115 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General

starsunship
post Apr 29 2018, 08:06 PM

QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 29 2018, 07:12 PM)
I love nature & hiking as well, have been to both north and south islands, most recently last month. We're the type to just stop by the road and go tramping, obviously not everyone likes this. The south island has more rugged natural beauty. I would definitely not miss Milford Sound, it's not just the fjord itself but the drive down that's breathtaking. Arthur's Pass is also amazing.

Adele already mentioned the glaciers, that's another one worth going. I can tell the difference between the first time I went to Franz Josef glacier in 2011 and just recently, huge difference as the ice has receeded significantly. Don't miss it before it's completely gone.

Good luck and have fun.
Thank you for the information. I will plan accordingly.

ajin999
post May 1 2018, 10:26 PM

338 posts

Hello.

I'm going to NZ this September. Below just only my draft plan. is there is any item below can be merge or not? or any suggestion from forumer. Sifu/Otai NZ please help. biggrin.gif

DaY Trip
1 KL AUCK. AUCK - CHC
2 AUCK - Castle Hill - Lake Pearson
3 Lake Pearson -Arthur Pass National Park
4 Arthur Pass National Park - Hokitika Gorge - Franz Josef Glacier
5 Franz Josef Glacier - Sky Diving - Fox Glacier
6 Fox Glacier - Haast National Park
7 Haast National Park - Wanaka
8 Wanaka -Roy Peak - Wanaka
9 Wanaka - Queenstown
10 Queenstown - Te Anau
11 Te Anau - Milford Sound -Te Anau
12 Te Anau - Lake Tekapo
13 Lake Tekapo - Mt.Cook - Twizel - CHC
14 CHC AUCK AUCK KL

TQ~
stormchaser
post May 1 2018, 10:47 PM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

QUOTE(ajin999 @ May 1 2018, 10:26 PM)
Hello.

I'm going to NZ this September. Below just only my draft plan. is there is any item below can be merge or not? or any suggestion from forumer. Sifu/Otai NZ please help. biggrin.gif

DaY Trip
1 KL AUCK. AUCK - CHC
4 Arthur Pass National Park -  Hokitika Gorge - Franz Josef Glacier
9 Wanaka - Queenstown
10 Queenstown - Te Anau
12 Te Anau - Lake Tekapo
14 CHC AUCK AUCK KL

TQ~
12) te anau to lake tekapo.. long drive yo..

ajin999
post May 1 2018, 10:57 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ May 1 2018, 10:47 PM)
12) te anau to lake tekapo.. long drive yo..
Yea. Hurmm any suggestion? 😭
stormchaser
post May 1 2018, 11:03 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(ajin999 @ May 1 2018, 10:57 PM)
stay a night in between maybe...

just noticed, u go lake tekapo first from te anau.. then back to mt cook.. y not go mt cook first, then only lake tekapo.. dun forget to drop by at lake pukaki salmon.. u will passby from mt cook to lake tekapo.. and go mt john at tekapo..
fapman
post May 2 2018, 12:38 AM

122 posts

Hello.

DaY Trip
1 KL AUCK. AUCK - CHC
9 Wanaka - Queenstown
10 Queenstown - Te Anau
12 Te Anau - Lake Tekapo
14 CHC AUCK AUCK KL

TQ~
Fuhh,
Te Anau to Lake Tekapo is a very long drive.
Totally agreed with Stormchaser on this.
U can check google map how far those two from each other & roads in South Island is different from Malaysia.
A 2 hour distance could be stretched to 5 hours due to the roads are circling around lakes & mountains that stood in between 2 locations.
Maybe can try to stay at Wanaka, Lake Hawea, Twizel or Mt Cook?
Definitely need to put a pit stop in between Te Anau & Lake Tekapo.
Monya Meow Meow
post May 2 2018, 11:27 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(ajin999 @ May 1 2018, 10:57 PM)
Do Wanaka > Te Anau > Queenstown > Mt Cook > Tekapo
Less driving, more relaxing
mafilee
post May 3 2018, 12:46 PM

47 posts

Guys i need your advise if i only can choose between Franz Josef or Milford sound which destination should be in my priority?

If I choose milford sound i will miss view from christchurch to greymouth and if i choose franz josef i will miss the view from te anau to milford sound..so dilemma yo..

I will be the only driver for this trip i don't want to rush much just going to be free and easy trip.. icon_question.gif
Monya Meow Meow
post May 4 2018, 12:40 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(mafilee @ May 3 2018, 12:46 PM)
Guys i need your advise if i only can choose between Franz Josef or Milford sound which destination should be in my priority?

If I choose milford sound i will miss view from christchurch to greymouth and if i choose franz josef  i will miss the view from te anau to milford sound..so dilemma yo..

I will be the only driver for this trip i don't want to rush much just going to be free and easy trip.. icon_question.gif
What's more important to you?
Visiting one of the famous fiords on-board a cruise or experiencing a glacier up close?
If not doing a heli-hike or glacier landing, better to go to Milford IMO.
xbbshampoo
post May 25 2018, 09:36 AM

AudioPedoPhile : >
869 posts

do I need to international license to drive there?
jayjaynyc
post May 25 2018, 09:38 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ May 25 2018, 09:36 AM)
do I need to international license to drive there?
No. Our license is good enough... as long as it's the one with the English translation.
xbbshampoo
post May 25 2018, 09:45 AM

AudioPedoPhile : >
869 posts

QUOTE(jayjaynyc @ May 25 2018, 09:38 AM)
No. Our license is good enough... as long as it's the one with the English translation.
ok thanks ya rclxms.gif
post May 27 2018, 12:45 AM

86 posts

Hello.

DaY Trip
1 KL AUCK. AUCK - CHC
9 Wanaka - Queenstown
10 Queenstown - Te Anau
12 Te Anau - Lake Tekapo
14 CHC AUCK AUCK KL

TQ~
Mind to share the budget for this trip? Hehehe
huiyin_hsu
post May 27 2018, 04:03 PM

169 posts

Hello all, going to NZ this coming July (25/7 till 6/8) *O* , seek your advice if the below itinerary sounds doable?

A bit worried about going to Mount Cook cos it may be snowing / i dunno how to put on snow chains etc but the Hooker Valley track looks so pretty! I'm also going to be renting a camper (I KNOW. in the middle of the dead winter).

My original plan was to take the Tranz Alpine from Christchurch to Greymouth, rent a car and drop it off at Queenstown then rent a camper to come back to Christchurch. But because it is one way, the rentals are crazy expensive and i can't find anyone who would rent me a camper for 3 nights sad.gif Therefore, we've decided to brave the winter, wear layers and layers and be in a camper instead haha. RIP Tranz Alpine. Too expensive to take return too cos individually would cost 400+NZD. (same price as the heli hike @ Franz T__T)

I've been reading up a lot about self contained / non contained campers and still in the midst of figuring out which one i should take. There's only going to be just the two of us so i don't wanna be driving a super huge vehicle up and down NZ when the days are so short. doh.gif the wind conditions / weather worries me too.

Also, what are oil fin heaters? Do they need to be plugged in? Upon arrival just dropping by to Warehouse to pickup one and then use in the car? Never been in a caravan so i have no clue how things work.

The van does come with a heater but only can use when it is plugged in. and because it's so expensive have plug-in at campsites.. Im not even sure if there is any alternatives for heat haha.

Day 1 - Arrival 1600hours at Christchurch, chill around and only depart next day
Day 2 - 3 hr drive : Leave Christchurch for Lake Tekapo (Stay at : Lake Tekapo- Shoreline Freedom Campsite (not sure if i'm taking which kind of camper yet) OR Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park - more $$)
Day 3 - Spend time at Lake Tekapo / surroundings (Church of the Good Shepherd / Gaze and chill at the skies/stars)
Day 4 - 2 hr drive : Leave Lake Tekapo and explore Pukaki before going to Mt Cook (Stay at : DOC Whitehorse)
Day 5 - Mt Cook (Hooker Valley Trek / Lake Poaka) (Stay at DOC Whitehorse)
Day 6 - 3.5 hr drive : Leave Mt Cook and head to Queenstown (Any suggestion where to stay?)
Day 7 - Queenstown (Any suggestion where to stay?) - not sure what to do at Queenstown cos i dont intend to bungee jump / sky dive..
Day 8 - 1.5 hr drive : Leave Queenstown for Wanaka. (Stay at Lake Wanaka- Lake Outlet Holiday Park)
Day 9 - Roys Peak Trek (rougly 6-7 hrs return) - (Stay at Lake Wanaka - Lake Outlet Holiday Park)
Day 10 - 4 hr drive : Leave Wanaka for Franz Josef (try to catch the Heli ride same day)
Day 11 - Backup day in case Heli ride not possible (Any suggestion where to stay?)
Day 12 - 3.5 hr drive : Leave Franz Josef for Arthur Pass (Any suggestion where to stay?) - Franz straight to Christchurch seems too long of a drive, but i dunno where to go liao tongue.gif
Day 13 - 2 hr drive : Leave Arthur Pass for Christchurch & leave Christchurch for KL

Thank you so much sifus in advanced for your feedback! smile.gif

This post has been edited by huiyin_hsu: May 27 2018, 04:07 PM
konarbaring
post May 27 2018, 06:10 PM

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ May 27 2018, 04:03 PM)
Hello all, going to NZ this coming July (25/7 till 6/8) *O* , seek your advice if the below itinerary sounds doable?

A bit worried about going to Mount Cook cos it may be snowing / i dunno how to put on snow chains etc but the Hooker Valley track looks so pretty! I'm also going to be renting a camper (I KNOW. in the middle of the dead winter).

My original plan was to take the Tranz Alpine from Christchurch to Greymouth, rent a car and drop it off at Queenstown then rent a camper to come back to Christchurch. But because it is one way, the rentals are crazy expensive and i can't find anyone who would rent me a camper for 3 nights sad.gif Therefore, we've decided to brave the winter, wear layers and layers and be in a camper instead haha. RIP Tranz Alpine. Too expensive to take return too cos individually would cost 400+NZD.  (same price as the heli hike @ Franz T__T)

I've been reading up a lot about self contained / non contained campers and still in the midst of figuring out which one i should take. There's only going to be just the two of us so i don't wanna be driving a super huge vehicle up and down NZ when the days are so short. doh.gif the wind conditions / weather worries me too.

Also, what are oil fin heaters? Do they need to be plugged in? Upon arrival just dropping by to Warehouse to pickup one and then use in the car? Never been in a caravan so i have no clue how things work.

The van does come with a heater but only can use when it is plugged in. and because it's so expensive have plug-in at campsites.. Im not even sure if there is any alternatives for heat haha.

Day 1 - Arrival 1600hours at Christchurch, chill around and only depart next day
Day 2 - 3 hr drive : Leave Christchurch for Lake Tekapo (Stay at : Lake Tekapo- Shoreline Freedom Campsite (not sure if i'm taking which kind of camper yet) OR Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park - more $$)
Day 3 - Spend time at Lake Tekapo / surroundings (Church of the Good Shepherd / Gaze and chill at the skies/stars)
Day 4 - 2 hr drive : Leave Lake Tekapo and explore Pukaki before going to Mt Cook (Stay at : DOC Whitehorse)
Day 6 - 3.5 hr drive : Leave Mt Cook and head to Queenstown (Any suggestion where to stay?)
Day 7 - Queenstown  (Any suggestion where to stay?) - not sure what to do at Queenstown cos i dont intend to bungee jump / sky dive..
Day 8 - 1.5 hr drive : Leave Queenstown for Wanaka. (Stay at Lake Wanaka- Lake Outlet Holiday Park)
Day 9 - Roys Peak Trek (rougly 6-7 hrs return) - (Stay at Lake Wanaka - Lake Outlet Holiday Park)
Day 10 - 4 hr drive : Leave Wanaka for Franz Josef (try to catch the Heli ride same day)
Day 11 - Backup day in case Heli ride not possible (Any suggestion where to stay?)
Day 12 - 3.5 hr drive : Leave Franz Josef for Arthur Pass (Any suggestion where to stay?) - Franz straight to Christchurch seems too long of a drive, but i dunno where to go liao tongue.gif
Day 13 - 2 hr drive : Leave Arthur Pass for Christchurch  & leave Christchurch for KL

nice plan there. no idea to add.maybe other sifu will topup.

btw. how much this trip going to cost? looking forword to visit nz one day smile.gif
huiyin_hsu
post May 28 2018, 08:28 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(konarbaring @ May 27 2018, 06:10 PM)
nice plan there. no idea to add.maybe other sifu will topup.

btw. how much this trip going to cost? looking forword to visit nz one day smile.gif
hahaha, erm, i estimate the camper would probably cost around $1k, (+Petrol), some camp sites i roughly gauge around $200, the heli hikes would be around $900.. puke.gif *flying money emoji* hahaa
Monya Meow Meow
post May 28 2018, 11:44 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ May 27 2018, 04:03 PM)

My original plan was to take the Tranz Alpine from Christchurch to Greymouth, rent a car and drop it off at Queenstown then rent a camper to come back to Christchurch. But because it is one way, the rentals are crazy expensive and i can't find anyone who would rent me a camper for 3 nights sad.gif Therefore, we've decided to brave the winter, wear layers and layers and be in a camper instead haha. RIP Tranz Alpine. Too expensive to take return too cos individually would cost 400+NZD.  (same price as the heli hike @ Franz T__T)

Day 7 - Queenstown  (Any suggestion where to stay?) - not sure what to do at Queenstown cos i dont intend to bungee jump / sky dive..
Day 13 - 2 hr drive : Leave Arthur Pass for Christchurch  & leave Christchurch for KL

Never had experience with a campervan in NZ so my feedback will be based on driving a normal car.

* 2 days at Lake Tekapo is excessive in my opinion, cut down one day and allocate it to Mt Cook, Wanaka or the glaciers.
* There are some nice walks in Queenstown and also a gondola ride. You may want to go soak in the hot pools onsen since it's winter. I assume you will not be skiing?
* Wanaka to Franz Josef via Haast will be a long drive, 4 hours as Google Maps suggest is an understatement especially in winter. Allocate 6 to 7 hours especially if you are stopping along Haast. This means you will not be able to do your heli-hike on this day.
* Between FJ & Christchurch, you can opt to spend a night at Hokitika, Greymouth or Arthurs Pass itself.

Don't forget your snow chains and learn how to fix them because they will be essential in July.
huiyin_hsu
post May 28 2018, 12:50 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ May 28 2018, 11:44 AM)
Never had experience with a campervan in NZ so my feedback will be based on driving a normal car.

* 2 days at Lake Tekapo is excessive in my opinion, cut down one day and allocate it to Mt Cook, Wanaka or the glaciers.
* There are some nice walks in Queenstown and also a gondola ride. You may want to go soak in the hot pools onsen since it's winter. I assume you will not be skiing?
* Wanaka to Franz Josef via Haast will be a long drive, 4 hours as Google Maps suggest is an understatement especially in winter. Allocate 6 to 7 hours especially if you are stopping along Haast. This means you will not be able to do your heli-hike on this day.
* Between FJ & Christchurch, you can opt to spend a night at Hokitika, Greymouth or Arthurs Pass itself.

Don't forget your snow chains and learn how to fix them because they will be essential in July.
Thanks for your reply! Yes, i am also considering to remove one extra day in Tekapo and have a spare day for Franz.

I've read in this thread also that it takes approx 6 hours and i'm concerned i may not be able to make it for the heli-hike. (highlight of my trip!)

you recommend Fox Glacier / Franz Josef? I heard that Fox has a nicer village / more localized whereas Franz is pretty happening (not really my kind of thing) - but not sure which glacier would be better? haha!

Amended itinerary :

Day 3 - 2 hr drive : Leave Lake Tekapo and explore Pukaki before going to Mt Cook (Stay at : DOC Whitehorse)
Day 4 - Mt Cook (Hooker Valley Trek / Lake Poaka) (Stay at DOC Whitehorse)
Day 5 - 3.5 hr drive : Leave Mt Cook and head to Queenstown (Any suggestion where to stay?)
Day 6 - Queenstown (Any suggestion where to stay?) - probably go take a look at some hikes / onsen
Day 7 -1.5 hr drive : Leave Queenstown for Wanaka. (Stay at Lake Wanaka- Lake Outlet Holiday Park)
Day 8 - Roys Peak Trek (rougly 6-7 hrs return) - (Stay at Lake Wanaka - Lake Outlet Holiday Park)
Day 9 - 4 hr drive : Leave Wanaka for Franz Josef / Fox
Day 10 - Heli ride!!
Day 11 - Backup day for heli ride, if done the night before, will leave franz josef for either Hokitika, Greymouth or Arthurs Pass
Day 12 - 3.5 hr drive : Chill / head back to Christchurch.
Day 13 - Saying goodbye sad.gif Flight at 1050hrs.
Monya Meow Meow
post May 28 2018, 07:10 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ May 28 2018, 12:50 PM)
Thanks for your reply! Yes, i am also considering to remove one extra day in Tekapo and have a spare day for Franz.

I've read in this thread also that it takes approx 6 hours and i'm concerned i may not be able to make it for the heli-hike. (highlight of my trip!) 

you recommend Fox Glacier / Franz Josef? I heard that Fox has a nicer village / more localized whereas Franz is pretty happening (not really my kind of thing) - but not sure which glacier would be better? haha!

Amended itinerary :

Day 3 - 2 hr drive : Leave Lake Tekapo and explore Pukaki before going to Mt Cook (Stay at : DOC Whitehorse)
Day 5 - 3.5 hr drive : Leave Mt Cook and head to Queenstown (Any suggestion where to stay?)
Day 6 - Queenstown  (Any suggestion where to stay?) - probably go take a look at some hikes / onsen
Day 7 -1.5 hr drive : Leave Queenstown for Wanaka. (Stay at Lake Wanaka- Lake Outlet Holiday Park)
Day 8 - Roys Peak Trek (rougly 6-7 hrs return) - (Stay at Lake Wanaka - Lake Outlet Holiday Park)
Day 9 -  4 hr drive : Leave Wanaka for Franz Josef / Fox
Day 10 - Heli ride!!
Day 11 - Backup day for heli ride, if done the night before, will leave franz josef for either Hokitika, Greymouth or Arthurs Pass
6 hours sounds about right, hence my reason for saying you probably won't make it for the heli-hike on your first day there.
Do note that 50% of the hikes get cancelled anyway due to bad weather so the longer you stay at the glaciers, the higher your chance will be.
Franz Josef village is much bigger with more shops/accommodation so it would be more happening than Fox.
In terms of the actual glacier, they differ by sizes and elevation but you won't notice it too much.
Don't forget to make a visit to lake Matheson which is nearby Fox Glacier smile.gif
stormchaser
post May 28 2018, 07:55 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ May 28 2018, 12:50 PM)

Amended itinerary :

Day 6 - Queenstown  (Any suggestion where to stay?) - probably go take a look at some hikes / onsen
Day 9 -  4 hr drive : Leave Wanaka for Franz Josef / Fox
Day 10 - Heli ride!!
At Lake Tekapo, remember to go up mt.john.. best view there.. and there is a astro cafe.. can drink hot coffee sambil see nice view..

115 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:10 PM