Thick as an oak tree
TSkotmj
Jun 11 2009, 11:18 AM, updated 17y ago
I was looking at the progress pics here, and noticed that while people eventually develop their upper bodies very satisfactorily, they still have these slender waists. Is it not a normal part of bodybuiding to be thick and muscular around the waist as well? I get the impression you train your obliques for this via, say, Saxon Side bends. Anybody with before after pics of their obliques, or thoughts on the matter?
pizzaboy
Jun 11 2009, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jun 11 2009, 11:18 AM) I was looking at the progress pics here, and noticed that while people eventually develop their upper bodies very satisfactorily, they still have these slender waists. Is it not a normal part of bodybuiding to be thick and muscular around the waist as well? I get the impression you train your obliques for this via, say, Saxon Side bends. Anybody with before after pics of their obliques, or thoughts on the matter? They usually stick with lighter high rep stuff for that. They don't want to develop thick waists. However, depending on what you want, some people don't mind, like powerlifters. They just train it too and let it grow.
-Dan
Jun 11 2009, 12:57 PM
Well, to me, one of the purposes of bodybuilding is to be aesthetically pleasing, obviously. So keeping the waist slim is just part of it. Having a bulging gut, be it muscle or not, doesn't look very nice if you ask me.
This post has been edited by -Dan: Jun 11 2009, 12:57 PM
TSkotmj
Jun 11 2009, 02:16 PM
I'm thinking of experimenting with 2 sets of 10-12 reps barbell saxon side bends after my major lifts.
shanecross
Jun 11 2009, 02:25 PM
I don't see why you shouldn't. Even I do weighted ab work all the time. Probably, just don't overdo it.
TSkotmj
Jun 11 2009, 02:45 PM
It's just that I don't see people doing it in the journals or in the progress pics.
(I already do weighted situps to support my overhead press.)
shanecross
Jun 11 2009, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jun 11 2009, 03:45 PM) It's just that I don't see people doing it in the journals or in the progress pics. (I already do weighted situps to support my overhead press.) When I say weighted ab work, it isn't the crunch machine. I do it on the cable machine. Better recuritment. Doesn't bust your back.
jamis
Jun 12 2009, 10:15 AM
Just my personal opinion and some knowledge i have gain from some pro. Like chad waterbury and bob chic ever mention about having a decent slim waist u must avoid crunches or any abs exercise that can achieve hypertrophy, and u gona have a bloated look (i experience it myself, my stomach is more protruding than my chest). So wat u need to do is some exercise to maintain ur abs, like plank, side plank and etc.
TSkotmj
Jun 13 2009, 05:06 PM
I just discovered this exercise to fix the distended belly problem: http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/ms-fit5.htm
pizzaboy
Jun 13 2009, 07:11 PM
I've always liked the look of such abs actually. Not cool meh?   I think they look damn solid and speaks of strength.
darklight79
Jun 13 2009, 08:13 PM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(jamis @ Jun 12 2009, 10:15 AM) Just my personal opinion and some knowledge i have gain from some pro. Like chad waterbury and bob chic ever mention about having a decent slim waist u must avoid crunches or any abs exercise that can achieve hypertrophy, and u gona have a bloated look (i experience it myself, my stomach is more protruding than my chest). So wat u need to do is some exercise to maintain ur abs, like plank, side plank and etc. They meant don't use too much weight on abs exercises. Light weight, very high reps. But anyway, just curious bro, where did you see those articles. I'm kinda curious too. This post has been edited by darklight79: Jun 13 2009, 08:14 PM
kanishen18
Jun 13 2009, 09:04 PM
avoid abs exercise in order to not to have protruding guts??? i've read articles tht stomach vacuuming solves tht issue!!! after a month of heavy ab training i've also experience tht but after performing stomach vacumming, my waistline became smaller...
~LynX~
Jun 14 2009, 05:04 AM

QUOTE(shanecross @ Jun 11 2009, 03:20 PM) When I say weighted ab work, it isn't the crunch machine. I do it on the cable machine. Better recuritment. Doesn't bust your back. Hey man, how do you perform ab exercises using a cable machine?
TSkotmj
Jun 14 2009, 03:17 PM
 I'd be willing to trade 10 points of IQ for abs like that.
kurtkob78
Jun 14 2009, 06:37 PM
It can be done. Just need a lot of time & money. I hope to get it by the age of 30 This post has been edited by kurtkob78: Jun 14 2009, 06:42 PM
shanecross
Jun 14 2009, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(~LynX~ @ Jun 14 2009, 06:04 AM) Hey man, how do you perform ab exercises using a cable machine? Cable Crunches.  QUOTE(kotmj @ Jun 14 2009, 04:17 PM)  I'd be willing to trade 10 points of IQ for abs like that. 10 points of IQ, that is alot for a set of abdominals that would wash off anytime. You better be a little wiser on what you wish for boy. This post has been edited by shanecross: Jun 14 2009, 06:48 PM
jackwylde
Jun 14 2009, 07:09 PM
that dude was skinny... dont u think??? but damn...the abs..
-Dan
Jun 14 2009, 08:05 PM
That's just a case of having very low bodyfat and some decent genetics for the abs, ie symmetry.
John91
Jun 14 2009, 08:58 PM
Achievable leh. I'm 75% there lol. But not my main concern now. Needs lean muscle mass!