18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v2, Everything you need to know about bass!

htkaki
post Jun 16 2009, 11:35 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:01 AM)
The REL T1 that I audition is good but somehow during my audition when i bring up the volume, the REL T1 produce "Blat" sound.  I guess the very small size of the T1 just could not go very loud.  Its good for small size room as the bass is incredible tight but at RM2900 is too expensive considering I can get the SVS PC12-NSD at less than RM4k.

Still trying to solve the shipping issue with SVS.

By the way, Ron of SVS did mention to me that you are going to meet him in Singapore on the 19thJune.  He invited me to meet up with him but too bad I'm still working offshore during that time.  Hope that you can work out something with him and get the dealership of SVS in Malaysia.
Alamak, cat out of the bag sweat.gif

Hopefully, it is a smooth sailing trip smile.gif
htkaki
post Jun 16 2009, 02:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:36 AM)
wah... if htkaki gets dealership we all in trouble of moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif liao tongue.gif
blush.gif I didn't poison you guys, right? But, it is indeed a GOOD sub, if not excellent.

So HTkaki, can you get PB12-NSD for 3k? If can I don't need to drive down to Singapore to get it... haha.

Probably around RM3K - RM3.4k range. Still waiting for final confirmation.

htkaki
post Jun 16 2009, 05:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ Jun 16 2009, 04:40 PM)
I think the USD315 was for KL only. Non KL area is another story.
jwyj, how's your order been going? I've told them about you wink.gif If all else fail, then I ship to you via courier.

I'm living in KL bro;

Shipping is going to be:

Door to door $500 Bax Quote Number 4861317

Door to airport $310 Bax Quote Number 4860311

These quotes are for prepaid shipping and a small international handling fee only. Any taxes, duties, brokerage, administrative, etc. fees are your responsibility. The door to door rate includes the brokerage fees and the door to airport does not. The brokerage fees included in door to door rates may not include all local administrative fees.
The expensive cost could probably due to the hefty weight of the unit itself. PC is much lighter.

htkaki
post Jun 16 2009, 05:44 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ Jun 16 2009, 05:37 PM)
I'm getting 2 pieces of PC-12 NDS first, but no news yet. If successfully sent to me, then can buy PC-12+. See how first.
Wow, that's a total of 3 bolsters!!! SVS King of Malaysia notworthy.gif
htkaki
post Jun 16 2009, 05:57 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 16 2009, 05:48 PM)
Are they selling it in Singapore during Ron's visit there?  It might be good to get from there then.
I doubt so as they are carrying 1 unit of each model.

s6xs9x, I am afraid that your seating area is a 'null' area. Hope not else really headache
htkaki
post Jun 16 2009, 10:22 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Jun 16 2009, 10:04 PM)
i know 6.. hehe
Not bad. Maybe poison Jansen_S also. Btw, welcome back wink.gif

Just had a little time with my PC-12Plus. This time, Kung Fu Hustle thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 16 2009, 10:27 PM
htkaki
post Jun 16 2009, 11:28 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:24 PM)
Do there order to Brunei or to KL
Direct to Brunei IIRC. callmevil did post about it in previous subwoofer thread.
htkaki
post Jun 16 2009, 11:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:29 PM)
When d2a, how do we know when to go collect it?
The logistic company will call you when it arrives. Then, you need to go to the airport to collect and to do all the required documentaion / tax declaration.

Btw, here's another thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/824330/+40
htkaki
post Jun 17 2009, 08:35 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 17 2009, 12:44 AM)
demn....kena pijak la tongue.gif

htkaki...one bd60 pls laugh.gif ...but no bd to watch sad.gif
Boss, sure? brows.gif Special price for you since I only want both fo you succumb to 'BD Poison' laugh.gif

You can get BDs for a song from mpyw, megatron007 and arj.

taukeh taukeh sekalian...dare not to pijak ...hehe

seriously u guys need to get those HD audio format to enjoy ur superior setup at home 

the LFE on BOLT is extremely low too

just like the TAKEN.... walalala 
Is it? hmm.gif

Then can bring over to my home to test water on my PC-12Plus on this weekend? You come lah rclxms.gif

I sat down from 8pm just now till now testing. Movies after movies.
Before this i had the woofer facing towards my sitting position hopping to yield the max out from this baby. I guess i didn't have enough space for that.
So i faced it towards the left cause the walls are nearer there, and it became all towards one side.
Today It seemed pretty well when i faced it to the right. No complaints so far. Just unsure if directions does make the diff.
Too tired to do the crawl test, are you gonna come down any soon .. help me calibrate it you do ya.

p/s Will facing the sub to my AVR damage the it?

No. unless the vibration is too strong that it will affects Yammy SQ. Although subwoofer is omnidirectional, it is still have palcement (That's why subwoofer crawl is IMPORTANT) By changing the placement, it will make a difference. This is where 'phase' setting comes in.

With a velo it tends to trail a lot & shakes the surrounding more, giving it a feel of larger bass, I'm not sure how to put it into words.
With this PB10, it's more focused hence I felt less bass. At louder volume, the pressure is great but not much of audible sound.

I've wrote to SVS on this issue, and they claim that it's just interpreting whats recorded in actual and not rumbling when it's not supposed to.
On some movies, my couch felt like it's being filled up with ants running for it's life. I could feel the rush of armies on horses coming through from left to right.

I can't say much as I've just started using it for a few days. Perhaps other Velo turned SVS users can comment more on this. For me it's just different.
Bro, as I told you earlier that it could be a null area at your listening area sad.gif

Copied from audioholics.com :

The Tech Talk
All subwoofers produce acoustical pressure, and that is what your ear responds to. The only place where you will hear the bass output that your subwoofer produces exclusively is out of doors (or in an anechoic chamber). But soon as you put a subwoofer into a room, the sound waves bounce back and forth between the parallel surfaces of the room, some combining or "adding," which will emphasize those sounds, and others canceling each other out, which results in a null. If you are sitting in a null, you won't hear any deep bass at all. Conversely, if your chair is in a location where standing waves peak, you will likely hear boomy, one-note bass (you won't be able to follow the tuneful bass line of a recording, for example). Sometimes, by just moving a foot or two, the deep bass will "magically" reappear.

For more details : http://www.audioholics.com/tweaks/speaker-...ment-guidelines

I do hope that I can find time to go over your place. But this weekend, I can't. Father's Day. It will be bloody jam on my way back. sad.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 17 2009, 08:44 AM
htkaki
post Jun 17 2009, 09:19 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 17 2009, 08:55 AM)
not sure yet to get bd60 or ps3 or 6500. anyway pm me la ur special price brows.gif
Done wink.gif

Btw, any updates on this :

The L.Y.N. SVS Subwoofer MO club (if Jadi)

PC12-Plus
------------
1) htkaki (already arrived)
2)
3)

PB12-Plus
------------
1) easternred
2) robinlim (yet to finalise)

PC12-NSD
------------
1)jwyj (self order)
2)lightning69 (self order?)
3)

PB12-NSD
------------
1) lexonline
2)

AS-EQ1
---------
1) Jack28HT
2)

PC13-Ultra
-------------
1) mys_terious
2) Jack28HT (depends on cost)
3) htkaki

SB-12 Plus
------------
1) chinmh
htkaki
post Jun 17 2009, 10:39 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

koma, will you be joining the SVS 'show' there? I am going there. Maybe we could meet up?
htkaki
post Jun 17 2009, 11:11 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

The L.Y.N. SVS Subwoofer MO club (90% Jadi). Guys, I shall let you all know abt the final price by end of this week or early next week. Please confirm. I need 75% deposit. Balance upon arrival (need to pay tax). Transportation to your doorstep can be arrange for a reasonable fee.

PC12-Plus
------------
1) htkaki (already arrived)
2)
3)

PB12-Plus
------------
1) robinlim (yet to finalise)
2)

PC12-NSD
------------
1)jwyj (self order)
2)lightning69 (self order?)
3)

PB12-NSD
------------
1) lexonline
2)

AS-EQ1
---------
1) Jack28HT
2)

PC13-Ultra
-------------
1) mys_terious
2) Jack28HT (depends on cost)
3) htkaki

SB-12 Plus
------------
1) chinmh
htkaki
post Jun 17 2009, 11:31 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(koma @ Jun 17 2009, 11:24 PM)
yah sure but i dun knoe the show details yet.
like isit walk in or by invitation onli

hehe yah htkaki when u r here maybe can come my place
n we share some tips. btw u be here for how long?
I am not sure abt it but I have an invitation. Maybe I ll chk for you.

I will be there for a day due to my hectic schedule. Hope that your home is not too far from Adelphi.
htkaki
post Jun 17 2009, 11:40 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(koma @ Jun 17 2009, 11:32 PM)
hehe of course bro u seen it in xp liao wink.gif
btw u get ur svs liao?
koma, he has yet to get SVS as I sold my Velodyne CHT-12R to him. Will ask him to come over to my home and let him feel the power of SVS.

Maybe I will sell off my PC-12Plus as I mentioned earlier. In comes the PC-13Ultra and out goes the PC-12Plus to megatron007's uber elite pad.
htkaki
post Jun 17 2009, 11:50 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(koma @ Jun 17 2009, 11:45 PM)
oic urs by invitation frm KEC?? r u an audio
dealer?? r u driving here??

Erm, I am an audio dealer as you notice my siggy below. I am flying to Spore. Too tiring for my age to drive there.

Unfortunately, there are some informations that I could not disclose. See you there anyway smile.gif

htkaki
post Jun 18 2009, 09:23 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

lexonline, are you on our MO? By sharing hthe freight cost, I guess it would be cheaper. We shall see the final quote.

QUOTE(koma @ Jun 18 2009, 12:05 AM)
haha ok sure no probs wink.gif
u flying in frm KL??
i try to meet u if im able to get in, i need
to check with KEC on tis matter

Yes, flying in.

Can you PM me your name? I will get it in for you wink.gif since you are a hardcore SVS supporter. I will reach Spore at abt 9am

nowadays got gps mar, not difficult anymore
u can top-up at any of the 7-11
but finding the shop's location is one problem
It's near Plaza Peninsula. I am quite familiar with Spore since I have relatives there and visit there quite often. Nice place to shop esp Singapore Sale and Xmas season.

fuyooo taukeh u so fast getting 13+ ar?

wala la ... earlier xmas for me?

Nope, not 13+. It would be PC-13Ultra (hopefully).

bro no need to state depends on cost .. coz every1 is in the same boat... just put our name there so that htkaki can have a better idea roughly how many ppl are interested

Correct. Else, it would be hard for me to get the quote if everyone is not confirm. SVS might think that I am just playing a fool sweat.gif Hope you guys understand the situation.

mys_terious, you are in, right? smile.gif

Same here, need to know the final price first.

Bro, I thought you cancelled. Changed your mind brows.gif, eh? Anyway, I have an extra PC-12NSD unit waiting for YOU! Alamak, poison again blush.gif

htkaki
post Jun 18 2009, 10:35 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ Jun 18 2009, 10:21 AM)
Htkaki,
For east malaysian, the delivery charges for 2 pieces of PC-12+ or PC-12NDS is around USD410 door to door.

Say, if we mass order, do you think the delivery to KL plus sending to Sarawak be any cheaper? Say, less than USD200 for 1 piece?  hmm.gif
Boss,

Here are the rates :

http://www.nationwide2u.com/getrates_domestic.htm

http://www.citylinkexpress.com/MY/en-US/RateCalculator.aspx

Isaid no to NSD, prefer Plus one... smile.gif

Ok, noted smile.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 18 2009, 10:51 AM
htkaki
post Jun 18 2009, 12:24 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Cando @ Jun 18 2009, 11:53 AM)
Asking for advice  :

I have a  equipment shelf with spaces at the back. I intend to place my subwoofer in the space behind the shelf. That means the sub will be directly behind the equipment.  I am wondering whether the subwoofer sound  will mess up the equipment. All the boom boom will spoil my equipment????
It is not advisable to do so as the bass will cause vibrations to your equipments making it less than ideal for AQ.
htkaki
post Jun 18 2009, 03:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(lexonline @ Jun 18 2009, 01:40 PM)
Yea.. I'm still in. Waiting for your final price (hopefully within my budget) and also to see the price difference between PB & PC 12NSD.
Ok, noted. Another one on the boat rclxms.gif Shall let you all know abt the price.
htkaki
post Jun 18 2009, 05:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Jack28HT @ Jun 18 2009, 05:23 PM)
Boss, I have been contemplating of changing my amp instead as it may provide more significant improvement compared to investing  in SVS EQ and another SVS sub (PC13-Ultra).

My current AVR does not support HD Audio nor does it have HDMI. Maybe you can be kind enough to check my current setup and provide some advice?
Can you please share your setup with us? smile.gif

I never got to use the HDMI and HD Audio on my amp too ~ ~ ~ .. year end project ... Must get it done .. Must make sure it's done .. if wallet is capable lo ..

Why yr end lah, bro? Arremie is near to finishing his project already. You are the one who poisoned him.

18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:19 AM