::V5::Scorpion-Thread::V5::, Today's Topic: Captive Breeding
Jul 24 2009, 02:15 AM
99 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
-edited-
like ryo said, notin wrong discussing on mites.. SERIOUSLY LOL This post has been edited by Izzulogy: Jul 24 2009, 02:16 AM |
Jul 24 2009, 02:20 AM
239 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Bandar Baru Bangi, Cyberjaya, United Kingdom |
yeah.. we all hate mites... we sure do..
Jul 24 2009, 02:24 AM
502 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Ok...lets discuss about mites.Anything to discuss?
Come come,share ur tots Frm wat i knw,got mites infested,quarantine the scorp,apply vaseline on the infested parts,use dry method or get predatory mites. To prevent mites-good ventilation,remove uneaten food,chg substrate frequently and try minimize the WC sp. Anything wanna add? Added on July 24, 2009, 2:36 am QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jul 24 2009, 02:06 AM) Juz sharing, a nice web to learn bout scorp internal organ and as well as dissection Looking forward to c a scorp's brain http://webs.lander.edu/rsfox/invertebrates/vaejovis.html This post has been edited by HyourinMaru: Jul 24 2009, 03:12 AM |
Jul 24 2009, 03:04 AM
y? u wanna eat it.. lol
Jul 24 2009, 03:13 AM
Mayb
But hav to discover the way to dissect it 1st |
Jul 24 2009, 09:13 AM
49 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Malaysia / USA / Scorpion Land |
scorpion rum would be nice
Jul 24 2009, 09:45 AM
453 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Between Reality and Fantasy |
since we are on the discussion of mites how about if we do it in a scientific way.
first is where does the mites comes from? what are the factors contributing to the mites infestation, humidity, availability of food,from outside(for wc specimens), type of substrate, temperature that are involved, amount of scorpion(for communal setups), etc,etc,etc. preventing the mites to infest is the way to go compared to treating the problem after it have gotten out of hand. glad to report that my WC scorpions have no mites on them after a close inspection that is done once in a blue moon. my only problem is ants and flies. |
Jul 24 2009, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(akagidemon @ Jul 24 2009, 10:45 AM) since we are on the discussion of mites how about if we do it in a scientific way. hmm for ants problem .. wat i do is that i uses antz away chalk and bugs away papers... it do keep the antz at bay but have to change the papers after a month or so ...first is where does the mites comes from? what are the factors contributing to the mites infestation, humidity, availability of food,from outside(for wc specimens), type of substrate, temperature that are involved, amount of scorpion(for communal setups), etc,etc,etc. preventing the mites to infest is the way to go compared to treating the problem after it have gotten out of hand. glad to report that my WC scorpions have no mites on them after a close inspection that is done once in a blue moon. my only problem is ants and flies. mites problem.. usually not much of a problem for me .. daily cleaning , inspection .. normally keep these at bay ... to think back .......... there are mites on scorpions in the wild too ....... it might be or maybe more useful than we tot .. as i am thinking ... the mites might be co hosting on the scorpion .. but the other way ... the scoprion might also be happy to have mites for unknow reasons to us well it is my thinking .... i might be wrong .......... Added on July 24, 2009, 10:02 am.. Hottentotta Judaicus............ can't wait to see this baby ![]() This post has been edited by s98432512: Jul 24 2009, 10:02 AM |
Jul 24 2009, 12:38 PM
eventhough you microwave your subs before using the mites will come eventually. like lester has put out, daily cleaning and inspecting are the best bet. But, yes its a hustle but you have no choice. unless you can get one of those predatory mites.. or other ways..
Jul 24 2009, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(akagidemon @ Jul 24 2009, 09:45 AM) since we are on the discussion of mites how about if we do it in a scientific way. Lol...we dun knw where do mites come frm first is where does the mites comes from? what are the factors contributing to the mites infestation, humidity, availability of food,from outside(for wc specimens), type of substrate, temperature that are involved, amount of scorpion(for communal setups), etc,etc,etc. preventing the mites to infest is the way to go compared to treating the problem after it have gotten out of hand. glad to report that my WC scorpions have no mites on them after a close inspection that is done once in a blue moon. my only problem is ants and flies. Mites usually aim for humidity,nutrients and moisture.Temperature if room temperature is the best for them i think,but i dun think dat communal setups can attract mites |
Jul 24 2009, 02:30 PM
can't wait for tom ... !!!!! it coming coing coming coming !!!!!!!!!!
Jul 24 2009, 02:38 PM
lester: haha, ure sooo excited until did typo error.. LOL i oso excited on those u willl be getting!! theyre coming coming coming coming!!!!
Jul 24 2009, 02:41 PM
Jul 24 2009, 02:43 PM
dont 4get to post alot of pics on them... even the package... tumpang kegembiraan k Lester..
Jul 24 2009, 02:44 PM
i found another way to get rid of mites.. well, this is from what ive read, like to see what u guys think of it..
mites can be suffocated with a very small drop of glycerin or fingernail polish. great care must be taken to avoid getting the substance on the scorpion's chelicerae and spiracles. and mites reproduce on moist substrate, not on the scorpion, the eggs hatch, find a host, feed, drop off, and breed, lay eggs and the cycles continues... |
Jul 24 2009, 02:59 PM
update on scorpling seperation day 5:
another 3 died. 1 was actually dead for sometime already but i didn;t notice it. so left only 5. update on mother giving birth day 4: the mother is in the hide and occasionally comes out for a drink in the water dish. gave a slightly killed meal worm and she ate it. |
Jul 24 2009, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(Izzulogy @ Jul 24 2009, 02:44 PM) i found another way to get rid of mites.. well, this is from what ive read, like to see what u guys think of it.. Not sure for glycerin,but i dun think figernail polish cant suffocate them as alcohol evaporate very fast.Plus,too much alcohol may harm the scorp,i applied some fingernail polish remover just on the leg areas for safe precaution.mites can be suffocated with a very small drop of glycerin or fingernail polish. great care must be taken to avoid getting the substance on the scorpion's chelicerae and spiracles. and mites reproduce on moist substrate, not on the scorpion, the eggs hatch, find a host, feed, drop off, and breed, lay eggs and the cycles continues... QUOTE(akagidemon @ Jul 24 2009, 02:59 PM) update on scorpling seperation day 5: Its is good for her to eat it another 3 died. 1 was actually dead for sometime already but i didn;t notice it. so left only 5. update on mother giving birth day 4: the mother is in the hide and occasionally comes out for a drink in the water dish. gave a slightly killed meal worm and she ate it. BTW...i got an interesting way to feed my female adult.When i mist her,she will bend up to get water,dat time i drop a mealworm onto her chelicerae and she actually eat it.But frm her motion,i think she even knw she is eating a mealworm This post has been edited by HyourinMaru: Jul 24 2009, 03:14 PM |
Jul 24 2009, 03:12 PM
as for the nail polish, can be used but the risksis there...
found out this sp..Euscorpius Flavicaudis. damnm nice... |
Jul 24 2009, 03:18 PM
![]() looks like an L.A. about the same size too. |
Jul 24 2009, 03:19 PM
yeap... its dark but the legs have diff color.. look at its belly.. nice color wei..
| Change to: | 0.0255sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:11 PM |