9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Official SPM 2009 English Thread

TSrealz
post Oct 19 2009, 10:43 PM

223 posts

This is a sample script that my teacher gave me,surprising me..such essay scored 44/50

joyyy
post Oct 19 2009, 10:58 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(realz @ Oct 19 2009, 12:51 PM)
nope Im from temerloh pahang.
About EST, Im not good really,
even,it was once in a blue moon I did EST question
somehow Im not good in something factual.
I used to get <20 for EST essay  blush.gif
only got 72 in trial
Heh..I still remember during my SPM EST paper I went off topic for my essay, had to cancel everything and rewrite everything in 10 minutes rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Tension tension sweat.gif
Ah..the good old days biggrin.gif
Joey Christensen
post Oct 20 2009, 09:20 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

I'll give it 25/50. Short composition text compressed in a linear fashion. That's pretty much it, eh?

Regards, Joey
:+:DarreN:+:
post Oct 20 2009, 01:12 PM

I hate my username
2,096 posts

QUOTE(realz @ Oct 19 2009, 10:43 PM)
This is a sample script that my teacher gave me,surprising me..such essay scored 44/50

That got a 44/50? And I thought my teacher was lenient ...
TSrealz
post Oct 21 2009, 05:50 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(:+:DarreN:+: @ Oct 20 2009, 01:12 PM)
That got a 44/50? And I thought my teacher was lenient ...
not my teacher that mark it,
its on a modul, I will recheck it that is all the essay part.
fhNicK
post Oct 21 2009, 07:53 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(realz @ Oct 18 2009, 07:11 PM)
hmm mind to share ur essay?
Sorry...don't think I have any essays with me here.
Maybe I can try looking for my uni analytical reports if possible.
Cheers.
TSrealz
post Oct 22 2009, 07:40 PM

223 posts

I am just wondering,
how open is general title?
for example 'silence',
how can I make sure I am not out of topic?
CzarXVII
post Oct 27 2009, 07:12 PM

394 posts

For SPM English Trial 2009 all state paper go here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1199319&hl=
paycalvin
post Oct 27 2009, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(realz @ Oct 22 2009, 08:40 PM)
I am just wondering,
how open is general title?
for example 'silence',
how can I make sure I am not out of topic?
hi ...
well i think this is not a factual essay rite ?
normally essays with only one words or i would like to call them free writing for i dunno what reason
as long as ur essay has a word that can be relate to silence that it can be counted
the thing about this essay is that u can write freely and cannot be judged on facts
there may be just a sentence that contains the word "silence" and the marker cannot say ur wrong
but sometimes there are those stereotype teachers who think that the essay should contain more fact

so my opinion just to be on the safe side
put a little "silence" here and there and you should be good i guess ...

TSrealz
post Oct 29 2009, 08:21 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(paycalvin @ Oct 27 2009, 09:32 PM)
hi ...
well i think this is not a factual essay rite ?
normally essays with only one words or i would like to call them free writing for i dunno what reason
as long as ur essay has a word that can be relate to silence that it can be counted
the thing about this essay is that u can write freely and cannot be judged on facts
there may be just a sentence that contains the word "silence" and the marker cannot say ur wrong
but sometimes there are those stereotype teachers who think that the essay should contain more fact

so my opinion just to be on the safe side
put a little "silence" here and there and you should be good i guess ...
I am afraid I will be out of topic...
so let say the title is silence,

It was a silence day, supported by an inclement weather...
-----------------------------------------------
so if I put silence just in one line, it can be counted as out of topic?
joyyy
post Oct 29 2009, 08:43 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(realz @ Oct 29 2009, 08:21 PM)
I am afraid I will be out of topic...
so let say the title is silence,

It was a silence day, supported by an inclement weather...
-----------------------------------------------
so if I put silence just in one line, it can be counted as out of topic?
As long as you're writing a story, 'out of topic' doesnt apply.
But try to make your story relevant to the title word. Yeah, I suppose you could put the title word in just one sentence, but beware though, "It was a silence day" is a wrong sentence smile.gif
TSrealz
post Oct 30 2009, 06:25 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Oct 29 2009, 08:43 PM)
As long as you're writing a story, 'out of topic' doesnt apply.
But try to make your story relevant to the title word. Yeah, I suppose you could put the title word in just one sentence, but beware though, "It was a silence day" is a wrong sentence  smile.gif
yup it's wrong.. doh.gif
register999
post Oct 31 2009, 05:39 PM

94 posts

spm comin..
17 days onii...
scared adY..
WiLeKiyO
post Oct 31 2009, 08:49 PM

5,144 posts

My teacher always said " use more vocabularies ! "

Where should I learn it?

My English result alway 60-70. =.= !
TSrealz
post Nov 1 2009, 10:18 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Oct 31 2009, 08:49 PM)

Where should I learn it?

but seriously, grammar is more important.
hmm 60-70 after paper1 + paper2?
to get an A..
even 25/50 in CW is enough
chiahau
post Nov 1 2009, 11:32 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Erm,i'm an spm leaver so if u dun mind,i wanna drop a few lines here lol~
Erm, english in spm is quite lenient in a way..
Many ppl frm my batch had scored A1/A2 although they usually get b4/c5 in normal exams..
I dun believe in miracles so i think its bcoz the standard is low?
4give my abrupt manners..
Those so-called A1 went to take IELTS and fared badly..Around 3 stg..
Which showed that eng standard in spm is quite low..
The thing u need 2 focus is on the Triple one nine (319?? ^^)
Anyways, that's just my view so good luck for spm..
Cheers..
Btw, try 2 get max marks for paper 2 n the guided writing..
U cn screw up the long essay but it wont be so bad if ur marks in paper 2 n guided is high..

As for open title essays such as stars,girls and etc, i recommend dun take as its very subjective and therefore chances 2 lose marks is high..
Go for factual essays which u can do n bombard with facts n etc..

xD
^^

TSrealz
post Nov 2 2009, 04:05 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 1 2009, 11:32 PM)
Many ppl frm my batch had scored A1/A2 although they usually get b4/c5 in normal exams..
Cheers..
U cn screw up the long essay but it wont be so bad if ur marks in paper 2 n guided is high..

As for open title essays such as stars,girls and etc, i recommend dun take as its very subjective and therefore chances 2 lose marks is high..

xD
^^
yup my aim is GCE-O level, cambridge..
MonsterJ9
post Nov 3 2009, 01:10 AM

244 posts

Any prediction for English Essay?
joyyy
post Nov 3 2009, 01:28 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 1 2009, 11:32 PM)
Cheers..

xD
^^
I for one never liked writing factual essays.
For me it's always story writing, as the topic is entirely up to me and I'm free to write about anything and everything I desire. =P
Depends on the individual really, some people are strong with presenting facts which require concrete and concise English, while creative writing requires well, creative language and decent usage of adjectives. smile.gif
akira de aimbuster
post Nov 3 2009, 03:11 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Oct 31 2009, 08:49 PM)

Where should I learn it?

My english was really bad last time, but i would say i improved alot during the spm age, from 40marks to 70marks sweat.gif

My suggestion is pay more attention to basic grammar first, dont expect an essay full with red circles to score great mark. For vocab, I used to flip through the dictionary few minutes before exam begin and seek for some hard vocabs, then try to use them in the essay later brows.gif

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:10 AM