Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

yngwie
post May 31 2010, 08:54 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

soonlee33@
was ps3 of 225/45/r17. cost almost 700 bucks apiece. ad08 cost even more. hence, i settled for ps3 sweat.gif
but am enjoying every moment of it.

jolipoli81@
that 14" is for your current ride? hmm.gif
if you want one that last long, gy duraplus is fine but long lasting tread usually sacrificed the performance part. lesser grip and take longer distance to stop during hard braking.
yngwie
post Jun 10 2010, 08:17 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

michael9413@
you're right about the cc1. it sux. but still better than nct5.

Andy0625@
you can try yokohama c.drive or hankook v12. i'd been using most of the yokohama range except the a.drive.... until the ps3 comes into picture.
there is no looking back ever since.
am still using s.drive on my modded waja thou.
yngwie
post Jun 19 2010, 03:32 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jun 19 2010, 01:06 PM)
haha, you are right. biggrin.gif

But i am just wondering where they are, no sight or posting in here..
how extreme? brows.gif
are those lorry / bus driver who happened to frequent the highway consider as an extreme tyre user? tongue.gif
else, slick user?

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jun 19 2010, 01:59 PM)
they lurks everywhere... but here...  laugh.gif
they're busy finishing off the tyre tread laugh.gif

yngwie
post Jun 19 2010, 08:12 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Jun 19 2010, 04:04 PM)
Haha... My PP2 still got like 60% thread left after 13 months of driving. Next stop, PS3 biggrin.gif
about time to change brows.gif
changed the rear last time and the 2 front donut' to ps3 recently.
will never settled for anything less in the future!
yngwie
post Jun 20 2010, 11:53 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

it's reality, not a poison. brows.gif
after using yokohama range for so long, including the ad07, ps3 compensate for for what it lacks in ad07 by being much more quieter and longer lasting tread.
17" ps3 cost quite a lot but still marginally cheaper than ad08 and more lasting tread too. now running ps3 on all 4 and having a great fun!
planning to change another ride with 15" once it's due in a few months time.

yngwie
post Jun 20 2010, 07:17 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

ps3 is addictive, btw. just like sony ps3 tongue.gif
why not traded the ps2 for ps3. ps3 price will be sky high in a year time brows.gif
yngwie
post Jun 25 2010, 11:31 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jun 21 2010, 10:59 AM)
they said if dun change, later the alignment will easily "gone", then this... then that...
sound so serious...

but actually if doesn't really impact much even if we do the alignment without changing the camber, rite?
not sure if it's related but friend of mine driving his vios with bad alignment, car was having a problem going at straight line.
advised him to go for alignmnet but he said he already getting used to it.
almost 7 months later, his driveshaft broken and end up costing a bomb for replacement.

QUOTE(bobsoon @ Jun 25 2010, 10:45 AM)
i'm going to change my front tires soon...hit a nail near the side wall.they said cannot repair already.looking forward to change to michelin...
ps3 all the way! brows.gif
yngwie
post Jun 25 2010, 11:41 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

depending on size. 15" selling under 250. no other tyre come close to it's performance per price.
yngwie
post Jun 25 2010, 11:54 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

klang area selling 'em at cheaper price.
browse thorough TYRE PRICE LIST for more info.
yngwie
post Jun 30 2010, 08:52 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

answering on behalf of che ann tongue.gif
camber nut is where the tyre / alignment shop made the most. a piece of camber nut alone could cost as much as 45 bucks sweat.gif
but camber nut does work in some way; it help in holding the suspension / lower arm in the best possible way. thus eliminate the
one side tyre wear problem or car can't go straight while the steering is in straight position.
camber nut help in protecting your tyre wear by distributing the wear evenly.
avoid going through pot holes when the adjustment is still on camber nut. it may caused the nut to bend thus alignment might change.

btw, in some case, worn out steering bush / drive shaft / lower arm bush does contribute to the unstable ride icon_rolleyes.gif

yngwie
post Jul 4 2010, 06:40 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(zyde @ Jul 4 2010, 03:37 PM)
trade in price will be very much depending on the tyre condition. price wise, it's very subjective.
fyi, i can get a cheaper price for certain brand in cheras, while other brand selling cheaper in klang.
you can go to klang and compare the price from a few well known tyre shop over there. you can't go wrong with it.

QUOTE(master_q @ Jul 4 2010, 04:51 PM)
what car are you driving?
if you're mainly into comfort and quiet, michellin xm1 and falken ziex912 would be a good buy. both are quiet and comfort.
yokohama a.drive is another option with good treadwear rating but i doubt it will be more quieter than the 2 brand above.
frequent highway driving will be quite hard on tyre wear which is another consideration
if am not mistaken, xm1 treadwear is around 320 while falken ziex912 is rated higher at 360.
not sure if falken available in profile 50 for 14" though. do check around.

yngwie
post Jul 5 2010, 11:26 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 4 2010, 07:50 PM)
22x bucks for 195/55/r15 is cheap. i've got mine at 240 bucks x2 pcx with free balancing.

QUOTE(master_q @ Jul 5 2010, 12:09 AM)
treadwear ; falken ze912 and yokohama a.drive rated at 360 which is higher than xm1 at 320.
not so sure about current pricing but based on performance per bucks, i will rather take falken 912 or a.drive instead.
fyi, beside the lower treadwear rate, xm1 grip is worst than the 2 tyre above.
we might need those extra grip from the tyres during unforeseen circumstances smile.gif
the xm1 pricing you're quoted at is standard.
yngwie
post Jul 5 2010, 08:16 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

the_catacombs was right. it was a standard price almost everywhere for ps3 of 195/55/r15.
at that price, x2 pcs free balancing x4 pcs will be free balancing and alignment(labour).
yngwie
post Jul 13 2010, 08:13 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

240 bucks seem to be the standard price for 195/55/r15 ps3. either free wheel balancing or with alignment.
yngwie
post Jul 14 2010, 06:12 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

WhiteWing@
most of the big player does not produce tyre of 12".
your choice is limited to dunlop d-01 or goodyear gps2. not sure about the traction / performance though.

MeToo@
what is your ride? was your falken fk452 made in indonesia?
directional tread tyre as in fk452 should be quite capable on wet. perhaps, tyre was below optimum temperature during rain hmm.gif
last time while using the same tyre for a couple of months, i noticed the grip is lessened at the end of a touge ride to cameron.
in my case, could be tyre heat up problem.
yngwie
post Jul 14 2010, 08:57 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

MeToo@
those made in indonesia ones was quite inferior.
btw, i'll ditch fk452 anytime on performance car. goodyear gs3 or assymetric is fine. or toyo t1r / yokohama s.drive for the directional tread.
no doubt, fk452 is quiet for a directional tread pattern but that's not be all and all. grip and traction is fundamental.

h4dRi@
should be good enough.
monitor the tyre for a few days and see if the the air pressure go down faster than the other.
yngwie
post Jul 14 2010, 09:16 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

both should be on par with own pro / cons and the f1 assy run slightly quieter but with a tread wear of 240, ps3 is more appropriate for daily ride with
a 320 rated tread wear!
btw, haven't try the f1 assy yet. but so far, i am happy with the ps3 on my both ride. might never go for another brand again smile.gif
not sure about 215 price but 225/45/r17 cost in the region of 550. best bang for bucks by far.
feedback from ex-gs3 user who switched to ps3 was quite encouraging too; ps3 return a slightly higher compliment.

yngwie
post Jul 15 2010, 07:56 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

huh! xm1 at 235 is a worst buy. ps3 cost in the region of 250. just add a little bit and get a ps3.
both tyre are 2 world apart. xm1 has the worst grip in wet.
being a uhp, ps3 is noisier than xm1 of course but it made up more more with it's better grip and traction. doesn't matter if it's in wet or dry.

This post has been edited by yngwie: Jul 15 2010, 07:56 AM
yngwie
post Jul 17 2010, 09:55 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 16 2010, 01:28 PM)

a.drive was yokohama's entry level performance tyre which is geared for comfort. nothing else. same goes to parade spec2.
lousy tyre for spirited driving.
at the moment, the best deal seems to be ps3!

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jul 16 2010, 01:55 PM)
you can't go wrong with both.
wait for rascal stitch's opinion on primacy lc. i personally haven't use em but falken looks quite a deal too.

QUOTE(praveend12 @ Jul 16 2010, 12:27 PM)
a.drive is mean for leisure drive(p class). while ps3 is in another league(uhp class).
if you need a low noise and slightly better fc, perhaps, you can try mv8(if they are still available, sorry, am not into michelin tyre until the ps3).
ps3 is indeed a best all rounder at the moment. even so for a spirited driving style.
btw, who cares about noise if you got all the handling and grip at your disposal?
buying a tyre should be based on driving style and individual preference.

yngwie
post Jul 19 2010, 11:10 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(bagata @ Jul 18 2010, 10:24 PM)
not mine bro, my dad's LOL... urm, checked that before, but its all in japanese =/
learn japanese...jk tongue.gif

what is your tyre size? 220 front and 210 rear is should be okay for sandard 15" - 17" wheels. anything else will be very much depend on driving style / preference and car type.

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0678sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:27 AM