Sound Engineering in Malaysia

TSZulhilmi Arts
post Jul 21 2009, 09:48 PM, updated 10y ago

39 posts

I am not looking for job here. I am still studying. In sound engineering field.
I am trying to open a discussion about sound engineering career in Malaysia.

Anyone here know anything about it?
Like the location of studios in Malaysia.
Any career related to sound engineering.
Anything at all.

For the one who are finding where to study sound engineering in Malaysia, there are few courses available in Limkokwing Cyberjaya, Ocean Institute of Audio Technology and SAE Malaysia. I think there are more but these are the only that I know.

In Malaysia, there lots of singers and bands trying to break into the market and entertainment industry,
but I hardly found a person who want specialize in sound engineering.
Of course the are many, but it is not a common thing as singers and bands.

If fame and fortune are the main things that people after in show biz,
they are prone to be the one in front of the TV or on stage.
Most Malaysians don't even know what is sound engineering.
I encounter lots of people who ask me what course am I taking, and they responded, 'what the heck is sound engineering?'

If I say, mechanical engineering, everyone knows. And they would be so proud knowing that I am studying it.
But when it comes to sound engineering, they tend to give a bad thoughts about it.

For me, sound engineer is a scientist and an artist at the same time.
Ever wonder why your favourite band sounds so smooth and nice in their CD but not during live performances?
Without proper sound engineers, there wouldn't even be a record or a well live performance.

In my opinion, sound engineers in Malaysia were not credited well for their hard work.

This post has been edited by Zulhilmi Arts: Jun 12 2012, 11:51 PM
W_A_F_D_I
post Jul 21 2009, 10:10 PM

21 posts

This was my dream career before, but my step planned with basic (dipoloma in music) first and climb to sound engineering. My opinion in Malaysia it's hard to cari makan but will sustain from concert, live performance. Go for it, we have same perspective. Might be your opportunity more bright outside Malaysia where more people appreciate this field. About my dream, it just dream when I been forbid to further my music study by my family. I saport and respek U. Go get it brO! flex.gif
rclxms.gif
jacc
post Jul 21 2009, 10:57 PM

224 posts

hello,
do you guys have the software to simulate the sound parameters with certain room size and material etc etc..and a give a frequecny response curve?
TSZulhilmi Arts
post Jul 22 2009, 02:37 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(jacc @ Jul 21 2009, 10:57 PM)
hello,
do you guys have the software to simulate the sound parameters with certain room size and material etc etc..and a give a frequecny response curve?
u mean like sound designer software?

This post has been edited by Zulhilmi Arts: Jul 28 2009, 07:53 AM
TSZulhilmi Arts
post Jul 28 2009, 07:53 AM

39 posts

Anyone know anything about the local film scoring?
jhen
post Feb 10 2010, 11:13 PM

18 posts

hello,
You are looking for a convolution reverb. There are many plug-ins out there to be used with a DAW. So it depends what DAW are you using to know what type of plug-in you are after (eg. VST, AU, RTAS, AS etc).
Moe Joe
post Feb 11 2010, 01:56 AM

hello,
I think you are refering to EASE (Enhanced Acoustic Simulator for Engineers).

Check it out. http://www.renkus-heinz.com/ease/index.html
syyang85
post Feb 11 2010, 01:12 PM

982 posts

which college/uni in malaysia offer this course?
boss82
post Mar 17 2010, 02:58 AM

39 posts

my friend told me Harman is recruiting, sound temptation?
TSZulhilmi Arts
post May 16 2010, 04:02 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(syyang85 @ Feb 11 2010, 01:12 PM)
which college/uni in malaysia offer this course?
SAE Malaysia, Ocean Institute of Audio Technology, Limkokwing Cyberjaya
Dont know if there are more
LanEvo7
post May 16 2010, 11:01 PM

Hmmm... what to put for title?
1,838 posts

Hey, congrats bro on going for a career in sound engineering .. it always interests me to see ppl going after intesting and non-conforming careers .. the world needs more ppl like these.

Anyway, I have a friend working in the advertising line has worked with this company called Add Audio http://www.addaudio.com.my/, as far as I know, they do recordings for commercials n stuff, unfortunately I don't have any contacts in there.
TSZulhilmi Arts
post May 17 2010, 07:07 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(LanEvo7 @ May 16 2010, 11:01 PM)
Hey, congrats bro on going for a career in sound engineering .. it always interests me to see ppl going after intesting and non-conforming careers .. the world needs more ppl like these.

Anyway, I have a friend working in the advertising line has worked with this company called Add Audio http://www.addaudio.com.my/, as far as I know, they do recordings for commercials n stuff, unfortunately I don't have any contacts in there.
Wow, thanks man for the information. It could really help those who are stumble upon this thread and me too. I am not really well connected to the industry to fill this thread with lots of information to help us all who are interested in this field. But I try to fill it each time I got something new, which hardly anything at all so far when regarding to job availability or likewise. Still studying though. I appreciate every single information that anyone can post here.

From what I learn so far, when you are music industry, connections and experiences beat the 'paper' you get after graduated. But of course in sound engineering, a certificate could give you a boost and give you more career options. So you won't stuck with just few careers to choose from.
LanEvo7
post May 17 2010, 09:42 PM

Hmmm... what to put for title?
1,838 posts

QUOTE(Zulhilmi Arts @ May 17 2010, 07:07 PM)
Wow, thanks man for the information. It could really help those who are stumble upon this thread and me too. I am not really well connected to the industry to fill this thread with lots of information to help us all who are interested in this field. But I try to fill it each time I got something new, which hardly anything at all so far when regarding to job availability or likewise. Still studying though. I appreciate every single information that anyone can post here.

From what I learn so far, when you are music industry, connections and experiences beat the 'paper' you get after graduated. But of course in sound engineering, a certificate could give you a boost and give you more career options. So you won't stuck with just few careers to choose from.
Well, actually that applies to all industry, the real working world is more of connection and experience. Paper is just to get you a kick start, but a good piece of paper really goes a long way to get you a big kick start.

Another thing that might interest you would be the BroadcastAsia http://www.broadcast-asia.com/ exhibition in Singapore, usually held in June every year. If u have the chance, can always head down south for a weekend getaway and take the opportunity to visit that fair, should give u good exposure as to what are the possible companies u can try for.
RedBerry
post Sep 25 2010, 02:01 AM

14 posts

hello there..just want to share..i've been working in audio field (sound engineering) since 2008. All i can say..its not a tough job if you know what you are doing..hehe..

So Zulhilmi Arts, where u study right now? Interested in live sound, music production or post production?
andyreymex
post Oct 20 2010, 12:55 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(RedBerry @ Sep 25 2010, 02:01 AM)
hello there..just want to share..i've been working in audio field (sound engineering) since 2008. All i can say..its not a tough job if you know what you are doing..hehe..

So Zulhilmi Arts, where u study right now? Interested in live sound, music production or post production?
Hi RedBerry, I was looking for similar jobs in audio field (sound engineering), but I don't have any qualifications. I did some self studies and eventually used some softwares to learn, create, remix and re-mastering some songs of commercials and my own. It's my dream job, and I want to be part of the audio engineering team. May I know how am I supposed to get myself involved? I don't have any friends who have contacts in similar field, right now that I'm here, I wish I could get some more information. I don't mind getting started from the bottom, I'm very keen in this field.

Hope to hear some replies from yall.
June Kor
post Nov 11 2010, 10:55 AM

I am looking for audio engineer now, anyone is interest to try? its a full time job.

jenli_84
post Jan 14 2011, 04:01 PM

377 posts

wat company...the job still vacant?
TSZulhilmi Arts
post Mar 6 2011, 08:40 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(RedBerry @ Sep 25 2010, 02:01 AM)

I am very sorry for this incredibly late reply. I didn't get any notification from Lowyat in my email and it's been a while since the last time I been to this thread. I am a senior student in Limkokwing University. It's been a great for the last few semesters. I learned a lot. But most of the time, I learned everything myself. I guess you probably already know that since you already work, that all of us in audio engineering really have to be an autodidact. Audio engineering is all about practical work more that theory. You are not going anywhere until you try doing it yourself. You won't learn EQ until you touch that EQ knob.

So where do you work? It would be nice if you can share your working experience here. Last time, I couldn't find audio engineering thread in Lowyat so I started this hoping that people who are in interested and already work in this field would share and we all can benefit from each other. I really like to see audio engineering field grow a lot bigger in Malaysia especially from the job opportunity and having a vast professional community that could help the new and upcoming engineers.

It would be nice if people ask us what do we do, and we say we are in audio engineering field and that person know what it is instead of giving us a hmm.gif face. He3

I am more into music production, that's where most on my audio passion falls into. ^^

This post has been edited by Zulhilmi Arts: Mar 6 2011, 04:28 PM
wsrulez
post Mar 6 2011, 03:59 PM

123 posts

what do you mean by sound engineering? Do u mean the consultant working on noise control in a building?
TSZulhilmi Arts
post Mar 6 2011, 04:26 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(wsrulez @ Mar 6 2011, 03:59 PM)
what do you mean by sound engineering? Do u mean the consultant working on noise control in a building?
Actually sound engineering is a big field. But today, when you say sound engineering, most people will think about music production, live sound and post production.

That consultant can also be counted in sound engineering coz he is dealing with noise control, which need the knowledge in sound and acoustics. I think. Coz when you meet students who study sound engineering, you hardly meet a person who say he wanna be that noise control consultant. Most answers would be a music producer, sound designer, musician, live/studio engineer, etc. More into show biz.

Probably that consultant is more in civil engineering? I am not sure. hmm.gif
Laura MY
post Mar 26 2011, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(Zulhilmi Arts @ Mar 6 2011, 08:40 AM)
I am very sorry for this incredibly late reply. I didn't get any notification from Lowyat in my email and it's been a while since the last time I been to this thread. I am a senior student in Limkokwing University. It's been a great for the last few semesters. I learned a lot. But most of the time, I learned everything myself. I guess you probably already know that since you already work, that all of us in audio engineering really have to be an autodidact. Audio engineering is all about practical work more that theory. You are not going anywhere until you try doing it yourself. You won't learn EQ until you touch that EQ knob.

So where do you work? It would be nice if you can share your working experience here. Last time, I couldn't find audio engineering thread in Lowyat so I started this hoping that people who are in interested and already work in this field would share and we all can benefit from each other. I really like to see audio engineering field grow a lot bigger in Malaysia especially from the job opportunity and having a vast professional community that could help the new and upcoming engineers.

It would be nice if people ask us what do we do, and we say we are in audio engineering field and that person know what it is instead of giving us a hmm.gif face. He3

I am more into music production, that's where most on my audio passion falls into. ^^
Dear Arts,
Since you are a senior student in Limkokwing U, doing a course related to sound engineering, may you kindly
give me some advices about Limkokwing U standard. I have the intention to send my son to do his BA(hons)
Sonic Music at Limkokwing U, however, one of my friends who had send her child there (for other courses)
have advised me against going to Limkokwing U for some reasons like not having good lecturers and poor
attention from the lecturers are some of the reasons.

Any great advice? As I do not have much money for my son's study, as such, must be careful in the selection
as the fees at Limkokwing U is not cheap.

I thank you inadvance for your reply.

TSZulhilmi Arts
post Mar 26 2011, 04:10 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Laura MY @ Mar 26 2011, 03:17 PM)
Dear Arts,
Since you are a senior student in Limkokwing U, doing a course  related to sound engineering, may you kindly
give me some advices about Limkokwing U standard. I have the intention to send my son to do his BA(hons)
Sonic Music at Limkokwing U, however, one of my friends who had send her child there (for other courses)
have advised me against going to Limkokwing U for some reasons like not having good lecturers and poor
attention from the lecturers are some of the reasons.

Any great advice?  As I do not have much money for my son's study, as such, must be careful in the selection
as the fees at Limkokwing U is not cheap.

I thank you inadvance for your reply.
For the BA(hons) Sonic Music, I dont really know much about it. I saw the course at Limkokwing U website but my classmates and even the lecturers never talked about it. In fact, when it comes to degree in audio engineering, we all agree that there is no courses available here in Malaysia yet. Some of the graduated students are studying oversea right now for their degree.

For the comment about Limkokwing U not having a good lecturers, thats more in general for the U itself. Not to any particular lecturer in any course. I heard that comment lots of time already, even some are from the graduated students from there are suggesting to stay away from that U. I dont know why exactly but now that am a student there, I gotta say this U has a bad management. The reason I am there coz there is no audio engineering course in public/government U. Not coz I really wanna be in Limkokwing U. Its a private U and its very expensive but I have no other choices. I feel kinda bad coz my parents are paying for the fee. But I am really passionate about this course and I am studying very hard. I do wanna tell you one thing, in Limkokwing there are lots of students who are there not really coz they want to study. They hardly attended classes and when they got bad grades, they blamed it on the lecturers. It happens every semester. So the lecturers are taking the heat for their mistakes. For the lecturers in my course, they all very helpful and always there to help. So to conclude that bad lecturers comment, in depends on who was commenting. I dont know about the lecturers in other faculties. I only know those in Sound and Music Design Academy only. My experience, they all good lecturers. They taught us what we need to know. Mostly the basics are covered. Like I said in previous post, audio engineering is really about practical work. And need to be an autodidact, one who is really passionate about it and will always learn by himself/herself. Its different from engineering field in mechanical, electronics, etc, medical, accounting whereas the time spend in lectures in U are obligatory to know the courses well but in audio engineering, if you hang with the right person, you dont even need to attend courses in U, might as well just go straight to the industry, but I am not saying we should skip school. That diploma/degree certificate might help a tiny bit in getting a better starting position in the music industry. thumbup.gif
Laura MY
post Mar 27 2011, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(Zulhilmi Arts @ Mar 26 2011, 04:10 PM)
For the BA(hons) Sonic Music, I dont really know much about it. I saw the course at Limkokwing U website but my classmates and even the lecturers never talked about it. In fact, when it comes to degree in audio engineering, we all agree that there is no courses available here in Malaysia yet. Some of the graduated students are studying oversea right now for their degree.

For the comment about Limkokwing U not having a good lecturers, thats more in general for the U itself. Not to any particular lecturer in any course. I heard that comment lots of time already, even some are from the graduated students from there are suggesting to stay away from that U. I dont know why exactly but now that am a student there, I gotta say this U has a bad management. The reason I am there coz there is no audio engineering course in public/government U. Not coz I really wanna be in Limkokwing U. Its a private U and its very expensive but I have no other choices. I feel kinda bad coz my parents are paying for the fee. But I am really passionate about this course and I am studying very hard. I do wanna tell you one thing, in Limkokwing there are lots of students who are there not really coz they want to study. They hardly attended classes and when they got bad grades, they blamed it on the lecturers. It happens every semester. So the lecturers are taking the heat for their mistakes. For the lecturers in my course, they all very helpful and always there to help. So to conclude that bad lecturers comment, in depends on who was commenting. I dont know about the lecturers in other faculties. I only know those in Sound and Music Design Academy only. My experience, they all good lecturers. They taught us what we need to know. Mostly the basics are covered. Like I said in previous post, audio engineering is really about practical work. And need to be an autodidact, one who is really passionate about it and will always learn by himself/herself. Its different from engineering field in mechanical, electronics, etc, medical, accounting whereas the time spend in lectures in U are obligatory to know the courses well but in audio engineering, if you hang with the right person, you dont even need to attend courses in U, might as well just go straight to the industry, but I am not saying we should skip school. That diploma/degree certificate might help a tiny bit in getting a better starting position in the music industry.  thumbup.gif
Hi Arts,
Thank you very much for your reply.

BTW, which course (title of your course) are you currently taking?

Would you be kind enough to ask/enquire from your lecturer about this course(BA(hons)Sonic Music).....like are there any student currently attending this course at LKW U? I tried to contact the U, but each time, the answering machine put me to some extension, but no ones pick up the call.......I believed that this BA(hons) Sonic Music falls under Sound and Music Design Academy also, right? Thanks a million for your kind asssitance.

TSZulhilmi Arts
post Mar 27 2011, 08:39 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Laura MY @ Mar 27 2011, 12:41 PM)
Hi Arts,
Thank you very much for your reply.

BTW, which course (title of your course) are you currently taking?

Would you be kind enough to ask/enquire from your lecturer about this course(BA(hons)Sonic Music).....like are there any student currently attending this course at LKW U? I tried to contact the U, but each time, the answering machine put me to some extension, but no ones pick up the call.......I believed that this BA(hons) Sonic Music falls under Sound and Music Design Academy also, right?  Thanks a million for your kind asssitance.
My course is Diploma in Sound & Music Technology. Actually that and Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in Sonic Design are under Faculty of Multimedia Creativity (FMC). Till today I don't understand why is my course under Faculty of Multimedia Creativity but is being handle by Sound and Music Design Academy (SMDA). Confusing. Maybe SMDA is a company that handle that course that provided by the FMC. I don't know. Didn't bother to find out about that neither.

Anyway I'll try to find out about that course. smile.gif
Laura MY
post Mar 28 2011, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(Zulhilmi Arts @ Mar 27 2011, 08:39 PM)
My course is Diploma in Sound & Music Technology. Actually that and Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in Sonic Design are under Faculty of Multimedia Creativity (FMC). Till today I don't understand why is my course under Faculty of Multimedia Creativity but is being handle by Sound and Music Design Academy (SMDA). Confusing. Maybe SMDA is a company that handle that course that provided by the FMC. I don't know. Didn't bother to find out about that neither.

Anyway I'll try to find out about that course.  smile.gif
THANKS
Shall be awaiting to hear from you again.
You have been very helpful. smile.gif
TSZulhilmi Arts
post Apr 4 2011, 09:50 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(Laura MY @ Mar 28 2011, 01:32 PM)
THANKS
Shall be awaiting to hear from you again.
You have been very helpful. smile.gif
The degree course is not available yet. A staff there said that course was planned to be taught there but right now they don't have enough lecturers to teach degree students. Only enough for Diploma only right now. What makes me wonder is why the heck did they put that course on their website if they are not available yet hmm.gif . They said it will be available soon though. Still, if you want further info I guess you gotta check with them personally.
Clanes
post Apr 4 2011, 12:46 PM

Anyone here from SAE Malaysia?

Laura MY
post Apr 4 2011, 02:05 PM

QUOTE(Zulhilmi Arts @ Apr 4 2011, 09:50 AM)
The degree course is not available yet. A staff there said that course was planned to be taught there but right now they don't have enough lecturers to teach degree students. Only enough for Diploma only right now. What makes me wonder is why the heck did they put that course on their website if they are not available yet  hmm.gif  . They said it will be available soon though. Still, if you want further info I guess you gotta check with them personally.
Thanks, Zulhilmi for the info.
That's funny, advertising a course in their website and yet it is not ready ???..
..............I think it is better to look elsewhere then...afterall, I am a poor lady
and worked very hard to save for this education fund.
Once again, thank you very much for all your kind assistance and I sincerely
hope you will find success in all your undertakings and most of all, a peaceful
life. smile.gif
TSZulhilmi Arts
post Apr 4 2011, 04:43 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Laura MY @ Apr 4 2011, 02:05 PM)
Thanks, Zulhilmi for the info.
That's  funny, advertising a course in their website and yet it is not ready ???..
..............I think it is better to look elsewhere then...afterall, I am a poor lady
and worked very hard to save for this education fund.
Once again, thank you very much for all your kind assistance and I sincerely
hope you will find success in all your undertakings and most of all, a peaceful
life.  smile.gif
You are welcome and thank you for the support. icon_rolleyes.gif
BTW, I think the nearest degree for audio engineering is at SAE Singapore. I dont know how much it cost though.
faidzal1982
post Apr 6 2011, 06:00 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(Clanes @ Apr 4 2011, 12:46 PM)
Anyone here from SAE Malaysia?
im not from SAE Malaysia... but my brother is... he just finish his diploma there...
anyway... anybody knows any contact that need sound engineering students? im helping my brother to scout for jobs...
blurryken24
post Apr 7 2011, 12:48 AM

38 posts

Hello hello engineers! There is a part-time job for Recording Engineers for Voice Dubbing series. The Job is starting from April till June. Hourly paid at rm10 you will be doing in shifts. Give me a call or text at 012 4779657.

andyreymex
post Aug 25 2011, 04:44 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(June Kor @ Nov 11 2010, 10:55 AM)
I am looking for audio engineer now, anyone is interest to try? its a full time job.
yes i am, pm me pls icon_question.gif . thanks... if any available positions... rclxm9.gif
andyreymex
post Aug 25 2011, 04:50 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Zulhilmi Arts @ Mar 6 2011, 04:26 PM)
Actually sound engineering is a big field. But today, when you say sound engineering, most people will think about music production, live sound and post production.

That consultant can also be counted in sound engineering coz he is dealing with noise control, which need the knowledge in sound and acoustics. I think. Coz when you meet students who study sound engineering, you hardly meet a person who say he wanna be that noise control consultant. Most answers would be a music producer, sound designer, musician, live/studio engineer, etc. More into show biz.

Probably that consultant is more in civil engineering? I am not sure.  hmm.gif
hi zul, i'm taking my chances here, i just resigned from my previous live sound mixing company. a small business and less things to learn yawn.gif . but most of all i can run a small/med show by my own with few crews. actually sound mixing is part of the work i did, only the lighting mixing i did mostly. like moving head, par cans and follow spot.

any vacancies to fill me in? i'm more to audio, lighting the second. your com do live mixing or studio mixing? i prefer studio... icon_rolleyes.gif

or shall i ask, if you have any other contacts for other audio engineering company? icon_question.gif

thanks, hope to hear from you soon. smile.gif
bobby1988
post Aug 25 2011, 11:56 PM

181 posts

Haha, I never thought audio/sound engineering will be related to music production. Maybe it is because my engineering background, it will keep remind me about noise engineering, acoustic engineering, vibration dynamics etc.

One of my minor topic in my PhD research is in micro energy harvesting for acoustic wave, haha.

But honestly, I do not know the career field in this area.
wabbito
post Sep 13 2011, 11:44 PM

92 posts

i'm from a live sound company with 30 full time staff. Our doors are always open for people who has passion in this field. ^^

PM me if you're interested to get a job in live sound company
90DualElites
post Dec 2 2011, 05:14 PM

Hello Zulhilmi Arts. One of the other universities that involve sound engineering is SAE Institute as stated by you. What is the title of the course in this institute that is similar to your Diploma in Sound & Music Technology of LimKokWing? Do you know? Thanks
ajimbo
post Dec 11 2011, 09:43 PM

hello,

who can i ask for a help with STI/RASTI analysis? im doing my project for college and in need of help in this particular analysis.

thanks!
TSZulhilmi Arts
post Jan 28 2012, 09:04 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(90DualElites @ Dec 2 2011, 05:14 PM)
Hello Zulhilmi Arts. One of the other universities that involve sound engineering is SAE Institute as stated by you. What is the title of the course in this institute that is similar to your Diploma in Sound & Music Technology of LimKokWing? Do you know? Thanks
I don't know much about SAE but last time I heard they combined all the media courses into one, which means in the diploma they provided, the film, audio and creative media courses will be combined into one course only. It's when the degree level the courses are branched out again.

QUOTE(ajimbo @ Dec 11 2011, 09:43 PM)
hello,

who can i ask for a help with STI/RASTI analysis? im doing my project for college and in need of help in this particular analysis.

thanks!
That one is very technical topic and Audio Engineering Society website has lots of research media of audio engineering but it would require a paid subscription to get the access to all of the research papers. But it is worth the money especially for researchers. But I can't go into details on who/where you can find the information because I am not very particular with that field.
nick_chandran
post Feb 4 2012, 03:55 PM

74 posts

Zhuhilmi Arts, I, too been looking for places to study this field.
I've contacted SAE, they do have Diploma in Audio Technology course, and it's actually quite expensive.It's a 24 month's course and 4 days per week.
Due to lack of time, I decided to search for part time course for Audio engineering, or anything to do with sound production or recording, mastering, mixing...etc. Or at least short course.
The main reason I want to study is because my dream is to become a musician. I lack of musical theory skills which foundation or Diploma in Uni's want. So I thought that picking up sound production would help.
If you know any places in KL, especially at or around Subang Jaya please, do let me know. Cheers

Angeline123
post Feb 7 2012, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(nick_chandran @ Feb 4 2012, 03:55 PM)
Zhuhilmi Arts, I, too been looking for places to study this field.
I've contacted SAE, they do have Diploma in Audio Technology course, and it's actually quite expensive.It's a 24 month's course and 4 days per week.
Due to lack of time, I decided to search for part time course for  Audio engineering, or anything to do with sound production or recording, mastering, mixing...etc. Or at least short course.
The main reason I want to study is because my dream is to become a musician. I lack of musical theory skills which foundation or Diploma in Uni's want. So I thought that picking up sound production would help.
If you know any places in KL, especially at or around Subang Jaya please, do let me know. Cheers
Hello im Angeline, im doing diploma music in government University, is called Aswara is so far so good actually! Is quite cheap too but My year is the last year they teach module audio Im not really sure about the new semester course..I think they mix everything together and no more focus on 1 module anymore but for degree yes! maybe you can call them n ask!

nick_chandran
post Feb 8 2012, 03:53 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Angeline123 @ Feb 8 2012, 12:01 AM)
Hello im Angeline, im doing diploma music in government University, is called Aswara is so far so good actually! Is quite cheap too but My year is the last year they teach module audio Im not really sure about the new semester course..I think they mix everything together and no more focus on 1 module anymore but for degree yes! maybe you can call them n ask!
aight thanks =)
appreciate it
Cr3w
post Feb 12 2012, 09:43 PM

Nice thread, been looking for something like this 2 years back. -.-
Hope this thread keep growing to allow fresh graduates and new interested people in this industry. Was a student from LKW also but drop out awhile back. tongue.gif
Need some company to employ and willing to train. biggrin.gif

nick_chandran
post Feb 13 2012, 03:43 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Cr3w @ Feb 12 2012, 10:43 PM)
Nice thread, been looking for something like this 2 years back. -.-
Hope this thread keep growing to allow fresh graduates and new interested people in this industry. Was a student from LKW also but drop out awhile back. tongue.gif
Need some company to employ and willing to train. biggrin.gif
may i know why u dropped out of LKW
Cr3w
post Feb 15 2012, 03:20 PM

Money problem. sad.gif

nick_chandran
post Feb 15 2012, 03:24 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Cr3w @ Feb 15 2012, 04:20 PM)
Money problem. sad.gif
ahh I see.
I heard's loads craap from LKW is it true?
Cr3w
post Feb 17 2012, 01:45 AM

QUOTE(nick_chandran @ Feb 15 2012, 03:24 PM)
ahh I see.
I heard's loads craap from LKW is it true?
Such as ?
Well the facilities for sound and audio students aren't that good back then. They even put you at shitty classroom coz they're arent any for us. But i heard it's much better now. Propably new class location too.

hj.pet
post Feb 17 2012, 11:23 AM

312 posts

sound engineering is one of the course that i've looked for when i finished with my spm years ago, but unfortunately couldn't find any suitable course for me back then sad.gif anyway, kinda think this course is lack of exposure in msia.
AntheMz
post Feb 18 2012, 01:48 AM

59 posts

Hello all, I wanted to be a music producer, is sound engineering the right course for me? so far, i've found SAE Institute Malaysia only, anyone study there before? is it good? thanks!
ayem_puppet
post Feb 19 2012, 12:03 PM

im a sound engineer doing post production for film in MIG(metrowealth). In my opinion, experience are the most important thing working in this field. I'm a diploma holder in sound and music in limkokwing 2 years back. smile.gif
AntheMz
post Feb 19 2012, 03:06 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ayem_puppet @ Feb 19 2012, 12:03 PM)
im a sound engineer doing post production for film in MIG(metrowealth). In my opinion, experience are the most important thing working in this field. I'm a diploma holder in sound and music in limkokwing 2 years back. smile.gif
Hi, is it hard? im very very interested in music, and i would like to venture it into deeper, should i go study sound engineer?
ayem_puppet
post Mar 18 2012, 01:46 PM

QUOTE(AntheMz @ Feb 19 2012, 03:06 PM)
Hi, is it hard? im very very interested in music, and i would like to venture it into deeper, should i go study sound engineer?
It depends on your interest. My advice is, don't study. Straight away jump into the industry. smile.gif
AntheMz
post Mar 18 2012, 10:22 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ayem_puppet @ Mar 18 2012, 01:46 PM)
It depends on your interest. My advice is, don't study. Straight away jump into the industry. smile.gif
Hi, thanks for the reply, even though it has been long time lol, anyway to jump into the industry directly? mind to guide? i dont have any contacts sad.gif
XoX.Miyaki_91
post Mar 24 2012, 01:17 PM

QUOTE(Angeline123 @ Feb 7 2012, 11:01 PM)
i also have a difficulties to find a place for audio engineering.. currently im in my last semester to complete my diploma in electronic engineering.. i just wondering can i take degree in audio engineering even though i have no basic in music.. aswara look promising bcoz of the fee just around 5~6k for 3 years!
other institution that offer is SAE and ocean.. but no loan can help to pay for the fee...

if u guys have any info.pls share. thanks smile.gif
easu09
post May 2 2012, 07:51 PM

hey guys... i am a singer in the Indian industry in Malaysia... i have completed my bba-majoring in hr... and now from the artist association i have received a scholarship to do sound and music technology in lim kok wing... its my crazy passion to pursue... i just would like to seek some advice and opinion...tq guys
TSZulhilmi Arts
post May 3 2012, 11:21 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(easu09 @ May 2 2012, 07:51 PM)
hey guys... i am a singer in the Indian industry in Malaysia... i have completed my bba-majoring in hr... and now from the artist association i have received a scholarship to do sound and music technology in lim kok wing... its my crazy passion to pursue... i just would like to seek some advice and opinion...tq guys
Congrats to you on the scholarship. thumbup.gif

All I can say is go for it since money for the tuition fee is no longer a problem. But if it's a scholarship to do music diploma or degree that you can choose in any college or university, then it's a different opinion. smile.gif

BTW, the Diploma in Sound and Music Technology in LKW focuses more on audio engineering. Not much on singing or instrument playing. Just to let you know. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Zulhilmi Arts: May 3 2012, 11:23 AM
ayem_puppet
post May 7 2012, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(AntheMz @ Mar 18 2012, 10:22 PM)
Hi, thanks for the reply, even though it has been long time lol, anyway to jump into the industry directly? mind to guide? i dont have any contacts sad.gif
email me at ayem.mig@gmail.com . i dont mind guiding you. my pleasure.smile.gif
vunjian
post Jun 4 2012, 12:14 AM

how is the demand of sound engineer in m'sia currently?..
ivanvy
post Jun 10 2012, 02:11 PM

can i jump into the audio related industry without any experience? Keen to learn

TSZulhilmi Arts
post Jun 13 2012, 12:04 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(ivanvy @ Jun 10 2012, 02:11 PM)
can i jump into the audio related industry without any experience? Keen to learn
If you have the right contact, you can jump actually. I studied in uni first because I started from 0 contact in audio related industry. Of course by the time I entered the uni, I already have the basic idea of what sound engineering is. Lots of engineers out there don't have proper paper qualification, but they get the job done, they started from bottom moving up the food chains, they have experiences, better than fresh graduates of course. But still, I am not saying that papers dont matter at all coz they do. If you have a diploma, it helps you to get into degree, to master, to Ph.D and so on. There is more to sound engineering than just EQ'ing a knob for a band in live concert. Sound engineering is as details and real science as much as mechanical engineering. You should have a look at AES where they do research on audio/sound/acoustics technology and scientific part of it. It's not just for music. If you jump straight into the industry, you might miss lots of scientific part in sound engineering, in case you have a passion to learn it. BUT, do take note that in Malaysia, so far most of the sound engineering courses focus on music production, not really into scientific part of it. You will learn acoustics engineering, but so little. So so little. I have yet to find a sound engineering course in Malaysia that really means engineering sound.

This post has been edited by Zulhilmi Arts: Jun 13 2012, 12:05 AM
echobrainproject
post Jun 13 2012, 05:09 PM

4,765 posts

thats because in malaysia, you have to get your mechanical engineering degree first, then Masters specializing in acoustics.
TSZulhilmi Arts
post Jun 14 2012, 08:06 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jun 13 2012, 05:09 PM)
thats because in malaysia, you have to get your mechanical engineering degree first, then Masters specializing in acoustics.
That's a bummer. Coz the only physics stuff that I like if its related to audio. And electrical and electronics stuff, related to audio. Other than that.. doh.gif
echobrainproject
post Jun 14 2012, 09:31 AM

4,765 posts

sound is a very mechanical thing. sure theres the e&e part, but when you handle w acoustics, ure talking alot about the air, the material structure and properties, waves and impulses.
Malaysians tend to think its only music, hence the number of musicians/singers who sign up for the course not entirely sure whats in store for them. its one thing attending your class in college, another game once you r out working. hehe.

i graduated as a mechanical engineer, with my final year research on acoustics. I believe music background is also a must. Not just the ability to play music, but subjects like a wide knowledge on instrument tone, playing styles, techniques, music arrangement.

TSZulhilmi Arts
post Jun 18 2012, 11:19 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jun 14 2012, 09:31 AM)
sound is a very mechanical thing. sure theres the e&e part, but when you handle w acoustics, ure talking alot about the air, the material structure and properties, waves and impulses.
Malaysians tend to think its only music, hence the number of musicians/singers who sign up for the course not entirely sure whats in store for them. its one thing attending your class in college, another game once you r out working. hehe.

i graduated as a mechanical engineer, with my final year research on acoustics. I believe music background is also a must. Not just the ability to play music, but subjects like a wide knowledge on instrument tone, playing styles, techniques, music arrangement.
Have a few friends back when in uni, they surely disappointed and had no idea why they were learning technical stuff instead of singing and playing instruments. They are very good at what they are doing, it's a shame that they were in a wrong course.

poohda
post Oct 9 2012, 11:28 AM

hi all...i'm looking for students/fresh grads who want to do freelance job in sound & lighting for 2 1/2 month...located in cyberjaya..start immediately until dec 2012...pls email me the resume @ hadawaty@bsi-services.net
TQ..smile.gif
Perlipan
post Oct 10 2012, 12:32 PM

I'd stumble through this thread and I took the time to read all of the comments. I'm a current LKW sound and music student. I have a great passion in the audio engineering field especially the post production and film scoring. Im in my first year. Im constantly thinking to further my studies at the state after i finish my diploma because idk if this field will grow big here because it is still very new to everyone. Im seeking advice and in the meantime looking for part time work experience. I dont mind working without salary because im truly just seeking for experience and I know that i still have a lot to learn. I dont wan to wait for the very last minute after I graduate. LKW is not the worst uni,at least not for my course . Lecturer are all very nice and helpful, facilities are fine to me, *finger crossed*.

This post has been edited by Perlipan: Oct 10 2012, 12:32 PM
Jude.S
post Oct 25 2012, 04:41 PM

Hey. I'm heading college next year.
Could I know is there any college offer courses for audio engineering?
I'm interested in doing audio for events.

Should I go for the course or just jump into the industry directly?
rishabh
post Nov 3 2012, 01:16 PM

Just wanted to share this link http://www.icom.edu.my/shortcourses/
Featuring short courses in Pro Tools and Logic Pro Certification.
isyraq_y
post Nov 11 2012, 07:33 PM

Hai, i want to.ask something. I'm a diploma holder in electronic engineering and now im continue my study in degree. Is it possible for me to work in sound engineering?
ejai_ra2
post Nov 18 2012, 10:38 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(isyraq_y @ Nov 11 2012, 07:33 PM)
Hai, i want to.ask something. I'm a diploma holder in electronic engineering and now im continue my study in degree. Is it possible for me to work in sound engineering?
You could probably get off with a very good portfolio. Most audio companies tend to focus more on what you can do instead of what papers you have. I am currently teaching at Ocean Institute of Audio Technology (Sri Damansara). We are by far the cheapest among all audio courses. Let me know if you are looking to learn officially. We do have short courses aswell. smile.gif

P/S The only Audio Engineering degree in Malaysia is currently offered by IUCTT(Twintech). And they have no students...

https://www.facebook.com/groups/111065124652/?fref=ts
isyraq_y
post Nov 27 2012, 02:26 AM

QUOTE(ejai_ra2 @ Nov 18 2012, 10:38 PM)
You could probably get off with a very good portfolio. Most audio companies tend to focus more on what you can do instead of what papers you have. I am currently teaching at Ocean Institute of Audio Technology (Sri Damansara). We are by far the cheapest among all audio courses. Let me know if you are looking to learn officially. We do have short courses aswell. smile.gif

P/S The only Audio Engineering degree in Malaysia is currently offered by IUCTT(Twintech). And they have no students...

https://www.facebook.com/groups/111065124652/?fref=ts
oh okay thank you so much. smile.gif
Hitman190
post Dec 8 2012, 04:57 PM

589 posts

Hi guys, not too sure if this is the right place to ask but I am here representing a friend of mine who did his audio engineering course at Limkokwing and he's struggling to find a job. Anyone have any good place to point him to?
tsura
post Jan 4 2013, 06:33 PM

if i dont have any background music, can i still study for sound engineering?
Fabio1
post Nov 19 2013, 03:32 PM

1,447 posts

Got a friend looking for sound engineer email him at luker439@gmail.com
ejai_ra2
post Jan 23 2014, 01:41 PM

15 posts

Hey guys, you should check out the links below on Ocean Institute of Audio Technology. They currently offer the cheapest Audio Engineering Diploma (at 20k) and they have been around for 20years.

https://www.facebook.com/oceaninstitutemalaysia?flyingspaghettimonster=hl

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry65978176

VivienneJM
post Jan 15 2015, 10:04 PM

QUOTE(Zulhilmi Arts @ Mar 6 2011, 08:40 AM)

Umm hi I just finished my spm last year 2014 and graduated and I have been interested in music since I was young and I took ICT as an spm subject and usually I always get an A, so I thought why not join music and ict together and take a chance at recording or sound engineering instead of having to choose between music or the IT field.. So I have visited LKW before and thought it was great and was thinking of taking foundation in sound and music then take bachelor's in recording arts.. Maybe become a music producer or recording engineer.. But then I heard lots of rumors about the african/botswana students doing drugs, bullying, even kidnapping girls and the management covered it up.. So i just want to know is the uni good? Are the music lecturers good? Should I worry about the african students? and I have asthma and I heard most students there smoke and when I visited there almost everyone is smoking.. should I go to limkokwing or look at another uni? I don't want to go abroad now and was hoping I could finish foundation here and bachelors in another country but its unlikely so do they have study tours in this course? I was hoping to make some foreign friends there too..
TSZulhilmi Arts
post Feb 19 2016, 06:38 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(VivienneJM @ Jan 15 2015, 10:04 PM)
Umm hi I just finished my spm last year 2014 and graduated and I have been interested in music since I was young and I took ICT as an spm subject and usually I always get an A, so I thought why not join music and ict together and take a chance at recording or sound engineering instead of having to choose between music or the IT field.. So I have visited LKW before and thought it was great and was thinking of taking foundation in sound and music then take bachelor's in recording arts.. Maybe become a music producer or recording engineer.. But then I heard lots of rumors about the african/botswana students doing drugs, bullying, even kidnapping girls and the management covered it up.. So i just want to know is the uni good? Are the music lecturers good? Should I worry about the african students? and I have asthma and I heard most students there smoke and when I visited there almost everyone is smoking.. should I go to limkokwing or look at another uni? I don't want to go abroad now and was hoping I could finish foundation here and bachelors in another country but its unlikely so do they have study tours in this course? I was hoping to make some foreign friends there too..
I could not verify of the crimes done by those you mentioned and the cover up by the management. But there are a few cases of crimes committed by foreign students (or maybe they were not students at all) in Cyberjaya area.

When I was in LKW, yes everyone was smoking. NO SMOKING signs were everywhere and people smoking were also everywhere. Sometimes just next to the signs. Students smoked. Staff smoked. It's a smoking university. And no action had been taken to prevent this. Don't know about now.

My music faculty had excellent staff/lecturers. I love them all. It's a small faculty compared to other faculties. But I always treated it like my one big family. Lecturers were always helpful and available to help and advice in doing assignments. They were all very nice. Of course if you skipped classes and intentionally did not do the assignments and then being rude to them, you will not be getting a smiley face from them. Be good, get good. Be bad, get bad. Fair situation.

But the university itself was just somewhat not right for learning environment. At least not for me. It's just... BAD. The only thing that I love from that university are my friends and what I mentioned about the music faculty/lecturers/staff.
faezpotato
post Feb 20 2016, 05:07 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Zulhilmi Arts @ Jul 21 2009, 09:48 PM)
I am not looking for job here. I am still studying. In sound engineering field.
I am trying to open a discussion about sound engineering career in Malaysia.

Anyone here know anything about it?
Like the location of studios in Malaysia.
Any career related to sound engineering.
Anything at all.

For the one who are finding where to study sound engineering in Malaysia, there are few courses available in Limkokwing Cyberjaya, Ocean Institute of Audio Technology and SAE Malaysia. I think there are more but these are the only that I know.

In Malaysia, there lots of singers and bands trying to break into the market and entertainment industry,
but I hardly found a person who want specialize in sound engineering.
Of course the are many, but it is not a common thing as singers and bands.

If fame and fortune are the main things that people after in show biz,
they are prone to be the one in front of the TV or on stage.
Most Malaysians don't even know what is sound engineering.
I encounter lots of people who ask me what course am I taking, and they responded, 'what the heck is sound engineering?'

If I say, mechanical engineering, everyone knows. And they would be so proud knowing that I am studying it.
But when it comes to sound engineering, they tend to give a bad thoughts about it.

For me, sound engineer is a scientist and an artist at the same time.
Ever wonder why your favourite band sounds so smooth and nice in their CD but not during live performances?
Without proper sound engineers, there wouldn't even be a record or a well live performance.

In my opinion, sound engineers in Malaysia were not credited well for their hard work.
can try to apply work at knowles electronics
TSZulhilmi Arts
post Feb 22 2016, 04:24 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(faezpotato @ Feb 20 2016, 05:07 PM)
can try to apply work at knowles electronics
I think Knowles Electronics that you mentioned is for those physics related engineers that specialize in audio/acoustics field.

This topic in this forum is towards audio/sound engineering in music field. cool.gif
amerul_yan
post Aug 11 2016, 09:17 AM

QUOTE(Zulhilmi Arts @ Feb 22 2016, 04:24 PM)
I think Knowles Electronics that you mentioned is for those physics related engineers that specialize in audio/acoustics field.

This topic in this forum is towards audio/sound engineering in music field.  B]
Zulhilmi.. I was working in this field since 2009 till now n i wasn't graduated from any colleges in sound engineering before. I slowly started everything from the lowest part. From 'balaci angkat barang' to technical crew. N today I am able to become a soundman. It took a year before i was trusted to fully handle a band performance.

I do love music a lot since I was kid. My old man was keyboardist in ATM. I started to play guitar when i was 12. By 17 stepped on the real stage with professional audio system for the 1st time. 2005. After high school i entered uitm (art n design) n working as a freelance musician and stage entertainer on the same time.. Basically i already have basic about sound n music in me.

For me, i think that sound engineering will have a bright future. For soundman like me,we climb the hill and make it to the top. For those who have certificates, the road should be easier. But sometimes, some of the things went differently in the real world.. U might learn something in technical and tricks which u won't get it from college. A soundman get better by learning from experience.. A sound engineer should be a lot better in a lot of ways, plus u do have proper education from colleges.

Nowdays, everyone are listening to the best quality of music and performances. any live performances demanding for our skills. not just live band, the same thing goes to qasidah, dancing, comedian, theatre and so much more. Do it right, do it well, n then your name will be known. In this field, we are connected with others by our loves to the art of sound and music. U will be a good sound engineer. Peace my friend.
XanXus14
post Jan 24 2017, 06:21 PM

Just graduated from sec school.I really want to study audio engineering,
I heard everyone said it is very hard to find jobs.
is that true?
even my dad said so!
Is there any local U providing this courses? confused.gif confused.gif confused.gif
XanXus14
post Jan 24 2017, 06:34 PM

Ocean or LKW is better?? let me know as soon as possible。
or else I will have to go for form 6 cry.gif
bobby1988
post Jan 26 2017, 10:00 PM

181 posts

Hi all,

Somehow stumble across this thread.

Sound engineering is very vast. Audio engineering could be just a sub branch. I would love to be in contact with people in this field as this is a very underdeveloped field in Malaysia, engineering-wise speaking.

Both my MPhil and PhD is in engineering acoustic (thermoacoustic and acoustic energy harvesting) and I am currently lecturing in University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus. I also give lectures on Noise Engineering which dealt with some physic background of sound and wave, cover some technical calculation and analysis in HVAC system, muffler design, legislation on noise in Malaysia and UK, active noise control etc.

Current research is in acoustic energy harvesting (lumped parameter design, helmholtz resonator and some electronics stuff).

This is the only module that cover acoustic in the whole Mechanical Engineering program in this campus and its quite popular due to employer demand in construction and engineering safety field.

So PM me if there is any interest to talk about this or even research collaboration.

Thank you.
Saira
post Mar 30 2017, 09:50 AM

QUOTE(June Kor @ Nov 11 2010, 10:55 AM)
Hi Good day to u .. any vacancy for audio engineer at this moment? pls do advice
mafa2801
post Mar 30 2017, 10:54 AM

765 posts

Noise Study is a part of process safety study im if not mistaken..
So the qualified person to do this Noise Study should be by sound engineer i guess?
cdspins
post Mar 30 2017, 11:02 AM

2,714 posts

Sound engineering is a big field, it is just not so in Malaysia. I know friends that work in this field and according to him... its HUGE. for example recording sounds or appliances to minimize discomfort and improve, work in standardization for sound in codec, work in analyzing breathing sound for healthcare monitoring, work in wave file synthesizer and etc.
MinorKa
post Apr 24 2017, 04:48 PM

Hey, everyone
I've finished my high school last year and currently struggling to choose a college/institute to pursuit diploma in Audio/Sound Engineering/Production
Either ICOM or Ocean Institute of Audio Technology..
I don't know which one is better
Any opinion/advise from everyone?
I need help!!
sk_kenny_9242
post Dec 14 2017, 02:50 PM

Hi all,

It's been a long time since i ever login into lowyat , i even forgotten my username and password.But anyway i stumble upon this thread by coincidence.

I'm just wanted to share and gained some knowledge here about this area.I'm currently an Snr Engineer in of one of the leading manufacturer's of speakers in the market.I do not have any education background regarding this area but i work my way up early years at many AV and ELV companies till now.It's all just hands on experience during work.

I am a certified EASE and Smaart v8 user's and have license software in hand to work with which is one of my main task here.I also have a couple of equipments from NTI and Rational Acoustics for my work also.From my understanding of our current market here [SRS & PA SYSTEM] it's really a pathetic state of affairs i would say.

Not much people have any idea in regards of SPL or STIPA means.But i could not blame them as there is no specific guidelines in Malaysia or any specific laws governing on this.This is free for all market compared to other country's.Recent cases over the years of fire which cost life's happening in the country saddens me such as tahfiz school and the johor hospital recently.

As in regards of Voice Evacuation system standards Malaysia is governed by Uniform building By-Laws which have only this specified under Voice Communication System.

Clauses 239 – 241
Two voice communication systems to be provided [1] Bomba communications [2] pa system between control centre and public areas. Floor or zone of area over 929sqm of nett area to be provided with electrical isolation switches within staircases. Special visible fire alarm systems to be installed in addition to normal alarm for deaf persons or audible alarms undesirable.

Singapore - CP25
Australia - AS1670.4
Europe - EN60849

This is too simplified and to grey area of concern.There is just no monitoring in this area.No people would ask if the area SPL was ok or if STI Speech clarity is good.But anyway thats the state of affairs of our Voice Evacuation industry here.

But as for SRS is no much better house of wordship such as mosque has terrible speech clarity.One of the problems of course its due to architectural design of mosque and all or most of them are build without considering acoustic value.The another thing is of course sound.People tend to have this perception of more speaker more good mah idea.....they just shoved every speaker into every column available.No EASE simulation,No considering speaker types Wide of Line Array type.No wonder most mosque when you can just hear people complaint in regards of they cannot understand what the imam or bilal is preaching.

Seriously someone need to re-regulate this industry.

This post has been edited by sk_kenny_9242: Dec 14 2017, 02:51 PM
SoundEngineer
post Jan 26 2018, 04:38 PM

Try Sunway University, new program with great facilities!

https://university.sunway.edu.my/Arts/Bache...temporary-Music
SoundEngineer
post Jan 26 2018, 04:39 PM

Try Sunway University, new program with great facilities!

https://university.sunway.edu.my/Arts/Bache...temporary-Music
alec33
post Jan 26 2018, 06:04 PM

just check glassdoor -- https://www.glassdoor.com/Job/malaysia-audi...N170_KO9,23.htm -- there's quite a number of jobs..and you can always get some freelancing job at https://www.freelancer.in/jobs/engineering/ or http://yourhomeworkhelp.org/do-my-engineering-homework/ ..good luck with studies and getting a job

This post has been edited by alec33: Jan 26 2018, 06:05 PM
aesacademy
post Oct 22 2018, 02:37 PM

Hi EVERYONE, my name is Ruby and I am from AES Academy, an audio school based in Petaling Jaya. We focus on pure audio engineering and our goal is to share real audio engineering with those who share the same passion as us. We are made up of a team of international touring engineers who work with international artists and also conduct short audio engineering courses worldwide. You can find out more about our courses via our website and social media pages:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/aesacademy.my
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/aesacademy
fernando_yup P
post Jan 1 2023, 10:42 AM

Probation

Hi, I am thinking of getting a career in audio/sound engineering but I have several concerns.
1. I don't have any academic background but I do have experience in audio engineering and did try to pick a bit of sound engineering software before. Do I need to have some sort of certification first?
2. I can't find any info about this industry/career online. How do I break in to this industry?
3. How much would the salary be as an amateur in this field?
nihility
post Jan 2 2023, 06:25 PM

1,595 posts

Post #62 elaborated clearly the scope for the sound engineering. It is the acoustic study. In short, the field study the characteristics of the sound wave, exploitation of the sound wave characteristic, generation & transmission of the sound waves. There are easily 3 type of disciplines involves :-

1) Treatment of the sound / background noise level / echo / reverberation - material for the floor, walls, ceiling. More related to architectural.
2) Treatment of noise / vibration - dampening / destruction of unwanted sound wave. More related to mechanical engineering.
3) Generation of sound, amplifying of sound, transmission of sound & receiver of sound. More related to the electrical engineering under the sub-category of extra low voltage services.

There are a few acoustic consultant in the market. if not mistaken, the Prahkun Acoustic is quite welll known for this field. You can check on their website. http://www.prakhun9.com/
fernando_yup P
post Jan 12 2023, 12:30 PM

Probation

Sorry, I think I did not make it clear enough. What I meant for sound engineering is more towards live sound engineering like for a concert, where we work with different types of mixers and audio equipment to ensure the audience always listening to the best sound in real-ti
nihility
post Jan 13 2023, 01:24 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(fernando_yup @ Jan 12 2023, 12:30 PM)
Sorry, I think I did not make it clear enough. What I meant for sound engineering is more towards live sound engineering like for a concert, where we work with different types of mixers and audio equipment to ensure the audience always listening to the best sound in real-ti
Same, for a sound engineer to give the best, you need to study all. You cannot study a fraction of it & claim you are sound engineer. Whatever mixer or audio equipment you are providing will not give the best performance if you do not know how the surrounding affect the transmission of the sound. A simple echo / reverberation will screws up your solution & you will look like a crap. Like it or not, sound engineering will covers all that aspects.

If you only interested on the electronic part, it will leans more towards the electronic engineering instead of sound engineering.
hellothere131495
post Jan 14 2023, 10:36 PM

473 posts

It sounds like you have a passion for sound engineering and an understanding of the field. While it may not be as widely recognized as other fields in Malaysia, it is an important aspect of the music and entertainment industry. The locations of studios and career opportunities in the field may be limited, but with the increasing demand for high-quality audio production, the industry is likely to grow in the future. It is important to continue to educate and raise awareness about the importance of sound engineering and the skilled professionals who work in the field. Keep pursuing your passion and you may be able to make a positive impact on the industry in Malaysia.

0.0490sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:35 AM