16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

ICE *♣۩[WTS]Soundproof Materials For DIYers ۩♣*, Your D.I.Y soundproof solutions!

TSMyWifeCar
post Jun 21 2010, 07:52 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(raymond1003 @ Jun 20 2010, 10:45 PM)
TS, I would like to reduce engine sound. Should apply sound proofing to fender right?  Do u provide installation? How much ar?
Sorry, I no longer provide installation.

If you plan to reduce engine sound, then you can do firewall sound dampening using 5~6 flex mats.

Fender soundproofing is to reduce the irritating tire noise.

You can try and search for others who do provide installation...

TSMyWifeCar
post Jun 23 2010, 10:22 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(raymond1003 @ Jun 22 2010, 11:39 PM)
Thx for your reply. ehm..will be another trouble for me to find installer .  biggrin.gif  thx anyway!
No problem bro. DIY is always an option~~

Happy searching smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Jul 16 2010, 12:34 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(tri_dings @ Jul 16 2010, 12:25 AM)
Hi bro, is dat pro-pad is self adhesive?
i want to use it to reduce vibration for plastic part, is this work?
Propad is self-adhesive. It has the bitumen as its backing.

Which plastic part are you talking about? You mean door trim?

If you want to reduce vibration on door trim, then apply Flex Mat on the door trim then cover with Insulation Foam.

That would be my suggestion, or you can try any other way that you think is effective.
TSMyWifeCar
post Jul 16 2010, 10:57 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(tri_dings @ Jul 16 2010, 12:52 AM)
plastic part ard dashboard, it have vibration sound when i accelerate.
i hav check d inner surface, it is flat. 
which product will be able to stick on it so that can make d plastic solid a bit.
Ok, I understand your question.

You can use Propad if the surface is flat. You can cut the Propad to fit the surface application, but not too small.

Or you can use Flex Mat which can fit basically all type of surface.

You can cover more area to have a more solid effect.

TSMyWifeCar
post Jul 18 2010, 02:44 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(Davird @ Jul 18 2010, 03:43 AM)
My official review and DIY experience of this product.

sweat.gif Didn't know you do diary... some more record down all my words... sweat.gif

Take your time to drive your car first, and see what other noise that is bothering you.

From there only tackle the noise...

"...Mat rempit sound from vvvreeeennnngggg is now vreeengg..."
You can make the sound to become "vree..." only also~~

TSMyWifeCar
post Jul 18 2010, 09:28 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(Davird @ Jul 18 2010, 06:40 PM)
Haha, I often see post where people buy stuff but never leave comments. Since you are a very nice guy, i decided to write a review for all potential customer's or newbie (like me) who wants to DIY for first time. For DIY always fear of doing it wrong is the first thing that comes to everyone's mind, but your products are easy to apply. Even if i stick it wrongly, carefully removing it and pasting it back worked.

Considering that i bought basic stuff from you, improvement is there. I can't imagine how good it will be if I bought the full package. Seriously, instead of spending rm1k and above, i believe your full set of product will give a rm5k feeling for less. smile.gif

My engine noise is a big problem now cause there is no soundproof at all on hood or firewall. Will need to tackle that right after i finish repainting my car.

You can count on me bothering you again to buy more items. smile.gif
Ok bro, good luck on the paint job...and really appreciate the feedback.

QUOTE(kian27 @ Jul 18 2010, 08:05 PM)
hi bro,which type suitable for rear bonnet?? my car is wira...
thanks.
Which part of rear bonnet? The floor or the trunk lid?

And may I know what is your concern? exhaust noise ah?

TSMyWifeCar
post Jul 28 2010, 11:39 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(sissoko @ Jul 28 2010, 11:33 AM)
bro..all four doors use how many box of flex mat?
Thanks for your interest.

It depends on what car, and which area you plan to apply.

If you just want to apply it in the inner part of the door, then you can use Propad and Suppression Pad mixture. The effect is there to reduce the noise from outside too.

Flex Mat is mainly use to tackle curvy surface. If the surface is flat, then I would always suggest to use Propad or Suppression Pad.
TSMyWifeCar
post Aug 2 2010, 01:53 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(ahyee88 @ Aug 1 2010, 12:15 AM)
bro... pm me for toyota vios 08 sound proof for front bonnet, rear boot, 4 doors, floor, and roof
wif separation price... and can DIY ( easy install ) and which material suitable...
and for roof we nid to tear down whole carpet?? thx in advance
Hi Bro,
Thanks for your interest.

All my materials can DIY... The roof you just have to remove the carpet, and put it back once everything is done.

Nothing difficult, just a bit of sweat. smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Aug 5 2010, 12:04 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(sissoko @ Aug 5 2010, 12:30 AM)
i want to use it on bmw e36 doors..do i need to get like this?

or paste in inside the door? any different?
It depends on how much effect you want actually.

You can use it for the inside door too, but normally for ease of applying... I would suggest using Propad or Suppression Pad.

Then if you think by doing the inner part is not enough, then only you can do something like the one in the picture.

It is harder to apply Flex Mat in the inner door because of the space and tools required. If you have no problem with that, then it is ok.

TSMyWifeCar
post Aug 5 2010, 12:25 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(True2Vict @ Aug 5 2010, 02:51 AM)
Bro can suggest me the best setup to reduce exhaust noise coming from the rear boot? pm me if we can meet up at Seri Kembangan when u free. I'm Using Wira Sedan
Actually whenever ppl talk about exhaust noise I also headache...

Anyway I have PM-ed you so we can discuss further. Hopefully my solution will solve your problem.
TSMyWifeCar
post Aug 5 2010, 03:11 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(sissoko @ Aug 5 2010, 03:08 PM)
ooo...so how much i need to spend for all 4 doors with propad?
Normally it is 10 pieces per door.

If you want, then you can use 10 Propads per door....

Or you can use 5 Propads+5 Suppression Pads per door...mixture, the effect is very good too.

There are 10 pieces per box in Propad. For Suppression Pads, I have 2 packaging 10 pieces and 20 pieces box.

TSMyWifeCar
post Aug 5 2010, 04:03 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(sissoko @ Aug 5 2010, 03:17 PM)
bro..i wonder how the supresion pad will act..is this thing will absorb the sound?

Added on August 5, 2010, 3:27 pmthe diff between propad n suppresion is the thickness..am i right?
absorb?...hmmm... It is not meant to absorb the sound/noise, it is meant to dampen the vibration of your car door...which is the cause of where your noise comes from.

Due to the constrain of space for inner door, hence Suppresion Pads and Propads are best for application on these areas.

If you want to absorb the noise, then can use HoodLiner... But it is not really meant for car doors, too expensive and there are other alternatives.

The difference is not only the thickness, also the base use as the adhesive layer.

Propad using butyln.

Suppression Pad using glue that is sturdy and tahan heat.

Both also definitely won't melt under hot sun.

This post has been edited by MyWifeCar: Aug 5 2010, 04:15 PM
TSMyWifeCar
post Aug 7 2010, 10:40 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(Fatz_Cat @ Aug 7 2010, 09:41 PM)
Dampening Mat can be use on doors?? coz it seem the same like Dampening Mat from STEALTH brand that i use 1st layer on my door

if can, maybe i can arrange COD at berjaya times or possible in midvalley as i will be in kl on 10th-13th...
Sorry bro, this materials cannot be used on doors or vertical application.... you can still use, but at ur own risk.

Stealth got aluminium layer, this one don't. and stealth is thicker and heavier.
TSMyWifeCar
post Aug 8 2010, 03:22 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(lukesmart @ Aug 7 2010, 11:54 PM)
hey~~~ pm me honda civic es 1.7 bonet... installation provided???
Hi Bro, which part of the bonnet? Installation not provided.... I'm selling the materials for DIY.

TSMyWifeCar
post Aug 19 2010, 11:34 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(william4835 @ Aug 19 2010, 11:10 PM)
Boss,what's your recommendation for myvi?
It depends bro. What is your main concern?

Myvi last time I straight do door 3 layers. But you can always start slow with 1 layer first, use Propads or Suppression Pads or mixture of both.

Then if you think not enough, then only proceed with 2nd layer using Flex Mat.

Let me know. smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Aug 19 2010, 11:49 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(iamkroll @ Aug 19 2010, 11:43 PM)
bro how much to do 2 front door kenari? whats the difference between:

Flexmat
Suppression mat
Dampening mat
Propad

which will be the cheapest option to cover kenari front doors (2 layers)?
PM me thanks bro!
Kenari ah? sweat.gif The door holes very big one le..... rclxub.gif

Ok la....PM you also.
TSMyWifeCar
post Aug 31 2010, 03:27 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(tany @ Aug 31 2010, 12:32 PM)
hi what to use fro p\wira a\b door and rear boot
Firstly, I would say depend on your budget.

Do the door first, 2 layers with Propads - Suppression Pads - Flex Mat - Insulflex/Insulation Foam.

Rear trunk area I seldom recommend to do. Unless you think it is really annoying, then only do.
...can use Dampening Mat and Flex Mat for the area.

TSMyWifeCar
post Sep 2 2010, 10:39 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(don2324 @ Sep 1 2010, 05:40 PM)
bro, what's ur recommendation for civic ek/ej 97' 4 doors.
1. reduce tyre noise
2. reduce engine noise
3. soundproof 4 doors
4. reduce road noise
What you wanted to do is almost full cabin and fender soundproofing....

1. reduce tyre noise
[KS]Front fender soundproofing (Noise Plug, suppression pad and Insulflex). Back fender = Flex Mat

2. reduce engine noise
[KS]Firewall soundproofing using Flex Mat

3. soundproof 4 doors
[KS]As a starter, you can decide 1 layer or 2 layers. 1st Layer using Propad and Suppression Pad. 2nd Layer using Flex Mat and Insulflex.

4. reduce road noise
[KS]Cabin floor soundproofing. (Flex Mat, Dampening Mat and Noise Absorption Mat)

There you go... Doors are always a good start. smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Sep 2 2010, 03:37 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(don2324 @ Sep 2 2010, 02:43 PM)
PM me the price for the mentioned item.TQ
Ok. Not an issue, you can work out the budget. My material and method is flexible enough.
TSMyWifeCar
post Sep 3 2010, 06:25 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

i'm doing soundproofing for my pc

1 roll of hoodliner
1 dampening mat

some question...

1) the dampening mat, wut is the material
[KS]Sorry, I don't know specifically. All I can say is butlyn. Sorry la, I failed my chemistry.

2) can u give me a link to vibraton dampener material comparison, i cant find.
[KS]Huh?? rclxub.gif

3) y u recommend it only for floors of cars instead of doors, does it melt or sumthing?
[KS]It is the nature of the material that it cannot stick vertically. Floors are horizontal, so not an issue.

You didn't ask anything about HoodLiner. Anyway, it comes with self-adhesive. 10mm thick and open cell foam.

This post has been edited by MyWifeCar: Sep 3 2010, 06:26 PM

16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:46 AM