Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

vin_ann
post Jul 13 2009, 08:35 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 13 2009, 10:05 AM)
@David83,
Hey thanks for the information!

Btw I just checked it out, it looks like they'll be giving on-the-spot approval for Amex too!  Looks like I could just go get my card applied there; plus if I spend RM50 I get some freebies.

Eh btw.. just wanna check with U people - since the TF is going to take place from Thurs-Sun - are prices going to be different like in PC Fair whereby things MAY get cheaper on Sun or what?

--Added--
I've gone through the entire catalogue; nothing seems too interesting but they can't be putting everything into the catalogue I'm sure.  Anyhow, they also didn't state amount of MR points needed to make redemption.
yeah... tht what im going to do it... apply it... either got it on the spot o fail! sweat.gif

--Added--
@ Tinkerbel

yes, the on-the spot approval will be give temporary card which is only can be use within the TP fair compound! you would not able to swipe your temporary card outside the compound.

your actual card will be ready in 1 week time, which can be collect from your identified Maybank branch.

last year, they mentioned 60 minutes approval, and will notify you via SMS then u can come to collect the card. Due to overwhelming demand, the collecting process is dammm long!

This post has been edited by vin_ann: Jul 13 2009, 08:41 PM
vin_ann
post Jul 15 2009, 12:27 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 15 2009, 07:53 AM)
But I talked to a banker at Maybank CC Centre at Menara Maybank. They said can be transferred to another existing card. They also said that the TP is in a large sum of basket and doesn't matter where the points are tied to.

This is so contradicting to what I got from Maybank CS (via phone). They also affirmed me that if Maybank CS cannot transfer the points; they asked me to go back to them (banker at CC centre) to perform it manually.

I'm so confused with this now.
u shd call 2-3 Maybank CS (via phone).

vin_ann
post Jul 15 2009, 05:54 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 15 2009, 02:56 PM)
Howdy everyone, good afternoon. Glad to be back. Cheers !

Wonder if anyone can reply me, is the HLB Plat offers a 30 days free interest for purchases compared to the regular 20 days?

welcome back.

got 30days?

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 15 2009, 04:06 PM)
It's different segment, only available for self-employed people. The interest free period can be longer. This is a Plat Business cc.
oh, new segment? HLB so creative and aggresive.

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 15 2009, 05:17 PM)
Put front pocket where got style? Just like chinaman only....
Coins must have a few la, for parking and etc

I am thinking of getting a thin aluminium credit card size plate as the base. Non magnetic and light. So scientific.

Hahahaha.
not afraid to go vocation again?

vin_ann
post Jul 15 2009, 10:15 PM

10,912 posts

help! urgent

i want check with your, online payment to Singapore got any extra charges for HSBC / Direct Access / OCBC?

vin_ann
post Jul 15 2009, 10:36 PM

10,912 posts

@ Tinkerbel

HSBC got? i remember when im pay my professional subscription fee to UK, there are no extra charges...

vin_ann
post Jul 15 2009, 10:56 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 15 2009, 10:51 PM)
The marketing term is "Pre-approve" but not necessary go through. Higher chances it would get approved though.
mostly when is Pre-approve, some bank will just send the card to you and asking you to activate the card.

vin_ann
post Jul 15 2009, 11:01 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(changjie83 @ Jul 15 2009, 10:59 PM)
thanks. ok i wait patiently first, at the mean time i actually apply a card using my directorship. its 2nd week....i haven't receive any call yet.
depends on which bank u apply.

my latest experience is with Eon bank, they took about 4 weeks then only send me request letter requesting additional document.

vin_ann
post Jul 15 2009, 11:09 PM

10,912 posts

@ Tinkerbel

then i shall use my HSBC for the coming online oversea payment to see whether got admin charges o not.

btw, my hsbc is just classic...
vin_ann
post Jul 15 2009, 11:30 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jul 15 2009, 11:27 PM)
hsbc charges a 2% admin fee on overseas transactions
is it included as 1 line transaction or separate line item for 2% admin fee??

i checked back my Feb statement, my Uk transaction was only showing 1 line item...

did not see any admin charges...

vin_ann
post Jul 15 2009, 11:41 PM

10,912 posts

@Tinkerbel

when i check the exchange rate with bank negara, the exchange rate used to convert is about the same. Perhaps the 2% is too small.....

vin_ann
post Jul 15 2009, 11:54 PM

10,912 posts

@Tinkerbel

just called hsbc CS... im using my 10 digit personal banking number and it's extreme fast, almost no waiting.

just ask the CS to authorise my payment to singapore, and im also asked about admin charges, she said is 1.25%, perhaps my transaction is to Singapore, so lower than other mentioned 2%?

vin_ann
post Jul 16 2009, 12:02 AM

10,912 posts

@Tinkerbel

the 2% is mentioned by Zenquix.

btw, just checked my hsbc statement, my RM60 caltex suppose to get 5X reward points, but it did not count into my reward point!!!! Sigh...
vin_ann
post Jul 16 2009, 03:02 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(satur9 @ Jul 16 2009, 02:30 AM)
Overseas transactions incur both an HSBC administration charge (1.25%)  and Visa/Mastercard transaction fee (variable %). I monitor my foreign transactions like a hawk and can confirm this.

For example:

Nov 08 = 2.0% (1.0 + 1.0)
Apr 09 = 1.95% (1.0 + 0.95)
03 May 09 = 1.58% (1.0 + 0.58)
24 May 09 = 2.26% (1.25 + 1.01) *HSBC increased their admin fee mid/end May

You can work this out by checking your credit card balance one or two days after an overseas transaction and again a day later. Only the final amount will appear in your statement, so you've got to be quick to catch the two different balances. Usually I just check via sms (45sen).
hsbc CC able check balance via SMS?

use online banking check is more convenience.

anyways, lucky i checked my passport which is expiring on Apr 2010, while my SG marathon is on Dec 09, less than 6 months, have to renew 1st before can register.

hopefully by end of weekend i can make the payment for the SG marathon using my new passport.

another thing, if the billing address is showing up side down due to the website technical problem, will my payment still can get through?
vin_ann
post Jul 16 2009, 03:16 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 16 2009, 03:07 PM)
Person who have CL 45k on his gold might be a downgrade from platinum ?
not necessary.

even classic also can have RM10K CL.
vin_ann
post Jul 16 2009, 04:35 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 03:19 PM)
Er.. might I ask.. Y are we debating CLs all of a sudden?! tongue.gif
bcoz some1 asked.

vin_ann
post Jul 16 2009, 05:34 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 16 2009, 05:05 PM)
No other catch to it except the Interbank charges. Just one note ... take care of the date you pay your credit card via Interbank. If you post the transaction on the same day before 12pm, it will clear on the same day. If you post it after 12pm then the money is only going to your cc account 2 days later.

Just to mention coz we don't want you to pay late charges unnecessarily.
somehow, when im pay interbank, i feel uneasy... i only will know the result 2 days later whether i have transfer / pay to other bank account correctly or not.

while for the same bank, from saving account pay to credit card account, it's immediate effect, even i pay 1 day late for Public bank, they did not charges me late payment.

vin_ann
post Jul 16 2009, 11:47 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 16 2009, 07:47 PM)
As of 1st July, banks are to give 3 days grace period for payment.
You don't need to call the bank.
oh, thanks for your info.

vin_ann
post Jul 17 2009, 08:58 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 17 2009, 08:54 AM)
Credit limit is not a person's worth and it is only virtual overdraft given by the bank. You got to pay whatever spent.

I am very scared that my card will be hacked and illegal spending occurs. The higher the CL, the higher the risk ones got to endure.
scare? then downgrade. laugh.gif

vin_ann
post Jul 17 2009, 12:00 PM

10,912 posts

different people have different need!

those rich, might want people know
those rich, might dun want people know

those poor, might dun want people know
those poor, dun mind people know.

i know a case where he is the owner of petrol station, everyday need to bank in money, he wear as ordinary as possible and not allowed his staff to tell others tht he is the owner of station.
vin_ann
post Jul 20 2009, 04:58 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(li_ping @ Jul 20 2009, 03:56 PM)
Salary how much only can get Platinum ar?
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 20 2009, 04:10 PM)
@li_ping,
Different banks have different preferences but a forummer here once did mention he got an upgrade and his reported income was >RM60k.
yeah. depends on bank.

previously im able to get OCBC Robinson Platinium with income <RM48K... laugh.gif

just lucky meet up with desperate agent who want to fulfill his quota... sweat.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:34 AM