Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

aeronlim
post Aug 25 2009, 12:13 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 25 2009, 11:39 AM)
Regarding Telekom, does it include normal house telephone and Streamyx? If yes, does TM got any auto-debit facility charging to AMEX?

As for annual fee, it is only free for 3 yrs and then it is RM238 so that will take some wind out of this card. And I hate having to ask for exemption because it felt like begging.

AFAIK, Alliance has no expire date. But as mentioned, the rebate are tiered and only up to RM5000 (1.36% all in).
Yes, normal house telephone and Streamyx can be direct auto debit by using Express Pay, they will reward you 5x point for subscribing it.

For the annual fee, the Free for 3 Year is for AMEX Gold Charge Card, now the latest AMEX Gold Credit Card is free for life and the 5x reward is given by without any condition, no need to phone call them to activate the service and waive the annual fee.

Indeed there still some disadvantage on AMEX (merchant not that popular as VISA and MC) but it is a great potential card that gives you a lots of rewards.
aeronlim
post Sep 2 2009, 02:47 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Sep 2 2009, 10:24 AM)
Public Bank re-launched Manchester United Mastercard also
I think there is no much different with the old one, all the benefit and privileges are the same, maybe will attract many MU fans lor smile.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 2 2009, 12:16 PM)
I found them.

Maybank Islamic Petronas Visa CC:
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

But I didn't found the CIMB one.
It seems like the 5x treat point are the same, but add in some Islamic terms such as Syariah, takaful blah blah, i heard this type of card can't used to purchase beer and pork something that Islam prohibited right?

aeronlim
post Sep 4 2009, 01:34 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 4 2009, 12:43 PM)
American Express Gold Credit Card (The one from MBB with Free-for-life) gets TreatPoints or Membership Rewards points ?

I saw in M2U under Rewards Points they list my Amex Gold CC under TreatPoints... strange...
AMEX CC is giving MR points, even in M2u the point are mixed together (i think is their system haven't update to separate it), but the monthly statement will clearly separate it to 2 different statement, it will divided to : Maybank Statement (in yellow color) and AMEX statement (in blue color background). Check this out on your next month bill

QUOTE(miaomiaolala @ Sep 4 2009, 12:53 PM)
My cc application with CIMB was rejected with no reason given, how long after then I can resubmit?
It is better for submit after 3 month cooling off period, by the way, you can apply for other bank credit card at the same time.
aeronlim
post Sep 7 2009, 11:02 PM

370 posts

I think Travel Money from RHB is basically used for other country transaction, you will get extra rewards for that, but I also not so clear. As far i know is the card holder can get cash rebate for petrol, i think they probably will renew the contract and let the user keep on have this privilege, last year they renew this promotion, so no worries.
aeronlim
post Sep 8 2009, 09:53 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Sep 8 2009, 02:36 PM)
hehe cause i apply CC with one of the agent. so think is my first CC i get.. applied 2 weeks already den i get this card de.. im still waiting to get other CC. i dunno what CC i wil get yet. so im actually no so familiar with CC and i want to get a cash rebate cc of course.  whistling.gif
If you are looking for cash rebate cc, suggest you apply for the cards below

Citibank Shell VISA Credit Card (up to 5% rebate on Petrol)
CIMB Petronas Mastercard / Islamic Mastercard (2% rebate on petrol, 0.5% other purchase)
Alliance Bank Younique Mastercard (select cash rebate option)
SCB Justone Mastercard (this is the one i see most people discussed in this thread, feeling hmm.gif )
American Express Gold Credit Card (200 point = RM 1 rebate, recommend this as many of outlets can get 5x point)

QUOTE(eddievh @ Sep 8 2009, 06:03 PM)
I got the same feeling aeron said they will extend the cash rebate promo for Oct,so first week Sat ans Sun of Oct just simply swipe it at petrol pump,if they really didn't renew it just cancel it. I'm using this card rightnow too,comes Oct if no promo i plan to cancel it too.
Yeah, nowadays so many competition among banks and petrol price raised (even hard to feel that, but it is true, petrol really raised mad.gif ), extra points and cash rebate will be one of bank's credit card features to attract customers
aeronlim
post Sep 10 2009, 09:12 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Sep 9 2009, 10:40 PM)
but maybank annual income is needed 30,000 can i go try to apply? cimb is quiet ok de.. how is about other bank.. thx for ur reply
You can try to apply if you are maybank card holder, last time when my salary is about RM 1400 (lower than the requirement for classic card), Maybank send me a letter ask me to take the letter to their branch to claim the credit card.
Or you can try to apply to those banks you interested at the same time, the agent are willingly to help you as apply more bank the commission will be more. smile.gif

Added on September 10, 2009, 9:22 am@Micheal_G

For the RHB credit card, You can choose to active and then cancel if you feel that the privilege of the card is not good, or not to activate and watch the situation first.

For the Ambank Real reward, i think it should be Free for life, depends on which information you get are the most updated, the annual fee normally is charged for their customer service provided to you. But nowadays it is easy to get your annual fee waived, when you see there is an annual fee on your bill, just call them and ask for annual fee waiver.

The benefit of the Real Reward card is let the customer earn Real Reward point when buying, you can link this card with your Real Reward card to get extra points.

This post has been edited by aeronlim: Sep 10 2009, 09:22 AM
aeronlim
post Sep 12 2009, 11:12 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 12 2009, 07:37 PM)
guys / gals

i want to relates this experience of my colleague using HSBC Amanah.

we were having lunch at Cap Square a German Restaurant which serves Pork and Beer.

my colleague using his HSBC Amanah CC to pay the bill and its cant get through.

and this is second time rejected. 1st time was when he was clubbing, also rejected.
I think the disadvantage of the Islamic card was this, it is even worse when you don't have enough cash in your wallet

0.0421sec    1.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:35 PM