English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, Latest: Welcome to the club, Obertan!

boxsystem
post Jul 7 2009, 09:44 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jul 7 2009, 09:24 PM)
Kill me but our midfield is still weak. Tosic is still unproven, as talented he might be. Giggs and Scholes have only 1 more season to go. Park is hardworking and that's about it. The others like Carrick, Fletcher, Ando, and Nani are great players but I don't think they match the standards of other world class midfielders have set, yet. By world class I mean, clubs would queue up and pay 30 mil pounds without 2nd thought for their service. Having said that, there're aren't any available midfielders like that in the market except for Fabregas, which i somehow hope SAF is crazy enough to go for him.
As what Wan have mentioned, if these three players are playing together and on their day, I do believe we can outclass any other teams' midfielders. Fletcher being the hardman, Ando to move forward and Carrick to provide passes and cover for the back four. I do believe that this squad of ours are good enough to challenge at all fronts.

The arrivals of Owen, Valencia and possible Obertan will only re-strengthened our squad better. To me, SAF is brilliant by getting these 3 players and there's a BIG possibility that we will play 06-07 style again. We showed GREAT team spirit and work on that season. I do believe that Rooney is going to be our focal point next season. Berba will be somewhere around there as well.

Not denying that the departure of Ronaldo will 'help' other teams to gather and fight but this is UNITED! We aren't famous because of superstars, we are famous because of team play and SAF. Go ask any of other teams' fans regarding our teamwork.

QUOTE(creap @ Jul 7 2009, 09:30 PM)
I wonder if we are allowed to do this here, cause it's so hilarious I'm having tears in my eyes. LOL

http://www.redcafe.net/f6/lads-back-pre-se...g-today-256972/
@Wan,
One major worry I'm having now is, what if we do not have a No.7 next season? would it be doomsday?
I've been reading that thread since morning and my stomache is sick. laugh.gif I guess it's because of the 3-4 days of Redcafe being down. The arrival of Owen syndrome?

Added on July 7, 2009, 9:45 pm
QUOTE(state of abyssmal @ Jul 7 2009, 09:43 PM)
owen picture that just came back from training....but which owen is this?  tongue.gif

Feck!! That really got me! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(Originally Posted by Makki@Redcafe)
Nothing on Animal Planet yet, except for the latest news on Tevez' imminent move to City.

This one pawns!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif thumbup.gif

Foster pens Reds deal
www.manutd.com

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Jul 7 2009, 09:55 PM
boxsystem
post Jul 8 2009, 12:13 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(state of abyssmal @ Jul 7 2009, 11:05 PM)
herm.. we are on number 4....

UEFA team ranking

can manutd meet rm in CL then? Rm is on 13.  hmm.gif they should be on 2nd pot then.

There's no wonder why Bladder and Panini 'bising'. Take a good look at this table.

Top 10:
---------
4 English teams
2 Spanish teams
2 German teams
1 Italian team
1 French team

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Jul 8 2009, 12:14 AM
boxsystem
post Jul 8 2009, 12:53 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

are the lads back for pre-season training yet?
boxsystem
post Jul 8 2009, 01:10 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Vagine @ Jul 8 2009, 11:46 AM)
No one wants an Owen shirt

By Soccernet staff

July 7, 2009

* Comment
    * Email
    * Print

It's lucky for Michael Owen that Sir Alex Ferguson rates him, because Manchester United supporters certainly do not. Since he signed on Friday, the club shop has yet to receive a single request for an Owen shirt.
Click Here

This evidences just how widely the dissatisfaction with his purchase is felt; very few supporters feel that he is good enough to play for the team, and just as many are resentful of having an ex-Liverpool player in the squad.

An employee at United's megastore commented that:

"We haven't got his number yet, which might have had an effect, [but] we are not expecting a big demand even when that is known. As far as I know, no one has asked for [it]".

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id...england&cc=4716
Kesian nya.... ahahhahahaa
I wouldn't mind to buy his shirt. As long as he dons the colors of United, he is supported by me. I have undying love towards the club, SAF and its players.

Plus, if you read carefully, he still doesn't have any number yet. Same goes to Valencia and possible-signing Obertan. After that, especially after he scores against you lot, he will be a BIG hit. laugh.gif
boxsystem
post Jul 9 2009, 04:14 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(sixseven @ Jul 9 2009, 03:36 PM)
reckon foster to be in goal against M'sia XI
don't think so coz he's injured. should be PIG then ..
boxsystem
post Jul 9 2009, 10:59 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

A RM/Ronaldo PR coming to our thread kah? Lalalala.
boxsystem
post Jul 10 2009, 11:31 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(onemanshows @ Jul 10 2009, 11:28 AM)
i thought there's another wonderkid 9 yr old or something that we bought last year as watching his sensational video on youtube?
Rhein Davis.

Yes, Morrison is someone whom we are looking forward into ..

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Jul 10 2009, 11:45 AM
boxsystem
post Jul 10 2009, 11:58 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(atten @ Jul 10 2009, 11:49 AM)
2 surprise bought by SAF ......... but obertan need at least 2 season b4 he can shine
Your avatar is about to be nuked!

BTW, the bitters are surely bitter on Owen joining us. Weren't they are the ones whom resent us on Heinze almost joining them? laugh.gif
boxsystem
post Jul 10 2009, 07:44 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

an another DM eh? we already have Flectch and Hargo ..
boxsystem
post Jul 10 2009, 10:02 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jul 10 2009, 09:38 PM)
Scholes?? everyone knows Scholes tackles are dangerous....i think it's better tat vidic goes against owen, at least his tackles are more accurate than Scholes....hahahahahhaa
QFT!!! Hahaha. Scholes ... very very very dangerous ..
boxsystem
post Jul 11 2009, 08:45 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Jul 11 2009, 08:36 PM)
6 days, 20 hours, 56 minutes left... park somewhere at Pertama/Sogo then go by LRT. What time are you guys going to be there? Will try to be there at 4.30. And wait for the stadium to fill up. Should be fun.. biggrin.gif
What tickets are you on?

Most probably I'll be going with train as well. I'm on grandstands. Red gate.
boxsystem
post Jul 12 2009, 11:08 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Jul 12 2009, 06:28 AM)
I really don't understand us fans(some, or most, depending where you look). We want to see young players be given a chance, but then we blast the club/SAF for not buying star players. And people talk as if young talented players grow on trees. Talent like Rooney, Ronaldo and Messi comes once in a lifetime for some. And to break through to our team, that's the sort of talent that will have a chance. That's why not that many strikers break through, ever, because they would be competing directly with top 20-50 strikers in the world. Not to mention the youth strikers that we had through the years weren't good enough, except for maybe Rossi, but he wanted out by himself.

We are the best team in the world, team full of stars, top players, and chasing for everything we compete for. But when we give the youth a chance, and lost the game, we are quick to blame SAF for fielding a weak squad(Everton FA Cup semi springs to mind). Bloody hypocrites I say.

As for Campbell.. he was always going out on loan last season. Wigan had their loan bid accepted for him, but Spurs wanted him in that Berba deal. SAF didn't rate him that highly I guess. Good talent, but not for us. Didn't really fit into our team, as shown in his games for us, where he only showed pace. Contrast that to Welbeck who fit seamlessly into our team, and was involved in moves. But people still don't rate him as high as Macheda, who apart from scoring those wonderful winning goals, produced very little. But both of these players could go far if they keep on improving. One thing they have over Campbell is that they're able to lead the line.

And can we stop with this Berba lazy tag? Oh look, he doesn't run 100km/s.. look he just stand there and make a pass.. good pass to be fair, but he doesn't run about, he must be contributing nothing to the team. But look at that player running around like a madman.. oh he lost the ball again, but never mind, he's running, that means he's contributing!

Feel free to make up your mind on who was effective. Minutes per goal, minutes per tackles..

user posted imageuser posted image
Berbatov on the left, Tevez on the right.

Added on July 12, 2009, 6:47 amReally, which youth players we have ever let go(recent times) become stars somewhere else? Pique and Rossi maybe, but they both wanted out with contracts expiring in a year. Most are not good enough. We should forget about having players every year break through. If one(let alone a group of them like 92) broke through every few seasons, that would be an achievement.
+1

Seriously Wan, I think I've stopped caring about tards that have been bashing Berba and SAF. Not sure where their loyalty lies. Towards the club or its players?
boxsystem
post Jul 12 2009, 02:32 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Barney the Dino @ Jul 12 2009, 12:50 PM)
I don't think it should be an excuse to say Berbatov hasn't got enough tme. My opinion is that SAF wanted a player with goal-poaching instinct and so well he's proven in Spurs. I agree Wan that Berba has the better shot-goal ratio, but how many times has he hit the net againts stronger oppostions? No offence but as far as I can remember, he only scores goals when United are already 2 or 3 up most of the time

In stark contrast, Rudd Van Nistelrooy netted 36 in 48 games in his debut season including a 10 goals in European competitions which is like approx 0.75 goals per game and 0.72 goals per league game in comparism with Berba's 14 goals in 43 games which is approx 0.33 goals per game, 0.29 goals per league game.

Yes you can challenge me saying that it's Berba's first season with United, but it certainly isn't his first season in England, so by right you must be able to deploy into the pace and physical conditions of the opponents. If you guys assume that SAF thinks Berba is still their main frontman, why would he get Obertans and Michael Owen? This would mean that 4 players (including Rooney) are vying for a starting place and lets not forget Welbeck and Macheda coming though the ranks too.

Remember our arch rivals Man City? Robinho 15 goals in 40 games in his debut season, his first premier league season, hard to adapt, yet, his ratio is 0.375 per game, 0.47 per league game. And he has come under much more criticism and pressure from the media altogether with controversies and scandals off  the field. Isn't this unfair?

Ok, you may say that I'm trying to compare with top 20-50 strikers in the world, but look at Rudd and Robinho. They are having debut seasons in England, not at all easy to adapt to a new country than a new club I must say. Especially for Rudd, he seemed very average when he arrived and to be honest, I wasn't impressed when United signed him and yet he fared well.

And let me remind you, we paid 30 million pounds not to sit and wait, but we need results. Look at how Sheva, Pizzaro or Thiery Henry was treated for a misfiring season. If you are trying to say Berba can't be compared with the best strikers, why not? We forked out a hefty price who is one of the top 10 most expenisive ones eclipsing Beckham or Luis Ronaldo. we've paid similar amounts for Veron, he disappointed and left us and now some United fans are criticising him behind his back, look who are hypocrites now?

My point is, Berba was bought to shine, he's not bought as a long term investment. I think he will find next season even more difficult with even names like Huntelaar, David Villa mentioned moving to Old Trafford. And we are no longer the Becks-Van partnership style of play anymore, nobody is throwing crosses to the box consistently with precision anymore to feed lanky players like Berba, it's happening in other clubs but definitely our style of play has been better with pacey counter attacking plays.
There you go. You've just answered yourself on Berbatov.

Mind you, Ruud had Beckham and others to feed him. Scholesy was played as SS, behind Ruud.

Beckham left, Ronaldo arrived.

Ronaldo developed that scoring instinct and he WAS our main goal getter for the past 2 seasons. Even Rooney had to accomodate him.

I strongly believe that Berba was brought in to complement Rooney. But, Ronaldo wasn't Ronaldo of 06/07. Due to his scoring habits, he became more arrogant and wanted the ball like always.

Villa and Huntelaar to United? Not a fat chance!

I'm not sure but I do think SAF is trying both styles of play. Crosses and short passes. Which is why we bought Carrick and Ando. One with long passes and the other with short passes. Obviously, the change of plays in a match

could easily confuses the opponents. Long passes? We have Berbatov to receive them, great first touch. Short passes? Rooney to play it on.

What we really need now is Hargo to be FIT. We can't always depend on Fletcher to do the dirty work. We would kill Ando's talent if he's going to play as DM.

Plus, we need Owen to bang in some goals scored that left by Ronaldo and Tevez. Valencia or Nani might chip in a few.

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Jul 12 2009, 02:34 PM
boxsystem
post Jul 12 2009, 04:25 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Jul 12 2009, 03:31 PM)
Berbatov highlights.. his first 5 games or so.

Added on July 12, 2009, 4:12 pmYet another one with misguided idea about him. If you really watch us play, you would know that SAF used Berba as the link man, behind Rooney/Tevez, and just ahead of the CMs. You would say he's a striker and should be playing more as a normal striker should, but SAF is the one that used him that way, rightly or wrongly. So all those stats doesn't truly reflect well(fair) on him.

Sure we paid a lot of money for him and we should expect better goal returns, but he had an ok season considering apart from Rooney, and Ronaldo with his goals, none of the other attackers really had a good season. Anderson, Scholes, Nani, even Ronaldo himself was off form. That does hurt our creativity and game flow, not to mention Ronaldo forgot what it's like to be a winger. All he sees in his head is him scoring goals.

Obertan is a winger. The Owen of old might give a hard fight for Berba, but the Owen right now looks a shadow of his best. The fact that we brought in Owen speaks volume how SAF trust Rooney and Berbatov to lead the challenge, with Owen and the two youngsters as cover. I find it baffling that having not watched Obertan at all, and seeing Owen's last 4 seasons, you would think they would give Berba a hard time.

All players are brought in to shine of course. Some take longer to shine, some straight away performed. But in Berba's case it's been a mixed season. He can be great, or he can just be decent. Veron was shipped out after two seasons.. Berba have only been here one season he's done well in my book. But of course all you ever look for in a striker is their 'goal' stats. Whoever brought in players and expect that player to deliver heavenly performances every game right from the start is an idiot. Remember Andy Cole? British record at the time, yet didn't really deliver for a few seasons. Not saying Berba would take on the same road, but it's foolish and idiotic to just sell a player after just an OK debut season where the whole team struggle to score goals. Are you Benitez in disguise?

Sure we no longer have a Beckham to supply crosses. But we have Berbatov linking up play, supplying through balls for the team to take advantage of. You really have no idea what player he's like. You look that he's tall, and you just assume he should be playing like Ruud did for us. We're just wasting our time if you still think that way. I'm gonna say this, watch what he does in games, where he's been deployed rather than focusing on what he doesn't do like how you're expecting him to play in your head, then you might open your eyes a little a realize it. Until then we're just gonna go in circles. Been there before.
I LOL-ed at this. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
boxsystem
post Jul 13 2009, 10:27 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jul 13 2009, 09:59 AM)
anyone going to the match via LRT from wangsa maju/setapak?? i'm planning to go via LRT, dun wanna drive ler.
Aku pegi by train gak sin. Leceh nak drive .. bukit jalil tuh nanti packed giler.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0218sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:00 PM