Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

TSteikwing
post Sep 14 2009, 02:44 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(btr999 @ Sep 14 2009, 02:45 AM)
is easy payment plan only available for the banks listed in 1st post?
that's the info provided by few of the forummers. there might be other banks as well.
TSteikwing
post Oct 11 2009, 10:59 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(avars @ Oct 11 2009, 10:22 PM)
i just notice, if buying 3GS with ivalue1 plan 12 month contract = RM2290
idata2 = RM2590. Since when they changed dat? i tot the price was the same....
err the price has remained the same ever since the plans was launched, bro. as you can see from the first post. smile.gif
TSteikwing
post Oct 13 2009, 08:52 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 13 2009, 01:50 AM)
1. I am on a Value Plan 80 but my bill is about RM150 - RM200 every month. I want a 16gb iPhone 3G[S], what is a good plan for me?

2. For a 12 month interest free installment, the phone goes for RM1990. Does that mean I take RM1990 / 12 mths = RM165.84 on a monthly basis on top of the iValue 100 commitment?

3. Additionally I would like to ask about the free benefit data, SMS, MMS - will they be available on the 2nd month if unfinished on the first month or is it free monthly? E.g. When I only used 200MB on the first month, will the balance 300MB be forwarded to the next month? Do I get 500MB data free every month?

4. Lastly, I saw at the disclaimer "Value 1 at RM400 for 24 months and RM200 for 12 months" What does it mean?
1. the same question has raised over and over again in this thread. and again, it all boils down to your usage. if your spend mostly on calls, opt for iValue then. iData is for those who would like keep their current plan (VP50, 80 etc.), subscribe to data usage and obtain the iPhone at a subsidized price.

2. yes. installment plans are only available for credit card holders for selected banks. do check out the first page.

3. no. it will not be brought forward.

4. read the fine prints. it's the prepayment fees aka advance payment.
TSteikwing
post Oct 14 2009, 03:03 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(groggysquirrel @ Oct 14 2009, 02:45 PM)
there's no thread about using maxis iphone plan at overseas so i guess i will just post my question here.
i've just informed that my iphone 3gs has arrived and now i need to make decision which plan to choose. at first i wanted to choose ivalue 2 24 months contract, but i just informed that i will be working at singapore and uk for 6 months(going to sg in november). so i need to know can i still use maxis plan at these two countries? (i dont feel like going for 12 months contract coz i will come back malaysia in 1 yr)
yes, you can if you opt for roaming. however, call/sms rates are based on roaming rates which can be quite expensive.
TSteikwing
post Oct 21 2009, 08:40 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(sewerside @ Oct 20 2009, 03:10 AM)
why maxis had the prepaid plan but now no more? finally i have managed to save some money and then now they said no more prepaid plan... sigh.. then how will ppl able to buy iPhone? some ppl like me, need to save money first. how can they cancel the prepaid plan just like that?
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 20 2009, 02:08 PM)
same lo sad.gif.but i dun wish to buy oversea set and those set from outside dealer or other ppl.hav to choose a ivalue plan then...
you can opt for Maxis i3GS sold by sellers in GS (which is sold at exorbitant high price)

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 21 2009, 12:16 AM)
is it after the 12 month period for my ivalue plan ended then im free to use any plan/carriers with my phone?
yes. once the contract period has ended. you can opt for other plans offered by Maxis or be on any other telco,
TSteikwing
post Oct 21 2009, 01:57 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(sploj @ Oct 21 2009, 12:36 PM)
Hi guys, I'm currently a supplementary under my mom, and I intend to break out of this account and be my own principal (and get Value Plus 50 and Idata2) and my gf will be a supplementary.

Question is, will I need to bring my mom along with me to cancel and change the lines? A bit ma fan right?
yes. you'll need to bring her along.
TSteikwing
post Oct 21 2009, 04:15 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(rosizzat1000 @ Oct 21 2009, 03:40 PM)
can we buy 2 iphone but just subscribe 1 ivalue plan only??
no, you can't. per iPhone = per plan.
TSteikwing
post Oct 24 2009, 10:09 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Oct 24 2009, 09:56 PM)
with refer to the 1st post
the iphone 3g or 3gs from maxis is not lock?n free to use with other networks?
> iPhone 3G/3GS by Maxis:

1. Are Officially Unlocked 
2. Can be purchased Outright via Hotlink plans 
3. Are Compatible with all Malaysian telcos eg. Maxis, DiGi, Celcom and UMobile thumbup.gif

yes. or do i need to use simpler English? smile.gif
TSteikwing
post Oct 25 2009, 11:37 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Oct 25 2009, 10:12 AM)
no you dun bro

i am merely asking to re-confirm on this issue
but will they change their policy from free to locked iphone?
no. that's almost impossible as our our local gov implements the telecommunications act which prevents any telco locking the phone to a particular carrier, unless at some point of time in the future this ruling is abolished then it's possible.
TSteikwing
post Nov 9 2009, 02:43 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(groggysquirrel @ Nov 9 2009, 01:58 PM)
i'm using maxis value plus 50 and idata 3gb plan, i'd like to know does idata plan include edge/gprs? since my iphone is on edge n 3g for 24/7. i'm worried if idata not include gprs n edge, i'll have to pay a huge amount for gprs usage
yes, it does includes EDGE/GPRS apart from 3G, all which fall under data usage. smile.gif
TSteikwing
post Nov 10 2009, 03:39 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(feihonglee @ Nov 10 2009, 03:33 PM)
can i downgrade the maxis postpaid plan after the iPhone attach iValue contract end?
yes, once the contract period has ended you're able to upgrade/downgrade/switch to any other plans.
TSteikwing
post Nov 10 2009, 05:06 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(feihonglee @ Nov 10 2009, 04:32 PM)
including from postpaid to hotlink?
btw, thanks for the reply.
it's possible, although i'm not entirely sure about that.

since once the contract period has ended, there's no binding contract on the plan anymore. hence, you're considered as a normal postpaid user which under normal circumstances, is allowed to switch to prepaid.
TSteikwing
post Nov 11 2009, 11:59 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(djkeoni @ Nov 11 2009, 11:02 AM)
@ tinkerbell

Hi, I know you have always thought that the iValue plans are not a good deal and you think its better to just stick with a current plan and just add on iData right?

Well the last I kept track of your stand was prior to the revised iValue plans which bundled this and that.

I'm finally getting my iPhone now and have asked for iData 2 at time of booking (which suits my needs i think). However wanna ask whether your opinion has changed with regards to the iValue now?

Anyone else got input?

I think other than the higher rebate obtained for purchasing the phone, the iValue isnt really value for money is it?
well, even if there's a higher rebate, the rebate will actually be 'redeemed' by back Maxis in case you did not fully utilize the iValue plan.
TSteikwing
post Nov 11 2009, 12:26 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(djkeoni @ Nov 11 2009, 12:13 PM)
Marketing tactic ey tongue.gif So i take it that it is more 'value' with just bolting on the iData plans right?
yes. again, it boils down to your usage. if you are person which usage patterns suit that of iValue and fully utilize of what the plan offered, then by all means go ahead with it.

but since you mentioned that iData suits your needs better, why opt for iValue just for that higher rebate which isn't worth it in the long run? smile.gif
TSteikwing
post Dec 6 2009, 01:49 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 6 2009, 01:22 AM)
i'm in dilemma.. i dunno which plan to choose.. i hope sifus out there can suggest some opinion to me..

currently i'm on VP50 wif family plus 30, total is RM80 per month

plan 1: if i purchase ID50 (12 mths), total is RM130 per month and i get the iphone for RM2090

plan 2: if i change my plan to ivalue1 (12 mths) wif family plus 30, total is RM130 per month as well but i get the iphone for RM1990

plan 3: if i purchase ID30 (no contract) wif family plus 30, total is RM110 per month n i get the iphone for RM2490

i gt connection at home.. n i seldom on9 at outside.. actually which plan is valuable for money n save?
depends on how much you're willing to fork out for initial payment of the iPhone and your monthly usage.

QUOTE(BroNz- @ Dec 6 2009, 09:39 AM)
Hi i got a question here, can i buy an iphone without subscribing the idata plan? Is that means that i cant use the internet service without the idata plan?
am not sure does outright purchases has been made available currently but you will need to subscribe to either iValue or iData in order to purchase the iPhone.

TSteikwing
post Apr 4 2010, 07:39 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Shoki @ Apr 2 2010, 10:48 AM)
Anyone sent iPhone 3GS to Maxis for warranty? I suspect my phone has some hardware issues with the home button.

Any idea how long will it take to get a replacement/fix?
the waiting period varies. some cases only took 2 weeks while some took up to 1 month or so. some centres might have refurbished replacement units in stock. smile.gif

QUOTE(MrSars @ Apr 4 2010, 04:26 PM)
If i dont want any contract i just need to have hotlink pack and buy iphone by cash right?

If i buy cash did i get iphone on the spot or need to wait?
shall depends. opt for Maxis KLCC, The Gardens or Sunway.

TSteikwing
post Apr 4 2010, 09:58 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(MrSars @ Apr 4 2010, 08:38 PM)
What does it mean?

This 3 place maybe got stock?
these 3 places should have plenty of stocks compared to others.

QUOTE(Shoki @ Apr 4 2010, 08:58 PM)
I spoke to Maxis ppl. They said they will send to SG to confirm that it's a hardware defect before they will replace your unit. So I'm assuming that I will be iPhone-less for at least a few weeks.

Are there any cases which users get an immediate replacement set?
i have not came across any case where one do get immediate replacement. however, there might be exceptional cases. anyway, how serious is the defect? have not experienced a single issue with my UK O2 set after 1 year and a half of usage. smile.gif

TSteikwing
post Apr 11 2010, 11:56 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Winning11 @ Apr 11 2010, 10:36 PM)
question:
i'm currently using familiy plus RM30 supp. line.

from the charts, i should be looking at idata plans for RM30, right? and from the colour scheme of the chart, does that mean i'm only eligible for 'no contract' pricing of the phone (ie. RM2990 for 32gb)?

sorry for the noob question. it's been 3 years since i changed my phone or telco. haha!
yes, you're right. smile.gif
TSteikwing
post Apr 24 2010, 10:15 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(NismoSTI @ Apr 24 2010, 09:57 PM)
ya...wondering why they could given you a refurbished set even stated that a brand new sealed box to you as a replaced set?
it's a known fact that all replacement iPhones are refurbished sets. however, those with Maxis should have conveyed this information to the customer.
TSteikwing
post May 29 2010, 02:37 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ May 29 2010, 02:15 AM)
RM590 to be exact. confirmed. i went to Maxis KLCC just now because my gf wants to pay her bills and then suddenly the promoter gave us the paper regarding the promotion.

btw my gf's line is a supplementary line, which is under me. how can i get her the iphone 3G on that price (RM590) while still maintaining her supplementary line status?
all supplementary lines are only entitled to iData plans. for iValue, one line must be the main line instead of supplementary. which in short meant that if a supplementary line chose to got for iValue, it must be converted to main.

anyway, got 2 units of 3GS for my family today and wasn't informed of the RM590 3G.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0483sec    1.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:19 PM