QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 23 2009, 10:24 PM)
wat size bro?Panasonic VIERA TH-P50S10K
Panasonic VIERA TH-P50S10K
Jul 23 2009, 10:37 PM
624 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Jul 23 2009, 10:50 PM
2,353 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: D'Pearl of d'Orient |
Uncle tan.. did u mean the series 6 plasma or LCD TV?? a little confused
Jul 23 2009, 10:52 PM
220 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Selangor |
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 23 2009, 08:31 PM) Today I compared Samsung plasma (Series 6) with Pioneer 508 and Panasonic S and G series side by side. Yeah, you can include me in this category now too. I was shocked to see that the Samsung was far far better than the Panasonic S and even G. Infact, the Samsung was as black and same quality as the Pioneer. The Panasonics, both S and G had blacks that were really grey if compared to the Samsung side by side. I was so shocked as I am quite anti Samsung. But now, I have to admit, quite reluctantly that the Samsung is really the king. In addition to that, it had so many features. One main feature was the USB slot that played avi, divx and mkv files. I am quite shocked that by being so pro Panasonic and obsessed with Panasonic over the years, I was blinded by the fact that the Samsung is a far better plasma than this Japanese brand. Bloody hell, the Samsung so much better than the Pana 50s anytime man. I was an anit-Samsung guy myself, but was humbled today after REALLLLLY trying to find fault with the Samsung. I finally found a 50s and was pretty disappointed with its output. Michael, where did you get the quote for the samsung if you don't mind? You can either reply here or pm me. Thanks |
Jul 23 2009, 10:55 PM
2,353 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: D'Pearl of d'Orient |
mysai... plasma or LCD?
Jul 23 2009, 11:03 PM
1,048 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 22 2009, 11:30 AM) Very true, WD quality is the best. Nobody beats it. But nowadays, people seem to be going for Buffalo Mini series as it is fully Made in Japan. buffalo make those casing.......if you extract the HDD....i have seen WD and Samsung and Hitachi's HDD in buffalo. this is at least true for those 3.5" ext buffaloIs it higher quality since it is Made in Japan? |
Jul 23 2009, 11:05 PM
1,024 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 23 2009, 10:50 PM) Series 6 Plasma. And it is the 50 inch model. HN is doing for RM7500 with free 32 inch Samsung LCD, 5 years warranty, HDMI cable and 1080p Samsung DVD player.Btw, the Samsung, besides producing excellent colours and PQ, it had so much lesser reflection than the Panasonic 50 S. The Panasonic unfortunately looked like a mirror. Clearly the Koreans have overtaken the Japanese lah. This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jul 23 2009, 11:15 PM |
Jul 23 2009, 11:22 PM
1,779 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
how the samsung 6 plasma compare with it own led tv series?
Jul 23 2009, 11:28 PM
Jul 24 2009, 12:02 AM
111 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 23 2009, 11:28 PM) Of course LED win. But LED is crazily expensive. 55 inches abt RM20k. 40 inches is about RM9999. Another new technology to check out is LaserTV by Mitsubishi. Not sure when coming to Malaysia.Not worth it for price quality ratio as new technology is always pricey. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSvo7AeTXm4&feature=related http://www.mitsubishi-tv.com/ uncle tan, Have you tried the Samsung with Astro broadcast? IMHO the Panny S excel with Astro compared to the Samsung. |
Jul 24 2009, 07:36 AM
true what you say, Astro is best with Pana.
Jul 24 2009, 07:52 AM
612 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: Kuantan |
for sure.....for now aday panny support astro with very good PQ....
Jul 24 2009, 08:24 AM
2,170 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Samsung L6 Plasma? I was under the impression that L4 are plasmas, the rest are LCDs...
Jul 24 2009, 10:17 AM
3,858 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 23 2009, 08:31 PM) Today I compared Samsung plasma (Series 6) with Pioneer 508 and Panasonic S and G series side by side. This is in line with the shoot out by some calibrator I know and respect in US. I have not seen one as yet, so I cannot comment. Their ranking was Pioneer2008>Samsung Plasma2009>Panny Plasma2009>Samsung LED backlight LCD2009.I was shocked to see that the Samsung was far far better than the Panasonic S and even G. Infact, the Samsung was as black and same quality as the Pioneer. The Panasonics, both S and G had blacks that were really grey if compared to the Samsung side by side. I was so shocked as I am quite anti Samsung. But now, I have to admit, quite reluctantly that the Samsung is really the king. In addition to that, it had so many features. One main feature was the USB slot that played avi, divx and mkv files. I am quite shocked that by being so pro Panasonic and obsessed with Panasonic over the years, I was blinded by the fact that the Samsung is a far better plasma than this Japanese brand. Samsung Plasma did not have lower black levels but did everything else fairly well. It has a full 3D CMS that works and can be calibrated pretty accurately. Their black levels have surpassed Panny's this year. Image retention is not that great. I believe the 508 has slightly lower black levels than the Sammy. This cannot be seen in showroom environment, but on same feeds it is lower. Remember the 508XG is a 2007 model. The Sammy is a 2009 model. There is a lot of talk that in 2 years Sammy will improve faster than Panny on the plasma front. Their R&D is pretty aggresive. |
Jul 24 2009, 10:28 AM
1,779 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
never really know that samsung plasma is this good as i know samsung lcd series are more of their flagship model as u can see samsung did advertised very aggressive on their LED tv series model.
Jul 24 2009, 10:29 AM
Thanks Anfieldude for your comment. I am of the strong opinion that this Samsung is the poor man's way of getting a Pioneer. I too could not believe the quality and the black involved.
If anyone want to see it, its at the Harvey Norman in Pavillion. The best part is that they put all the famous contenders side by side, namely Pioneer, this Samsung, Panasonic S,X and G. To me, and to many people I am sure, price is very important. I would say the Samsung is same level as the KRP500, in my humble opinion. But one is less than RM7,000 and one is RM20,000. Big big difference. |
Jul 24 2009, 11:11 AM
3,569 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
I am going Pavillion today. Would go to HN to see the TVs.
Jul 24 2009, 11:41 AM
3,858 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 24 2009, 10:29 AM) Thanks Anfieldude for your comment. I am of the strong opinion that this Samsung is the poor man's way of getting a Pioneer. I too could not believe the quality and the black involved. My honest opinion is that for people who are only watching Astro, mostly pirated DVDs and are not fussy about picture quality the Panny S is more than enough. It saves u abt RM1k. If anyone want to see it, its at the Harvey Norman in Pavillion. The best part is that they put all the famous contenders side by side, namely Pioneer, this Samsung, Panasonic S,X and G. To me, and to many people I am sure, price is very important. I would say the Samsung is same level as the KRP500, in my humble opinion. But one is less than RM7,000 and one is RM20,000. Big big difference. If you are a person who sees problems in shadow details, colour accuracy and yearn for the perfect picture, then spend more. The Sammy looks like the next level. And if you are even more fussy, then get the KRP. The KRP has dropped down to the RM15k level. I have seen a Panny and Pioneer 8th Gen (508XG, 428XG) calibrated to ISFccc standards and the Pioneer is much better. My eyes tell me so and so does my calibration equipment. But not everyone needs this level of accuracy. Then spend less money and be happy that you do not need the high end sets to feast your eyes. Videophiles will always go for the best. But that is their prerogative. |
Jul 24 2009, 02:00 PM
15 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Petaling Jaya |
The problem with Korean brands is that they don't last long . Somewhere in between, after a while, you start experiencing problems here and there . Unlike Japanese brands which are more reliable .
I have used Sammy normal TV's before and you tend to have problem with the picture and sound quality after 2 to 3 years . So, I am very ... very careful about purchasing another Sammy again even though they look great and their price range is very reasonable . Btw, I am fan of Pana and Sony . |
Jul 24 2009, 03:54 PM
984 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Jul 24 2009, 07:44 PM