4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

iPhone OS3.0(OUT NOW) | iPhone 3G[S](31/7) V2, 3GS registration-booking etc discussion

TSstringfellow
post Jun 26 2009, 01:31 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Awesome news there, Psyeo bro! rclxms.gif

Upgrading? brows.gif

TSstringfellow
post Jun 29 2009, 04:00 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jun 29 2009, 02:10 PM)
@tink

I have the post up and ready @ http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=24623177

So far only harmeet and nokia responded. Yours, string, tish will be next. Just place your name when you get your 3GS. miniacs needs to post his details in the iPhone population thread so i can proceed to place him name on the post.

*** For those who have gotten your 3GS (from US), please don't place your name in the iPhone population threads given that you can't use the call/sms function etc. It remains as an expensive iPod Touch. Until you got your phone in working condition, then only place your name. Thank you
I can almost smell my baby! Come to me! drool.gif

After this gotta go to the airport to grab the funds for the Italian iPhones. Harmeet, your Euros are with me, just holler when we can arrange so that you can grab the funds off me later.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 29 2009, 08:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I am in debt to Tink, and by the extension of that, to Nokia as well, for giving me this chance to own one helluva powerful sexy beast! Tink I love you so dearly, thank you so much for all your help! wub.gif Nokia, brotherly love man! thumbup.gif

Tish, pleasant surprise isn't it? Didn't expect a new 3G[S] coming your way, and Tink comes to the rescue! rclxms.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2009, 03:30 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Just received the super slim super sexy Mophie Juice Pack Air from Jacquie just now. Shiny shiny! Compliments the 3G[S] perfectly!

Next up will be the TruePower iV from her, getting it on Sunday once I'm back from Osaka. Highly recommend Jacquie for her items, professional and patient as well. Jacquie, if you're reading this, I really appreciate your patience with me, I am a little impatient when it comes to my things. tongue.gif notworthy.gif

Once I get all three of the extended battery packs, I'll probably do a comparative review between the three. Stay tuned!

Also, Harmeet bro, your cash is with your bro. We went together to meet Jacquie just now. biggrin.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2009, 03:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The battery indicator may not be accurate, bro. Even on my old 3G it fluctuates wildly, to a point that it forces ny old Mophie to recharge it even when it is not supposed to.

I can't really say about your query there other than a restore and start from fresh. Don't restore from a backup and monitor your battery drainage. If it works fine, then install apps one at a time and monitor and see if the battery depletes worse than it should. That app may be the culprit. Do it similarly with your jailbreaks. I call this the "process of elimination" to narrow down the culprit.

Otherwise I don't think I can offer other solution. My 3G[S] works just fine.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2009, 03:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Also, no more screen protector for me! The oleophobic screen works AWESOME! Fingerprints go away with a simple wipe! thumbup.gif

Added on July 1, 2009, 3:50 pm@nokia

She is beautiful. I hope I don't make her blush on this, she look very nice in her dress. wub.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 1 2009, 03:50 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2009, 04:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Buying black Mophie Air against a white 3G[S] will make it look weird. The openings for the volume and silent mode will reveal your back case color. Tak mau zebra leh! tongue.gif

Also, the new Mophie Air has a built-in switch, unlike the old fat Mophie. The switch works as to charge your iPhone when needed. If you dont need to charge, switch it off, and your iPhone draws power from its internal battery. Turn the switch on, and it draws power from the Mophie Air and recharges your iPhone as well. Just plain neat! rclxms.gif

The battery level indicator is there as well on the Mophie Air, so it is easy to check your Mophie battery charge level. I love it! wub.gif

I don't recommend sellers much, but I really have to say Jacquie did a very good job on my transaction. Here is her sales thread, get your Mophie from her, I wholeheartedly recommend her. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 1 2009, 04:32 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2009, 04:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

@Tink

TruePower iV coming Friday, but I'll still be be in Osaka. Will meet her on Sunday. TruePower iV is bigger and a bit bulky, so unless you are using this as a possible alternative, I dont think you'll like it. But it has 3100mAH power rating compared to the Air's 1200mAH, and the fat Mophie's 1800mAH. The iPhone, IIANM, has a 1800mAH power rating. TruePower is rated to allow:-
- Up to 24 Hours of Talk Time
- Up to 72 Hours of Audio Playback
- Up to 21 Hours of Video Playback
- Up to 30 Days of Standby Time

Also has:-

- Flash Light for Emergency Use and Low Light Photos
- USB Port to Charge Multiple Devices
- Dock Connector for iPhone & Universal Dock
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2009, 05:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ksc_3688 @ Jul 1 2009, 05:04 PM)
Hey bro karampal here. Nice meeting with you just now.
Do help me 'poison' my bro to get me the 3gs.
Hey there, well met! Nice meeting you too! I dont think I need to poison him anymore, the look I saw on his face says it all! laugh.gif Oleophobic, baby!

Managed to take out the Mophie Air from his iPhone? With the Gelaskin, it is a bit tight. Just a fair warning to others who have Gelaskins or other thin "balut" type protection, the Mophie Air may need a little more pushing and shoving to take out if you have it on.

Added on July 1, 2009, 6:03 pmAnybody wants anything from Osaka? Last tine it was about the iClooly but now that case/stand holds my Gameboy Micro instead! laugh.gif Not looking for anything specific really, but am keen to finally buying a better camera than the POS PnS I'm using now. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 1 2009, 06:03 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 1 2009, 09:52 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Jul 1 2009, 09:17 PM)
Just came across the following in iPhone 3GS information guide as found in the box :

....ability of this oleophobic coating to remove repel oil will diminish over time with normal usage

So enjoy it while it still works and I guess i am going to get PowerSupport Anti Glare screen protector.

String managed to get yours today at KLCC Machines?
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 1 2009, 09:37 PM)
@neekun,
Er.. is that the protector you said comes in 2?!

@stringfellow,
In that case, wanna share?! U don't need 2 tongue.gif
Machines KLCC ran out of that particular brand. They say that Power Support protector would run out first before the other brand. Must be really good.

@Tink
Sure, I dont mind sharing.
TSstringfellow
post Jul 2 2009, 05:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Next June/July 2010, Sinyc. Time to go through this very same craziness again, one year from now. I love it! Makes you feel alive! rclxms.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jul 2 2009, 06:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 2 2009, 06:04 PM)
Yeah but only for rich people, us plebians can't afford to change RM3k phones every year  tongue.gif
Depends on how you see it really. I got my 3G[S] for a mere 1.2k, after using the 1.8k I get from selling off the 3G to roll the money around. When you think about it, it is not that expensive. The initial investment may be huge, you might say, but I sold off my EDGE iPhone for RM2k, when I got it for USD299. So that's RM900+ earned, and then rolled onto the 3G model, and then this 3G[S].

The key to gadget-purchasing is never to let it go beyond its "expiry date". That way, the price to let go for will always remain high, or high enough for you not to spend so much on the next similar purchase. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jul 3 2009, 02:23 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Guys I'm still here in KL. Plane broke down and by the time it got fixed, it has exceeded our maximum Flight Duty Period(FDP). Stepped down (to the grumblings of the traffic, crewing and rostering staff no less) and the last I checked, flight delayed to 9am. It is at our discretion to continue of course, but kalau mata sudah merah, would you trust us being fatigued and still flying beyond our hour limits? Accidents waiting to happen there.

Nevertheless, they'll put me on standby after 2pm(yes, that is how limited my test period is), and they can legally call me to go to work if needed. But if luck is on my side and I get off scott-free, I guess I can be at DG's performance this Saturday. w00t! rclxms.gif

Methinks there is a silver lining in all this, including this incident keeping me in KL. "Someone up there" knows I will lose my resolve and cave in to purchasing the E-P1 there in Osaka, when it us cheaper and better to get it here. tongue.gif

Here's to "The Company" leaving me alone. So that I can be at DG's gig this Saturday. flex.gif

EDIT:So much for "The Company" leaving me along. Doing daily Singapore run today, be back by midnight. Squeeze every last drop of sweat from you, man! Nothing so far for tomorrow, so things looking bright for me to be at DG's performance. *fingers crossed*

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 3 2009, 02:35 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 4 2009, 12:15 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Anybody going to see DG play today? I'm going and I could care less with the standby they are forcing me to do. We can kill 3 birds with one stone: the Discovery Week itself, see DG rock it out on stage, and also if anyone wanna test the speed of everything on my 3G[S]. I will also be there with the Mophie Juice Pack Air and the TruePower iV battery pack for 3G[S].

See you guys there! rclxms.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jul 4 2009, 01:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Anybody going to the Mac DiscoveryWeek in Midvalley? I just received my FastMac TruePower iV from Jacquie. Im going there now with the old Mophie Juice Pack, the new sexy Mophie Juice Pack Air, and if anyone is interested in pistol-grip FullHD camcorder, I'll be recording DG rocking it out with the Xacti HD1000. All these items, for your own discovery, in addition with the stuff at the event is available for your perusal.

See you there!

Added on July 4, 2009, 2:14 pmHoly crap! One very obvious reason why I hate MV. Crowded like hell! Damn!

Tink, if you want a piece of the PowerSupport screen protector, I got em. The pack got three pieces inside.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 4 2009, 02:14 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 4 2009, 07:05 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

F**king awesome show, Altered Frequency brought down the house at the Mac+iPod Discovery Week in Midvalley! Videos to prove it later, DG you are officially in my books the coolest bassist and moderator I've ever known.

Altered Frequency even played TWO songs using the iPod Touch! Thunderous cheers, baby! You guys f**king ROCK!
TSstringfellow
post Jul 4 2009, 09:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

@Tink

I'll be at Midvalley again tomorrow, at the Mac+iPod Discovery Week, for the Logic Express presentation.........by our own DG! rclxm9.gif

I'll bring all three, the old Mophie Juice Pack, Mophie Juice Pack Air and the just received FastMac TruePower iV, tomorrow if you are coming.

TSstringfellow
post Jul 4 2009, 09:31 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT use the Mophie Juice Pack Air with any full-body protective film, or even Gelaskin on it. Harmeet's bro had a tough time separating the Mophie Air from the iPhone that has a Gelaskin layer on its back.

Sigh.....I wanted to do the review of the the two new battery packs with better pictures, using the E-P1, but that damned thing is launching later than I expected. mad.gif

Tonight while I'm uploading the videos, I'll do the search for the charger, Tink. Pray that I can find it among the messy noodles of wires and charger cables I have stuffed away. flex.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 4 2009, 09:33 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 5 2009, 01:15 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Videos recording on the iPhone 3G[S] of the rockin' performances at the Mac+iPod Discovery Week in Midvalley is up, folks! Here's a teaser:-

Yes, featuring our very own DavidGary and his band, Altered Frequency! rclxms.gif

Point your mice and click here!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2009, 01:20 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jul 5 2009, 06:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I know a review is overdue for the two battery packs, Mophie Juice Pack Air and the FastMac TruePower iV, but I am waiting to get a proper camera to do this. It will be up soon for everyone's perusal later, for these two packs, in comparison with the old Mophie pack.

Beavis, how about you post your take on your battery pack?

Personally, with the advent of OS3.0 draining juice like hell, these packs are essential, to me at least. Mophie Juice Pack Air adds little bulk, and acts as a case as well. I don't want having to tailor my daily usage pattern to fit into these battery drainages.

Added on July 5, 2009, 9:25 pmJust observed something really worrying. My 3G[S] is 3.0(obviously), and I was running iPod on the background listening to Linkin Park, while blasting the undeads in Doom Resurrection and also have the push notification on.

After exiting, noticed that even with the Mophie Air on, the internal iPhone battery is partially depleted. Looks like the power drainage from doing those 3 activities at the same time, is more than the rate at which the Mophie Air can recharge! It us showing the "recharging" icon now. Weird that the 3G[S] doesn't draw the needed power from the Mophie Air but instead depletes it's own battery. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2009, 09:25 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0182sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:09 AM