Ultrasn0w for LOCKED iPhone 3G/3GS/4, v1.2.1 available | Supports iOS 4.3.1

TSteikwing
post Jun 25 2009, 09:43 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(ejslayer @ Jun 25 2009, 06:45 AM)
using itunes 8.2 bro. still no luck for me after last nite. sad.gif is it possible dat my iphone is faulty ? sad.gif

ok guys, i've read everything all over again n it seems i missed this one step, but im not sure if it will solve d prob im having, so just to make it clear..
-do i need to take out my simcard during restore ? (coz i did restore my phone b4 this with sim card in my iphone n it works great)
-do i have to insert my simcard during jailbreak / redsn0w ?

plz guys, maybe if u can clear things up for me, it will be a great help. wink.gif thx.

Added on June 25, 2009, 8:06 amomg...this is very frustrating...when im done with the restore without simcard, jailbreak, unlock, Searching...No Service, after awhile, No SIM ! i give up..
anyone can help me out by providing unlocking service ? i dont wanna send to shops as i am not confident with them, not on their skills but rather not sure if they r trustworthy..
that's an odd case. mine is working well previously with yellowsn0w too and so does ultrasn0w. mind to tell us which carrier you're on?

here's all the steps i went through (in my case):

1. Download and update iTunes to 8.2
2. Download redsn0w 0.7.2
3. Download iPhone 3G 3.0 firmware
4. Restore iPhone 3G in iTunes to firmware 3.0
5. Jailbreak using redsn0w (install only Cydia)
6. Load Cydia and add Source "repo666.ultrasn0w.com"
7. Search for "ultrasnow" and download
8. Download completed (No signal yet)
9. Reboot iPhone
10. "Searching" comes up and Maxis carrier shows right after that.

*There's no need for me to take out the sim card at any time through out the restoring, jailbreaking and unlocking process.

do check again and go through the whole process again. if after everything and still failed, consult Hanxz here.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jun 25 2009, 09:50 AM
chong+
post Jun 25 2009, 09:56 AM

hi there all

I am having the same problem with ejslayer
can the pro in this or the friends that have done this help us please?

I done all the step and lastly after installing ultrasn0w and reboot and insert sim many time it still stated no service
torment_rey
post Jun 25 2009, 10:06 AM

20 posts

anyone have push notification issues..???
because push notification cannot work on hacktivated iphone..
meaning u don't have push notification service if it's not activated via iTunes..

iPhone Generation :3G
Unlocked? (or Part Number): Locked set from US (hacktivated/unloked using ultrasn0w)
Current Firmware :3.0
iTunes Version :8.2
Computer Platform : Mac OS 10.5.7
Jailbreaking software :Pwnage 3.0
Problem Encountered :pust notification service not working
Steps Had Taken (list down) :Nil
Problem Screenshot (if any) :Nil
Other Information / Remarks :Nil

please help... sad.gif sad.gif smile.gif
davidgary73
post Jun 25 2009, 10:12 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@teikwing

You may wanna put this up on broken push notification on the first post or post below that.

Jailbroken iPhone Push Notification Problems and Unstable ultrasn0w Signal?

Push is broken if you hacktivated your phone (2G or 3G)
To get push working on your iPhone 3G, you must activate with any AT&T Sim
No known push fix for the iPhone 2G
In many cases, restoring your old iTunes iPhone backup will cause problems - especially if the backup was made from jailbroken phones
Old 2.x backups seem to cause some or all of the following: Poor battery life, unstable ultrasn0w connection, and unable to launch apps
Apple is a bitch
——–
Update 2 (6/24/09): If you have an AT&T sim lying around (activated or not), you can try this method to get push working on iPhone 3G’s :

Tip: if you SSH to /var/root/Library/Lockdown/activation_records and delete wildcard_record.plist, the next time you reboot your phone, it will ask for activation again, thus allowing you to easily put in an AT&T sim and activate with iTunes open - this should allow you to skip the restore and re-jailbreaking steps if you already are in that state.
This will also fix the ultrasn0w signal losses. When you get signal losses after installing ultrasn0w, its probably because you restored an old backup of your phone which restored an older version of wildcard_record.plist. When you reset activation and use an AT&T sim, you gain push and a stable connection.

1. You need an Unactivated or Activated ATT Sim
2. Take out your T-Mobile SIM and Pop in your Unactivated ATT Sim card (Just found out any ATT Sim is ok).
3. Restore and Jailbreak with redsn0w (If you are already jailbroken and deleted wildcard_record.plist, you can skip this step)
4. Go to Settings -> General -> Network, and disable 3G
5. Let iTunes activate the phone - you should get a “Waiting for activation.” message, dismiss it and Open cydia.
6. Add the Ultrasn0w with source repo666.ultrasn0w.com
7. Install ultrasn0w and turn off your phone
8. Remove the ATT sim and insert your T-Mobile sim
9. Turn on the phone, once you receive service you should get the message. “iPhone has been activated”
You should gain signal bars and your push notifications should work. Remember to go into network settings and add your APN for your data plan. Test push notifications with the free version of the AIM app.

(by BigBoss)
callmevil
post Jun 25 2009, 12:00 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

Carrier :
Is 3G working : YES
Is MMS working : YES
Is tethering working : havnt tried
Other Information/Remarks : just incase theres others like me.. in cydia just do this.. (turn on wifi before u start..)

ignore update > Manage > Source > Edit > Add > enter address leave the "http:" be.. > then continue to the instruction in the first post..
ejslayer
post Jun 25 2009, 12:22 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jun 25 2009, 09:43 AM)
that's an odd case. mine is working well previously with yellowsn0w too and so does ultrasn0w. mind to tell us which carrier you're on?

here's all the steps i went through (in my case):

1. Download and update iTunes to 8.2
2. Download redsn0w 0.7.2
3. Download iPhone 3G 3.0 firmware
4. Restore iPhone 3G in iTunes to firmware 3.0
5. Jailbreak using redsn0w (install only Cydia)
6. Load Cydia and add Source "repo666.ultrasn0w.com"
7. Search for "ultrasnow" and download
8. Download completed (No signal yet)
9. Reboot iPhone
10. "Searching" comes up and Maxis carrier shows right after that.

*There's no need for me to take out the sim card at any time through out the restoring, jailbreaking and unlocking process.

do check again and  go through the whole process again. if after everything and still failed, consult Hanxz here.
that's exactly how i did it bro. im on maxis btw. haizz..damn frustrating. thx for all ur help guys, will consult Hanxz n see if he can help. thx again. wink.gif
torment_rey
post Jun 25 2009, 05:10 PM

20 posts

any one have original AT&T card??
is it ok if i use maxis sim??

This post has been edited by torment_rey: Jun 25 2009, 05:43 PM
mudz_amin
post Jun 25 2009, 06:30 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jun 25 2009, 10:12 AM)
@teikwing

1. You need an Unactivated or Activated ATT Sim
2. Take out your T-Mobile SIM and Pop in your Unactivated ATT Sim card (Just found out any ATT Sim is ok).
3. Restore and Jailbreak with redsn0w (If you are already jailbroken and deleted wildcard_record.plist, you can skip this step)
4. Go to Settings -> General -> Network, and disable 3G
5. Let iTunes activate the phone - you should get a “Waiting for activation.” message, dismiss it and Open cydia.
6. Add the Ultrasn0w with source repo666.ultrasn0w.com
7. Install ultrasn0w and turn off your phone
8. Remove the ATT sim and insert your T-Mobile sim
9. Turn on the phone, once you receive service you should get the message. “iPhone has been activated”
You should gain signal bars and your push notifications should work. Remember to go into network settings and add your APN for your data plan. Test push notifications with the free version of the AIM app.
i have the ori at&t sim card
but once i restore n jailbreak, n after put in into sim tray, itunes didnt ask for activation.
how to fix this? btw, im using 3g set.

torment_rey
post Jun 25 2009, 07:08 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(mudz_amin @ Jun 25 2009, 06:30 PM)
i have the ori at&t sim card
but once i restore n jailbreak, n after put in into sim tray, itunes didnt ask for activation.
how to fix this? btw, im using 3g set.
SSH to /var/root/Library/Lockdown/activation_records and delete wildcard_record.plist, the next time you reboot your phone, it will ask for activation again, thus allowing you to easily put in an AT&T sim and activate with iTunes open - this should allow you to skip the restore and re-jailbreaking steps if you already are in that state.
This will also fix the ultrasn0w signal losses. When you get signal losses after installing ultrasn0w, its probably because you restored an old backup of your phone which restored an older version of wildcard_record.plist. When you reset activation and use an AT&T sim, you gain push and a stable connection.

try to use this step to replace the 3rd step..

anyone..
im still looking for ori at&t sim please.. smile.gif smile.gif
mudz_amin
post Jun 25 2009, 07:24 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(torment_rey @ Jun 25 2009, 07:08 PM)
SSH to /var/root/Library/Lockdown/activation_records and delete wildcard_record.plist, the next time you reboot your phone, it will ask for activation again, thus allowing you to easily put in an AT&T sim and activate with iTunes open - this should allow you to skip the restore and re-jailbreaking steps if you already are in that state.

try to use this step to replace the 3rd step..

anyone..
im still looking for ori at&t sim please.. smile.gif  smile.gif
yes i know i hv to follow those method. but there is no wildcard_record.plist in those folder. so how do i want to delete this file when it is not there...
n itunes didnt request for activation..does it matter if the phone comes from locked US or locked from other country?
anti_gaara
post Jun 26 2009, 12:55 AM

161 posts

Carrier : MAXIS 3g
Is 3G working : Yes
Is MMS working : Yes
Is tethering working : Havent tried it yet
Other Information/Remarks : recommended to update

Score : 4 out of 5... MMS & contact sharing still works even though toggle for 3g & edge is off in SBSettings... thumbup.gif dun have vid recorder by default. otherwise would give extra credit... doh.gif
=Hanxz=
post Jun 26 2009, 01:30 AM

l33t!
1,903 posts

here is some findings of mine,
this might be important for some people, there have been people with locked sets encountering problems after they have ultrasn0w their phones.

one particular one is owned by chong+, according to him, everything works fine until he ultrasn0w-ed his phone.

no signal..nothing, and the phone only pops out the signal when its mood is good.
tried pwnagetool again with his phone, and it doesnt seem to work as well.

so becareful guys, ultrasn0w your phones at your own risk.

beavis68
post Jun 26 2009, 01:43 AM

I want my chicken Picata!! r u threatening me?
1,020 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Jun 26 2009, 01:30 AM)
here is some findings of mine,
this might be important for some people, there have been people with locked sets encountering problems after they have ultrasn0w their phones.

one particular one is owned by chong+, according to him, everything works fine until he ultrasn0w-ed his phone.

no signal..nothing, and the phone only pops out the signal when its mood is good.
tried pwnagetool again with his phone, and it doesnt seem to work as well.

so becareful guys, ultrasn0w your phones at your own risk.
@chong+,

u better dun mistreat your iphone or else your iphone will be in bad mood. (once your iphone in bad mood, then u know what happen to your telco signal rite) tongue.gif
Fighteden
post Jun 26 2009, 09:25 PM

Stark Industries
976 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jun 24 2009, 04:20 AM)
I jailbreaked with Redsnow 0.71 and there was only option for Cydia. Ultrasn0w works without any problem. I am using AT&T (not iphone plan) in USA.

Added on June 24, 2009, 6:32 am

The ultrasn0w unlock only works with FW 3.0 with BB 04.26.08.
Forgive my n00bness, does this mean if i have a 02.30.03 BB i wont be able to ultrasn0w it?
No any other ways?

TSteikwing
post Jun 27 2009, 01:04 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Fighteden @ Jun 26 2009, 09:25 PM)
Forgive my n00bness, does this mean if i have a 02.30.03 BB i wont be able to ultrasn0w it?
No any other ways?
you must be on FW 3.0 with 4.26.08 baseband in order to use ultrasn0w. kindly read the first post.
qmk9133
post Jun 27 2009, 03:03 AM

Carrier :Celcom 3G prepaid
Is 3G working : yes
Is MMS working : yes
Is tethering working : haven't tried (not important to me)
Other Information/Remarks :

initially, MMS didn't work due to i missed out the last 4 digit number on the MMS proxy setting (:8080) - and works perfectly (sending and receiving) after inputting those 4 digits.

jailbreak using redsn0w failed few times, re-jailbreak successful after booting my laptop to "safe mode". (info gained from  Pwnagetool and Redsn0w , iPhone 3.0 Unlocking/Jailbreaking on the first page, tested by Shock).

no problem in downloading applications from both iTunes and Cydia, accessing youtube, no drop calls, consistent 3G signal while surfing - but sucks a lot of my airtime. blink.gif

most noticeable change (cons) - sucks a lot of battery life.

for info, before restoring to 3.0, i was still using the old 2.2 firmware with 2.28.00 baseband, quickpwn+yellowsn0w unit from Australia.

so far very satisfied with my iphone, couldn't find any fault with it, period.

hope my info is useful to those who read it. cool2.gif
torment_rey
post Jun 27 2009, 03:08 AM

20 posts

anyone have an AT&T sim card??
i want to borrow/buy it...

help pleasee...
Fighteden
post Jun 27 2009, 01:14 PM

Stark Industries
976 posts

I have one from my 1st gen, if only you're in Ipoh then i don't mind borrowing you. smile.gif
anti_gaara
post Jun 27 2009, 01:53 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(torment_rey @ Jun 27 2009, 03:08 AM)
anyone have an AT&T sim card??
i want to borrow/buy it...

help pleasee...
torment_rey, are u on T-Mobile carrier or Maxis 3G? I'm just wondering y u having such prob after using ultrasn0w... sweat.gif
torment_rey
post Jun 27 2009, 02:19 PM

20 posts

im on digi carried...my problem is only the push notification..

39 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:10 AM