6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Number of SPM Subjects to be Limited, What say you?

nelsonyap48
post May 22 2009, 12:58 PM

84paynoslen
600 posts

No point too, history repeats itself.

what i think is provide sufficient scholarships to excellent students, which i believe will lead to tax increase!
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 12:59 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

History repeats itself?
PSD should point out and *FOLLOW* their criteria system . Then they should post out each student's score in the criteria and then that is what you call Transparency .
edennature
post May 22 2009, 01:03 PM

294 posts

nice...fair
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 01:07 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

.... That is what i feel PSD should do. I am one of the PSD rejected ones for This year sad.gif
I got 9A1 2A2
I got 2 International participation, 1 national participation,2 state level, 1 district and 1 school level participation.
And i was rejected sad.gif .
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 01:08 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(nelsonyap48 @ May 22 2009, 12:58 PM)
No point too, history repeats itself.

what i think is provide sufficient scholarships to excellent students, which i believe will lead to tax increase!
Ask my dad to pay more tax to send you overseas?
No sense right?

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 12:59 PM)
History repeats itself?
PSD should point out and *FOLLOW* their criteria system . Then they should post out each student's score in the criteria and then that is what you call Transparency .
You expect transparency?
Well, I would say the criteria system itself is not good enough. Putting so much weightage on SPM result when SPM result itself fails to determine the academic excellence of the applicants.

Added on May 22, 2009, 1:10 pm
QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 01:07 PM)
.... That is what i feel PSD should do. I am one of the PSD rejected ones for This year sad.gif
I got 9A1 2A2
I got 2 International participation, 1 national participation,2 state level, 1 district and 1 school level participation.
And i was rejected sad.gif .
LOL, you are Chinese!
And, if your all As fit to be A1s and A2s respectively?
Well, yours maybe, but some others one not what..
Then, in the end, all see equally..
everything equal out, Chinese always have the poorer luck, isn't it?

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 22 2009, 01:10 PM
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 01:11 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

I am not saying putting more weightage on SPM results, What i am trying to say is they should point out the criterias and I expect PSD scholarship holders to be all-rounded student.
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 01:12 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 01:11 PM)
I am not saying putting more weightage on SPM results, What i am trying to say is they should point out the criterias and I expect PSD scholarship holders to be all-rounded student.
The system itself is not working, then you expect well-rounded students to get it?

I can tell you, I still feel that my talent should be appreciated by the government, but they don't want me, their loss!
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 01:15 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

Lol, actually i feel the same.
So the corruption and bias in PSD continues smile.gif
There is no way we can stop it can we?
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 01:19 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 01:15 PM)
Lol, actually i feel the same.
So the corruption and bias in PSD continues smile.gif
There is no way we can stop it can we?
Not sure about corruption though.
And not bias la, for them give Malay better chance is not bias. LOL..

Got way to stop.
You just go overseas study, then study nuclear, then come up with a bomb.
Then ask your family and friends run away first, then bomb!
Settle lo..
(It means, no way we can stop it.)
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 01:21 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

obviously you havent seen one of my school teacher who HAPPEN to have the soalan bocor for Phy and Chem, And not only that, All his tuition students got JPA.Even though they are poorer students. smile.gif And you know why? He has connections in the department.
nelsonyap48
post May 22 2009, 01:34 PM

84paynoslen
600 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 01:21 PM)
obviously you havent seen one of my school teacher who HAPPEN to have the soalan bocor for Phy and Chem, And not only that, All his tuition students got JPA.Even though they are poorer students. smile.gif And you know why? He has connections in the department.
Define your "poor", poor can get tuition? I got no tuition at all since standard 5......
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 01:38 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

the definition of poor students in my sentence are those who did not score well in SPM and Didn't do well in co-curriculum either.

This post has been edited by Angel01: May 22 2009, 01:38 PM
Topace111
post May 22 2009, 03:15 PM

2,102 posts

The problem with SPM exam lies on some factors :
1) Quality vs Quantity
Our exam is almost 100% based on quantity. If question asked for 5 SPECIFIC pointers students will not be punished by "not following requirements" instead they are encouraged to give more than necessary which in this case is GENERAL pointers. Students will reason that marker can choose the best answer to give marks. Teachers will also support that since student can give more points they should not be penalised.
Therefore students are encouraged to memorise all the possible solution & have one universal answer ready whenever a similar question is posed.

Instead of "reacting" to question the students prepared the answer in advance. Thats why this is one of the flaw of SPM exam. Student are not encouraged to think "outside of the box" instead are expected to behave like Robots.

2) Theory vs practical & application
Students who memorise favours "brute-force" of answering in exam by throwing whatever they knew to the question instead of analysing the question & finding solutions to it. A lot of people are confused what does those subjects will help them in real life. History are supposed to teach people not to repeat the same mistake & Why has it occured & Steps taken to rectify it. Instead we are required to remember who died, which dates, when is it ? all this are almost irrelevant.
Moral papers is the worst one. Not only we need to remember every single word of the definition but the question also seems very subjective.
Instead of offering answer which is logical from certain perspective or point of view we are restricted to only one answer. Then the asnwer is quite predictable, will a student stupid enough to do inhumane acts if asked by the question. If the question asked "will you help an old lady to cross the road?" nobody unless they want to fail will say no to that.

3) Fairness
I never find papers like english, maths or even add maths that challenging compared to subjects like History & Moral (I think most knew why).
I like history but not the "Malaysian standard of history written by Malaysian". You want to hear some interesting history check wikipedia. Our history touched 200% of 1% area of history importance while only covered 1% of the 100% important history of the world. They summarise the world history in only 2 chapters !!!.

If you want to exclude all those quota & biasness in education system then seek foreign qualification. You are then recognised overseas & will get double recognition in domestic country if you have excelled.

zidanedagger
post May 22 2009, 03:34 PM

157 posts

From the news

What I see the problem is about rural student has disadvantage from urban student due to they lack of facilities provided. So, Prime Minister suggest that amount of subjects should limit so that this will eliminate the advantage gain from urban student.

Hm....In my opinion, I think the selection for JPA as well as the marking on SPM, both of them have problems. Allow me to suggest my humble ideas here. Firstly about the JPA, the selection for applicants should divide into different categories according to different types like financial needer, extra ordinary applicant (21As, 17As, ....), excellent in extra co-curriculum or winner in internation competition. Secondly, SPM marking should be more rigously thus reduce the amount of As or else like how the tanjinjack mentioned earlier by widen the range of grade. Feel free to leave opinion and have a healthy discussion. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on May 22, 2009, 3:38 pm@Topace111
I am certainly agree with you. During my study in form 5, the solutions to obtain an A in SPM were practises and memorizes. Haha!

This post has been edited by zidanedagger: May 22 2009, 03:38 PM
bgeh
post May 22 2009, 04:45 PM

1,814 posts

Okay, look, this 'discussion' and all is basically going nowhere because we haven't defined what exactly the JPA is for. I seem to sense that for many of you, the JPA is a way to study overseas cheaply. But let's look at it from the perspective of the government, what exactly is their goal in mind when they look at the JPA?

*and angel01, I'd probably fall into your category of a 'poor' student too

We're all going to have to define our metrics, and what exactly constitutes deserving, and no affirmative action can also be part of the metric.

The main problem really is that the government doesn't define it beforehand. Also, perhaps this should be spun off into a JPA discussion instead?

This post has been edited by bgeh: May 22 2009, 07:18 PM
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 06:07 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

And you got JPA, Nice going. This pisses me off sad.gif
limeuu
post May 23 2009, 04:26 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(nelsonyap48 @ May 22 2009, 12:25 PM)
but if you look in a diff angle, they limit the sub, let say 10. in future more ppl get straights A1s, say like more than 3000, getting jpa only 2000, not enough for sure. those who didnt get will bring up the matter again.  doh.gif

when they ll learn........ shakehead.gif
you failed to understand.........that is EXACTLY what they want........

when you have 4000 10a1, and there are 2000 places, OTHER criteria can now be used for selection.....ie discretionary decision making.........

when the others complain, the answer is simple.........'there are so many good students, we cannot give everybody scholarships, so we SELECT based on other criteria other than results'..........

whaola........no more people with 15a1, 16a1 coming to make complains........since they all also got 10a1.........see........problem solved...........

like i said. it's all about trying to comply with the nep, within a veneer of 'meritocracy'.........1malaysia mah......... smile.gif
mumeichan
post May 23 2009, 07:45 AM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(avenger @ May 21 2009, 11:49 PM)
actually lesser subjects is better. the student can have more life instead of studying only.
I once knew this mother of two. She had two kid and they lived in Damansara. They stayed in a 2 story house somewhere near 1U. The kids were going to SMK Taman Tun. She drives a Honda Accord. Sometimes I go over to their house to play the PS3. Quite cool machine. Guess what, when I found out the mom has two jobs and somtimes comes back only in the night from work, I scolded the hell out of her. I told her to quit one job. She said she can't. She told me she's working hard for a good life for both herself and her two daughters. I told her, work less, the less you work the better, you can have more life instead of just working.
Angel01
post May 23 2009, 09:42 AM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

Lol, that was funny. Anyway, getting back to the topic i guess PSD will remain bias as usual.
arsenwagon
post May 24 2009, 10:03 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

the best ting juz revamp this piece of shit thing called a scholarship..
use the money make more places for IPTA especially critical courses.
every month poor students will be given some financial aid.

then everyone will be happy right?

JPA dont need to go beg those overseas students to come bacck and serve,
ppl wont complain why msia uni student sux (since most of those supposedly top students are studying locally)

and oso nobody will talk cork bout SPM who got more A1.. all boils down to pre-u.

govt oso happy, save money.. can use for other projects.. lol

taxpayer happy, no more stories

journalist no need write same thing every year bout ppl rejected by JPA banging on the doors of the department

and the list can go on and on.

the oni ppl who wont be satisfied are those who are too demanding and think that they only deserve to be in overseas top universities.

then we can always use the famous phrase : beggars cant be choosers. lol.

This post has been edited by arsenwagon: May 24 2009, 10:04 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:13 AM