Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V27!, The Orange Legion

achew
post Jun 14 2009, 10:19 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(5564321 @ Jun 14 2009, 10:14 PM)
Well, never tune anything, I just import the files from camera to lightroom catalog. If I open the image with windows photo gallery/sony imaga utility, the color is normal. If I open with lightroom, the images look reddish. If I convert using sony utility, the color is normal. If using Adobe lightroom, the color looks reddish.

BTW, before upload and after upload is same, so its ok. I think should be lightroom ,cant find the setting though...
adobe works fine with me..but again..i always tune the parameters to the level im satisfy with....

u can try rawtherapee..heard from the bros here it does pretty good job..
achew
post Jun 14 2009, 11:14 PM

3,807 posts

for me..most of the time im using AWB...wouldnt really change it unless its off by too much...it gives me more time to shoot and less thing to worry as i could correct them during PP rather than changing here n there during the shooting and missed out some precious moments..
achew
post Jun 15 2009, 02:33 AM

3,807 posts

noise control seems like better..but somehow the pics dont look not sharp to me..

anyway guys..any opinion which one u prefer??
old

new

i actually prefer the old version...anyway...just posted it up for some opinion b4 i delete 1 of them =)

This post has been edited by achew: Jun 15 2009, 02:34 AM
achew
post Jun 15 2009, 02:41 AM

3,807 posts

the cold tone on the face was 'supposed' to be the reflection from the 'screens'...so since i had lesser 'screens' in the first one..so the WB was not as cold as new shot...lol..anyway..thanks for telling =D
achew
post Jun 16 2009, 03:12 AM

3,807 posts

was asked for shooting my bro's R.O.M yesterday..my first time >.<

very new in wedding shooting...c&c is appreciated =)
achew
post Jun 16 2009, 03:19 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Jun 16 2009, 03:16 AM)
got talent thumbup.gif
stil far away from event shooting sifus like u =)

i was quite annoyed by those uncle aunties shooting with hp n digicams...i miss out the ring exchanging part bcoz they r blocking all the view vmad.gif
achew
post Jun 16 2009, 03:40 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Jun 16 2009, 03:30 AM)
ya la nowadays very hard la to take pictures since everyone osso bring their own compact cams, hp cam etc.. etc.. and event photography is very hard indeed and also very tiring coz u have to be alert all the time to capture the magic moment..  sweat.gif
hmm.. in order to use pixelpost, you need to have ur own web hosting account which give the user the ability to manage their own MySQL database.. if u have one, i can setup for u for free  thumbup.gif
those group photo i can let them shoot untill they happy den i step in after that...but those exchanging rings..blablabla..nobody would wait for u...but they couldnt understand who is supposed to b the photographer there.. =.= and the light is kinda dim..i doubt their hp/digicam could give them any clear stuff...
achew
post Jun 16 2009, 03:51 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Jun 16 2009, 03:46 AM)
wah, you bring dslr osso they never give chance to u ah?
thoso hp and compact cams will definitly give so so pic quality one especially indoors.. laugh.gif
use compact still okay to me..alot of them r using hp..which i feel abit sweat.gif
they r like the 'official' one there...running around to shoot using hp..lol
achew
post Jun 16 2009, 01:04 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jun 16 2009, 11:16 AM)
i always believe that whenever you are hired and paid as the official photographer, you have the power to control the crowd. whenever some guest blocking your view, you can always tell them... even if you have to argue. but do it politely lah. the best is to ready yourself in position early before those pns and cameraphone people rush towards the couple.

in this kind of situation, better use wide angle lah. forget about telephoto first.
they were simply all over the places...lol...and most impt thing..they r the uncles/aunties of my bro's wife...so i had to bare with it sad.gif
achew
post Jun 16 2009, 04:20 PM

3,807 posts

Danbo knows what u did last summer =)

Exposure: 0.02 sec (1/50)
Aperture: f/14.0
Focal Length: 90 mm
Exposure: +0.15
ISO Speed: 200

torch light from the back of the danbo taking 'shower'
F58 fires wirelessly from the right of the 'killer' @ 1/2 power

everything in this shot was real..the only editing is adding the words..

c&c r welcomed =)

This post has been edited by achew: Jun 16 2009, 04:30 PM
achew
post Jun 16 2009, 10:15 PM

3,807 posts

wow..400mm~ do we need a steady hand to shoot @400mm??? or our SSS is more than enough...
achew
post Jun 16 2009, 11:44 PM

3,807 posts

hehe..slightly change abit and reshoot my danbo photo...added some blood stains =)

Exposure: 0.033 sec (1/30)
Aperture: f/13.0
Focal Length: 90 mm
Exposure: +0.60
ISO Speed: 200
Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Flash: On, Fired
torch light from the back of the danbo taking 'shower'
F58 fires wirelessly from the right of the 'killer' @ 1/2 power
everything in this shot was real..the only editing is adding the words..

c&c r welcomed =D

This post has been edited by achew: Jun 16 2009, 11:44 PM
achew
post Jun 17 2009, 12:00 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 16 2009, 11:55 PM)
millenia3000: Have you ever accidentally turned off Super SteadyShot with a tele lens?

I have, and it doesn't look nice, even at shutter speeds of 1/100s. Looks 'doubled'.

achew: Well planned!

msiddiq: Nope, the F20 is not available yet as far as I know but when it is I will holla out to all the A900 owners!

marushin: Wah, the big push-pull! It's really not that small. Well it's my biggest lens la. You can have a lot of fun with this lens at big sunny events!

thanks bro..

btw talking about the long range lenses...at 1/100s..does the lens gives better IQ on Canon/Nikon?(take it as its a IS/VR len)

and for our SSS..usually wads the shutter speed required to have 'normal' quality?

This post has been edited by achew: Jun 17 2009, 12:00 AM
achew
post Jun 17 2009, 02:58 AM

3,807 posts

the tiger shot seems like u shake a lil??
achew
post Jun 17 2009, 03:24 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Jun 17 2009, 03:15 AM)
here's a shot from me using KM 70-210mm at 210mm F4.. taiping zoo..

woot~this is sooooooooo adorable~!!!
love the bokeh too~
achew
post Jun 17 2009, 07:42 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(mowkey @ Jun 17 2009, 07:30 PM)
A question, is f/2.8 necessary once you have flash? Theoretically a KitLens + F42/F58 is better in lowlight compared to T17-50 alone, right?
yes...kitlens + flash would b better than F2.8 even F/1.4 imho...but having F/2.8+flash would give u greater flexibility of achieving the DoF u want..

Added on June 17, 2009, 7:43 pm
QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Jun 17 2009, 07:39 PM)
ok took back my old picture taken using my old a200 and adjust the colour as per advised by some1. c&c are appreciated biggrin.gif

nicce..but i'd prefer it to a just a lil bit more vibrant??

something like this?

This post has been edited by achew: Jun 17 2009, 07:50 PM

achew
post Jun 17 2009, 07:56 PM

3,807 posts

i notice when increasing the vibrancy..the reflection on the kid's hair would bcome greenish..if u hav time..u might wan to spend some time to correct it in photoshop.. =)
achew
post Jun 19 2009, 11:29 PM

3,807 posts

like abit under exposed to me =p
achew
post Jun 19 2009, 11:43 PM

3,807 posts

1)1680+70200+50mm F1.4+sp90...or 2) 2470+135mm+sp90??? which one u'd choose?

i know the range in 1) is way more complete than 2)....but i'd stil prefer 2..wahahaha..firstly i don think i need that long range..and imma sucker big brighter aperture lens.. =D
achew
post Jun 22 2009, 01:26 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jun 22 2009, 01:20 AM)
this pic ok ka..comments plz..