i got a friend just like you. he has been waiting, waiting and waiting for new mbp. he wait from jan till now. still no news. lol
Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here
Mar 29 2010, 09:08 PM
1,359 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
i got a friend just like you. he has been waiting, waiting and waiting for new mbp. he wait from jan till now. still no news. lol
Apr 3 2010, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 2 2010, 09:19 PM) wat RPM is your new HDD, can we get a 7200RPM HDD for faster OS Try Drive Genius. Its a bootdisc to defrag your HDD. Works really good. And don't let the ur HDD got more than 1/2 full. Mine was 85% full, starting up the mozilla is a suffering. After defrag it, clean all the unuse language files, and delete all the files that is not needed, my mac seems working much faster than before.Added on April 3, 2010, 5:20 pmafter installing SL 10.6 and upgraded to 10.6.3, my 2008 ,2.4GHz,2GB RAM MBW is slow on startup on the second day. can anyone here pls tell me wat warez to download to speedup my mac thx |
Apr 4 2010, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 4 2010, 05:41 PM) i tried one of the mentioned program here and the result was tat the SMART thingy hav some problem and the prog ask me to do a disc scan.... which one? did you do the disc scan? could it be tat my hdd is nearing is death? if so will it be better to buy a new and bigger hdd, juz incase the hdd die when i needed it most? btw, my hdd is a sata hdd, can i use the latest sata2 and wat is the "value for money" hdd size now and which shop in LYP sell the lowest? thanks if so will it be better to buy a new and bigger hdd, juz incase the hdd die when i needed it most? - No, but first backup your most important file. You can do it DIY or use a backup hdd and switch on the time machine. |
Apr 4 2010, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Apr 4 2010, 06:03 PM) but since the mac mouse comes with 1 button only, how do we perform the right click action when using windows? This is funny |
Apr 4 2010, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(zuddean @ Apr 4 2010, 06:29 PM) hi guys, i hv a problem.. my 3-month old macbook white seem to hv hardware issue. Since the first week i noticed, at the top of screen, the plastic at the right edge seems like peeling off. but i didnt care about tht since i having fun playing with snow leopard. If not mistaken, this issue can be claim even 3 years is over. Not really sure about this but i think i read something like this before.but now it become worsen. it have some scratch like scratching paper or sumthing like that. so if i send back to the store, what did they do? they fix it on time or i have to leave it there for some time? i dun wan to leave it there since i have lots of work 2 do with my laptop until may. Added on April 4, 2010, 6:37 pm QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 4 2010, 06:28 PM) but the prob is tat when i try to do a disc scan ( asked by system to insert my SL dvd into my macbk, the system hanged ) eh bro, for this i'm not really sure. But as i know, drive genius can scan the bad sector of the disc. Or you can ask Wei more about the hdd problem. he's one of the most pro people in apple section i dun mind to change to a new hdd as i juz installed SL into the current hdd juz 2 days ago and there is not important data there yet i suspected tat the hdd is faulty because b4 the SL installation, my macbk was installed wif win7 i also hav prob wif the win7 installation which require disc scan This post has been edited by ginolo: Apr 4 2010, 06:37 PM |
Apr 4 2010, 06:46 PM
Apr 4 2010, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(Voxe @ Apr 4 2010, 07:01 PM) My Macbook is not working as well as I hoped. Boot camp drivers for Windows 7 is terrible, the touch pad is not working properly (no tap to click, scrolling erratic) and there's no option to dim the display causing it to suck up a lot of energy. like deadman said, give VMware or Parallel a try. Read more on HereI might have to use back my old Acer laptop if I can't find a solution because I need Windows for my computing classes. |
Apr 4 2010, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(Voxe @ Apr 4 2010, 09:29 PM) I have it, but it severely affects the processing power and I might need it for compiling or something. Yeap, thats the cons of using virtual machine. So, what program do ur computing class using? And in bootcamp, the function for "tap to click" is actually there! and the brightness can dim it down. In ur bootcamp, you should change the power performance to "balance" not "performance" so that you will have a longer bettery life. Guess what? my mbp with 9600 when switch to "performance" for the power performance, the battery only last 1 hour. |
Apr 5 2010, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(Voxe @ Apr 4 2010, 10:07 PM) If its there, its hidden deep down there. I installed Bootcamp 3.1 and it only got the WiFi working. no, it is not hidden, you know you need to install the bootcamp.exe setup when you done your windows installing? The update for bootcamp. Try that, you will have the bootcamp icon at ur start bar once u installed that. Then all the functions key will start function. |
Apr 5 2010, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(Voxe @ Apr 5 2010, 02:38 PM) Oh, I didn't realize that. Windows 7 hides all programs in the taskbar so I didn't notice it. Thanks for the point out. Yes,you're welcome. Let me know if you still have problem adjusting the dim. After install the bootcamp update, 2fingers tap can set as right click if im not mistaken. try that. |
Apr 5 2010, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(jonrwg @ Apr 5 2010, 03:23 PM) Mememe12- machines staff told me.. I call all their branch and they say the same thing but apple store online denied the news.. Haha.. Oh ya.. The machines staff ask me to wait around 2 weeks and he will call me.. LOL.. If I get it now den I hope I don regret when the new MBP is out.. Scared to take the risk.. Haha Play the wait game for this time, probably surprise comin' out! |
Apr 5 2010, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 5 2010, 04:49 PM) i installed win7 into my mbw(only win7)................. bluetooth dun work and the sound driver dun either but once i downloaded the HD audio driver it worked BUT bluetooth stays dead............. using google chrome at w7 ultimate 64. No problem with bluetooth. Can pair with my k770. even my k770 can move around the mouse by just moving the joystick at my phone .once i installed SL all is fine, bootcamp users how is the bluetooth support for win7? |
Apr 5 2010, 10:17 PM
i dont think the version makes diff. most probably ur driver problem.
Apr 7 2010, 07:52 AM
Apr 14 2010, 01:14 AM
oh gosh, i feel like selling mine off.
QUOTE(zemmien @ Apr 14 2010, 12:25 AM) for editing go for external monitor laaa.. dual screen instead of cloning. yeap, agree. 17 is super duper heavy for me. 2D editing is okay if you using any of the 15" new mbp. But its all still depends on ur preference, if you feel like larger screen will makes you comfort and you have the budget, and most important you dont mind carrying it, then why not go for it? stay with 15.. save your budjet on good monitor. 17 is heavy man.. lot of people intentionally pick 13 or 15 because of the size. regardless of the spec. mine is 13' then plus this plus that till d cost higher than 17" unit graphic card wont help much in 2D editing. (photoshop etc) |
Apr 14 2010, 02:37 AM
QUOTE(dotjolt @ Apr 14 2010, 02:29 AM) Anyone can shine some light on how much difference is the graphics card on the new MBP 13" compared to the previous generation ones? In terms of gaming especially. Is it that much of a difference? in bootcamp windows game, i do believe will have some minor changes!NVIDIA GeForce 320M graphics processor with 256MB of DDR3 SDRAM shared with main memory - according to Apple. Do the maths. |
Apr 14 2010, 04:00 AM
Apr 14 2010, 06:01 PM
Wow, just saw that quite a numbers of mac user dumping their mbp for the new one. haha, the price cut at new mbp is not really good for us. obviously making the 2nd hand value down. lol
Apr 14 2010, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(double_7 @ Apr 14 2010, 06:40 PM) anyone know why they didn't include 320m as the secondary gpu instead of intel hd for 15" model? like the previous mbp where they include 9400m as the secondary gpu , isn't that nice when both gpus are nVidia made. that will consume more battery, making the battery life longer is one of the main aim for them. using the board one will save more power, i assume? |
Apr 14 2010, 07:20 PM
| Change to: | 0.0218sec