8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

COMPLAIN CPMPLAIN MODERATOR LYN, SIMPLY DELETE MY THREAD

gastacopz
post Jul 20 2009, 04:42 AM

4,928 posts

QUOTE(nelsonkoay @ Jul 16 2009, 01:58 PM)
I TELL U THEIR NEW RULES IS DELETE YOUR POST AND NO NEED ANY REASON LAR....I THINK OWNER OF LYN SHOULD NOTICE THAT!!! ASK MODERATOR BEHAVE AND LEARN HOW TO DISCUSS WITH THEIR FORUMER
hahaa...happened to me oso..ask mod, then reply once, then keep on silent.....

lastly, i juz closed my thread bout my missing thread... sweat.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
RBR
post Jul 20 2009, 04:48 AM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

QUOTE(PhantomThief @ Jul 19 2009, 07:25 PM)
Which leads me to my suggestion: an automated system that informs the TS of which mod closed the thread, so that the TS can then ask the mod for clarification rather than post useless topics in this forum and stirring up a fuss every single time.
Something along those lines is being worked on.

Added on July 20, 2009, 4:49 am
QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jul 19 2009, 10:41 PM)
will people read it or not , that is the question .
Maybe not, but at least now I can just link that instead of type out reasons Every Single Time that question comes up, which is about 20344592458498 times so far.

Added on July 20, 2009, 4:50 am
QUOTE(FiF2 @ Jul 19 2009, 07:17 PM)
get more mods, i believe opening a thread regarding getting new and active mods in LYN won b a problem as many seniors have the capability to work as mod.

Others have replied the rest of your post, but I just wish to address the above:

No, its not that easy.
JunWatarase
post Jul 20 2009, 10:05 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jul 19 2009, 10:41 PM)
will people read it or not , that is the question .
Maybe they can add another entry to the FAQ "Why should I read the R&R and FAQ?"
dadarouch
post Jul 20 2009, 11:06 PM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

QUOTE(JunWatarase @ Jul 20 2009, 10:05 AM)
Maybe they can add another entry to the FAQ "Why should I read the R&R and FAQ?"
whats the point?

It would just be the same as the FAQ. So therefore, read R&R 1st before you do anything. We're not babysitters to keep on reminding all about what is in the R&R.
Dem
post Jul 20 2009, 11:33 PM

169 posts

Hi..

My honest opinion.. Upon registering the account, i believe, most of us just tick the agree item without read it. After registration success..most of us dont read the FAQ's.

So..no point to argue. The mod's team decided.
SUSicyfawkes
post Jul 20 2009, 11:37 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Dem @ Jul 20 2009, 11:33 PM)
Hi..

My honest opinion.. Upon registering the account, i believe, most of us just tick the agree item without read it. After registration success..most of us dont read the FAQ's.

So..no point to argue. The mod's team decided.
yeah...once agreed on the T&C

what rights does these whiners have to say otherwise?

ROFL
Dem
post Jul 20 2009, 11:54 PM

169 posts

They think they are right...so they do defense even though they are wrong. I'm wondering..Se7en had say that he already tired to go to police station for investigation on the case on this forum regarding pirate item (already forget what kind of case)
wuszhtag
post Jul 21 2009, 03:16 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 19 2009, 09:34 PM)
Mind you.
This is not a job. It's volunteering.
lol stop using the volunteering as an excuse.
as they 'voluenteer' to be a mod, they already aware challenges n 'burden' that awaits them, so stop using that 'volunteering' word.
lol.

rolleyes.gif

and user/member upon sign up, should aware too what they already agreed to the T&C.

btw, the 'close thread without notify the thread owner' is a new thing that born from this discussion, so this thread has its own good. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by wuszhtag: Jul 21 2009, 03:22 AM
vikingw2k
post Jul 21 2009, 03:29 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(wuszhtag @ Jul 21 2009, 03:16 AM)
as they 'voluenteer' to be a mod, they already aware challenges n 'burden' that awaits them, so stop using that 'volunteering' word.
lol.

rolleyes.gif
No boy, we don't volunteer to be a Moderator just like how you volunteered yourself to be a prick else everyone here is a Moderator considering being a moderator is just "Hey, I don't mind volunteering myself to be a Mod". It doesn't go that way.

We volunteered to contribute to the forum and therefore we are awarded as a Moderator based on our voluntary contribution and we continued to moderate the forum on voluntary basis.
goldfries
post Jul 21 2009, 03:37 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if you park your car at non-designated parking space. does DBKL officer wait for you and tell you to move the car? or do they fine you straight?

same logic applies here. rules are stated, if you break it, we act on it IF we see it or when it is convenient.
H@H@
post Jul 21 2009, 09:16 AM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

lol.

rolleyes.gif

and user/member upon sign up, should aware too what they already agreed to the T&C.

btw, the 'close thread without notify the thread owner' is a new thing that born from this discussion, so this thread has its own good.  rolleyes.gif
I just love members who assume that they are the centre of the universe in the forum... Like earlier in this thread someone suggested (Or rather demanded) that mods should PM EVERY user/offender when a new rule is made. What kind of rubbish expectation is that?

As goldfries pointed out, we're here to enforce the rules of the forum, not molly coddle offenders.

PS. We are moderating the forums as a volunteer service... Not a full-time job. Obviously the forum can't expect us to dedicate our entire lives to it. Unless you want to start paying us a salary? At the same time, we're not using it as an excuse for not handling our moderating duties... Just that don't expect us to put it at the centre of our lives.

This post has been edited by H@H@: Jul 21 2009, 09:19 AM
ndgoh
post Jul 21 2009, 10:00 AM

928 posts

Hmmm.... Interesting threads... Now that lots of things have been clarified... and hopefully the dust have settled down too... Lets move on ya...
fruitie
post Jul 21 2009, 10:06 AM

Rise and Shine
72,857 posts

lol.

rolleyes.gif
Please, we don't go volunteer as the way you mentioned. At least we don't go approaching the Admin and tell them, "Hi, I want to volunteer to be a moderator. wave.gif" And no, they don't approve us in such way too. We are chosen based on the knowledge and contribution we made to the certain sections.
What we meant by volunteering here is, we accepted the offer by the Admin and do it on voluntarily basis as we are not paid by LYN.

Stop your assumption and sarcasm, they don't work here.
alanyuppie
post Jul 21 2009, 10:32 AM

2,834 posts

Maybe such mechanism can be coded to perform the following:

upon registration ..

1) rules and regulation is shown
2) timer started
3) depend on the length of the R & R , "kindly" ask user to go through the R & R.
4) If that user decides to skip it and click on activate before the timer ends, display a sarcastic message letting him know the consequences of not going through the R & R

wuszhtag
post Jul 21 2009, 01:17 PM

317 posts

so to sum up,

1) ts angry and frustated his thread being closed WITHOUT any notification.

2) the announcement about lots of thread getting axed that day being add one day b4 ts complaint here. obviously he didn't read that and i bet lots of members too including me. we didn't know about the new announcement and we are not alert about that. our fault BUT if there is system to make members aware of the new rule, it will be nice.

3) rbr released the new faq policy regarding why 'mods didn't pm thread owner etc', thats a good one, let's hope members are aware about this.(this is not sarcasm)

4) DBKL for sure will fine u straight when you park at non designated area, even they sometime will tow your car away. BUT they did leave summons ticket so the car owner will aware about this.

5) so hopefully members are now aware of this newly enhanced policy and discussion is over perhaps.

p/s: thanks for clarifying the volunteer part. now i will now not touch that issue anymore, hopefully other members too biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wuszhtag: Jul 21 2009, 01:23 PM
agingamer
post Jul 22 2009, 03:42 AM

199 posts

I think as users of a forum, free or paid, all shud be aware of the T&Cs and adhere to it.
Mods or admins (paid or voluntary) shud also carry out duties based on operating procedures in a consistent manner.
In a virtual environment where the human face is not seen, or the voice is not heard, lots of misunderstanding can happen.

As a suggestion, we can put the deleted thread to a specific area eg. Recycle bin, and state the reasons for doing so.
Thread starter can then reflect, and correct their actions and PM mods/admins for reinstatement. HTH

selenium
post Jul 22 2009, 08:12 PM

RipVanWinkle
1,032 posts

so many moderator feel so deeply about this.
so i will lump it out in a nut shell.

In this world there is no such thing as a Free Service. And Lyn is one of those rare websites that provides free service.

When u pay 1 cent for something, expect 1 cent quality.
dont expect some red carpet treatment.

so what if ur thread is deleted. Does it cost you anything? you may say it cost u time to upload/type/prepare but its free advertising.

naziaf
post Jul 23 2009, 04:33 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(nelsonkoay @ Jul 16 2009, 01:22 PM)
THIS THE THIRD TIME THEY DID THIS TO ME>....

nelson,

Sorry to read about this happening to you. I was searching for your thread high and low and noticed this thread. Hopefully your old thread can be revived soon after removing the unnecessary stuff nod.gif

jitu.unggul
post Jul 23 2009, 09:43 PM

LYN is the 1st forum that I participate. I am really a newbie here.

My point is, when I join this forum, I thought I will become part of community where we help each other. So, to stop our colleague from promoting his business is not a nice act. But of course, to do a business which caused our other colleague in trouble not nice either.

So wat important is C.O.M.M.U.N.I.C.A.T.E!!!
svage98
post Jul 30 2009, 08:33 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(nelsonkoay @ Jul 16 2009, 01:22 PM)
THIS THE THIRD TIME THEY DID THIS TO ME>....

LAST TIME SAID I MENTION PIRATED ITEM IN MY THREAD THIS TIME MY NEW THREAD TOTALLY NEVER WRITE IN ANY ABOUT PIRATED STUFF BUT THEY STILL DELETE MY THREAD WITHOUT ANY NOTIFICATION
THAT REALLY UNFAIR TO ME & A LOT MY DEAR FORUMER BRO & SIS !!!  mad.gif

BIG COMPLAIN BIG COMPLAIN!!!!  cry.gif
Mr Nelson...does this mean you can't reopen your shop?

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0258sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:56 PM