6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Number of SPM Subjects to be Limited, What say you?

bgeh
post May 22 2009, 12:59 AM

1,814 posts

Perhaps, but don't you think examinations are an extremely hit or miss approach to measure results? Making them harder might just mean one careless mistake might just screw things up further when it comes to a scholarship no matter how bright you are.
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 01:04 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(bgeh @ May 22 2009, 12:59 AM)
Perhaps, but don't you think examinations are an extremely hit or miss approach to measure results? Making them harder might just mean one careless mistake might just screw things up further when it comes to a scholarship no matter how bright you are.
Well, then can change the system to be less written exam based, perhaps some coursework components.
PEKA didn't contribute to final result last time right? They appear as different score, aren't they.
This requires a change in the education system itself, which I think won't happen in Malaysia so fast lo..
TSOM
post May 22 2009, 02:51 AM

2,145 posts

I think they shouldn't impose a limit. Instead, they should set up tests for scholarship applicants.

12 subjects is more than enough if they scrap off Moral education and EST, and probably history. History should be made as an elective course.
nelsonyap48
post May 22 2009, 03:13 AM

84paynoslen
600 posts

The limitation thing i think is a good move, if not the argument(jpa) will be brought up again and again.
limeuu
post May 22 2009, 04:36 AM

12,295 posts

if there is a REAL intention to cultivate a high quality education, and give scholarships to the best candidates, then the solution is relatively simple.......

make the spm exam marking more strict, and narrow the 1a band, or better still, substratify the a band..........

there is NO point taking so many subjects, but if one wants to, go ahead.....but ONLY the relevant core subjects will be looked at for scholarship applications.........that will immediately stop people from taking more than the necessary subjects just to get an advantage in scholarship application.........

but there is NO real or sincere wish to improve the system.......there is only the agenda of how to comply with the nep, in a 'meritocracy'.......hence the dumbing down of public exams, and flood the system with thousands of straight 1a's and thus allow subjective discretion into the selection process......
temptation1314
post May 22 2009, 07:55 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 22 2009, 04:36 AM)
.......hence the dumbing down of public exams, and flood the system with thousands of straight 1a's and thus allow subjective discretion into the selection process......
Seriously, I damn agreed with this.

"Those who deserved doesn't get theirs, and those who doesn't deserve, get theirs"
chungdavi
post May 22 2009, 08:14 AM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ May 21 2009, 11:55 PM)
Everyone would just put in everything they have, isn't it?
And you can't ask people to choose subjects to take for SPM because of JPA right?
SPM is NOT for JPA only, but JPA sees SPM only.
What I'm trying to say is, no matter how many subjects you take.....

When you apply it, probably like you have to choose 8 of overall subjects to apply.......

So if you get 16A1 or what.....just apply with 8A1, doesn't make any difference when it comes to actual 8A1s students.......

Not a very appropriate way I would say, but at least students get the chance to take more subjects, and can sit for exam......

This post has been edited by chungdavi: May 22 2009, 08:14 AM
spitfire111
post May 22 2009, 08:23 AM

295 posts

personally, I think it should not be limited. They can take as much as they want but normally 9-12 should be enough.

btw, where's the news source. It would be better if you have the source.
kenixkenix
post May 22 2009, 09:48 AM

hai kawan kawan
571 posts

would prefer quality over quantity
DX007
post May 22 2009, 10:47 AM

242 posts

The origin of this arguement is when those 16A1 and 15A1 student cant obtain a scholarship.
and now those bodies try to solve the problem by introducing another problem,

i obtain 12 A1 in 2007,failed to obtain the JPA,
without a single strong reason from them..

then i forget about it,
finishing my a -level,with 4 As in my As,(merit schoalrship from college)
later get a profession,go out from this country,and will try my best not to come back..

as you can see,those bodies make those who can contribute to country move away from bolehland....
then alter they say not enough certain profession in out country...zz

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
limit or no limit,
just do ur best,if they limit it to 10,then just take 10As and see waht they say later,
dun be sad if u cant get those JPA,there is always a way for u.
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:08 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(spitfire111 @ May 22 2009, 08:23 AM)
personally, I think it should not be limited. They can take as much as they want but normally 9-12 should be enough.

btw, where's the news source. It would be better if you have the source.
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...9691&sec=nation
Today The Star Online headline. Guess they fed up with Perak thingy?

Alright, the article said 9, I thought it's 10.
9 subjects?

No way, Chinese students who take 3 Sciences will have no slots for their Chinese Language to take already and all Pure Sciences students will stick to the 9 subjects they take. Hey, no variation no exploration. Good thing?

Why must SPM get accommodated with JPA, not JPA accommodated with SPM?
Now the problem is at JPA? or SPM?
Even if problem is at SPM, limiting makes no sense. Heighten the standards, subdividing the grades, or even introduce ranking should be (much) more effective measures in determining candidates' excellence, isn't it?
Next time every applicants all those 9 subjects A1s, then which one to choose? Sure some other factors is going to take over, not to mention that some A1s are not fit to be A1s, and some A1s should be regarded even better than A1s.

Sigh..
ask_dino
post May 22 2009, 12:20 PM

DS is the name
741 posts

QUOTE(kenixkenix @ May 22 2009, 09:48 AM)
would prefer quality over quantity
well..quality prove that the student doesnt need to take up to 16 subjects to excel...it just enough for them to get all A1 in their studies added with extra-curricular activities.
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:21 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(ask_dino @ May 22 2009, 12:20 PM)
well..quality prove that the student doesnt need to take up to 16 subjects to excel...it just enough for them to get all A1 in their studies added with extra-curricular activities.
The problem now is with so many straight As and A1s around, they are unable to know which one if the best of the best, or the best, or not the best but lucky to become the best.
nelsonyap48
post May 22 2009, 12:25 PM

84paynoslen
600 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ May 22 2009, 12:21 PM)
The problem now is with so many straight As and A1s around, they are unable to know which one if the best of the best, or the best, or not the best but lucky to become the best.
but if you look in a diff angle, they limit the sub, let say 10. in future more ppl get straights A1s, say like more than 3000, getting jpa only 2000, not enough for sure. those who didnt get will bring up the matter again. doh.gif

when they ll learn........ shakehead.gif
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:29 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(nelsonyap48 @ May 22 2009, 12:25 PM)
but if you look in a diff angle, they limit the sub, let say 10. in future more ppl get straights A1s, say like more than 3000, getting jpa only 2000, not enough for sure. those who didnt get will bring up the matter again.  doh.gif

when they ll learn........ shakehead.gif
Ya la. That's why I said limiting make no sense. Heighten the standard is the best way to dig the excellent students out. Some effective measure can be a Ranking system or a very finely divided grades system (perhaps 5 point in range for a grade). But the fine grade division will get exploited one day also la..

Added on May 22, 2009, 12:30 pmIn short, the system requires a change.
SPM needs it. JPA, too.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: May 22 2009, 12:30 PM
barista
post May 22 2009, 12:34 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

I say make long-term voluntary work compulsory as one of the requirements for scholarship. A lot of these kids are spoiled brats whom the parents do all the arrangements for them. No point competing for better results because they can just mug for it. How many can generously help others and say they enjoy it? These are the people we want for the good of our nation mah.

This post has been edited by barista: May 22 2009, 12:37 PM
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:39 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 22 2009, 12:34 PM)
I say make long-term voluntary work compulsory as one of the requirements for scholarship. A lot of these kids are spoiled brats whom the parents do all the arrangements for them. No point competing for better results because they can just mug for it. How many can generously help others and say they enjoy it? These are the people we want for the good of our nation mah.
This is a good way.
But then, complaints come in again.
Some applicants have started their studies but only get called up during March/April for such long-term voluntary work? That would spoil the plan of the applicants shall they fail to get the scholarship. (where they get to continue their studies and follow the path they have drafted, and forgetting about JPA.)

And, this likely to cost. Well, perhaps the politicians like it, more income ma...
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 12:43 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

in my opinion there is no need to limit but maybe they just need to take the 6 core subjects when considering for PSD scholarships.
TStanjinjack
post May 22 2009, 12:47 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ May 22 2009, 12:43 PM)
in my opinion there is no need to limit but maybe they just need to take the 6 core subjects when considering for PSD scholarships.
Ya la, take the core subjects into consideration how?
200 places, 2000 all core subjects A1s.

Are we applying a scholarship or making a gamble, considering that it seems luck plays a bigger part than academic excellence?
Angel01
post May 22 2009, 12:52 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

If that happens, then we should turn to co-curriculum.
Highest level of participation and awards.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:44 PM