Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here
ginolo
Oct 23 2009, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(chowdm @ Oct 23 2009, 10:05 AM) Emm...it could be many reasons behide to cause this problem.....sometime is bcoz ur motherboard is overheated...and sometime is bcoz ur HDD.....and it also possible there is some crash with ur RAM......emm....just be aware of it....if it is only happen once....then is ok....if quite often then need to send for servicing and checking...  I see, thanks for the information. if its the heat problem, then i probably need the smfan2 d.
ginolo
Oct 23 2009, 04:28 PM
Okay, i got some question now. I'm already installed the smc fan2. Just want to ask that will my fan speed auto adjust once the temp is going up? or its already turned to manual?
ginolo
Oct 24 2009, 02:39 AM
QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Oct 24 2009, 02:33 AM) Lol! yea... any program could crash. Ppl claim that "mac doesn't crash or get virus" is probably a lie. Maybe the proper way to define mac is "it is less likely to crash or get virus". It may happen but not as often as on a windows PC. =) Yeap, thats true. My mac is around 2months age and only crash once and its today. Haha, found pc virus in my pendrive that day but the virus cant affect me
ginolo
Oct 24 2009, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(SheepMekk @ Oct 24 2009, 09:00 PM) Sorry to ask such question, but is it better to continue charging our laptops(battery full) instead of draining the battery and charging it back full or vice versa? Which is better for our battery life  With magsafe u normally cant see your batery indicator is full. it will be around 97-99%. Draining the battery and then charging i back will add cycles to your battery.
ginolo
Oct 24 2009, 11:40 PM
hmm, in a simple way maybe we can think like this, mbp charges is 7k thats mean 7k is the battery life span. the more charges = the older your battery.
ginolo
Oct 25 2009, 02:32 AM
QUOTE(davidmak @ Oct 25 2009, 02:25 AM) Like the rest who have said it, a typical discharge & charge cycle can be accounted from the point it is fully charged at 100% and depleted at 0% (theoretical) and recharged at 100%. Thats what we call a typical full cycle. However, it is not always as clear cut. Consider this scenario where you have a fully charged battery at 100%. You use 20% of it (remaining 80%) and then decided to charge it to full again back to 100%. That is also considered as one cycle. So you kinda waste a potential of 80% of charge for that particular cycle. It is important to note that this is not the same as 'memory effect' of older battery technologies. 'Memory effect' prevents the full effective use of the potential charge in a battery. Some battery manufacturers have mechanisms in place to make sure a battery cell is used in a 'balanced' way. Sony uses a battery care program to limit battery cells to only charge to 80% or lower. That is to prevent it from hitting 100% in case you didn't fully deplete the charges for that cycle. Now I do not know why not hitting 100% is important but I remember back in university days where a very good indicator of a fully charged Li-ion battery is when its temperature suddenly shoots exponentially. Most charging circuitry has these fail-safe mechanism to detect voltage and temperature of the cells. Maybe that has something to do with it. So for regular and typical usage, if you have started using the battery keep using it until it is fully depleted. And when you charge it, keep charging it until full. And continue to keep it plugged in for as long as possible especially if you don't move from one place or another. If you're mobile, do your best to find a power point. If you have to use the battery, then remember to use it until it is fully depleted. Rinse repeat and you're good to go. By the way, it is perfectly alright to keep the battery plugged all the time. It will not harm it because battery charge circuitry is smart enough to isolate the battery and power your laptop directly from main power. However, HEAT will reduce the longevity of a battery. Quite a good explanation. But i must say that "Sometimes"(strongly emphasize) from 80% usage and charge till 100% doesnt count as a cycle. And same goes to 30% which i tried before. Guess what for my 2months mbp is only having 9 cycles? I bring my laptop everyday to school and use it w/o magsafe. Damn happy and very satisfy about the my battery life cycles and mh. Added on October 25, 2009, 4:14 amhttp://eshop.macsales.com/shop/Modbook found a modded mac website. saw 2 tablet there. the price is really painful. This post has been edited by ginolo: Oct 25 2009, 04:14 AM Attached thumbnail(s)
ginolo
Nov 17 2009, 04:37 AM
The new one quite tahan lasak one dont worry. Just stand for a month. i saw a video they even try to put some oil on the white macbook, then put fire on. But the mac is nothing after that. And yea, you need to take care the keyboard well.
This post has been edited by ginolo: Nov 17 2009, 05:07 AM
ginolo
Nov 19 2009, 10:59 AM
yeap. go try the trial first. if you like the mac office, you can purchase it in future, but if u still can't get used to it, go get a parallel and install m$ office.
ginolo
Dec 5 2009, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(M@Y @ Dec 5 2009, 08:43 PM) Yeah, Intel GMA 950 is kinda wasted... Even The Sims 3 couldn't support  Well, still considering. Thanks for the opinions though  If you're so/too desperate, just go for it. Well, if you ONLY talk about graphic, there are a lil bit changes but 9400 is really not powerful enough. Even 9600 is quite outclassed today. So i don't really encourage you to do the change. But for others like hardware and accesories, There are quite many major changes from the previous mb to the latest. ie, trackpad,lcd monitor,battery life, magsafe etc. It is actually a very good choice for you to trade in the old and get the latest one. And the last, its all up to you cause you're the one who pay for it =)
ginolo
Dec 6 2009, 12:12 AM
you got it already? Saw your previous post like you still considering it.
This post has been edited by ginolo: Dec 6 2009, 12:14 AM
ginolo
Dec 6 2009, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(finzo @ Dec 6 2009, 12:18 AM) got it already dude  . got it just now at the PC fair. still trying to get used to the key shortcuts and stuff. heheh I see, welcome to the club then =) Serious i don't use a lot of shortcut at mac. I only use cmd Q the most. I dont use copy and paste, i use the drag and drop with file viewing in column form(case is different when in M$ office).
ginolo
Dec 7 2009, 04:28 PM
I suggest you go for mbp13"  a better outlook IMO(because it looks much cool and sounds better with a "macbook pro"  ), and other advantages like illuminated keyboard and most important firewire. Believe me, you don't want to miss it. the capacity of harddisc is not that important for me because i don't really dl gigs of video. You can also choose to upgrade the hdd at your own if you think the capacity is too little for you. --------------------------------------------------- 1 more thing you must know, if you're planning to get ACPP in future, the price for mb and mbp is diff. So maybe its just like with the price of mb+acpp, you can only get a mbp 13" only. This post has been edited by ginolo: Dec 7 2009, 04:31 PM
ginolo
Dec 7 2009, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 7 2009, 09:56 PM) ACPP for macbook and 13" MBP is the same. the bigger ones are more expensive its hotter cuz aluminium conducts heat better than plastic. which is better than letting the heat trapped inside  . both are very solid machines, u'll be satisfied either way hehe. dont let the seller sway u though..sometimes they can give u wrong info  issit? ops, sorry for the wrong info. cause i tot all mbp is tagging with a same price. paiseh
ginolo
Dec 10 2009, 10:25 PM
Guys, wanna ask that if i wanna plug my mac on power at taiwan, which head should i bring? And will there any problem using it? Need to buy convertor or not? Added on December 10, 2009, 10:33 pmQUOTE(JasonKid @ Dec 10 2009, 02:57 AM) Macbook white owner for 1 month, happy with the finger gesture stuff ^^ When use my friend laptop, feel uncomfortable @@" why cannot use 3 finger, haha ~ 3fingers? what function is that This post has been edited by ginolo: Dec 10 2009, 10:33 PM
ginolo
Dec 11 2009, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 10 2009, 10:55 PM) eh u dont know 3 finger function? its back and forward in finder and browsers  in firefox i even change 3-finger swipe up = open new tab, 3-finger swipe down = close tab, and two finger rotate to switch tabs  about ur taiwan trip, and any trip around the world: http://users.telenet.be/worldstandards/electricity.htmHow to change that function for firefox? Mind to teach me in detail? I use coloum view at finder, so i never need to use that 3 fingers.
ginolo
Dec 11 2009, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(chewlf @ Dec 11 2009, 11:10 PM) Hi guys, I have checked that my new MBP come with OS X version 10.6. Do I need to update to 10.6.2? Yea, just go for it =)
ginolo
Dec 19 2009, 01:11 AM
Guys, as im traveling to taiwan tomorrow, i just wanna ask that whether the magsafe will convert the voltage fro 240 to 110? Let me know if any of you know about it.
Malaysia 240 V50 Hz
Taiwan 110 V60 Hz
ginolo
Dec 19 2009, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(KepalaRadio @ Dec 19 2009, 01:12 AM) So erm long story short, MacbookPro IS suitable for studies? another story like this, like you're a student driving kancil, if you have ability to go for myVi, will you go for it?  will that suitable for you?
ginolo
Dec 20 2009, 01:08 AM
wow, luckily i bring away my mac to travel, my neighbor just phone me my house kena broken, thank god my mac is with me..else i will be crying like shit now.
ginolo
Jan 29 2010, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(damaginglife @ Jan 29 2010, 05:29 PM) apple.com.my, local apple reseller store and the last is ummmm.... you know.