7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Training, Pictures and Progress Thread V2, Show Pictures to prove yourself!

pizzaboy
post Sep 10 2009, 07:29 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Sep 10 2009, 06:56 AM)
haha pizzaboy nice squats
is that 120kg's per side? cuz tak nampak

as for john91, bro relax la
no need to expect people to comment on ur legs cuz they are solid and i think at ur stage u dont need ppl's justification on your body

i posted pics also only bata, uhuk2 and some commented
flex.gif  flex.gif
Nobody counts 120KG per side. Only H&F LYN users use that method of counting. We count the bar and the plates. Honestly speaking? Ya know, why I think LYN users say "per side"? It's either;

1. We can't count to 10
2. We are using per'side to mask the tiny amount of weights lifted

Why be so shy about it? If that's your maximal abilities, well be proud about it.

and i agree completely about what you said about John's legs.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Sep 10 2009, 07:31 PM
pizzaboy
post Sep 10 2009, 10:48 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Sep 10 2009, 10:32 AM)
I guess the only way to make it look better is by having more fat huh?
No.
It's GENETICS. Muscle doesn't grow around that area unfortunately. Not much. You COULD strengthen the ligaments and tendons (but I think it barely even grows if at all) As for FAT. By the time it covers that area, you'd look like a bloated walrus.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Sep 10 2009, 10:50 PM
pizzaboy
post Sep 10 2009, 11:45 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Sep 10 2009, 11:35 AM)
yea... tiny wrists are a b****...... ur bench press can even be limited somewhat .... but thats if u are already in the 100kg plus plus range... .... for us between 50kg and 80kg ppl... owh well smile.gif.. if u can bench 100kg its respectable in my books smile.gif
You have to quit believing that. This guy, look at the size of his wrists

Ok?

He jerks 202.5 kilos. I'm not joking. Size not strength. Not strength. Not strength. The theory of diminishing returns applies here, but when you aren't even close to maximal yet, the theory doesnt appyl.

pizzaboy
post Sep 11 2009, 08:25 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Sep 10 2009, 12:03 PM)
O_O.... 202 kgs.......your coach did 160 the last vid right?...

theoretically , wouldnt larger wrists area count for better weight distribution ..meaning stability + strength ?

the direction of stress for a jerk movemnt would be  a " seperating " movement ....but the stress on the wrist joint for a bench would be compression...

during your bench it would be optimal if your wrists dont move but during a jerk, u HAVE to move your wrist...

so if u consider a inverted pyramid and a rectangle with the weight on both apexes.....the force applied to a larger base would definitely mean better stability and control if compared with the smaller wrist....also i am referring to compressive forces...

hence i come to my conclusion that larger wrists would enable a person to lift heavier past the point of connective tissue tolerance..
pss.... do correct my if my assumptions are wrong...dude...theory of diminishing returns?...care to explain.. i googled it....ended up shait deep in economics...not my cup a tea...
When we handle limit weights, we almost never get the separation you're talking about. The only time there is separation is when you're handling baby weights like about 70-80%. Also you must consider that we have assistance exercises like push presses and overhead presses which is quite alike the bench in terms of wrist stresses. In fact, even more as we are forced to balance a dynamic weight overhead. As we all know, dynamic force is much harder to control than static pressure. And occasionally I do bench (maybe once a year) and I come close to about 110KG with tiny wrists. No problem.

Now I understand how you're taking biomechanics and physics and adding it together. Excellent stuff.
Now you need to add another variable into your theory. Tensile strength. You wouldn't put a four 5" stick to hold a car up but you wouldn't have much qualms about putting four 1" titanium rod to hold up your car right?

OF course, with all things being equal, then the larger wrist guy would probably be able to handle maximum weights better, but it is not that huge a factor. It's the bone density that matters here. Let's take an example.
If you had to, would you take a turning kick from a bodybuilder who is giant with huge skeletal structure. Or would you take a turning kick from a seasoned muay thai fighters. [Note: In a demonstration, a Muay Thai fighter broke wooden bats like they were toothpicks and bent the metal ones. ]

As for theory of diminishing returns, increased muscle can make us stronger and faster. But only to a certain level. Then it stops giving the advantages. Then you need to take steps such as CNS routing, speed training, explosive power, maximal strength training. Stuff like that.

At extreme weights, EVERYTHING counts. But for bodybuilders, it's about size not weights.

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Sep 10 2009, 12:25 PM)
susah jugak pizza cuz like me, i squat 50kg's per side and i dunno the rounded numbers cuz i dunno the bar's weight
i assume its 12kg's cuz its the normal long bar on the squat rack
i dont think its 20kg's sebab its not an oly bar
if i assume then its 112kg's?

and currently i do 100-110kg's per sides for standing calf rise per sides on smith machines
do i count in the bar's weight or i just say my calf raise is 200kgs?
IF you do 100KG per side, you say 212KG.
If you do 110KG per side, you say 232KG.
You add the bar.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Sep 11 2009, 09:05 AM
pizzaboy
post Sep 14 2009, 08:46 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(fever003 @ Sep 13 2009, 05:33 PM)
mods should do some serious clean up in this thread..too much discussion than showing progress pictures..and some discussions are off topic as well
Sureeee.....what about your progress photos?
pizzaboy
post Sep 15 2009, 10:01 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Sep 15 2009, 08:42 AM)
haha, some oth thread saying his diet is not very clean, he drinks beer and eat steak for PWO doh.gif.
He does actually. But Shanecross has to freaking hunt the food. So no beer for him
pizzaboy
post Sep 16 2009, 12:44 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Sep 15 2009, 12:33 PM)
yo shanecross
ur bod's nice but like others said need more mass
i personally think need more mass for back and chest

damn ur in marine eh
i just wonder how the hell u go through all those ops and training but in the end u might not even end up in any of those heart wrenching battlefields
He doesn't.
He needs to be able to run distances, fight, defend, pull, push, lift, sprint and jump. Things that require power and strength and coordination and endurance. Not have the "fashion" muscles. Things that the real world needs in combat. The chest, has almost no real world application besides helping stabilize loads.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Sep 16 2009, 12:46 AM
pizzaboy
post Sep 16 2009, 01:06 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Sep 15 2009, 12:58 PM)
i kinda have to agree with that
haha
i mean since his goals are different then perhaps he wont need it
i was just giving comments from my point of personal point of view as mentioned above

tongue.gif
Same here
pizzaboy
post Sep 16 2009, 09:53 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(diablokun @ Sep 16 2009, 03:49 AM)
not bad dude...how long been training ??

you should look better than this...i think your posting and knowledge level surpass u edi....
I disagree. It's not necessary that someone has to look huge just because they know a lot. In fact, I strongly believe that if someone can achieve their goals, and share their knowledge, they deserve kudos. And his is clearly, not to look big or muscular or anything.
pizzaboy
post Sep 17 2009, 09:35 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(wallpaper89 @ Sep 17 2009, 09:17 AM)
shanecross... are u an ectomorph? damn man, my goal is to look something like you or pizzaboy. not the BBer look, but more of the wild, raw strength look. great job on the physique even though your aim is more towards functional strength.
Me? Pretty easy. Squat under barbells. Pull barbells off the ground. Press barbells above your head. Do pullups. Repeat with dumbbells and kettlebells. Oh and jump around and run a lot.
pizzaboy
post Sep 17 2009, 10:20 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Sep 17 2009, 09:55 AM)
Im not an ectomorph, thats for sure. This is my POV to become stronger. I always believe that a trainee can never neglect Bodybuilding movements, the rep work etc. I have been neglecting BB work and have been focusing on low rep work which is a bad mistake and I've only recently incorporated BB work in my routine. The basic 3 is also vital, Deadlifts, Squat and Bench. I can't put myself off by saying I'm a bad bench presser, I bench not as heavy as I squat and deadlift and I think this shows that how much bb work that I lack all this while.

Workouts like Cable Rows, Lat Pulldowns, Barbell Rows , Leg Presses and other BB movements should never leave a trainee's list regardless of their goals, strength or physique etc.  A strong back will significantly improve your Squats, Bench, and Deadlift. Your leg might be able to handle a 200kg backsquat, but can your back handle the weight? So is deadlift, can you maintain that strong arch when pulling a 180kg for 5 reps for instance. In terms of bench press, can you keep your back arched strong? See how much role does the back plays?

This is how I approach my routine, Low Rep demonstrates strength, High Reps improves strength. This shows that one cannot stick to low reps all the time, maybe once a month to see where you at in terms of strength. Other than that, keep the reps moderately high.

This might be a little long winded for you so I decided to stop here at the moment. Remember, this is my POV on training, and I just realized I've made a huge mistake to ditch BB work so you shouldn't do the same.
Good advice. My coach I think gave the best way to summarize this;

Go heavy, go high reps.

When we train, we never actually follow a particular system. We'll see what our weaknesses are at. Then we'll work at it. Then when it gets easy, we play with the repetitions. Higher rep for this set, add a bit more weight for the next set, pause at certain points, use chains to overload, use bands to assist in speed, use deadstop squats. All sorts lah
pizzaboy
post Sep 18 2009, 02:20 PM

9,495 posts

9-12 point caliper check.

EDIT: Forgot that the 12 point ones can barely be found.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Sep 18 2009, 02:23 PM
pizzaboy
post Sep 18 2009, 08:41 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(wallpaper89 @ Sep 18 2009, 08:06 AM)
All these while I thought low rep work helps to increase the trainee's strength... So what about Rippetoe's? Is 5 reps considered low too?

Actually I am considering on lifting weights only until I start working, and after that maybe quit the gym and do cross training + cardio work instead, since I expect my workload in the future to be hectic, unpredictable and inhumane.

Btw, your posts were both good reads, thank you.
Nope. Every rep range, can build strength. Let's put it this way.

You've been training at 5x5 and your 5x5 weight is currently 100KG. (This gives you an average max 1RM BS of about 130KG btw)
But you've stalled for nearly 1 month and just can't do 5x5 with 102.5KG. You've deloaded and loaded 3x and still fail.

Simple. Move to 5x3 @ 102.5KG.

So maybe now you've got 117.5KG x 5 x 3 but can't move up anymore. No matter how you try, you can't.

Simple! Change to 3 x 8 @ 110KG

Okay, so now you've increased your 3x8 @ 110KG to 120KG. You've got 120KG for 3 sets of 8 reps.

Think you could do 130KG x 5 x 5 this time?

This is how we mess around with the rep ranges and keep the body going "Shit, what the hell is wrong with my owner? Why's he doing this!!?"

Any rep range can increase strength. Even up to 20 reps for a single set.
pizzaboy
post Sep 27 2009, 10:23 PM

9,495 posts

Nike Romaleos FTW
Adistar and Ironwork 3 also boleh la....

I need to snatch 105KG to get my free Romaleos from my coach. tongue.gif
pizzaboy
post Sep 27 2009, 10:41 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Sep 27 2009, 10:30 AM)
hey ..pizza..i though u got sum custom supa spring absorber fitter alligator skin lifting shoes from ur client in US???
It's made of bull skin. Not alligator. The company's not from Shreveport (Crocodile paradise) but Colombia. If I had spring absorber shoes, we wouldn't be snatching or clean and jerking. I'd be jumping over Najib's house throwing him a few stink bombs. Solid shoes are a must for weightlifting. Maximal force transfer and stability.
pizzaboy
post Sep 27 2009, 11:28 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Sep 27 2009, 10:43 AM)
yupyupyupy... smile.gif...hope u detected d pun.... .. oh yea... so far how is ur appraisal of HCL supps...... and how many g of protein are u taking per day?
Down to 500mg per meal. I think I can even completely stop taking HCl in about 2 weeks. A day protein.....maybe 100gm?
pizzaboy
post Sep 28 2009, 12:00 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Sep 27 2009, 11:42 AM)
cool...so 100g is enough for your maintainence ? ...hmmmm flatulance probs?... whyd u start hcl in the first place.. im taking ruffly 150-170g per day..
1. To test
2. I recover in time, sudah lah. Malas nak makan beribu-ribu tan protein. Competition's in 2 weeks. If bodyweight ternaik, damn kecoh.
pizzaboy
post Sep 29 2009, 11:49 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(John91 @ Sep 28 2009, 11:37 AM)
I squat with badminton shoes. That ok?
Badminton shoes has a rubbery substance between as a shock absorbent. This isn't something you want, because it reduces the force transfer between the floor and you. An analogy?
Try jumping on sponges.

You won't be able to transfer force maximally and it's unstable as well.

Often they also cause you to have your feet (because of the protective shock absorbent padding), kinda like move inwards and can cause ACL tears. Not good at all. This is especially true, if you don't have good technique, and I maybe 80% of gym goers DON'T have good technique. Trust me on this one. So many times, I can see the flaws that you guys are doing, that's cutting your power short. EG: Diving into the hole and then straining out.

Your best bet? Go Bata and buy the north star school shoes. RM29.90

pizzaboy
post Sep 29 2009, 10:06 PM

9,495 posts

This is at 78.5KG.
1.5KG to go before the nationals.
I wonder how I'll look at 77.

pizzaboy
post Sep 29 2009, 11:34 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Sep 29 2009, 10:48 PM)
What nationals?
Bodybuilding nationals.
Nolah......weightlifting nationals in Sabah on the 6-9th. Hoping to get a 102/123KG result there.

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Sep 29 2009, 11:17 PM)
hey pizza boy.... nure 78kgs? cool...ur legs must be hyooge...

oh well here is my september update... new training style has shown results... lost fat on chest, tummy and sides...gained muscle on arms chest, shoulders and thighs...

no line on the horizon baby.........
No I'm just too tall for this weight.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0476sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:21 PM