iPhone OS3.0(OUT NOW) | iPhone 3G[S](31/7) V2, 3GS registration-booking etc discussion
nokia2003
Jul 21 2009, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(Hollow @ Jul 20 2009, 11:48 PM) @tinkerbel: whats the normal usage for the internet/ 3g service for a facebook user/ surf, youtube? is 1 gb data enuff? QUOTE i don't jailbreak and tether my iPhone (important piece of information) and i'm on the 250MB/data. let me illustrate on, my typical average usage per day; i'm perpetually on LYN (not the lite version), retrieve and reply e-mails (6 accounts), read news (from different sites), moderate another forum, blog hopping, IM chatting and the odd apps updating. i typically, spend approximately 6 hours away from my home during university days and rely heavily on the optus 3G network of course. also bear in mind that i have never exceeded my data allowance. this website should also be helpful to estimate your usage. and to prove that i'm not talking nonsense over here, here is a print screen of my usage (bear in mind, that i was having a 2-ish week vacation and i was out perpetually and had to consume even more data bundle)
nokia2003
Jul 21 2009, 12:31 AM
@ jonest
third party. as a matter of fact, i purchased this
optus does provide a dedicated website to track your usage but it is quite bulky and i'm lazy to sign in
as a matter of fact, this app merely acts like a proxy between the iPhone & the dedicated optus website
nokia2003
Jul 21 2009, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 21 2009, 10:09 AM) @Jacky96136, Collection date remains for 31/7 and U aren't able to go in to pick it up any earlier. @nokia2003, What's the name of that app? Will it work for Maxis users too or it's specifically meant for Optus users only?!it is called iiQuota. it will not work with anything "un-australian". hence it will only cover all major networks and broadband providers in oz like i was telling teikwing, i got pretty annoyed with the same question repetition and i just assume that the rest were thinking that i was patronising/deceiving them  Added on July 21, 2009, 1:17 pmand hence i posted that printscreen of that app This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jul 21 2009, 01:17 PM
nokia2003
Jul 21 2009, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 21 2009, 02:40 PM) @rmvalues, The Maxis sets are officially unlocked sets hence does not need further unlocking. You will also be able to use it with any SIMs. Please check out pinned threads on i3GS & FW 3.0 for more information. @ricky1990, I totally agree with ah1, I think it's uncool of your friend to do that, seriously! @jfarm86, I don't think Maxis will mind but if there's a queue for that time slot U will not be given a preference. @nokia2003, iiQuota? hMm.... well it looks pretty cool - perhaps we could get one of our M'sian developers to try developing something like this but it will need data from Maxis and that's gonna be difficult to obtain. Also, the stewpid telco of mine (read:Maxis) doesn't reveal how much data I'm using p/month.
@realfcbstuff, If an upgrade is coming for those who previously purchased the i3G, it probably won't be until after the i3GS launch. Also, U shouldn't be comparing with other telcos. yeah. it works with vodafone, telstra et cetera. i have also synced the app with my broadband provider, TPG » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
nokia2003
Jul 21 2009, 06:43 PM
not that i'm attempting to dash your hopes. but if you see observe/scrutinise how apps are being developed, for something like iiQuota to work, maxis will need to first create an equivalent website which lets users track their usage (may it be data, SMS, calls et cetera).
apps like iiQuota are merely proxy between you (the iPhone) and the website. iiQuota is selling relatively well because it translates information from the respective network providers (like optus) into a more, simplified eye candy design.
This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jul 21 2009, 08:53 PM
nokia2003
Jul 22 2009, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(jphlau @ Jul 22 2009, 01:34 PM) @tinkerbel, My wife spends more on clothes, shoes, jeweleries and etc than my total spending. She say she rather have new clothes than have a new phone. Back to the topic, I am on VP80 + RM99 unlimited which work well for me as I do not being tied to a contact and can upgrade my phone anytime I want. There might be a 4g iphone this time next year.  Sad about the man though. http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/09/07...ng_reports.htmlmight is a complete understatement. it is an almost guaranteed event to have a brand new iPhone model next year (after the second quarter) hence, there is absolutely no way that i'm signing a 24 months contract in oz
nokia2003
Jul 22 2009, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(TuX @ Jul 22 2009, 01:35 PM) How much did you buy the AU iPhone 3GS 16GB/ read
nokia2003
Jul 22 2009, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(selenium @ Jul 22 2009, 07:43 PM) today i went to Jusco alpha angle in wangsa maju to pay my rm200 deposit for the Iphone 3gs. but when i got there there was this sales person like discouraging me to pay for the Iphone. He said that might have no stock and haf to wait a few months. and if i book on the 31st i wont get it on the 31st. and only a hand full of ppl will get it. the weird thing is, i got the feel he is bluffing me and i dont know why i got this feel. Anyone can explain why?? is what the sales person said true? there is no high horses to jump off. that is just how we do things here. sorry to burst your anticipation of a personalised message from me.
nokia2003
Jul 22 2009, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(viosowner @ Jul 22 2009, 10:36 PM) so since they guarantee us we can collect on the day of collection, we dont have black n white right? tat means collection date if we cant get, we also cannot sue them right?  the legal firms attached to maxis are reputable ones and i doubt that they will provide such a loophole (for you to sue them on such grounds)
nokia2003
Jul 23 2009, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(kentang_peranchis @ Jul 23 2009, 11:49 PM) maybe ur insider is very low ranking. according to my source who was never wrong, maxis will make announcement of delay officially within next few days. Added on July 23, 2009, 11:52 pmwell as much as i wld like to agree with the popular 'it's their life/money/time/etc. just let them be"....it is this careless and dun-care attitude dat made society decay so badly now. it is our responsibility as more knowledge and wisdom ppl to educate the young ones and ppl who cannot think properly and kenot get their priorities right. u know, and it will all end up with regrets. i'm young too (i'm still in my tertiary studies and still leaching off my parents) but this isn't a forum to educate/preach about morale fibres; this is an iPhone dedicated forum. hence let's not deviate out of the topic and fork out extra work for the moderators to exercise their discretion. This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jul 23 2009, 11:58 PM
nokia2003
Jul 24 2009, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(kentang_peranchis @ Jul 24 2009, 12:09 AM) dun treat as preaching. just taking opportunity to post frenly and timely advice. suits yourself, mate and i ain't gonna refute anything, anymore. i'm too engrossed, watching the entire dvd collection of "how i met your mother" that i just got from JB hi-fi QUOTE(jonest @ Jul 24 2009, 01:08 AM) closing for booking is 24th! so hurry up... i doubt that it will end on a friday. maxis centres are strategically placed in shopping complexes and weekends is the best time for consumers to patronise these places and register their interest. This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jul 24 2009, 01:15 AM
nokia2003
Jul 24 2009, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(eekwan7 @ Jul 24 2009, 01:42 PM) i purchase via a new hotlink prepaid number which under my sister name(since i haven't 18  )and i can still use my postpaid number at the same time  which means i have two phone  got anyone same like me? that wouldn't be a problem in my opinion. 1. the new prepaid hotlink sim card will enable you to purchase an outright iPhone 3G S and subsequently activating it. 2. since the maxis bound iPhone 3G S is officially unlocked, you can then proceed to use your tentative postpaid number now.
nokia2003
Jul 25 2009, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Jul 25 2009, 06:12 PM) @tinker, thanks for your explaination.. wanna ask 1 more question, sorry for being so troublesome, i not thinking to have the 500MB FOC data, is it possible i take my friend's prepaid sim card and activate it? so that the FOC Data can be transfer into his account? if yes, do i need to bring my friend to go as well? cause the prepaid might register under his name.. yeah. the 500MB will be transferred to your friend. seeing how maxis works, your friend would need to come along as well or you can probably fork out rm8.80 for a brand new hotlink sim pack? apparently in order to claim the warranty (for the postpaid customers) you will need to be the line holder. if i could speculate, it will be the same for hotlink users as well?
nokia2003
Jul 25 2009, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(kelvin @ Jul 25 2009, 07:38 PM) When you book online, you can select which day to collect. Right?? Counting down.... 5 more day  with no intention to be sarcastic, tomorrow will mark my one month usage of the iPhone 3G S gulp, another 11 more months to the next iPhone generation
nokia2003
Jul 26 2009, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(lucas_lik @ Jul 26 2009, 12:50 PM) Please read the forum thoroughly before asking. Inside have mention that the booking is available until 30/7. But starting from 25/7-30/7 it will be the 2nd batch booking already. Thanks for cooperating. Added on July 26, 2009, 12:53 pmMr Kong Nobody knows when will 4g iphone comes out. Many is just expecting. We never know what will iphone 4th generation looks like until Apple lauch 4th gen iPhone. Please be patience until next year. Because normally Apple lauch new products every year. No matter what you see or heard,those are rumours. Still remember how people predicted iPhone 3rd gen looks like. But who knows it lauch just like the 2nd gen shape. But with better hardware. oh boy. it appears that my statement (which was supposed to be taken with a pinch of salt) has triggered all the curious cats out. come on guys, just take a chill pill will ya? you don't need to be psychic to figure out apple's next move. geeezz!
nokia2003
Jul 26 2009, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(eekwan7 @ Jul 26 2009, 02:09 PM) will maxis download itunes for us?what are we suppose to do after collecting the i3GS?what is mean by "connecting to itunes" when we first start using the i3GS?sorry for troublesome because i am a newbie  connect your iPhone 3G S to iTunes via the USB cable? how hard is it to download the iTunes software by yourself? boy, the public sure has a crazy, high expectation of maxis doing something out of the ordinary for their customers. no more wonder, they can even succumb to snail mail the OS 3.0 to their customers This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jul 26 2009, 02:22 PM
nokia2003
Jul 26 2009, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(eekwan7 @ Jul 26 2009, 02:24 PM) how to connect?and how to download? btw i have a mac with me what? a MAC user? i will answer this final last bit. anymore identical ones, i will take it as trolling. *********************************** iTunes is MAC's native media player and you basically don't have to do anything (perhaps making sure it is at the latest version). then plug your iPhone 3G S to your MAC via the USB cable. follow the on screen instructions This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jul 26 2009, 02:29 PM
nokia2003
Jul 26 2009, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(lesliechan19 @ Jul 26 2009, 04:32 PM) what is the price you bought it in Sydney? Cuase my girlfriend study there, so i was thinking going to ask her help me grab 1. first postQUOTE(lesliechan19 @ Jul 26 2009, 05:05 PM) MYR-AUD
nokia2003
Jul 28 2009, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(cksia @ Jul 28 2009, 02:07 PM) Ya, dunno if they will charge the 2% on me when i collect the phone..if so i will have to bring a big stack of cash there... when a corporation/proprietor incorporates credit card as their principal mode of payment, they will not typically impose on you those 1/2/3% extra surcharge. because in their view, payment via credit card will ease their burden rather than, vice versa. however, if i'm allowed to speculate, maxis will not impose such charges (as it is not their norm to do something like that)
nokia2003
Jul 28 2009, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(Jicco @ Jul 28 2009, 02:25 PM) I have to bring the SIM card along? Oh my....I'm getting the phone as a surprise gift. Plan to get the phone earlier, so i can pimp it up before giving it to wifey.Hmm... mann... i applaud your ingenious idea! it sounds like something, that i would have done hence you and i belong to the same bloke variant