Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 16 2009, 07:22 AM

12,696 posts

On overseas transaction charges. The only bank I know of that doesn't charge extra is Alliance Bank card. DA used to be 0% but now also impose charges.

Added on July 16, 2009, 7:25 am
QUOTE(changjie83 @ Jul 15 2009, 10:43 PM)
does principle and supplementary can have separated account summary? i always get a nag when i purchase something.
Not sure what you mean.

But most bank will have a separate page for supplementary card transaction but they will all be send inside the same envelope.

The only 2 bank that I know having separate credit limit for supplementary cards are DA and Alliance. In other word, the principle card holder can specify what credit limit to give to their supplementary card (out of his own total credit limit).

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 16 2009, 07:25 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 16 2009, 10:56 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 16 2009, 07:32 AM)
Actually most banks can impose a limit on the supp based on the principle's instructions. While some will have a separate statement for each supp, only PBB allows the option for the supp's statement to be sent separately to the supp directly  tongue.gif
Not true. I wanted that feature and called HSBC and Standard Chartered and both said can not.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 16 2009, 01:29 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 16 2009, 08:50 AM)
Question : Oversea transaction fee is standard or determine by bank of issuer ? I called Miaubank just now, and they confirmed there is "NO OVERSEA TRANSACTION FEE".  rclxub.gif
I think we are talking about 2 types of charges.

1. Foreign currency conversion rate and whatever extra VISA/Mastercard charges is beyond our control.

2. What the various Malaysian bank charges ON TOP of what VISA/Mastercard charges. Does not matter what they wanted to call it, transaction charges, processing fees or whatever. AFAIK, these charges from Malaysian bank ranges from 0% to 2%.

On the latter. DA (and presumably CIMB as well) used to be 0% but now is 1%. The only 1 I know that still charges 0% is Alliance.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 16 2009, 03:38 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 16 2009, 03:16 PM)
not necessary.

even classic also can have RM10K CL.
I have seen Classic with 20 to 30K. Some people deliberately do not want to be seen with Gold and Platinum.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 17 2009, 10:03 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 17 2009, 08:58 AM)
scare? then downgrade.  laugh.gif
Yap. That is exactly what I did. My most often used card is a classic with RM3K limit, especially for restaurant and online purchases. My other platinum is for the just-in-case situation.

Added on July 17, 2009, 10:04 am
QUOTE(winner @ Jul 17 2009, 09:12 AM)
Yes, Alliance has improved a lot now. Early last week, I requested the bank to replace my Younique with Plat instead, as I wanna get 2x points for overseas transactions. And I received the cc 1 week later. But its efficiency is still a far cry if compared to Citi. Give them some time.
Yap. Citi is very efficient in getting money from you that they are not entitled to. Like charging you late payment fee when there are no late payment. Many friends have been there many times so it is not an isolated incident.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 17 2009, 10:04 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 17 2009, 11:38 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 17 2009, 10:21 AM)
However I will not downgrade to gold card because I have to improve in life and not walk backwards.
Just becareful in handling your CC.
What has color of card got to do with walking backward? Some classic card credit limit is more than Gold's

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 17 2009, 06:28 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 17 2009, 06:05 PM)
Just to add, benefits and offers that comes along with the card is most important.
Different people looks for different thing in a card. For me, the most important are:
1. No annual fees.
2. I hated reward points. Just give me some of my money back aka rebates. Nothing feel better than cool cash cool2.gif

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 18 2009, 09:28 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(rafizi @ Jul 18 2009, 09:06 AM)
I was also victim of fraud but right here in our country. I suspect it happened during my stay in one of the hotels in Sabah. Even with the chip, ppl can still use your card for online shopping. I suspect the hotel guys copied down my card details including the 3 digit code. They also know my billing address because it is required in the hotel registration form. Total damage was about RM9000. I faxed my complaint to maybank card centre listing down all the fraud transactions, mostly for Air Asia ticket, MYEG and funnily something from a sports shop in UK, must be baju bola hehe. Maybank corrected the issue in just about a week, excellent!
Now you know why I have a Classic card with only RM3K credit limit cool2.gif

The bank had offered to increase the limit but I have always declined. That is my most often used card and I don't care what people think of my status as long as I can sleep easier at night.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 18 2009, 04:15 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(fauzistt @ Jul 18 2009, 02:20 PM)
i was so fond of SBB back then, small bank, not many customers unlike Maybank or BBMB (Cimb)
(the teller remember my name though i went there one or twice only per month)...
Till today, I still reckon I got the best customer service from Direct Access as compared to my other card company. Some don't work 24/7. So if you have problem with card late in the evening, there is nobody to assist you.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 18 2009, 06:33 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Jul 18 2009, 05:19 PM)
I love CIMB customer service...my call gets picked up in less than 3 rings...
Yap. And it is a real person talking to you, not some irritating answering machine asking you to push this or select that.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 19 2009, 02:55 PM

12,696 posts

Slightly different question.

Assuming you have a credit limit of RM10K. But for a certain purchase, you needed to spend RM30K on the card. So can you:

1. Paid into your credit card account RM20K and you can swipe RM30K on the card now?

I was told some overseas card do not allow that. What about Malaysia?
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 20 2009, 08:21 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 19 2009, 10:38 PM)
Call the bank for temporary credit limit increase... problem solved.
Increase credit limit from RM10K to RM30K or RM40K? I don't think so. Increase from RM10K to something like RM15K on temporary basis, may be.

Added on July 20, 2009, 8:23 am
QUOTE(zenquix @ Jul 19 2009, 08:36 PM)
I just did it with MBB recently. Just have to clear your outstanding balance to clear the credit limit. You can deposit via CDM or Maybank2u up to your outstanding balance to clear it. You can deposit more than your outstanding balance via CDM (in case u know of future purchases that will blow your limit). This does not work for limits locked in by EzyPay though.
Assuming you have credit limit of RM10K. You spend and paid the bank, you ended up with RM10K again.

But what if you wanted to use RM30K in ONE GO? Your method does not work. And if you deposit RM20K into the bank, I know some overseas bank still list your credit limit as RM10K in their system so yet again, you can't swipe RM30K in ONE GO.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 20 2009, 08:23 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2009, 11:12 AM

12,696 posts

Always try to withdraw using your ATM card (must have either the Cirrus or PLUS logo) from overseas ATM machine.

Charges range from:
Zero. For HSBC Premier ATM card from any overseas HSBC ATM machine. I am sure citibank will have something similar.

RM5. Normal HSBC ATM card from any overseas HSBC ATM machine.

RM10-12. For most cards from any overseas ATM machine.

Using credit card to withdraw will result in 5% extra charge on top of the above charges. So use it as a last resort.

As for foreign currency exchange rate. Mastercard (include Cirrus) and Visa (include PLUS) rate are pretty good. Majority of the time, better than from bank counter or bank draft or Telex transfer or money exchange kiosk.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 19 2009, 11:13 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2009, 07:01 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(TsYap @ Aug 19 2009, 06:41 PM)
can go for direct acess for it as offering 2% for all petrol station.
From 1-July to 31-Dec-09, it will be 5% on the 1st day of every month and from any petrol station.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 23 2009, 10:00 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 22 2009, 10:19 AM)
AMEX is not widely acceptable in Malaysia compared to Visa and Mastercard.
I cut mine in half many years ago when i found a huge USA company does not accept it. That company is Dell computer.

Added on August 23, 2009, 10:01 am
QUOTE(aeronlim @ Aug 23 2009, 12:20 AM)
Consider these cards

CIMB Direct Access - 2% Petrol Rebate (all Petrol Station)
AMEX Gold CC - 5x Membership Rewards point (all Petrol Station)
Citibank Shell Credit Card VISA - up to 5% Rebate

There are some more cards... but these cards above is evergreen promotion, which means until further notice
From now till end-Dec 2009, Direct Access gives you 5% on 1st day of every month for petrol from all station.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 23 2009, 10:01 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 23 2009, 11:12 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 23 2009, 11:03 AM)
Dell Malaysia does accept Amex lah, which Dell country you talking about? I did buy my notebook with Dell using AMEX about 2 years ago.

http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/topics/top...hs&~section=020
Not when I first bought my Dell in 1999. That was the time I cut mine in half.

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 24 2009, 07:00 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Aug 24 2009, 02:28 AM)
just realize my scb visa business give me rebates 0.5% on any retail transaction (exclude peterol) & choice points at the same time...
Alliance give you up to 1.3+% cash back rebate (any transaction) on money spent up to RM5000. They also give me some points but I never get around to finding what are those points for.

BTW, between Platinum Mastercard and Visa from SCB, which is better?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 24 2009, 07:01 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 25 2009, 07:15 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 24 2009, 10:11 PM)
Those who say AMEX is not accepted by most merchants are losing out by not getting the AMEX Gold CC because when one does the calculation for 5X rewards, it is equivalent to minimum 2.5% cash back.
How do you work out that 2.5% calculation? Do they actually give you cash back? Or in lieu of some over-priced goods?

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 25 2009, 09:39 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Aug 25 2009, 09:04 AM)
based on 200 MR points = RM1 for pay with points here
RM40 (5x points = 200) can get RM1 back, so it's 2.5%

of course you can redeem for RM50 vouchers which require less than 10k MR points
i don't see why anyone wants to redeem RM50 vouchers which require more than 10k though sweat.gif
I went to the website you pointed. It says:
1. Every RM1 you spend on the Card earns you TWO Membership Rewards point
2. Every 200 MR points = RM1

Assuming you spend RM5000.
1. It gives you 10,000 points.
2. 10,000 points give you RM50 or a net cash back of 1%. This is less than Alliance bank's 1.36% for same amount of money.

So where does it say RM1 = 5 points and is this for only a limited period? I am always interested in money so like to know more.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 25 2009, 09:40 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 25 2009, 11:39 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Aug 25 2009, 10:19 AM)
Ya, agree with you, the 5x don't have time limit, even i spend RM 10 at Carrefour, i still get 50 point. Petrol and groceries can't be avoid in our life, the AMEX Gold CC gives all the purchase at there 5x point, other bank didn't offer such good promotion. Other than that 2x point also can mean 1.0% cash rebate, Optiplex330 can u find a bank offer a normal cash rebate rate more than 1.0% (no expire time)?
Regarding Telekom, does it include normal house telephone and Streamyx? If yes, does TM got any auto-debit facility charging to AMEX?

As for annual fee, it is only free for 3 yrs and then it is RM238 so that will take some wind out of this card. And I hate having to ask for exemption because it felt like begging.

AFAIK, Alliance has no expire date. But as mentioned, the rebate are tiered and only up to RM5000 (1.36% all in).

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0578sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:02 PM