Left 4 Dead 2, Whole bunch of dedicated servers up

oms600
post Nov 6 2009, 07:10 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Nov 6 2009, 06:57 PM)
i tried downloading from steam and some how its stucked at the "preparing left 4 dead 2 demo files for install" on steam window....seems to be taking very long....is this normal?
depending on connection speed? hmm.gif hmm.gif

cause mine also take very long time
vorchiel
post Nov 6 2009, 07:32 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=981545

for those who cant wait until the 17th(18th)
AlexLee277
post Nov 6 2009, 09:10 PM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Nov 6 2009, 08:32 PM)
http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=981545

for those who cant wait until the 17th(18th)
what is this? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by AlexLee277: Nov 6 2009, 09:11 PM
viledante
post Nov 6 2009, 09:14 PM

414 posts

its versus mode with the demo, i think.
kEazYc
post Nov 6 2009, 09:16 PM

1,314 posts

A tool that most of the cs/hl/tf2/l4d server uses, but not really sure what's inside lol.
avars
post Nov 6 2009, 09:47 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(oms600 @ Nov 6 2009, 05:38 PM)
ya downloading..11% at 56kb/s

that fast dry.gif
If Steam is a torrent seeder, they are a damn good 1, i had once reached 170kb/s, except when u dont have a 'token', it will stop downloading

QUOTE(barney @ Nov 6 2009, 06:57 PM)
i tried downloading from steam and some how its stucked at the "preparing left 4 dead 2 demo files for install" on steam window....seems to be taking very long....is this normal?
normal bro, i normally leave it there while sleeping or going to work tongue.gif
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Nov 6 2009, 10:29 PM

1,704 posts

Tried the demo. Doesn't seem that different to me compared to L4D mellow.gif
strife_personified
post Nov 6 2009, 10:39 PM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

I'm re4lly late, so please allow me to play catch up tongue.gif
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Nov 6 2009, 10:41 AM)
Anyway, it's still DEMO. There's few more stuffs to fix.
e.g. The zombie running towards me with their shoulders facing me. Weird lol.

it seems this argument has slipped over to the LYN from the steampowered forums *smack's head*

do people not remember the days of demos like Duke Nukem, Doom? even Quake? what you got was a large chunk of the game, that demonstrates the game in its entirety. heck, in both Doom and Quake, you get to play one WHOLE ENTIRE EPISODE. can't remember about Duke, so meh. Valve themselves don't seem to understand what a demo is.

QUOTE(ezinger @ Nov 6 2009, 12:39 PM)
you can't compare borderlands to l4d2. totally different gameplay altogether not to mention stunning graphics/terrains/weapons/models and has more than 5 maps lol. i've played the first l4d and even on a competitive level. need i say more?
i too missed the Fire Lord of Trolls. welcome back, and so long, it wasn't nice to see you tongue.gif

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Nov 6 2009, 02:40 PM)
who is

Lil. Alvin = itsClois

Lighto is a cheater! Tsurui!

Your Legendary Imouto

MiChi want wii :3

i duno which lyn accont are u...
i didnt know Michi was viledante tongue.gif Lighto is lightonokira, he frequents the Modders section. Imouto is Czero. itsClois is quite obvious tongue.gif

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Nov 6 2009, 10:29 PM)
Tried the demo. Doesn't seem that different to me compared to L4D mellow.gif
it didn't? while the gameplay itself didnt change, i somehow felt that the controls were clunkier/heavier, in the same way that CS feels clunkier/heavier than HL. on top of that i smelt some consoletardation in terms of the HUD and GUI. the fonts are too big (even at 1080), same goes for the crosshair. and for some reason my fps on the netgraph was stuck at 60, no matter how i scaled the settings down. i know i had vsync on, but that shouldnt affect the number of frames rendered yeah?
meetxj9
post Nov 6 2009, 10:57 PM

187 posts

Its practicly the same game with added features~ Things they should have added to the original!!!! L4D2 is the better game because they improved on all the espects from the previuos~ In short, the first game was the guinea pig and this one the real horse.

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Nov 6 2009, 11:31 PM
oms600
post Nov 6 2009, 11:44 PM

496 posts

the download cant be resume after restart steam??

my download was 49%

then i close steam and start steam...it auto resume the download...but was 1%
wtf!!!!
itsClois
post Nov 7 2009, 11:24 AM

164 posts

You guys started preloading the real game already? Acks! Another week!
Cheesenium
post Nov 7 2009, 11:36 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(oms600 @ Nov 6 2009, 11:44 PM)
the download cant be resume after restart steam??

my download was 49%

then i close steam and start steam...it auto resume the download...but was 1%
wtf!!!!
Nah,it's normal.

Say you have downloaded 4 out of 10 GB which is 40% when you stop downloading.Then,you restarted Steam,and the download progress shows 0%,it's not redownloading the whole game again.The 0% means the 0% out of the remaining 6GB you have to download while the other 4GB already in your com.
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Nov 7 2009, 01:06 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(strife_personified @ Nov 6 2009, 10:39 AM)
it didn't? while the gameplay itself didnt change, i somehow felt that the controls were clunkier/heavier, in the same way that CS feels clunkier/heavier than HL. on top of that i smelt some consoletardation in terms of the HUD and GUI. the fonts are too big (even at 1080), same goes for the crosshair. and for some reason my fps on the netgraph was stuck at 60, no matter how i scaled the settings down. i know i had vsync on, but that shouldnt affect the number of frames rendered yeah?
Lol, I don't know; can't say much. I have only played it once. Maybe we got too pampered with TF2, that I got used to having a huge chunk of additions to the original. Comparing TF2 when it started and now, well, L4D -> L4D2 seems moot. Heck, let's compare TFC -> TF2 laugh.gif laugh.gif

Maybe I just need some more time, which I don't really have these days sad.gif playing it.
Boomeraangkid
post Nov 7 2009, 01:49 PM

Behind You
2,696 posts

i already have the demo, and im getting my copy by next sunday from tsb, whats that program that could preload steam games?!
oms600
post Nov 7 2009, 02:10 PM

496 posts

hmm..i cant start the demo...when i click launch game it say steam client need to update...but my steam is already updated
radkliler
post Nov 7 2009, 02:18 PM

WUBWUBWUB
985 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Nov 7 2009, 02:49 PM)
i already have the demo, and im getting my copy by next sunday from tsb, whats that program that could preload steam games?!
Its a small program called Steam.

You might have heard of it
Hou_JaI
post Nov 7 2009, 02:54 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(strife_personified @ Nov 6 2009, 10:39 PM)
I'm re4lly late, so please allow me to play catch up tongue.gif
it seems this argument has slipped over to the LYN from the steampowered forums *smack's head*

do people not remember the days of demos like Duke Nukem, Doom? even Quake? what you got was a large chunk of the game, that demonstrates the game in its entirety. heck, in both Doom and Quake, you get to play one WHOLE ENTIRE EPISODE. can't remember about Duke, so meh. Valve themselves don't seem to understand what a demo is.
i too missed the Fire Lord of Trolls. welcome back, and so long, it wasn't nice to see you tongue.gif
i didnt know Michi was viledante tongue.gif Lighto is lightonokira, he frequents the Modders section. Imouto is Czero. itsClois is quite obvious tongue.gif
wahhhh so it suck ?!?!?! plan to buy but seems there isn't anything changed in the game tongue.gif
vorchiel
post Nov 7 2009, 03:16 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Nov 7 2009, 01:49 PM)
maybe you can try to force your steam client into preloading it

steam://install/550

and use your retail key to add it to your gamelist later

dunno if it works or not though
Boomeraangkid
post Nov 7 2009, 03:42 PM

Behind You
2,696 posts

paste that command into my steam.exe properties right?

heaven
post Nov 7 2009, 03:49 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(strife_personified @ Nov 6 2009, 10:39 PM)
i know i had vsync on, but that shouldnt affect the number of frames rendered yeah?
Vsync on = fix rendered frames equals or less than your monitor refresh rate, so yeah it does stays 60 or below, your fps should rise after you turn off vsync, that is what vsync is suppose to do.

125 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0385sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:50 AM