Resignation Doubts...

TSmonochrome
post Jul 4 2009, 11:39 PM, updated 17y ago

169 posts

hi there....i'm currently working in a MNC company...i have some doubts about the resignation letter.

i) who am I supposed to address in the letter since I'll be passing the letter to HR. ( is it appropriate to just put this "To Whom It May Concern")

ii) is it not neccessary to inform my manager about it since I'll be passing the letter to HR. i hope to make this as quick as possible without them noticed this and invite me to room to have a serious talk. sad.gif

iii) What does it means?

iv) do u guys usually write in the letter u'll be going to other company or giving ambigious reasons for leaving the firm.. i really don't know what reasons to write leh... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by monochrome: Jul 7 2009, 09:25 PM
Tsukasa
post Jul 4 2009, 11:52 PM

1,042 posts

Your Name
Address

Company Name
Adress Date

Attention: Your biggest boss in the dep

Dear Sir

RE: Resignation

Please accept this letter as my formal notice of resignation from Your Company Name, effective from xx/xx/xxx with one-month prior notice.

The reason for me to resign is to xxxxx (your own reason)

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the management for the support and co-operation during my terms of employment with the company.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,

……………….
(Your Name)
IC

cc. your immediate boss

Hope this help mate. Make it as simple as possible.
seantang
post Jul 4 2009, 11:54 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

i) Address it to your company ie. XXX Sdn Bhd. The company is your official employer.

ii) No. Your boss is not your employer. Your company is. But it's generally simple good manners and being professional to inform your supervisor.

iii) Your sentence is incomplete. The lower of "what" vs "what"?

iv) No need to write any reasons. You are giving notice of your intention to resign. Not asking for permission.
TSmonochrome
post Jul 5 2009, 12:29 AM

169 posts

Tsukasa - no nid to address the HR manager,right?? i will just go straight and pass the letter to HR..the envolope nid to address who and should i write down my name behind..scare they buang to tong sampah...

cc. your immediate boss..u mean email my own manager about it??

Added on July 5, 2009, 12:45 amseantang

i) ya...i know should put company's add..

ii) btw, if i pass the letter to the HR clerk..does she has the right to open it or just inform her to pass it to the head of department (HR)? coz I'm thinking to tell her that I'll quit.

iii) un-used balances or 5 days/7 days.the ceilings of this are consistent with the annual leave carry forward policy.
dont really understand this.

This post has been edited by monochrome: Jul 5 2009, 12:45 AM
yothim
post Jul 5 2009, 01:07 AM

182 posts

aiyah, jus put ur boss n cc to hr. the most important thing is to let them know tat u are resigning, when is ur last day n etc. i've seen some even shorter.....most importantly is that they get wat u mean.
TSmonochrome
post Jul 5 2009, 01:14 AM

169 posts

yothim - i thought just give a printout letter rather than e-mail...
Ken
post Jul 5 2009, 01:27 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

ii) is it not neccessary to inform my manager about it since I'll be passing the letter to HR. i hope to make this as quick as possible without them noticed this and invite me to room to have a serious talk.

of course you need inform/tender resignation to your boss prior submit resignation email to HR ...

else i will say no respect at all.
TSmonochrome
post Jul 5 2009, 06:05 PM

169 posts

i think there's no point inform them prior submit the letter...coz i really dislike them to call me to room... >.<

Added on July 5, 2009, 8:47 pmsome said this...some said that...

can someone from HR clarify all these..

This post has been edited by monochrome: Jul 5 2009, 08:47 PM
yothim
post Jul 5 2009, 10:02 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(monochrome @ Jul 5 2009, 01:14 AM)
yothim - i thought just give a printout letter rather than e-mail...
yes, u need a hardcopy, no softcopy. for me, what i did is that i will pass one to my boss and another copy to the hr. by right, u should att to ur boss not hr since u are under ur boss. the hr is just to inform them. but then i'm not sure, this is wat i did normally.

QUOTE(monochrome @ Jul 5 2009, 06:05 PM)
i think there's no point inform them prior submit the letter...coz i really dislike them to call me to room... >.<

aiyah, u wont say a thing about resignations until u give them the letter. then of course, if u are good, they will hold ur letter first before asking u to the room for some 'chit-chat'. if cant hold u, then their next step is to submit to the hr for processing.
TSmonochrome
post Jul 6 2009, 12:27 AM

169 posts

well , i think i wouldnt pass the letter to my department manager (btw he's not yet even a director of the department) coz everyone walking are around esp my team lead.

actually i wouldn't want my letter to be hold since i'll just be passing it to HR..

i had made up my mind bout this... wish me luck these few days..
yothim
post Jul 6 2009, 09:35 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(monochrome @ Jul 6 2009, 12:27 AM)
well , i think i wouldnt pass the letter to my department manager (btw he's not yet even a director of the department) coz everyone walking are around esp my team lead.

actually i wouldn't want my letter  to be hold since i'll just be passing it to HR..

i had made up my mind bout this... wish me luck these few days..
i think it is not right to do so. if i were u, i will give him a copy n directly send one copy to hr. last time what i did is i put 2 letters on my manager. then inform him with an email, cc to hr to have an evidence to protect myself.

but it depends on how ur company is. i did tat bcos my excompany was unethical n we do not know what they will do. so better have something to protect my butt. remember, always ask for proof or acknowledgement (hard/soft copy)
ah liew
post Jul 6 2009, 10:10 AM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

TS, the procedure is simple. Just type a resignation letter as Tsukasa had given. Print 2 copies, one for your HOD & one for the HR dept.
Settle it quickly, clear your leave & go ahead with a better job.

Some companies might provide an exit interview or perhaps the HR or MD would like you to stay & this will be another issue.
Joey Christensen
post Jul 6 2009, 11:23 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

QUOTE(monochrome @ Jul 4 2009, 11:39 PM)
hi there....i'm currently working in a MNC company...i have some doubts about the resignation letter.

i) who am I supposed to address in the letter since I'll be passing the letter to HR. ( is it appropriate to just put this "To Whom It May Concern")

ii) is it not neccessary to inform my manager about it since I'll be passing the letter to HR. i hope to make this as quick as possible without them noticed this and invite me to room to have a serious talk.  sad.gif

iii) the policy mentioned they pay the lower of actual un-used annual leave balance. What does it means?

iv) do u guys usually write in the letter u'll be going to other company or giving ambigious reasons for leaving the firm.. i really don't know what reasons to write leh... rclxub.gif
i. Yes.

ii. No. Yu may, if it deemed fit to inform.

iii. Your question is hanging.

iv. No. Verbally spoken will be suffice if they were persistent.

Regards, Joey

Added on July 6, 2009, 11:25 am
QUOTE(ah liew @ Jul 6 2009, 10:10 AM)
TS, the procedure is simple. Just type a resignation letter as Tsukasa had given. Print 2 copies, one for your HOD & one for the HR dept.
Settle it quickly, clear your leave & go ahead with a better job. 

Some companies might provide an exit interview or perhaps the HR or MD would like you to stay & this will be another issue.
Exit interview is just knack SOP. Counter offer may be offered. But it's yu that run the table. Your call, Thread Starter.

Regards, Joey

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Jul 6 2009, 11:26 AM
tatmeng
post Jul 6 2009, 10:32 PM

191 posts

Yep, TS. The call is yours but better don't burn the bridges by skipping your boss and direct go to HR (if you still want to remain in the same line).

Whether they call you to have a nice coffee chat is up to them. If they really call you in (and counter-offer), then mai show that you are really valuable to the company lor.

Then if you really persist, mai die die also say NO... but do it nicely la...
Like cantonese saying, fan si lau yat sin, yat hau hoe sheung kin (meaning everytime leave a line/space/don't go too far, next time easy to talk)
sweet_pez
post Jul 7 2009, 12:52 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(monochrome @ Jul 5 2009, 06:05 PM)

No one likes to be called by the boss to his/ her office and sit through a long discussion. But in any case, leave with peace and show respect to your dept head (regardless of you liking this person or not).

Back then I did not know the procedure and I handed the letter to HR. Our HR asked me to pass the letter to the boss instead and I did just that.

So I guess in the end it's better to pass the letter to the boss first, listen to what he/ she has to say then pass another copy to the HR.
SUSahjames
post Jul 7 2009, 01:23 PM

My Name James
1,337 posts

u can just pass the letter to HR and not inform ur supervisor.

however i doubt u can avoid the "call into room" session u dread so much.

u may, however, choose not to go into the room, in which likely u will get a warning letter for insubornidation.

aurora97
post Jul 7 2009, 02:40 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

if called up by HR or your supervisor for exit interview just treat it like any other job interviewlor, if they asked you question that you don't want to answer just chalk up an excuse...

1. I need to go further study bla bla...

There's nothing to be afraid, but sometimes after working for a while we feel that we owe the company something if not to our colleagues.. maybe your boss also help u out alot...

u have to think also, you go to work to find money, no money equals stomach hungry..

the company won't take care of you for the rest of your life or until u die ... if got more money why not cabut?

think of it, prepare yourself before you go interview.
Vengeance_Mad
post Jul 7 2009, 08:09 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

However, I think it is still advisable if you give 1 copy of your letter to your current manager, regardless he's a director or not.

Your current manager means, someone that you report to, and someone that evaluate your performance.

If you have a Team Lead, better to even let him/her know prior giving out your letter.

Joey Christensen
post Jul 8 2009, 10:41 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

Proper notification to your immediate superior, be it, Head of Department (HOD), Team Leader (TL), Project Manager (PM), etc is just for SOP and courtesy sake. SERIOUSLY...for SOP and/or courtesy, nothing more than that, nothing less than that.

Exit interview is another SOP which certain company practices such "interview". NOT ALL engage in this type of "interview".

Regards, Joey

This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Jul 8 2009, 10:44 AM
TSmonochrome
post Jul 8 2009, 09:19 PM

169 posts

i can say i have been force!!..they ask me to go in have a long chat....
i really don't like this...the whole session i feel very unhappy
they keep asking why i wanna resign bla bla bla...
i really told them i will not re-consider to stay..damn f*cking clear..
he said he will hold my letter....wtf...how can he do this...they'll wait for my reply next week..
there're few ex-coll left coz of the manager.

Added on July 8, 2009, 9:36 pmi think they are making me feel embarrassed...i won't let this to happen to me again...

Added on July 8, 2009, 9:56 pm
if called up by HR or your supervisor for exit interview just treat it like any other job interviewlor, if they asked you question that you don't want to answer just chalk up an excuse...

chalk up excuse...such as?? now they expecting to give them good feedback...of coz they should know...

This post has been edited by monochrome: Jul 8 2009, 09:56 PM

0.0206sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:58 PM