Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

Shinichi
post Jul 25 2009, 07:34 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Benefits

* 0% Finance Charge from now till December 2009*
    * Low Finance Charge of only 9% p.a. from January 2010. All you have to do is promptly settle your minimum payment of 5% or a minimum of RM25.
    * 5x Membership Rewards points for every Ringgit spent on groceries, petrol, bookstores - Kinokuniya, Borders, Times and MPH - and telco charges via Express Autopay - Celcom, Digi, Maxis and Telekom.
    * 2x Membership Rewards points for all spend elsewhere.
    * Lifetime Fee Waiver with complimentary supplementary cards.

For MBB Amex Gold, RM1 = 2 MR points?

Between TreatsPoints and MR points, in term of exchanging points to gifts which has higher value or they are the same?

Added on July 25, 2009, 7:54 pmIs there any fee to enroll in MR program? for MBB Amex Gold, we are auto enrolled in MR program?
Info I get from Amex MR site:
http://www.amexmalaysia.com.my/amx_info/am...mbershipRewards

3. Fees

1. Frequent Traveller Option
      There is an annual fee of RM 50 (for Personal and Gold Card Members) and RM 100 (for Corporate Card Members) for participation in the Programme with Frequent Traveller Option. Maybank will bill the Cardmember's account on the Enrolment Date and annually thereafter (except in the case of reinstatement, where it will be billed on the reinstatement date.) The Fee is non-refundable unless the Cardmember requests cancellation of enrolment no later than 30 days after anniversary date. Maybank will cancel enrolment if the Fee is not paid within 45 days after the date of the statement on which the Fee is first billed.
  2. Programme without Frequent Traveller Option
      There is an annual fee of RM 25 (for Personal and Gold Card Members only) for enrolment in the Programme without Frequent Traveller Option.
This post has been edited by Shinichi: Jul 25 2009, 08:07 PM
Shinichi
post Jul 27 2009, 12:09 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 26 2009, 10:17 PM)
Good question as AMEX Gold CC online is via M2U where as Charged Card online log in at AMEX Website.

I just signed up for M2U for my AMEX Gold CC and notice that my reward points are stated as TP.

So, just called CS at 1800889559, CS confirmed that for AMEX Gold CC also refer to AMEX's website reward catalogue when doing redemption with MR.
Is there any fee for MR? I read from Amex site there's an annual charge to enroll in MR.
Shinichi
post Jul 27 2009, 12:17 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 12:10 AM)
@Shinichi,
It's FOC if Ur holding a Gold Card and above.
Correct me if im wrong, base on info from link below, gold card is auto enrolled in Frequest Traveller Option.

Then in TnC item 3 it state Annual fee of RM50. Quite confusing here rclxub.gif

3. Fees

1. Frequent Traveller Option
      There is an annual fee of RM 50 (for Personal and Gold Card Members) and RM 100 (for Corporate Card Members) for participation in the Programme with Frequent Traveller Option. Maybank will bill the Cardmember's account on the Enrolment Date and annually thereafter (except in the case of reinstatement, where it will be billed on the reinstatement date.) The Fee is non-refundable unless the Cardmember requests cancellation of enrolment no later than 30 days after anniversary date. Maybank will cancel enrolment if the Fee is not paid within 45 days after the date of the statement on which the Fee is first billed.
  2. Programme without Frequent Traveller Option
      There is an annual fee of RM 25 (for Personal and Gold Card Members only) for enrolment in the Programme without Frequent Traveller Option.
Shinichi
post Jul 27 2009, 12:26 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 12:23 AM)
@Shinichi,
OopSs.... Yes Frequent Traveller Option - am not sure what that option is again; sudah forgot.  I'm auto enrolled so I never bothered tongue.gif  Sorry ah!  Lemme try to read up on it and get back to U biggrin.gif
Hmmm maybe someone who is using this option for more than 1 year can clarify if there's any fee? Is it waive-able?

Anyway thanks in advance for any help smile.gif
Shinichi
post Jul 27 2009, 12:52 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 12:31 AM)
@Shinichi,
This Frequent Traveller Option thingy is the MR reward program right?  If it is, then U'll haf to pay and the RM50 is not waivable.  However, the Gold Amex CC should come with it; no need for additional payment mah.

Let me read the website and reconfirm it [eh.. why don't U go read the website?]
Yes, I did some reading and info provided are not very clear. Eg: MBB Amex Gold, they do not state whether we are enrolled in FTO (Frequent Traveler Option), but in Amex's site, it state gold cards are auto enrolled and there's RM50 fee.
Even Amex Gold is FFL, they might able to charge us fee via MR Program.

Haha guess I need to spend more time to fully read up all available info from Amex site and see if I can get any clarifications.

Thanks smile.gif
Shinichi
post Aug 3 2009, 11:48 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Aug 3 2009, 11:24 PM)
Anyone here is a HLB Credit card agent or know any reliable agent? Im having problem to terminate my credit card and waive its annual fee.

The problem started when i receive a statement with annual fee charged into my 2 months old un-active credit card. I was shock and quickly go to a nearest HLB to cancel my card and get my waiver. Then the bank's finance personel contacted me and confirm my cancelation and do the waiver for me and till now its been 3 month and in this 3 months i still keep receive their statement together with the annual fee increasing every month vmad.gif and everytime i call them up they say they will have it done but nothing has been done.

Anyone facing this problem, i cancel my maybank card b4.. and they will send a letter of confirmation that i've cancel the account but HLB didnt send me anything.

I am about to go to their head office and demand they cancel it immediately, but im in penang and its quite inconvenient for me to do that.

Any suggestion ? icon_question.gif
I face the same thing as you before... my inactve 4 months old card are being charged annual fee. I immediately called the CS and they say i need to swipe the cards 2 times in order for them to waive. I do accordingly and cancelled my cards as soon as the fees are waived.

However I still receive statement from HLB everymonth. I think this is because I have -5 cents balance in my card.

Where is your location in Penang? I believe there are few branches in Penang.
Remember to request them give you photocopy of cancelled card statement for reference purposes.

HLB, i will not touch their card ever again. Its like they are forcing us to use their card.
Shinichi
post Aug 11 2009, 08:34 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, can I still apply for MBB Amex Gold if my annual income is 30k?
Anyone know how much is the credit limit required for this card if to apply using existing CC?

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Shinichi
post Aug 11 2009, 10:12 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Aug 11 2009, 09:10 AM)
i applied using my MBB petronas with 15k CL.
Not sure what's the minumum
QUOTE(mengfui @ Aug 11 2009, 09:46 AM)
Normally they will still ask for your pay slip after you enclose your existing credit card copy.  If your existing MBB cc have minimum 6k limit above will be save. smile.gif
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 11 2009, 12:59 PM)
So did they approve your application for the AMEX Gold credit card ?
No need to submit your pay slip anymore if you're going to apply a credit card using existing credit card. Was told last time i went to get the AMEX Gold credit card application form. But my question is, will Maybank accept our 6-month old credit card as a reference ? Because apparently Public Bank do. So i wondered if it is ok with Maybank ? Any idea ?
Thanks for the replies. My CL only 6k and my income is 30k pa. Gonna try my luck apply MBB Amex Gold CC using my existing DA or MBB Petronas card. Hope can get approved. If cant get approved, maybe need to apply it as a graduate tongue.gif
Shinichi
post Aug 19 2009, 11:03 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 19 2009, 12:31 AM)
Huh ? Your annual gross salary is less than RM18,000 ? Then you are not qualified for HSBC classic credit card either. In fact, if your annual gross salary is less than RM18,000, then you are not qualified for any credit card in Malaysia.

The other way to get a credit card is to pledge by Time Deposit (Fixed Deposit - FD). Among the banks that offer this are :
- Public Bank (RM10,000 of TD will get RM10,000 of CL)
- AmBank  (RM10,000 of TD will get RM10,000 of CL)
- HSBC (RM10,000 of TD will get only RM8,000 of CL)

I think you can also try with RM5000 with local banks.
For CC applied through TD, will there be any annual fees?
Shinichi
post Aug 27 2009, 11:47 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 27 2009, 11:41 PM)
I do get the points from hypermarket purchases (credited last month July) when it was billed to my credit card.
Still curious why they need to add points then deduct it back... confusing  rclxub.gif  shocking.gif
Happy Birthday Ronnie! smile.gif

I guess by default their system will give point for every spending. But for current promotion since they are giving 2-5% rebate, they'll have "deduct" those points or else they will make loss...

Shinichi
post Sep 8 2009, 08:50 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Yay got my MBB Amex Gold today. rclxm9.gif
About the back 3 digit code, do they work the same as Visa/Master, for online purchase verification purpose?
Shinichi
post Sep 8 2009, 09:03 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 8 2009, 08:57 PM)
AMEX uses the small 4-digit in the front; above the card number.
Thanks David. So guess there's not need for me to rub off the 3 digit code at the back then.
Anyway what is the usage for the 3 digit code?

Added on September 8, 2009, 9:41 pmTried to Google for answer regarding Amex 3 digit code at back but couldn't find any answers yet... guess the code just stay as a distraction so others would think they are actual CVV.

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Sep 8 2009, 09:41 PM
Shinichi
post Sep 8 2009, 11:10 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, for MBB credit card owner do you return signed copy of acknowledgment form back to MBB after you received your new card?

Can we use the card if we do not return? Will there be any problem?

Shinichi
post Sep 8 2009, 11:39 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 8 2009, 11:28 PM)
Usually I pick the card from branch.

I believe that I did sign some forms during the pick up. smile.gif
Thanks David smile.gif

For those who got your MBB Cards via post, do you return the acknowledgement form?
Shinichi
post Sep 13 2009, 10:34 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

To all new MBB Amex Gold CC owner, are most of you using MR points for cash rebates? Just curious how frequent do you call Amex 1800 line to convert MR points to rebates. Do you do so after received monthly statement?

Added on September 13, 2009, 10:37 am
QUOTE(winner @ Sep 13 2009, 08:51 AM)
I am a bit surprised too. Ever since the system is so advanced and could detect non-halal entertainment outlets? Perhaps the cardholders could try dining at high-end restaurants and hotels, and order wine or liquor. Do let us know the outcome.  smile.gif
I guess each card terminal has an ID and bank have records of all card terminals in order to collect payments. I think bank also keep record of what business type each terminal ID belongs to in order to filter non-halal terminal from able to swipe...

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Sep 13 2009, 10:37 AM
Shinichi
post Sep 13 2009, 01:58 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, would like to know more regarding CC overseas transaction. Currently MBB offers the lowest admin charge at 0.5% is this correct?
Let say if I charge SGD$ 100 in Singapore using my MBB Master/Visa, is the charge equals to ($100 x exchange rate) x 0.5?
Shinichi
post Sep 13 2009, 02:40 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 13 2009, 02:26 PM)
Yes ... a rough estimate would be like that. Note that several forummer have posted this info before ... the final amount would not be precisely @ 0.5%, it will be a number between 0.5%-0.8% perhaps. Why and how this occurs ... I have no idea.  rclxub.gif  The actual calculation method/breakdown is only known to the bank. Even calling the CS would not help as they have no visibility over the actual breakdown.
Thanks Hye smile.gif
MBB is my only choice of CC if I ever to spend overseas via CC. Since it has the lowest admin charge compare to other bank cards that I own.

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Sep 13 2009, 03:01 PM
Shinichi
post Sep 13 2009, 09:36 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Sep 13 2009, 07:03 PM)
Alliance bank 0% charge
Thanks bro, but too bad I do not own Alliance bank CC.
I'll settle with my MBB Petronas then. smile.gif
Shinichi
post Sep 13 2009, 10:15 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, anyone know if Prudential accepts Amex CC for monthly premium payment?

0.0536sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:31 PM