Sabah Property Talk, General property talk in K.K & elsewhere

TSwayfeel
post Jul 27 2009, 07:33 PM, updated 17y ago

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

Some postings here say Sabah real estate is still very behind. overall, yes but for Kota Kinabalu city with a population of barely 580,000, property prices is considered quite high for KK ppl already lol

say, a double storey terrace in the suburb like penampang, Kolombong, Lido, not within KK is also around >RM300,000 and a single storey intermediate easily RM 250,000 for a reasonably good location like Likas, Damai, ect. High end condominium like Bayshore, Jesselton Condo to price ranging from RM500K -1M. For some good out of city location, apartment of ~1,000sf usually @ RM 150- 220k.

The properties in KK prior to 2008 especially have risen quite significantly, not as low as most ppl think. Mostly, due to speculation and the good financial position of the chinese n locals who are mostly businessmen in the state; sustained by timber, aggressive developers, construction, fishery, tourism, port and shipping industry, just to name a couple of the prime business activities of Sabah.

but generally, I reckon KK is a very nice place to live, possibly the best in Msia after having living in KL for past 9 years and travelling to many states in Peninsular during the course of my work. Ofc, this is definitely a personal view.

Having abundantful of natural wonders and metropolitan lifestyle, or even sthg in between- a luxurious 5-star resorts in the middle of the city! aka Sutera Harbor (bangalow lots, 27 holes golf course, hotels, yacht club ect), all blend into one. ofc, u can choose to live in abit outskirt n go to city to work in no more than 30minutes. Moderate jam (compare KL) and no tolls. Definitely, sthg for everyone.

We're not talking about hours of drive but less than an hour drive to National park, 20 minutes drive from airport (KKIA 2nd busiest in MY), <10 minutes drive to the port to Tunku Abdul Rahman park from the center of city. These attractions enable constant stream of western and asian tourist inflow into the city and boost tourism industry altogether. Many hotels are already booking tourism students from KL even before they graduate.

Ask any KK chai, sure can see guai loh everyday at jln Gaya.
KK is also quite a shopping haven for many (ofc, dont compare with KL) there seem to be slightly oversupply of shopping malls at the moment but i would never be tired of varieties

but to be interesting abit, we like to imitate KL wan, now we have 1Borneo mall, KK Times square, the upcoming KK Suria, now i waiting for KK Pavilion (if any) haha . The few earliest essential and hottest malls are Centre Point Sabah (fondly known as CPS) , Kompleks Karamunsing (like LYP), Wisma Merdeka (abit like Sg Wang), and the dying KK Emporium. Upcoming Megalong Penampang and Putatan One Place mall, the cooling City Mall, slacking Asia City mall, foreigner infested KK Plaza, the accidental Tg Aru plaza shopping mall turn office mall lol....
that's 13 shopping malls altogether if i didnt miss. bear in mind that the distant of two furthest malls are <30km apart at most, in the unit of time, roughly 45mins, most of the time, less.

Not to mention it is one of the safest states to live in as Daily Express newspaper recently reported lol sure will further contribute to the overall welfare (& image) of the life in KK. That is why of recent years, there are many Taiwanese, Japanese especially Koreans have selected KK, or Sbh as their popular 2nd home. They've even bought a golf course i think in nearby Beaufort and occasionally charter the entire plane to come here for golf during their holiday. No matter how hot it is here due to clear blue sky but some Taiwanese prefer to think KK is less hot compare to theirs lol.

Not to mention the reasonably affordable seafood (& definitely salivating) in KK without freshness compromise. ok la, myb RM6 base price for a normal seafood noodle is expensive for most, but how about RM6 for best in town prawn tom yam mee in Sinsuran that ownage any other tom yam prawn in KK, wan bet mou? lol this one must bet with locals only lol or if wan XXL seafood, go to Salut ,man Lol

Okla, sry so long winded but damn, I seem to be really promoting about Sabah huh Lol Well, I guess I'm just feel like opening a thread for KK which none at lyp atm so a brief idea on KK overall from some1 who live n grow up here seem like appropriate ^^v

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Aug 10 2009, 10:50 PM
TSwayfeel
post Jul 29 2009, 11:49 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(DolphinDiver007 @ Jul 28 2009, 02:43 PM)
absolutely agreed!
perhaps, it's nice place for investment!
yes, there r many potentials in it : )

QUOTE(Y.K. @ Jul 28 2009, 08:24 PM)
nice sharing on the house prices smile.gif

btw TS do you know what is the price range for those apartment/condo around Tanjong Aru? do you think that is a nice place renting out?
I not sure about the prices there. but i think the area should be fine for rent out since the area is so many govt ;jkr, socso, schools, airasia terminal ect. then tht area not many apt/condos n supply will not even increased in the future to compete for rent since land very expensive so it's not economical unless high end projects. so should be fine. we all know it is about assessibility, public transport, security, ect.

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jul 29 2009, 01:31 PM
TSwayfeel
post Jul 29 2009, 05:35 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(mouldybread @ Jul 29 2009, 03:00 PM)
hi TS, i am currently hunting for a relatively cheap (around 150k) apartment to rent out. where would you recommend? i thought of beverly hills, bundusan villa, taman penampang aprtments but some of them left around 70 years only. any thoughts?
i feel that BHA phase 2 is ur best bet among those u mentioned. bundusan villa is quite deep from main road by foot and not many shops. unless for own staying then ok cuz quiet, like tmn p'pang.

with BHA, not only convenience but in terms of investment also is well protected because the demand in that area is strong, and active, at least for a very long time. then got frequent public transport ,many kinds of shop and eatery of all type till late night, cyber cafes, kfc, workshops, talk till so nice staying there, n my personal favorite, got few reflexology centers brows.gif ect.

moreover, individual strata title for BHA 1/2 were issued a while ago that definitely eases the buying n selling of that property on the same time save administrative fee.

what do other think?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jul 29 2009, 05:51 PM
TSwayfeel
post Jul 30 2009, 07:33 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(DolphinDiver007 @ Jul 30 2009, 01:21 PM)
does BHA sit in waterfront area?
if it is, the 900sf apt would have cost RM 1,000,000 a piece lol

QUOTE(ah liew @ Jul 30 2009, 02:07 PM)
LOL my hometown.
Taman BDC at Kolombong is a nice place to live.
Prices had increased for existing houses.
3 story houses had been built just in front of the primary school cost RM300k & above.
The land for the retired tongue.gif but far better then Johor.
Living standards are good but the food ain't cheap....
hmmm, most lau pan or even ta kung chai commoners wud say: food, how much can eat. to mean food aint that expensive.
moreover, most kk r local so stay with family or go home for dinner, ter save alot man. no toll, no fine ect, fuel oso save cuz no jam n short distant anywhere in kk. even noodle RM4.50 can find alot.

3 storey hses is wat tmn? i know sri hartamas there 3 storey *at least* 550,000 a piece lol the developer is first time develop tmn somemore but i think very successful...cuz contemporary design n quality oso good
TSwayfeel
post Jul 31 2009, 06:12 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Jul 31 2009, 10:06 AM)
LOL Agreed, most young Sabahans still prefers to stay with the family  laugh.gif
They can still survive with a low pay because of family support.
RM4.50 for a bowl of noodle is quite expensive wor.... at Johor Kulai only cost RM3.00 - 3.50 the most.
Office hour is quite jam along Foh Sang Yen or Damai area.... everyone squeezing through... but drives with courtesy lar...  laugh.gif unlike West M'sia  wink.gif

Have you seen 3 storey houses before? it might be common in West M'sia but I think it's new to KK.
Where did you studied last time?
yes kolombong, BDC, etc is one of the best place to live in KK though ABIT light industrial

stay with family still ok since tis is truly asian culture ,opposite of western :Failure to Launch?: lol
some got parents buy house for their children to live. in kk, one family own few properties....

AND each family own least 2-3 cars, own two cars is too common....i cannot find a family that own 1 car =.=" lol that is why nowadays, as wide car porch seem essential d....so if invest, invest in a at least 20ft front wide is good. 24 sure best la.....

how to compare Kulai price with KK that got KLIA, 1B, Sutera Harbor, Mt KK, Orang Utan......4.50$ for city not bad d

yes the fohsang ter should avoid around 4.30pm. and tshung tsin at 3.30pm- slow traffic. but unlike KL if jam in bt bintang klcc area sometime can hit hour(s) if friday. here nthg compare to that.

number of 3 storey tmn here catching up d. i stay casa palma 3 storey.

Added on July 31, 2009, 6:21 pm
QUOTE(ah liew @ Jul 31 2009, 11:43 AM)
I'm sorry wrong info, it should be RM400K
Semi-D houses already cost about RM300K in BDC.
Cheers!  icon_rolleyes.gif
semi D is 300k?
there is a house in tmn khidmat 2storey intermediate recently sold 285k. BDC bungalow about +/- 1million so Semi D 500-800k is accurate.

there's a contemporary new semi-D in BDC that has 13,000sf of land but built up of only <2000sf Lol @ 800-850k I think

Added on July 31, 2009, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Jul 31 2009, 04:08 PM)
Properties prices in KK are rising by the day, but more improvement is needed in the area of water and electricity supply which is not consistent, which is why every houses surely got a water tank installed..
rising cuz ppl here (them la not me lol) got money n transacted alot.
regarding water, not sure if it is area affected. lintas ,kolombong area like nvr affected b4, at least as my memory recall, i cannot rmb the last time it happened.

but electric cut seem more often of late in these places but brief la ,sometime accompanied with newspaper pre announcement. some places where my fren live in Lido the blackout too frequent like once or twice/week, kesian

but tis shortage alr lama, thats why recently tnb want tambah generater. thats 1 irony about this so called conservation.... i rmb on earth day they rallied to off electric for one day right then the next day, Star paper reported sbh wan add electrichouse dono how many mega power electric Lol tts why i nvr participate these kind of publicity gimmick wat earth day konon nya....aircon still need use, pc still need use, light still need use , hairdryer still need use....as long no waste electric is good enuff d lar, no need earth day like tht geh....

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jul 31 2009, 06:31 PM
TSwayfeel
post Aug 9 2009, 08:36 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(DolphinDiver007 @ Aug 5 2009, 10:16 AM)
ALL these condo are lease hold???

1.Graceville 1,2 and Grace Garden (opposite Sutera Harbour)
2.Marina Court (downtown KK, next to waterfront)
3.Waikiki Condo (tg aru, next to the air asia airport and by the beach)
4.The Peak
nowadays, many new development are all leasehold especially those above...y such question?
TSwayfeel
post Aug 10 2009, 12:30 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(DolphinDiver007 @ Aug 10 2009, 09:10 AM)
always interested to get a unit in kk but if it's lease hold..... need to think about it!
do u know how many yrs for kk area lease hold condition? 99 or 60 yrs?

Added on August 10, 2009, 9:12 am

mind to share where is tmn grand millenium??
usually 99 yrs.
tmn grd millennium along jln penampang-bypass highway, damn convenient, go lido, penampang, airport near....that area is catching up. the shoplots tere very merry one, almost all open, shops also laku....the apt there also laku lol....
TSwayfeel
post Aug 10 2009, 07:22 PM

2,114 posts

hahahahaha, welcome to Borneo ! sbh got many many NT land we cannot touch, well, so to speak cuz non bumi mah. haha

why u so interested in property in sabah....I hope U not spy from indonesia? jk lol
TSwayfeel
post Aug 10 2009, 11:02 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(yumyum77 @ Aug 10 2009, 10:37 PM)
That area left and right of the highway still got lots of land. By KL standards it's not far from town too. yes shoplots all snapped up quite fast. same goes with the 3 storey semi-d i mentioned, it's just further down the highway.
Yea, many bypass highways now is gonna bloom soon, in years ofc. Tuaran bypass, ppang bypass ,etc lands r scooped up fast.

to be honest, even the commercial shoplots in KK are not easy to be found anymore, now is seller market, they willing to hold at high selling price....unconcern whether buyer wan to buy or not cuz now not many sound alternative to investment....moreover, moeny become smaller, once they let go the shops, they cant get anything of similar back.

friend, can PM me the name of the tmn u mentioned? just for my knowledge, im not entirely familiar that place. thanks first : )

QUOTE(diylover @ Aug 10 2009, 09:25 PM)
agree. sabah, especially kk is among the best to live in Malaysia !! 

1. Food may not be as tasty as KL food but its freshness (be it seafood or vege) is enough to compensate  slack in cooking..

actually , kk food is really ONE OF the best in MY ,imo....it is just far unpromoted compare to the titan food famous penang, perak ,etc ....

(personal views)
reason #1, many food come from sdk which come from hk....the cookk style abit similar to hk cuz lastime many sdk from hk de....so there's spilt advantage....the Penampang Supertanker restaurant is from sdk. ...got once a food sifu who tried many dishes around the world said the food in Supertanker r among the best in the world, no joke! unless he's a con lol

# 2, which state in MY can match with KK seafood quality n varieties, 'nuff said. ours export to hk , taiwan ,ect countries.

# 3, here got coconut, sunset beach, local girls who vry nice n flenly accompany u eat, food also become tastier la right! lol

2. ya. it is safer. you may see many foreigner on streets but hardly hear news of death due to robbery or snatch thieve...unlike KL.

cuz in KK, everybody drive car....iz veli difficult to snatch or be snatched even if u roll down ur window lol
then, the life here abit laid back, the snatch thief also feel laid back n feel like holiday everyday lol jk

DO NOT agree that sabahans are rich. There are many poor peoples, be it bumi or non-bumi. if you do not know, Sabah is having most number of hardcore poor in Malaysia!   Yes, those rich are SUPER RICH.

highest hardcore poor cuz we hv one of the highest population mah, no? just like Acer has the highest total defect cuz their total sales oso highest Lol

***Anyway, I updated on the name of shopping malls in KK ! smile.gif smile.gif :
that's 13 of them ! unless I miss any of it . what an amount of malls yea just in kk alone !?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Aug 10 2009, 11:16 PM
TSwayfeel
post Aug 17 2009, 03:48 PM

2,114 posts

what do you guys think of Harbour City shops....good prospect?

If according to plan, sure thing would be massive and another huge booster to KK got da spanish street la, hotels la, got digital theme park la from the same company which does for MGM las vegas digital theme park, etc

but then, seem bleak the outlook, the squatters behind like not moving and still so many phase not even erected yet. even if so, the prospect wont materialize so soon except probably for phase 1 that has good main road frontage

0.0186sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:55 PM