 years. I wish his prediction come true.
prophetjul
post Aug 26 2011, 08:37 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(cutealex @ Aug 25 2011, 11:59 AM)

i have house in Jindo 4...bought it in 1995 just to extract out EPF.
ONE RENTER FOR LIFE! He paid off my house! biggrin.gif
Shoot@M3
post Aug 26 2011, 10:35 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Yeap, Wong Kok group, at first i puzzled also when they say 'W' group, now i know already

hmm sorry cutealex, i'm not so into property at the moment. I've only know some place in Penampang might have got new launching cos last time during the property exhibition in Sabah Trade centre, got one developer was saying somewhere in penampang. I think double storey houses but I didn't pay any attention cos it was over my budget sad.gif

Yes the condos and apartment prices near 1Borneo are slightly lower than other better places. I'd rate bit far but I think closer than Putatan area. Traffic problem yes, hopefully they can make wider road for the roundabout in Kingfisher there in the future, cos that place is the bottleneck. Honestly speaking, I don't like travel to KK Old town unless getting the food or going some shopping mall there only and movies. I just hate the how the road is planned, traffic jam as well as parking space problem..

Probably try watchout for any future exhibition and asking friends around is the best bet and of course if someone knows here can let you know as well smile.gif

Good luck!
QUOTE(cutealex @ Aug 25 2011, 08:14 PM)
U meant Wong Kok group? Edyek n shoot@m3....can intro new launch nearby kk,like penampang or luyang area? Now the Luyang old house single storey intermediate lot easily fetch at rm400k ....and all the new launch now is 99 years...i saw nearby abt 1km from One Borneo shopping mall,the 2.5 new completed double storey selling rm525k...wor...some dont like one borneeo due to travelinng too far n jam from Kk old town...
Thatts good to know but..
too bad I'm not one of the rich folks! smile.gif
You're one of the investor brows.gif
QUOTE(Trustproperty @ Aug 26 2011, 08:25 AM)

One in Sulaman Sentral 2 storey shop (near Indah Permai) and One in Lean Seng Industrial SD shop lot (Inanam). Both enjoying reasonable good rental return.

I noticed KK landed house price surge close to KL these 2 years. I know there are many kaya boss there but wonder can it last?

For commerical property, I heard my KK friends said units snatch up fast, within a month almost all taken. Anytime there are new lauching, ready buyers always stand-by to buy. Overseas investor from HK, Taiwan, Korea & China also join the rush. 

HK Fengshui Master even said Sabah will be prosperous for the next 20 years. I wish his prediction come true.
So nice.. the property there i think is very good in value. good investment there
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 26 2011, 08:37 AM)
i have house in Jindo 4...bought it in 1995 just to extract out EPF.
ONE RENTER FOR LIFE!  He paid off my house!  biggrin.gif
edyek
post Aug 27 2011, 10:11 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Aug 25 2011, 04:39 PM)
ah ic
Yes, They do not like the number 4. They always put 3A in the no.4 unit (be in apartment or shoplot).

QUOTE(cutealex @ Aug 25 2011, 08:14 PM)
Din't notice any new development worth buying so far. Prefer to buy old house and renovate it and sold off for profit.

QUOTE(Trustproperty @ Aug 26 2011, 08:25 AM)

HK Fengshui master talk cock. The rapid development in sabah is a truth not some prophecy.
1) Sabah under develop. They only starting to develop heavily during Year 2000.

2) Many small and medium oil palm owners.

3) Foreign investment from Taiwan, Korea, Japanese and Hongkee thus leading to some of them migrating here.

Commercial property are been snatched up fast due to investor from outside and oil palm owners (cash rich). Sulaman sentral was develop by one of my mentor. biggrin.gif

Added on August 27, 2011, 10:12 am
QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Aug 26 2011, 10:35 AM)
Yeap, Wong Kok group, at first i puzzled also when they say 'W' group, now i know already
Wong kwok was their father name and company. When their son take over the company, they change the company name into W group. W as in Wong.

This post has been edited by edyek: Aug 27 2011, 10:12 AM
ychan11
post Nov 5 2011, 02:03 AM

49 posts

Thinking to buy university condominium apartment 2 as rental purpose around 230-240k. Worth to do that? any1 can provide some opinion? Newbies in properties but wish to have some asset.
edyek
post Nov 5 2011, 09:01 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(ychan11 @ Nov 5 2011, 02:03 AM)
Thinking to buy university condominium apartment 2 as rental purpose around 230-240k. Worth to do that? any1 can provide some opinion? Newbies in properties but wish to have some asset.
How much rental can be yield from there? Have you do research?

This post has been edited by edyek: Nov 5 2011, 09:06 AM
cutealex
post Nov 5 2011, 09:24 AM

4,790 posts

Saw since July2011...

but when i look at the location... very far...are you sure to invest and aim for rental yield?

i doubt someone working at KK/Damai area willing travel so far...

and Today i saw taman jindo 1 DS corner lot asking RM780k...lolzz

Marina Court Penthouse asking for 1.5mil..
edyek
post Nov 5 2011, 09:28 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(cutealex @ Nov 5 2011, 09:24 AM)
Saw since July2011...

but when i look at the location... very far...are you sure to invest and aim for rental yield?

i doubt someone working at KK/Damai area willing travel so far...

and Today i saw taman jindo 1 DS corner lot asking RM780k...lolzz

Marina Court Penthouse asking for 1.5mil..
My broker friend selling rm350k for intermediate terrace house at luyang phase 1. Marina condo for rm600k with rm3k rental per month. biggrin.gif
ychan11
post Nov 5 2011, 10:14 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Nov 5 2011, 09:01 AM)
How much rental can be yield from there? Have you do research?
thanks for reply, well, actually i am not situated in sabah hence all this days i am only finding through internets + asking my frens/family around kk.

The rental vield would be range from 700- 1000. Worst by worst if getting the 700 rent (minus out the management fee) would around 600 which only manage to cover the monthly loan by 50%. The only thinking for me to own a property is it doesnt depreciate and as long as there is rental at this moment.

I am comparing some units as well, with the 235k i can get a 850 sqt houses with 280k 700sqt 1 sulaman condo nearby. THe facilities might diff but at least the basics are there.

The area is still in developing as i believe and at this moment might not mature enough, but really need some diff opinion which i may miss out from those experience.

Something to add on : do you know what is the launching price for these condominium apartments back to few years ago? Cant find any info through internet.

This post has been edited by ychan11: Nov 5 2011, 10:20 AM
tjwong
post Nov 7 2011, 05:35 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(ychan11 @ Nov 5 2011, 10:14 AM)
thanks for reply, well, actually i am not situated in sabah hence all this days i am only finding through internets + asking my frens/family around kk.

The rental vield would be range from 700- 1000. Worst by worst if getting the 700 rent (minus out the management fee) would around 600 which only manage to cover the monthly loan by 50%. The only thinking for me to own a property is it doesnt depreciate and as long as there is rental at this moment.

I am comparing some units as well, with the 235k i can get a 850 sqt houses with 280k 700sqt 1 sulaman condo nearby. THe facilities might diff but at least the basics are there.
The area is still in developing as i believe and at this moment might not mature enough, but really need some diff opinion which i may miss out from those experience.

Something to add on : do you know what is the launching price for these condominium apartments back to few years ago? Cant find any info through internet.
well... why dont buy a second floor shoplot? the rental yield would be higher and price grows faster.
vincentkmc
post Feb 17 2012, 11:30 PM

I hv a relative who he's is for sale. the she is a DST with 4 rooms n 3 bathrooms, in Kingfisher Phase 1, size is 1300ft2? Asking for RM380k. If interested, pls let me know ya, tq
kent_lau7
post Feb 20 2012, 08:55 PM

767 posts

This is my first time to Penampang

The video give me an idea how far has Penampang developed...There is Public Bank there too, two hypermarket there. One is Giant, the other is a local brand.
torkl
post Feb 20 2012, 11:15 PM

358 posts

Is there any condos priced ~RM150k? Looking for a holiday home. Is Cyber City 1 OK-ka?
cutealex
post Feb 20 2012, 11:34 PM

4,790 posts

Condo for 150k? U must kidding me
torkl
post Feb 20 2012, 11:42 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(cutealex @ Feb 20 2012, 11:34 PM)
Condo for 150k? U must kidding me
Built Up Area : 700 Sqft Maintenance Fee : Inclusive
Bedroom(s) : 2-half Property Status : Bumi-Lot
Bathroom(s) : 2 Occupancy Status : Vacant
Furnishing(s) : Fully Furnished

Badminton Court, Club House, Curtain, Grilled, Kitchen With Built In Cabinet, Living Area With Plaster Ceiling, Newly, Play Ground, Swimming Pool, Walk Up Unit, Well Maintained & Good Conditioned, With Tiled, With Timber Flooring, Guard House, 1 lot(s) Parking Area, 3 unit(s) Air Conditional, 3 unit(s) Ceiling Fan,

This one asking RM1300 rental/month!

Other description: CYBER CITY APARTMENT,PHASE TWO. BRAND NEW UNIT,FIRST FLOOR,WALK UP APARTMENT.
FEW MINUTES DRIVING DISTANCE TO INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT,LINTAS/KEPAYAN AREA,SUPERMARKET AND RESTAURANT ETC.
20 MINUTES DRIVING DISTANCE TO KK TOWN.
cutealex
post Feb 20 2012, 11:46 PM

4,790 posts

Cheating one la...tis is apartment not condo...if rm1300..thn I better rent Lintas double storey with 4 rooms just rm1500 ...u better check it out...and it's bumi lot...are u dusun or kadazan,Malay?

alone78
post Feb 21 2012, 12:00 PM

80 posts

The PEAK, signal hill..... should be the best place to stay...... icon_rolleyes.gif

Now the developer are launching new one......

http://www.signalhill.com.my/
edyek
post Feb 21 2012, 05:57 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(torkl @ Feb 20 2012, 11:15 PM)
Is there any condos priced ~RM150k? Looking for a holiday home.  Is Cyber City 1 OK-ka?
Its a walkup apartment. Not condo.
Izura
post Mar 3 2012, 08:42 AM

Is it hard to maintain a property in KK if I'm in KL? Bought an apartment still in progress. Still thinking either to sell off or keep for rental. In dilemma hmm.gif
dreyvii
post Mar 20 2012, 01:10 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Jul 30 2009, 07:33 PM)

Who is the developer for tmn sri hartamas? The quality good? I heard pipe leaks and flooring is not good quality?

0.0452sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:03 PM