10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V6, I LIKE to be left ALONE

TeliLeti
post Aug 5 2011, 05:23 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Aug 5 2011, 04:35 PM)
ya, i did removed dem, bt thats the weird case, it is gone in the morning......i couldnt find it anywhere n FYI, this is second case, i think i need a CCTV at the pupa container.... biggrin.gif
LOL, you didn't close the lid after you put the pupa into the container?
Something probably came along & snatched one.

I've been thinking about feeding the beetles to my hedgehog. They're higher in protein & lower in fat compared to pupa & mealworm.
TeliLeti
post Aug 5 2011, 07:36 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Aug 5 2011, 06:31 PM)
now closed the lid aldready, hopefully, something dun open the lid n snatch it away again, will hedgie eat the beetle? i dun think its tasty from its look.... biggrin.gif
Apparently, yes. I read on a different hedgie forum that hedgies love the 'crunchy' bug. Ick.
TeliLeti
post Aug 6 2011, 10:57 AM

18 posts

Hoglet Update:

Mama hedgie is very defensive this morning. I haven't been peeking but I saw one of the babies in the doorway yesterday. They've gotten bigger! biggrin.gif
TeliLeti
post Aug 6 2011, 03:27 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Aug 6 2011, 11:17 AM)
My hedgie too stupid to drink from water bottle.
If I put a bowl full of water. He will go swimming. =.="
SWIMMING?!

I wish my hedgies would voluntarily go into the water.
TeliLeti
post Aug 7 2011, 02:37 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Aug 7 2011, 01:28 PM)
Swimming is good. Not drinking is bad.
Too stupid to lick the thing. Too smart to go wet himself.
I must top up the bowl with water every hour.
That's the downside of using a water bowl instead of bottle.
I don't use wood shavings at all but since my female hedgehog has just give birth, I placed her in wood shavings for her to nest.
She'll topple over the water bowl & food bowl (All that wasted food sad.gif ).

I suggest you stop using wood shavings. smile.gif
Use fleece instead.
I'm using just a plastic sheet as flooring. Here's my male hedgie's cage set up if you want to get some ideas:

I bought a water bottle recently for my female hedgehog. SHe never uses it because she doesn't know how to. rclxub.gif
So I gave it to my male hedgehog. He started biting the stainless steel spout. unsure.gif
That water bottle is just a wasted investment now. Water bottles aren't good anyways. It could break the hedgie's tooth.

QUOTE(shukri77 @ Aug 7 2011, 12:49 PM)
My boy never poo or pee on his food and water bowl. I dont use wood shaving, i use old newspaper only....

Here is the new pictures...
[attachmentid=2373329]
Can you make a wheel for me? I'll pay you. blush.gif
Oh wait, you live in JB, don't you? Lol.

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Aug 7 2011, 02:39 PM
TeliLeti
post Aug 7 2011, 03:44 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(shukri77 @ Aug 7 2011, 03:22 PM)
I am at JB..... Where r u?
Aww, darn. I'm in Klang Valley.
TeliLeti
post Aug 7 2011, 05:08 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(shukri77 @ Aug 7 2011, 04:38 PM)
Why not u find the materials first then u ask somebody to do it for you. The materials can be found at hardware shop except Wheel and Cake container. The diificult item to find is the wheel  biggrin.gif
I'm too lazy. Heh.

Hoglets are 1 week old today. All 3 seem to be salt & pepper. They might turn out like their dad, a silver snowflake. biggrin.gif
TeliLeti
post Aug 8 2011, 12:11 AM

18 posts

The design is actually not recommended for hedgehogs (because of the steel bar) since hedgies might hit themselves when getting off the wheel.

A silent spinner or bucket wheel is still the better choice.
TeliLeti
post Aug 8 2011, 10:07 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Aug 8 2011, 09:42 AM)
Yeap. Mine will bite the steel too. Maybe the flow isn't good enough for him or maybe they don't like licking.

Tried without wood shavings. My hedgie go wet himself with own urine. Then poo over his body.

There's once I wipe all his poo with tissue and then put aside. Wanna litter train him. He go use it as bed.
Probably, don't want to take the risk of having a hedgehog break a tooth, now do we? smile.gif

Lol, I thought all hedgies like to stay clean. laugh.gif Apparently, yours don't.

Added on August 8, 2011, 1:42 pmHoglet Update:

1 week & 1 day old. I think I see a pinto but it's too early to tell. Is it possible to even have a pinto when both parents are non-pinto?

Dad's a high white snowflake (whose parents were apricot & cinnamon) while mum's an albino (no idea about her parentage).

Here's a picture I snapped after I lured mum out of her den. I lifted the den & snapped a few pictures quickly before popping it back down. Only this one is relatively clear. blush.gif The attachment is not working for me for some reason so I'll just provide the link to avoid stretching the page.
http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m139/ti...le/DSCN2511.jpg

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Aug 8 2011, 01:42 PM
TeliLeti
post Aug 8 2011, 03:58 PM

18 posts

The left one looked like a pinto to me because the right side of his/her skin is not 'dark' like the rest of him/her. See that white spot on its' right?
That white stripe down the middle of the hoglets is normal. It disappears by the time they turn 2 weeks+.

I hate clipping their nails. They squirm like I'm about to amputate their leg. xD Great work!

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Aug 8 2011, 03:58 PM
TeliLeti
post Aug 8 2011, 06:43 PM

18 posts

Soft nails? Did you give them a bath first? I clipped Huffster's nail before & it felt just like human nails.
TeliLeti
post Aug 8 2011, 08:35 PM

18 posts

Grey rambutan... Ahahahaha. x)

I've heard spikey tongue, alien bugs, never grey rambutan. Lol.

I picked them up (using a spoon) to check their gender.
I have two males & a female.
They're past the wrinkly stage now, they're starting to look like mini hedgehogs. biggrin.gif
TeliLeti
post Aug 8 2011, 10:38 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Aug 8 2011, 10:30 PM)
this might be too soon to ask but what dya plan on doing with your hoglets telileti tongue.gif
Well, if they survive to the weaning age, I'm thinking about keeping the female. I could put her in the same cage as mum if mum doesn't mind her presence. She's the one with the darkest skin.
The male pinto (yes, I'm sure it's a pinto now) and the SnP, I'd probably give away or sell. I wish I could keep them all. sad.gif
TeliLeti
post Aug 8 2011, 11:10 PM

18 posts

*nods* I was hoping to get more females so I could keep them but since only one of them is female, I don't really have much of a choice.

I'd have to find three other containers from I-don't-know where to keep each of them after weaning if they make it.

I don't want to get my hopes high yet in case Chubs cannibalises them or something.

LOL, Mr. Pinto is a tiny one. He's the smallest of all 3. The female one's the biggest.

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Aug 8 2011, 11:11 PM
TeliLeti
post Aug 9 2011, 12:25 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Ken.B @ Aug 9 2011, 12:12 AM)
Lol, I thought it's just mine. Because both batch of my hoglets will have a hoglet with a smaller size. btw, one of my hoglet got sick. It's something weird that even the vet at my area have to refer to Taiping Zoo. Hope that they'll reply me soon.

Congratz on the PINTO.. MR Lucky who have a recessive gene hedgehog and a patterned hoglet!  rclxms.gif
You can get storage box from tesco. They're cheap compare to cages in pet store smile.gif. How much is the playpen cost in the previous page?
The larger the litter, the smaller the babies & the higher the probability of having a runt.
Oh, what's wrong with the baby? Symptoms? ohmy.gif

Thanks, I was quite surprised. LOL.
I bought a SnP hedgie & ended up with a snowflake after he quilled.
Now I have a tiny little pinto. Can't believe my luck, really.
I'm trying to trace the colour of his paternal 'grandparents' at the moment.

If you don't mind me asking, how did you end up with your first breeding pair? nod.gif
I'm wondering if all the hedgehogs in this country are inter-related now.

The Tesco branch here doesn't have a collection of storage boxes as large as Giant's.
The largest one costs around RM65. shocking.gif
I'll probably find some boxes around my house to use as makeshift cages in the end.

I bought it second-hand for RM30. It's not escape-proof (if it was, there won't be any babies) so I had to modify it & place a net over the whole playpen.

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Aug 9 2011, 12:29 AM
TeliLeti
post Aug 9 2011, 12:52 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Aug 9 2011, 12:47 AM)
^ well , just curious . did u see the mating process? eheh
Ahahaha, no. I didn't.
I didn't plan it so everything was unexpected.
I only knew he mated with her because there's the tell tale sign of his blood on her back as he injured himself while mating.

TeliLeti
post Aug 9 2011, 01:11 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Aug 9 2011, 01:01 AM)
did he hurt his penuz.. D:
LOL, no.
He hurt his front paw from all that- friction. blush.gif

I Googled after I saw the blood & found out that you will know that they've mated from the blood- which usually comes from the mouth (they bite the female's quills for better grip) or paw.
TeliLeti
post Aug 9 2011, 10:24 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(shukri77 @ Aug 9 2011, 09:41 AM)
while running, once a while hedgie will stop to see its surrounding. This type of wheel can hurt hedgie's head and cause its eye to be blind. Dont use it for hedgehog.
I find it funny. xD
They run, run run, and without warning, they stop. The little beady eyes wiggle a bit, then they continue running again. laugh.gif
TeliLeti
post Aug 9 2011, 11:08 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Ken.B @ Aug 9 2011, 10:42 AM)
You mean the color of the hoglets?
And they keep sniffing everywhere!  drool.gif

The symtoms of the baby... hmm... like red spot at his eyebrow and nose. swollen legs and bruise. It's not a result of fighting because non of the others have the same symtoms.
No, not the colour. Where did you get them from?
Lol.

Ouch, poor little guy. I hope he recovers. ohmy.gif

Added on August 9, 2011, 12:45 pmChubster doesn't mind me going near her nest. I was putting her babies back into the nest & she didn't even huff/headbutt me. biggrin.gif

Sorry about the bad quality. My camera has mood swings.

This is one of the male hoglets. He has Huffster's huffy temperament. blush.gif

This is Mr. Pinto, the other male hoglet. He's very shy so I couldn't get a face shot.

And this is the female hoglet. She's a real cutie. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Aug 9 2011, 03:33 PM
TeliLeti
post Aug 9 2011, 03:09 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(walala77 @ Aug 9 2011, 01:45 PM)
my hedgie hav dandruf problem...
did he need head n shoulders... tongue.gif
try to bath him but the problm stil hapen... icon_question.gif
They get dry skin once in a while so you did the right thing by bathing them. However, I recommend that you drop a few drops of oil into his bath water.
Or you can give him an oatmeal bath.
If you don't want to bath him again, just drop a two drops of oil (anything except tea tree oil) on his back and one drop behind his ears.
His dry skin will be gone by tomorrow. Works like a charm everytime. biggrin.gif

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

1.2882sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:22 PM