6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

LYN Gen2 Club V3, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

Dovienya
post Apr 27 2010, 12:07 PM

293 posts

Ok.. will check it out later this weekend
QUOTE(shazmn @ Apr 27 2010, 11:45 AM)
...have u checked the hinges behind your car back seat and also hinges from ur bonnet lock? wrap it with black tape to make it disappear...
9.1 still complain.. My 12-per-L also havent complain yawn.gif
QUOTE(dato79 @ Apr 27 2010, 12:04 PM)
aisehh men.. cry.gif  mine 9.1l/100km  wooo    cry.gif  cry.gif
Dovienya
post May 3 2010, 05:09 PM

293 posts

I spent 350$ and changed... The PSC ppl say it's 4-year old rotation, so change once "should" last me another 4 year. Note that I use the word "should" loosely, very loosely. tongue.gif
Dovienya
post May 3 2010, 05:35 PM

293 posts

You'll get new set of horn "button", instead of clockspring brows.gif

This post has been edited by Dovienya: May 3 2010, 05:35 PM
Dovienya
post May 4 2010, 10:35 AM

293 posts

Aircon Filter = 50$. I just changed it last service
Dovienya
post May 4 2010, 11:48 AM

293 posts

waaa.. no filter okay one ah?
Dovienya
post May 6 2010, 04:29 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(clsia1001 @ May 6 2010, 01:03 PM)
Hi all,

Anyone has any sound issue issue with G2?

1) There is rattling sounde from the dashboard (seem cause by aircond vent)
A) Standard problem. screw is lose. PSC will recommend to change aircond vent and charge u an arm.

2) When gear shift, will have some grrr grrr grrr steel sound (cannot trace where is the sound source)
A) I had this problem (occasionally) only when I switch from R to D. Service your Gearbox (if auto).

3) When turn left/over bump, back(tyre) got klunk sound
A) spring/suspension time-out. How old is your car? If more than 4years, possible the wear-and-tear is the cause.

4) How much to install a stabilizer bar (front 3 Points)?
A) didnt install.. Ask Shazmn.

5) Any nice/recommend SC to fix the sound issue?
A) PSC? or outside shop?

6) Any Gen2 club to join? biggrin.gif
A) The so-call official club biggrin.gif

Thanks for your reply.
Dovienya
post May 7 2010, 08:46 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ May 6 2010, 05:59 PM)
You changed before? how much?  hmm.gif
Nope, never changed it. Mine also got the sound; went to PSC for quotation and got shocked. tongue.gif .
End result: I switch my radio/CD volume higher, voila, no more sound from dashboard. tongue.gif
Dovienya
post May 7 2010, 09:34 AM

293 posts

Fuel indicator = cannot help. I can only advice that you manage your right leg and try your best to maintain constant speed. Constant pickup (Klang valley famous for this), stop-go-stop-go, jam = root cause of the high fuel consumption for Campro-based engine.

The gear drop (also known as "shiftdown") is the standard (and I might add "prized") feature for Gen2. If you're not used to it, you'll be frustrated; but for those of us ( whistling.gif ) who got used to it (and maybe mastered it tongue.gif whistling.gif ), we can do alot of high speed turning and driving that other cars normally wont do.

Edit: if you really want to solved the "shift-down", you would need to change the gearbox and ECU. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(TUV-hyperstar @ May 6 2010, 01:07 PM)
eh guys, i have a question for Gen.2 fuel consumption.

i am now using my sister's 2005 Gen.2 Auto for a week, most likely gonna use for another two weeks coz my beloved Waja CPS is now in workshop.

i noticed the fuel indicator is going from F to E at a very alarming rate. like, i pumped RM 66 full tank, now it shows half tank, but i travelled only 160km!

and what i find irritating about this car is when it goes down slope, it tends to drop gear, so there will be a sudden high revving.

any ideas to solve the above?
This post has been edited by Dovienya: May 7 2010, 09:35 AM
Dovienya
post May 7 2010, 10:14 AM

293 posts

Someone DIY It before. The screw is at the back of the vent, and hold the movable part together. One way of DIY is to put paper and stop the vent from moving. But I never try, so I cant help in this sense.

Your gearbox = 6000 KM shocking.gif ... new car ah? If new car, I donno how to help cause mine is about 6 years already and I've already missed a gearbox service cry.gif .

QUOTE(clsia1001 @ May 7 2010, 09:56 AM)
icon_question.gif
Dovienya
post May 7 2010, 02:49 PM

293 posts

I found the root problem to be design fault. After a while (wear-and-tear), the screw holding the vent in place become loose and cannot tighten the vent, thus the rattling sound. I was expecting somewhere betweeen 100$ ~ 200$ for a new screw and workmanship from PSC. But they quote me the entire aircond vent (costing more than 300$ shakehead.gif )

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ May 7 2010, 01:36 PM)
what a good solution tongue.gif

i thought changing the air-cond vent should be settle the rattling sound right?
they quote you whole dashboard ?  tongue.gif
To clsia1001,
My 6years old car also got it's share of problem; in summary:
Clockspring - 350$ , wear-and-tear
Power window - 100$ ++, (havent repair)
Timing belt - 400$++, wear-and-tear
Cabin roof cushion problem - 350$, minor water leakage
Brake pad - 50$? , wear-and-tear
Spring & Absorber - unknown$ , wear-and-tear (havent repair it yet)
others misc expenses

"unsolvable issue whistling.gif "
rattling sound in dashboard
rattling sound in back-passanger seat
rattling sound in driver door
wind sound in the car cabin
whistling.gif

p/s: if you want to show it to techician, ask him to follow you go driving, and drive around bout 80km/h .. the sound will appear sooner or later. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Dovienya: May 7 2010, 02:49 PM
Dovienya
post May 10 2010, 09:10 AM

293 posts

As mention, solution is to either tighten (all) the screwS in the dashboard or change the aircont vent.
Option 1 = because technician need to dismantle the entire dashboard, they'll tend to charge quite highly on the workmanship and may take up to 1 whole day just to complete the task. Plus, if they "forgot", the sound will re-appear.

Option 2 = similar to option 1 but add the cost of a new air cont vent. My price is from PSC (original, cut-throat price), not from spare-part shop; that is why it is more expensive than normal.

The rattling sound at back is commonly found at the hock of the rear seat, but mine also come from the third brake light.
QUOTE(stanleysia @ May 7 2010, 08:17 PM)
U found the root cause, did you found the solution also?  blush.gif
100 to 200 for the aircond vent? Why so expensive?   shocking.gif  shakehead.gif

rattling sound in back passenger seat - Is it because of the hock issue? (which can be fix by tapping the hock)
You are right. The downshift tend to raise the RPM even when it is not needed; thus lead to higher fuel consumption. Gen-2 (in my opinion, a.k.a current driving style) is not meant to be fuel effective but rather for optimized fuel-to-power ratio. So, even at stock (no money to "upgrade" tongue.gif ), my Gen2 is quite scary on the road.
Fuel consumption is very high for me (fully Klang Valley driver); averaging 10~11km/L ; full tank of 36L can drive me for about 280-300Km only.

QUOTE(TUV-hyperstar @ May 7 2010, 04:55 PM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  it's gonna cost a bomb to change the GB and ECU rite.... but i believe it is becoz of this shift down which cause the (unnecessary) high revving, resulting in high consumption.

may i ask u, what kind of fuel economy are you getting now? i am currently getting 27sen/km, based on RM 1.80 per liter.  vmad.gif
This post has been edited by Dovienya: May 10 2010, 09:15 AM
Dovienya
post May 10 2010, 05:08 PM

293 posts

Same price. Different brand* have different adaptive, or mixture-ratio; so some feel that certain brand is more powerful, burn longer (more fuel effective), etc etc.
QUOTE(diadokmai @ May 10 2010, 02:43 PM)
different brand, different prices? for ron95? izit it same price rm1.80/litre ? im a little lost in here. blink.gif
This post has been edited by Dovienya: May 10 2010, 05:39 PM
Dovienya
post May 11 2010, 09:01 AM

293 posts

I'm not a mechanic; thus I do not and can not confirm anything. What I can say is that when I went to PSC to check, they told me that they need to dismantle the dashboard first. Likewise, forumer here and in Gen2Club also mention something similar in this sense. There is no specific loose screw because it is wear-and-tear type of issue. Normally, all the screws need to be tighten.

If they damage the dashboard, you can actually ask them to pay back.. Where did you go? PSC or "outside" shop? Do they actually know how to solve the problem or not?

I know alot of shop and owner. Friend-friend ok, normal service ok; but sometime, I dont trust them as much especially when it come to car-specific or electronic problem (such as ECU or Gen2's rattling sound). I'm driving a year2004 Gen2, so I cannot compare my "wife" with your CPS edition. Maybe it is the same, maybe not. Only PSC or specialist can tell the differences

I read somewhere that the air-cond vent is bout 200-300$? Cannot confirm cause I check my price at PSC. You can go check price at spare part shop.

My suggestion is that since you're going to DIY dismantle the dashboard, then no need to buy air-cond vent. Because the vent is not spoil, just that the screw are loose due to vibration and wear-and-tear. Non-DIY style can bring to accessory shop and ask them to tighten it, but (till date) I didnt go get quotation from accessory shop

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ May 10 2010, 07:42 PM)
Dovienya ,

Dashboard need to dismantle in order to change the air-cond vents?  ...
QUOTE(stanleysia @ May 10 2010, 10:57 PM)
Now the question: How do I know which screw is 'loose'? Not sure if the Campro & CPS version are same air cond vent design, but mine (CPS version), I saw the way they took out the air cont vent is by 'dig' it out  shocking.gif  doh.gif , and after that it will appear a paint chip off at the housing there  vmad.gif  mad.gif

Do you know how much an air cond vent cost (If we going to DIY)?  hmm.gif
When I buy my 2004-Gen2 two year ago(4 year old car), the millage is only 40K km.
The salesman is a high-school friends of mine, and the owner of my "wife" is his wife's friend (ji mui).
She took the car to work only; weekends got BF to drive her around.
It's good (very good) to have "contact" with alot of people. laugh.gif
QUOTE(Conroe @ May 11 2010, 03:22 AM)
Yeah..it was suspicious at first but when saw the tires still new,interior damn clean and the seat still tough,i convin myself and buy it. tongue.gif
Power... I also only do 3-D-3-D (numbers anyone? laugh.gif) ... But, ahlong, did you add GB cooler (the tube)?
They say our gearbox quite hot one if we play with gears alot. Also, your maintenance for GB is constant-on-schedule? Or you miss one-two schedule here-and-there like me?
QUOTE(ahlong @ May 11 2010, 08:32 AM)
hmm for the gearshift timing i dono la coz i never drive D only.. i shift the gear from L 2 3 D since shazmn teach me how to use my campro + at gb..

maybe shazmn can explain about it??? please shazmn sayang??
Scary FC ratio.... sweat.gif
QUOTE(ahlong @ May 11 2010, 08:45 AM)
....after that change to bhp until now.. rm20 can tahan 3days.. if u want me to tell u the fc meter.. 15.8/L hahahahaha
This post has been edited by Dovienya: May 11 2010, 09:09 AM
Dovienya
post May 11 2010, 11:16 AM

293 posts

Shazmn insaf oledi???? shocking.gif
QUOTE(shazmn @ May 11 2010, 10:02 AM)
but nowadays i insaf oledi so drive slow oni...fc maintain at 13-15/L laugh.gif
From the look of thing, the best Fuel-saving method is still speed-limiter tongue.gif. Maybe I should also concentrate on this method tongue.gif
*back to serious* each time u service ATF = how much ? my last ATF service cost me bout 200$++ already (if not mistaken) cry.gif
QUOTE(ahlong @ May 11 2010, 10:58 AM)
ya with ATF Cooler inside..
my maintenance:
change my ATF fluid every 20k with DEXRON III type fluid (Penzoil fully-syn).. not the OEM proton SP III kot?

i never believe my fc meter..

if maintain 110km/h - 6.3/L (this one if my adjustable speedlimit (wife) inside the car hahaha)
city driving (working days) - 15.9/L
if afraid red punchcard - 18 - 19/L
Dovienya
post May 12 2010, 07:45 AM

293 posts

Note to all: Dont FLY pass Speed BUMP mad.gif

Scenario: Typical KL Driver... Full COMPLETE STOP AT ALL SPEED BUMP sweat.gif . Driving at 20-30km/hour. sweat.gif ; Just before peak hour, when rest of the world is rushing to avoid peak hour traffic jam. I got pissed and decide to overtake this Japanese car. This morning, no black oil indicator light up. Check = no black oil.
Check my parking lot = alot of black oil leaked out cry.gif

Repair cost is going to kill. Anyone know roughly what is the root and cost? cry.gif
Dovienya
post May 12 2010, 08:18 AM

293 posts

money issue, bro.
If seal is cheap, can seal first (temp solution) until got money to buy new oilsump

How much is the price for oilsump (estimation) and for the sealing action?

Also, what is an oilsump? unsure.gif

QUOTE(ahlong @ May 12 2010, 08:17 AM)
aiya.. pity u.. next time dont rush eventho u're realllllllllyyyy late.. bad things gonna happen tho..

try check with workshop if can seal or not.. but my advice, dont seal ur oilsump coz later will bocor again.. change to new one.. persona type.. like mine.. tinggi abit and save from any bumps for now..
Dovienya
post May 12 2010, 02:49 PM

293 posts

ohh.. no wonder the mechanic say have to take out exhaust pipe as well..
Dovienya
post May 25 2010, 08:49 AM

293 posts

your kaw er6n (donno what car/vehicle) is totally different from Gen2 brows.gif
QUOTE(ben_panced @ May 25 2010, 08:36 AM)
hahah, i can tahan la.. even my kaw er6n i didnt mod the exhaust system..  icon_idea.gif
Dovienya
post May 26 2010, 08:54 AM

293 posts

I think it's Persona instead of Gen2
QUOTE(BelowAverage @ May 26 2010, 01:57 AM)
my dad say he read paper say gen 2 got new face lift??
Dovienya
post May 31 2010, 08:36 AM

293 posts

After register, you're allowed to public "area".
Then have to pay yearly fee to see the details "area".
QUOTE(s@ni @ May 30 2010, 02:58 AM)

Added on May 30, 2010, 3:03 amThe topic or board you are looking for appears to be either missing or off limits to you.

adeh, nih siap ade limit2 ni, dah register pun ade limit gak..  sweat.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0451sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:29 PM