16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

ICE *♣۩[WTS]Soundproof Materials For DIYers ۩♣*, Your D.I.Y soundproof solutions!

TSMyWifeCar
post Dec 8 2009, 05:45 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Hi bro,
Thanks for your interest.

You may opt for my package 1 : 4 doors 3 layers + Front bonnet insulation.

Or you can DIY by just getting the materials from me...
...I can still do it for you whatever way you want though, just that I will charge you labor of RM150.

Just let me know if you have further enquiries. Cheers. smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Dec 30 2009, 11:05 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Hahaha... Thanks for the recommendation.

An idea to possible DIY-ers, please clean the surface thoroughly before applying the materials, or any materials for soundproofing purposes.

Get a bottle of oil/grease cleaner from any hardware shop is good enough.
It won't be too expensive, mine only cost me RM18 and last me for sometimes too.

Good luck. smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Jan 5 2010, 07:29 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(ray86 @ Jan 5 2010, 03:34 PM)
mr. KS,

I wanna start a the project small.. can recommend which is the best for waja doors? start with doors first.

Hi there, KS will do... no further discount with the extra title laugh.gif

Waja door not small, how to start a "small" project? laugh.gif

You can start with 2 doors first, do 3 layers...and FEEL the difference.

20 pieces of Suppression Pads, 4 x Flex Mat / 1 x InsuDamp and lastly 1 x 10mm Insulflex...

Door is always the best place to start with for soundproofing... Even you have a freaking loud exhaust... biggrin.gif

If possible, tell me how much you willing to spend for doors soundproofing... then only I can advice how to soundproof within the given budget.
Don't worry, I have listed all my materials price...so you can budget easier.

Please let me know if you would like to know more. smile.gif Happy New Year.
TSMyWifeCar
post Jan 6 2010, 12:40 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(ray86 @ Jan 6 2010, 11:56 AM)
wow, 3 layers ar? wont it be too thick?

I wanna start with the driver's door first smile.gif
No la, how can be too thick? You current door also consist of 3 layers ma.
- Inner layer
- outer layer (where got wire)
- Door trim (The plastic cover)
...so there you go, 3 layers. 1 layer on each door layer. I seldom do layer-on-layer, unless requested.

You want to only apply on 1 door? Bro, you won't feel much difference...at least the front 2 doors, then only you can FEEL the difference.

That's my advice la, but you can go ahead if you wish... but the recommendation doesn't come from me.

Use Flex Mat if possible, I'm having Flex Mat RM35 per box sale, but subject to T&C.

Just let me know what is your preference will do.
TSMyWifeCar
post Jan 26 2010, 11:23 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Jan 25 2010, 06:55 PM)
bro what the most effective for reducing tyre noise? i know best location is in the fender area..but which material is the most effective
Pinjam someone's picture.
This is how I soundproof-ed fenders. Most of the people will take off the fenders just to soundproof, but with my method the fenders stay where it is.

You can replace the Suppression pads area with those butlyn kind, but you definitely/advisable to take off the fenders. Because those kind of materials, you have to apply pressure to it to get a better effect...or else later got air bubble then the effect won't be nice...

QUOTE(chittyserv @ Jan 25 2010, 11:40 PM)
whats the best way to reduce the heat from direct sunlight? heat proof which part? how much all together
Actually you can try doors and roof. I did mine and I noticed the most effective part is the roof. But I do soundproof along with heat proof.
I used Suppression Pad and Insulflex. Now my Myvi is much cooler than Honda City.
But I have something for KIA Spectra roof foam. It is 2mm thicker than SuperLon and Insulflex, but the compound is really much firmer.... the disadvantage is just that it is pre-cut and smaller size than 3'x4'. The thickeness is 12mm and around 36"x32" in size.

You can try this if you don't really mind about the size/price ratio.

TSMyWifeCar
post Jan 26 2010, 11:39 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(gurrenlagann @ Jan 26 2010, 11:34 AM)
bro, pm me InsuDamp 1box + shipment to East Malaysia best price
Which part of East Malaysia? Major city the postage is cheaper, other area it might be more expensive. I can use Skynet (More expensive) or Pos Malaysia (Cheaper but slower).

Just to let you know, Flex Mat the alu. surface is thicker than InsuDamp...

1 box only? What do you plan to do with 1 box?
TSMyWifeCar
post Jan 26 2010, 12:04 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(gurrenlagann @ Jan 26 2010, 11:44 AM)
Sibu, Sarawak

Yur Flex Mat is in roll or in box?
let me knw the length if in roll or pieces in box

I plan to do 2 front doors 1st icon_rolleyes.gif see how well i can d.i.y
The Flex Mat is a roll in a box...hehehe 8"x48"

1 box InsuDamp ~~ 4 boxes Flex Mat.

1 box InsuDamp for 2 doors.

Anyway, more details on pricing and delivery method sent via PM to you.
TSMyWifeCar
post Feb 1 2010, 07:16 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(gurrenlagann @ Jan 26 2010, 02:21 PM)
ok, pm 1 box InsuDamp + Skynet courier to East Malaysia pricing nod.gif

Added on January 30, 2010, 6:07 pmdone 2 front doors 2nd layer sound proof by insudamp

but havnt gone out try....too tired
rclxms.gif True DIY-er... Enjoy your soundproof-ed ride.

QUOTE(vincent_5451 @ Feb 1 2010, 12:07 AM)
bro, now my car only one side got the metal knocking vibrating sound when the bass it loud, can i solve this problem with the Insudamp that u selling?
Bro, InsuDamp and Flex Mat is meant to stop the metal vibrating sound... But are you sure you want to do only on one door ah? Later after you have done on everything, then you might hear some very funny effect from your sound system.

You can try and maybe can share with me the after effect. smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Feb 1 2010, 10:29 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(vincent_5451 @ Feb 1 2010, 10:10 AM)
huh, that means i need to buy both InsuDamp and Flex Mat?
or juz choose either one?
u confirm it can solve the problem? wat if i am using the plastic windows regulator? hard to stick because the surface is not flat like those metal regulator.
You choose either one will do.
Flex mat is thicker than insudamp.
1 box insudamp = 4 boxes flex mat.

The materials are meant for uneven surface, that's why it is so commonly used in car soundproofing.

Also, what do you mean by window regulator? You mean door trim? Any pic to share your concern?
You may refer to my pics and see if any of it can be any help...
TSMyWifeCar
post Feb 1 2010, 12:53 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(WisePrince @ Feb 1 2010, 10:39 AM)
wow...
if im looking for noise absorber for my room.
(wanna play sound very loud n still didnt disturb my neighbour.)
is this the place?
Not really bro, even though it is almost similar concept...

What you need is room insulation, the materials are almost the same but mostly room will be using open-cell foam.

And also how they stick the materials to your wall as well, not sure if the adhesive I have will last...

Suggest you look at your requirement in Hi-fi shop, you can start with Plaza Low Yat behind the Maxis store on ground floor.

TSMyWifeCar
post Feb 3 2010, 10:26 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(nivekevin @ Feb 2 2010, 10:54 PM)
PM me best price for Insuflex for WAJA rear bonent ? 1 box is it enough? Thanks
Hi bro,
Thanks for your interest.

What is the item that you are interested in? Insulflex (1 roll) or InsuDamp (1 box)?

When you mentioned rear bonnet, do you mean just the trunk lid or the whole bonnet area?

Please let me know, so I can advice you better.

Have a great day. smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Feb 3 2010, 03:33 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(vincent_5451 @ Feb 3 2010, 01:53 PM)
u mean 1 box of insudamp equals the size of 4 flexmat?
how much is the price? thicker means more effective and better is it?
Yes, the overall size is almost 1 box InsuDamp = 4 boxes Flex Mat.

Which price? InsuDamp or Flex Mat? I'm selling Flex Mat now for RM35, minimum purchase of 4 boxes.

Theoretically, thicker should be better. But of course the weight should be taken into consideration, as not too heavy and become a FC problem.
In real life, it is more of mental effect...hahahah biggrin.gif

Seriously, you will need equipments to test out the difference.

If budget permit, I will recommend Flex Mat. If not, InsuDamp work very well too.

I'm merely offering option, you make the decision.

Cheers. smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Feb 7 2010, 10:05 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(half_lif3 @ Feb 7 2010, 01:26 AM)
bro. can do front 2 door installation only? can quote me your best price
Can, but mind to tell me what car are you driving?
TSMyWifeCar
post Mar 1 2010, 07:52 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(siaobear @ Mar 1 2010, 06:05 PM)
Bro, I wanna reduce the noise sound from my exhaust muffler,
may i know which part should i apply the soundproofing in my car?
(Vios 03)
any suggestion and roughly how much is the price for it?
biggrin.gif Actually you should soundproof your door first (4 doors 3 layers), then only listen if the exhaust noise is still bugging you.

Or you can try by purely soundproofing your boot floor
1. Cheapest : Dampening Mat and InsuDamp
2. Intermediate : Dampening Mat, InsuDamp and Noise Absorption Mat
3. Expensive : Flex Mat and Noise Absorption Mat (NAM)

Anyway, what car are you driving? Hehehehe...

You decide and please let me know.
TSMyWifeCar
post Mar 2 2010, 12:37 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

bro,

for myvi, can estimate how much to do soundproofing for:
[KS]Quoting you DIY price.

a) 4 doors
[KS]~ard RM500

b) fender
[KS]~ard RM120

c) front bonnet (cover all, not just those patches)
[KS]RM45

d) floor
[KS]~ard RM480 and RM520

d1) boot floor
[KS]~ard RM250 and RM290

e) roofing.
[KS]~ard RM130

intended to do DiY, but I need to study the cost first...might go for 4 doors first & other later...
[KS] Do it DIY bro, Myvi is very simple only~~~

appreciate your advise as you seems to know better on myvi soundproofing...

is it difficult to do? all comes with adhesive tape right?
[KS]It is definitely not difficult bro, it is a good exercise too...Hahaahh biggrin.gif All my materials come with adhesive tape except Noise Absorption Mat which do not require adhesive, unless you need to apply it for boot floor papan.
If you are really keen on DIY, I can spend sometimes guiding you on how to do it.

Hei, soundproof and enjoy your ride! It's a passion~~~
TSMyWifeCar
post Mar 2 2010, 07:41 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

thx bro for the feedback..
[KS]You are welcome, hope my explanation do give you some ideas on how to proceed.

all this is using 2 layer right? What material you propose to use for the 4 doors , front bonnet & fender?
[KS]Not really. Only roof I do 2 layers - Layer-On-Layer. The rest are all 1 layer.
Doors - Flex Mat/InsuDamp, Suppression Pads and Insulflex
Front fender - Suppression Pads, Insuflex and Noise Plug.
Front Bonnet - Insulflex if you mind about appearance, KIA Spectra Damping Mat is what I will recommend if appearance is not important...because the size is pre-cut.

fuh, 1 ~ 2 day might not be enough to do this right? Need to think...think again until kepala botak rclxub.gif
[KS]I used 5 days in total of ard 6~7 hours each for my car, over the period of 3 months. Lazy ma... But the result, hehehehe you will have a broad smile on your face.

Don't think too much, work within your budget will do. Let me know of your concern with your car noise, and I will try my best to explain for you.

Myvi is an excellent car to modify, any changes you will see the effect. (hahahaha...wonder if this mean Myvi is not good biggrin.gif)

TSMyWifeCar
post Mar 5 2010, 03:15 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(RUKI @ Mar 5 2010, 02:25 AM)
arlo. i wanna ask the price and material suitable for viva soundproof:

fender, front bonnet, back bonnet, roof.

any good suggestion? wanna start with easy part first.see i can do it onot :|worries
The easiet would be the front bonnet.

I will ask you to use the "KIA Damping Mat" instead, because the material is better even though only thicker by 2mm comparing to Insulflex.

But by buying insulflex, probably you can use it for your rear bonnet too.

So you decide.

Roof will be the hardest for me, but considering it is a Viva, I guess it won't be too difficult...just time consuming only.

Use Insulflex/KIA D.M for the roof, on top of Suppression pads. Quieter and also heat proof. I can guide you if you are interested.

Please let me know ya~~ smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Mar 5 2010, 05:50 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(RUKI @ Mar 5 2010, 03:35 PM)
oh.ok.

wats the price for kia D.M? issit rm 80 per roll? and does it with self Adhesive?
if not wat kind of glue i should use @@ which means roof, front and rear bonet and fending oso suitable to use kia D.M?

sorry for so many questions
rclxub.gif
yo bro, here is the info on KIA D.M http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=113&t=1185662

My materials no need glue because all comes with self-adhesive for it necessary purpose, except Noise Absorption Mat. Glue is very smelly and suffocating. not very good for health... I experienced it myself too.... biggrin.gif

Questions are ok, you never ask you never know ma... smile.gif

Cheers.
TSMyWifeCar
post Mar 5 2010, 07:00 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(RUKI @ Mar 5 2010, 06:19 PM)
ohoh. like for now

front n back bonet n rooftop. at least how many pieces i need a?
issit possible to addon few layers and the results will turn out be better ?
wink.gif

and if i wan to cod by tomolo afternoon.where is the most convenient place to meet up? smile.gif im from pandan indah cheras
Bro, which materials are you interested in?

Add-on few layers? Guarantee got better results, but all the covers cannot put back already. biggrin.gif 1 layer is the best unless you put it with Suppression Pads or InsuDamp or Flex Mat.

Tomorrow I should be free only around afternoon. Can we meet up at Bukit Jalil area?

Please PM me your decision and contact number. smile.gif
TSMyWifeCar
post Mar 5 2010, 11:51 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(jefizz @ Mar 5 2010, 07:11 PM)
ello bro.. can install it for me?? can u suggest me which item i should take to soundproof my satria (not neo)?
Installation ah? Why don't you try to DIY, it will be cheaper and you don't have to pay me labor charges.
I can guide you FOC...ok?

Which item suitable for you depend on where/which part of your car that you would like to soundproof.

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.5786sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:28 AM