LYN Gen2 Club V3, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

Dovienya
post May 31 2010, 02:53 PM

293 posts

not sure. maybe 50$ or so.
It's the official Gen2 forum. There are others Gen2 based forum. Just hunt around wink.gif
QUOTE(Conroe @ May 31 2010, 02:35 PM)
Waa...paid forum geh...how much yearly?
Dovienya
post Jun 24 2010, 03:14 PM

293 posts

Guys, noob question abit...

I think my absorber(?) or spring is getting worn-and-tear already.. 6 years car, and I think prev owner didnt change. Symptoms are lack of balance/floating at mid/high speed (boat like). I haven try the "pump-action" checking on the absorber. I check with the mechanics (1-2 months ago during prev service), and he say no sign of oil leakage, so should be okay to drive.

My question is : if I need to change absorber, do I need to change the spring as well (and vice-versa)? or is these 2 item mutually exclusive?

Another question : Can I change the faulty part only, or it is best advised to change all 4 at the same time?

TQ
icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Dovienya: Jun 24 2010, 03:24 PM
Dovienya
post Jun 25 2010, 08:17 AM

293 posts

So, I can change the absorbar w/o changing the spring (and vice-versa)?
The "press-and-see-if-the-car-float-like-a-boat" test is to test the absorbar or spring?

TQ
Dovienya
post Jun 30 2010, 11:48 AM

293 posts

gen2 got abs system meh?

or 3rd party installation?

mine no abs-system, so when talk bout abs+gen2 = i naturally think absorbar.. haha
Dovienya
post Jul 13 2010, 09:16 AM

293 posts

Honk can work? If cannot, maybe it is the clockspring?
or maybe it is the battery (tear-and-wear and become weak)?
p/s: ramadan soon, everyone "saving money" . laugh.gif
QUOTE(shiniraz @ Jul 12 2010, 08:06 PM)
Geng,
This morning my radio can't turned ON... when i reached my office, the radio still can't be turned ON.. but after i turn off and restart the engine..it came back to life(can ON)!!!

Other symptoms, when i click the volume button(to decrease volume) on the steering, it become mute(rather than decrease the volume)..
Is it wiring, fuse, or battery prob??

Car Details : 1.6 Auto : 2 1/2 yrs : 44K km : Never change the battery yet. (Next service on 45K km)

Terima kaseyh ~
(5 days without any post, where's everybody gone missing?  sweat.gif )
In another note:
Anyone know if the CPS editions uses black-base headlamp?
(If yes and) if I get the black base headlamp from CS edition, can plug and play on the ori -no CPS gen2 (first batch edition)?

TQ
Dovienya
post Jul 13 2010, 01:38 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(shiniraz @ Jul 13 2010, 01:02 PM)
You maybe correct.. after further reading.. found this :

Source:http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=51003

I'm not facing the no 1 symptom yet.. but surely the other 2...
Last time when i checked at PSC mutiara damansara, they want to charge me RM1K ++ to change the steering rack all together..
deymn!

Now maybe will ask them to check for the clockspring.. hopefully the price is better..

Thanks Dovienya!
Dont bother changing the steering rack in PSC. If you go spare part shop, you'll know why I say dont bother wink.gif.
The first sympton only happen when it dies. As long as it hasnt die, it wont happen.

The (actual) first sympton is how old is your car? Clockspring have a lifespan of 4years. Mine last until the 5th year before it does. Changing it in PCS cost me 400$++ (if not mistaken).
Dovienya
post Jul 13 2010, 02:51 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(shiniraz @ Jul 13 2010, 02:23 PM)
Only 2 and a half years bro.. but the squeaking/scratching sound was there long time ago(when i asked PSC to check, they said no prob..just add some oil)..
just recently the volume ctrl button gone crazy and the radio cant be turned on....
if you can manually turn on the radio at the console, then the clockspring should be an issue. If you cannot turn on volumn/radio at the console, then it might not be the clockspring.

Added on July 13, 2010, 2:52 pm
QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Jul 13 2010, 01:52 PM)
I believe is Plug and Play,
should be nothing change outside,
just inside become black base...  blush.gif
Actually, what is the different between black base and white base? Just the outlook?
And how they do the black base? Open the headlamp, colour it then re-seal the headlamp?

TQ

This post has been edited by Dovienya: Jul 13 2010, 02:52 PM
Dovienya
post Jul 14 2010, 09:26 AM

293 posts

How to know if it is painted or factory fitted?
Ask the seller? or we can check ourselves?

In another note, (to AT driver) anyone facing problem with "un"-smooth gear change? I've change my AFT last dec (less than 1 year; roughly 10,000km) but it's getting more jerky nowadays, especially in the morning (cold-first start).
Any suggestion if I should aim to flush the gearbox as well or not? I only change the ATF (never did flush it before).
My car is the year 2004's Gen2 (first batch)
Dovienya
post Jul 21 2010, 01:44 PM

293 posts

Guys,

Wondering if suspension system is absorbar+spring; or is suspension system different from absorbar+spring?

TQ
Dovienya
post Jul 22 2010, 08:23 AM

293 posts

I'm starting to hear some mouse-like-squeaking sound coming from the front right side of my car after the change of absorbar and mounting. Anyone has any idea what this sound might be? I've change my timing belt roughly 2 year ago, so it shouldnt be timing belt, right?
Dovienya
post Jul 23 2010, 10:27 AM

293 posts

idling = never tried.
but it squeak when driving slow. not always, only some time.
Also, the faster i drive, the more often the squeaking sound appear.

Tension bearing shouldnt be the issue, right? cause it is in the same package when we change timing belt?

Dovienya
post Aug 9 2010, 08:26 AM

293 posts

off topic: i notice (at least) we two have the same taste in phone and car.. muahaha
QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Aug 8 2010, 01:32 PM)
Dovienya
post Aug 12 2010, 08:21 AM

293 posts

Nope, dont think captor got this service pre-built into gen2.

QUOTE(shiniraz @ Aug 12 2010, 12:16 AM)
the "demo" guy must be a team that come together in a kancil car with pricey "touch-to-start" security system aight?
They have approached me several time and insist to install their product on the spot. wth.

But the demo they did was quite impressive..
but i keep on thinking, will the captor alert us in this kind of scenario? (force entry).
Dovienya
post Sep 15 2010, 10:18 AM

293 posts

sweat.gif All use short-form; how to have fan wor?

p/s: I donno much bout year 2005, so cant comment tongue.gif

Dovienya
post Nov 8 2010, 09:15 AM

293 posts

Late reply..
If got stop, then it means it is working ok. cause it will cooldown the engine even if we stop and pull out the car key.
If it doesnt stop, then (my case being) it is the battery. Weak battery, didnt send the signal to stop the fan.
QUOTE(kancilprodua @ Nov 4 2010, 10:06 AM)
ada masalh sikit nak tanya la, Gen2 model 2004, sejak 3 hari lepas kipas radiator x mau mati bile enjin dah off...lebih kurang dekat 2 minit br mati...naper jd mcm tu pulak ek?

Added on November 8, 2010, 9:18 amMine doesnt seem to have problem with undercarriage hitting speed bump. Standard bump = ok. Sometime I feel that the car is higher.
But those non-standard speed bump = no choice lo. have to slow down.

What I got was a cracked oil sump by going pass those non-standard speed bump. Expensive repairs. Reseal (temporarily solutions) $100++ . New oil sump (persona version) $400++

This post has been edited by Dovienya: Nov 8 2010, 09:18 AM

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0461sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:27 PM