Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General

munkeyflo
post Dec 19 2016, 05:05 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(FatBoyDrifter @ Dec 16 2016, 04:23 PM)
Hi Guys,

Need some help. Planning to visit NZ in May'17. Any recommendation on Wifi rental or buy a sim card there.

Thnx!
http://www.vodafone.co.nz/travel-sim/
https://www.spark.co.nz/shop/mobile/travel-pack.html
Can get at the airport.

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Dec 19 2016, 08:38 AM)

Thank you! So after few considerations we decided to go on with car self-drive then. A few forumers from TripAdvisor Forum did suggest to take domestic flight to either Christchurch or Queenstown and do a loop from there. Is it a good idea?

And now another couple want to join our trip which is my brother, his wife and their baby. So now given that baby seat it a must in NZ we got total 7 people now. Do I get 7 seater car or just rent 2 cars?
Yup, do take a domestic flight to south island. If you can get into Queenstown directly then it'll save you more time too. Compare the prices for your car rental options, baby must definitely be in a baby seat.

Check the few pages before this. I recall there are many who posted their road trip itinerary here. The routes are quite standard.
munkeyflo
post Dec 20 2016, 04:20 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Dec 20 2016, 03:50 PM)
A bit of suggestion on the Vodafone sim. I was planning to get mine after I exit immigration etc. But I was approached by some girls holding a placard promoting the sim card near the duty free shops while walking, either it was towards immigration or towards luggage pickup. Anyways, I was ready to pay $49 for it but was told it was tax free so I paid $43. And you can pay via CC for it.

Not sure if the girls are still there, I went in April but might worth the trouble asking the duty free shops on the way out.
Last I went into Auckland was in September and there are still lots of girls (and guys) selling travel sim card at the duty free area before exiting. One cannot miss them. biggrin.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 4 2017, 11:19 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Jan 3 2017, 01:56 AM)
need a guidance on planning the trip... 4 of us travelling, basically two couple....

arriving Auckland at 4.40pm on 18th March 2017....
leaving Auck to MAS at 8.30pm on 25th March 2017...

with this kind of short period, should we just stick to north island or shall we immediately fly to south and explore south, which of course will increase the local flight cost thru and back to Auck....

any kind advise or suggestion??
Just do Auckland. You don't have much time to cover South Island as 4-5 days not enough to move from one place to another in South Island. And you don't wanna miss any flights either.

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Jan 4 2017, 09:04 AM)
Hi all, was planning to go on a road trip on NZ around Oct, would travelling via campervan recommended ? Though of getting a campervan so we can save the money and time from looking for accomodation.
A few of us have given some comments on traveling with campervan not too long ago. Just scroll back a few pages.

depends on how many ppl you are traveling with. Money wise, I don't think you save that much. Time looking for accommodation - imo, everything booked online, doesn't require much time. You save much more money by cooking your own meals, so make sure you book accommodation with kitchen facilities, plenty of those around.

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Jan 4 2017, 09:55 AM)
Thank you for all the replies. It seem all suggest fly to Queenstown so Queenstown it is!  laugh.gif  rclxms.gif

A 5 months baby will travel with us (my bro's baby). Do you think it doable with a 5 months baby? For sure motorhome/caravan not suitable right?
not sure if caravan has proper place to put baby chair. Suggest just go with car and stay at motels.

QUOTE(chubbyqq @ Jan 4 2017, 10:49 AM)
I have been wanting to go for skydiving in here nzoneskydive.co.nz

Any recommendation on flight tickets and places to go around? Itineries for around 10 days?
Plenty of itineraries if you just look thru the thread. Do a bit of research on your own first.

Flights you can get AirAsia tickets. On promo prolly around rm1k return Auckland excluding add ons. AirAsia transits at Gold Coast for about an hour, hence doesn't extend the travel time a lot.
MAS return Auckland normally around rm3-4k, on promo can get rm3k but lately their promo can get rm2k+. My last trip was rm2.2k. 10-11 hours direct flight.
You can also look into jetstar tickets, transit Singapore and Melbourne (I think) before arriving Auckland. Not sure how much the price is lately.

Most flights arrives at Auckland. Most tourist go to South Island, you need to take a domestic flight from Auckland to Christchurch or Queenstown. Then rent a car or find your own transport around South Island.
munkeyflo
post Jan 4 2017, 05:37 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(chubbyqq @ Jan 4 2017, 11:47 AM)
so 1k+ consider cheap? I checked from skyscanner there are 1.3k for 2 way! but to get to the skydiving area I need to get domestic flight to Christchurch and get land transport there. And so I was thinking what can I explore around Christchurch or Auckland lo. Hmm, I'll look through the thread then, terima kasi.
Rm1.3k return is quite cheap already. If you can get below that it's very very cheap. Like I said, usually rm2-3k.

You can skydive anywhere in New Zealand. There's skydiving in lake taupo and Auckland as well.
munkeyflo
post Jan 5 2017, 05:30 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(undentifiedKC @ Jan 5 2017, 05:14 PM)
Hi all, me and 2-3 of my friend plan to rent a caravan in new zealand and drive from auckland to queenstown, for a 14 days trip, did you guys have such experience before and have any recommendation place that is a must go?

now our trip still on planning stage so any suggestion are welcome biggrin.gif
Please go thru this thread.
munkeyflo
post Jan 19 2017, 01:37 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(ladiesman88 @ Jan 17 2017, 12:58 AM)
Also going on a family trip from 4th to 16 may. Initial plan was campervan, but considering its entering winter, it might get too cold. Hence change plan to rent car and stay in airbnb homestay.

Those who had been to nz in early may, it is really that cold?
I was in South Island late April to early May before. It can get quite chilly at night but day time is okay. You can google for the weather forecast and history.

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jan 18 2017, 09:44 AM)
Which prepaid data sim do you guys use while travelling in NZ. I need minimum 3G data coverage on most areas as i have to connect back to Malaysia server for work when there's a need. I'll bring my own mobile wifi device to plug in.
Spark was good. Buy from airport.

QUOTE(revolution @ Jan 18 2017, 11:23 AM)
anyone knows what time NZ work holiday start registration this coming friday?
There is a whole thread on nz working holiday visa. Please direct your question there.

QUOTE(timetokill @ Jan 19 2017, 01:26 PM)
I don't think you can just pull up anywhere with your campervan. There are dedicated campervan sites.

Traveled there quite a bit but I have never used a campervan. The reason being they are very expensive and I am not sure how I feel about handling my sh*t  laugh.gif    Btw, there are dedicated dump stations also.

I didn't use Airbnb there also. Budget accommodation like motels are cheap and quite decent.
True. It ain't cheap. The shit handling part not that bad cause it's all "chemically" just take the whole thing and dispose in the correct place or something like that.

We avoid using the bathroom in the camper van since public toilets are like everywhere too.
munkeyflo
post Jan 20 2017, 04:57 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jan 19 2017, 01:49 PM)
Yea.. Gonna keep the porta potty as last resort. Packing a pack of disposable rubber gloves just to handle that. Hahaha.

There are designated areas that allow for park and camp. Rankers mobile app is quite useful as i'm using it to work out the travel routes.

More concern about heating at night cos temp can drop quite low... Thats why bringing my sub zero rated sleeping bag just in case.
Can be cold. Bring enough warm clothing to keep you warm at night. I travelled around north island in march and it can get quite chilly at night too. Can't imagine sleeping in the campervan during winter though. South Island autumn night already damn cold for me and heater was a must for me lol. And that was in motels some more.

QUOTE(ladiesman88 @ Jan 20 2017, 06:50 AM)
Thanks for the reply, for the motels do you preboook or just walk in? Around queenstown airbnb is abot expensive.  Looking for alternatives
We usually prebook. What's your budget like? Accommodation ain't cheap in nz, especially with our currency like this now.
munkeyflo
post Feb 7 2017, 03:03 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Feb 5 2017, 08:49 PM)
Hi!.

For weather in middle march till end of march, south island.

Will uniqlo heattech inner wear plus normal cotton jacket enough to keep warm? Or need the michellin kind of cold wear?
You'll be fine. It's not that cold in March.

Even in May also just a tshirt and jacket is enough, only gets more chilly in the night.
munkeyflo
post Feb 20 2017, 07:03 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(phanisher14 @ Feb 14 2017, 10:20 PM)
one more week to go, will be fly off. any last minute tips for me just wondering will it be possible to travel 3000+ km alone driving in 14days
Don't just clock mileage when you travel NZ. It'll be really tiring. Won't see much and mainly just on the road.

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Feb 16 2017, 07:34 PM)
dear all, i will be visiting NZ (queenstown area) mid of next month with my fiance... we will be there for approx 7 nights...

we have accom., car rental all sorted out and paid.... for food/jalan jalan/petrol, approximately how much NZD will i need to change? first time going so not much idea :/
Card can be used almost everywhere. As long as your card is PIN enabled. I think you should be fine with carrying not much cash.

QUOTE(blu35ky88 @ Feb 19 2017, 06:44 PM)
hi guys anyone know whats the cheapest flight price to new zealand? and which month was cheapest ? thanks
AirAsia around rm1-1.5k is the cheapest so far.
MAS is getting cheaper these days with about rm1.9k.

All Auckland return.

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Feb 19 2017, 08:48 PM)
eating outside could be over NZD15-30 for one per meal without drinks. couldn't really remember how much was the petrol.. shld be arnd 2.30-2.70 if i remember correctly depends on the location.
Yes meals minimum NZD15 and above.
Petrol is around NZD2 now.
munkeyflo
post Feb 27 2017, 12:48 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(eksk86 @ Feb 26 2017, 10:52 PM)
Btw I won't be driving these 2 days, I will rely on public transport (bus) and walking. Is the public bus there any good?
Auckland Public Transport: https://at.govt.nz/bus-train-ferry/journey-planner/
Public bus is alright, sometimes delay, sometimes early, sometimes doesn't come. Remember to flag the bus driver so they'll stop for you. They won't stop even if you are standing at the bus stop unless you flag them.
munkeyflo
post Feb 28 2017, 09:04 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(eksk86 @ Feb 27 2017, 10:52 PM)
Hmm, i might give Waiheke a pass then. I'll probably just tour around the city (places like museum, mount eden, skytower, dinner/nightlife at the harbour area/wynyard quarter). But I read that buses are ban from going to the summit of Mount Eden, any other ways to get there besides walking and taxi?
Should I get the AT HOP card? There's a day pass i can get for $18, but I need to buy the card (additional cost). Is it worth getting the day pass? Or should I just get the card and pay as I go?
Well it's definitely more convenient with an ATHOP card but you're only going to be using it for a day. Depends where you'll be going I guess. Might come to less than $18 also.
munkeyflo
post Mar 6 2017, 12:42 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(virgoguy @ Mar 6 2017, 10:07 AM)
What sim card to get that give the best deal in nz?
Buy from airport.
munkeyflo
post Mar 7 2017, 06:00 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(virgoguy @ Mar 7 2017, 05:07 PM)
I know to get from airport. I am referring to a particular brand/telco that best deal and service
These two are the more easily available and pretty much best coverage around NZ.
https://www.spark.co.nz/shop/mobile/travel-pack.html
http://www.vodafone.co.nz/travel-sim/

2degrees is generally cheaper but I personally find them to have worse coverage than the above 2 telco. Then again, I've not use it recently. I'm not sure if you can get 2degrees at the airport. Spark definitely got.
https://www.2degreesmobile.co.nz/mobile/prepay/
munkeyflo
post Mar 8 2017, 04:39 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

2 weeks to cover north and south.

Yea you can, touch and go. You'll be driving on the road most of the time. The driver will be quite tired. Depending on the driving conditions, as well as the weather. If anything happen, lagi worse, got no time allowance and all the planning will be spoiled.

2 weeks to cover south only, do-able. Quite ideal.
2 weeks including flight from KL-NZ. A bit tight but still quite alright. Allow for transit time between international and domestic flights. You most likely have to stay a night in Auckland when you arrive or on your way back. Most people only visit Taupo/Rotorua other than Auckland as they do not have enough time. South Island has much better scenc lake views compared to Taupo & Rotorua.

Unless you have at least 3-4 weeks, I would suggest you just do south island.

Add: The caravan I rented before was for 6 pax. One of the big ones. Not easy to drive. Not sure if baby seats are allowed or not. It's best you guys get a 10-seater van (book early) or 2 sedan cars.

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Mar 8 2017, 04:44 PM
munkeyflo
post Mar 12 2017, 06:08 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(timetokill @ Mar 10 2017, 02:05 PM)
I got asked a question that I can't answer as I have not done either myself, so I'll ask here:

Greymouth to Christchurch: Is it worth the money to take the train rather than drive? I know they are mostly parallel along the route except for a small stretch near the pass.

Maybe munkeyflo can help.
I've not taken the train there before so don't think I can help much sweat.gif
Love the drive thru Arthur's pass though.
munkeyflo
post Mar 16 2017, 12:01 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(xxAriesxx @ Mar 15 2017, 10:07 PM)
Oh i see.
So should i just change my drivers license to the new card format?
The new card format is all in English?
Just change your driving license. It has been on for some time already anyways.

New driving license is in dual language - both BM and English.

Otherwise, go to JPJ and get a translation of your old driving license. You'll need the English translation to rent the car.
munkeyflo
post Apr 9 2017, 01:12 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Apr 7 2017, 10:54 AM)
anyone did a road trip type travel in South Island before? was having a quick look at the car rental and all of them seems a bit uncomfortable to stay for long period. How scarce is the motel in south island?
There are plenty of motels. Don't think you have much to worry about. Pretty much everyone who goes to NZ does "road trip type" of travel around the country.

QUOTE(raist86 @ Apr 7 2017, 11:16 AM)
i'm bringing some foreign currency such as SGD and AUD (leftovers from travel to those country). Any recommended place in Auckland to exchange the money?
Queen street has quite a number of money changers, and banks. Compare the rates there.

Airport is the most expensive place to change money.

QUOTE(fapman @ Apr 8 2017, 01:43 AM)
Hi all, I'll be going to NZ next month (May). For this trip, I'll only cover North Island (mainly Auckland, Rotorua & Hamilton).
Is there any recommended place to go in North Island?  icon_question.gif  I'm planning to go South Island as well but not enough leave to cover both islands.  sad.gif  Appreciate if the sifus here can help me with some recommendation. Thanks in advance!
I would say just go to South Island since you do not have much time. Unless you plan to come back again in the future for a purely South Island trip.

You can go up north to Paihia and travel along Ninety Mile Beach then all the way down to Wellington. Auckland, Hamilton and Rotorua is like hardly 1/3 of North Island. Just take a look at the map.
http://www.newzealand.com/int/travel-guide/
munkeyflo
post Apr 30 2017, 12:14 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

Do drive safe and pay attention to the road signs and regulations. The locals here are getting more attentive and efficient at sending videos and photos of lousy drivers (especially visitors/obvious rental cars) and reporting it to the authorities. The police will come to you and fine you when they receive any reports from others.

It's generally safe but do be aware of your surroundings as well. My house was broken in last year (never had any burglaries in KL but came to Auckland to get burglared). There are quite a few snatch thieves going on these days too. Many mini market also have been robbed. Drunkards on the roads in broad day light. I've met this Malaysian guy when I was traveling in Fiji last year, he and his friends were in Christchurch and stopped for lunch before heading to the airport to fly off. Their car, locked, had visible luggages, was broken in to. Lots of valuables were stolen. I would say nz is still safe but as with everything else, it's better to be safe than sorry. You don't want anything to ruin your holidays.

I wouldn't really recommend driving at night on the roads here. It is safe but it can get really dark. The highways here aren't like the highways back in Malaysia. So if you do, make sure you're alert and do drive safe.
munkeyflo
post May 7 2017, 01:50 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 6 2017, 06:06 PM)
Hey all,

Planning a trip to NZ soon probably in August, so just wanna check if the dates and plan is workable before planning futher. At the moment, this is what I have:
As you can see, its preliminary so is this doable? Any places we should spend more time in? After Wanaka, I'm not sure what to do so what is the recommendation?

And as it will be in winter, would a camper van be doable? I hear some people here do motel, others here do camper but not a lot of comments on it during winter period.
I assume you are arriving Auckland with Airasia around 4pm?
I'm afraid you might wanna reschedule the flight to Wellington at 6pm, reasons being:
1. AirAsia might delay
2. Baggage might delay
3. Customs check here is sibeh long
4. International terminal and domestic terminal is not the same terminal, although it's a short walk away and with free shuttles in between.

Other things to note, August is still winter season. Daylight not very long especially in south island. Please also drive carefully while on the road, there may be snow and snow storms even in August. Better check on the weather forecast before you head out everyday. Campervan is gonna be cooooold, very cold. Probably the campervan I took few years back wasn't very well insulated but it was still chilly in the nights, I was at Northland in autumn then (April), not even winter and not south island, so yea, be prepared for the cold.

Maybe you can spare a day out of your itinerary to go snow boarding or skiing since you are already there during winter. There are still plenty of places to add in to your itinerary. Depending on what you like to see.
munkeyflo
post May 9 2017, 07:43 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 8 2017, 01:58 PM)
Thanks all for the advice.

Unfortunately that's the last flight out to Wellington, I agree else I would have gotten a longer buffer time.

Main purpose is to meet up with some friends and go catch the Aurora, thus the trip to South islands. Franz Josef and Milford Sound is on the agenda, though haven't figured out yet the details.

So would you advise for us to do the camper van or just drive and stay in motels? Skiing sounds like a good idea (though I'd say I personally didn't enjoy it when I did it in Korea!)..
Well then, I really hope that you can catch that flight to Wellington then. Don't bring food, it'll delay the customs check if they decide to open your bags. Immigration can be quite a queue as well. Walk fast, it's a long walk from the air plane to immigration. The fastest I've gotten out was around 50 minutes after arrival.

It's quite standard where to go in NZ, just check their website - http://www.newzealand.com/int/

I would definitely go for rental car and motels. But if you wanna experience the campervan lifestyle, go for it. This is one of the countries that is quite campervan friendly for tourists. What kind of campervans are you looking at though?
Skiing isn't my thing also, snow just isn't hahaha.

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0839sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:21 PM