15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

crapp0
post Mar 9 2010, 11:56 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 9 2010, 11:50 AM)
haha, i think you are describing me and my aunty, when we go back to KL, we really spend like no tomorrow, we eat the best, we buy the best, but in Singapore, we will eat economy rice, dun wan order drinks. it depends on individual actually. some prefer to spend in SG normally and also spend in MY normally, some prefer to save gao gao in SG and live like a King in MY.
Im the opposite of you in malaysia. I hardly spend since got nothing much to do in malaysia. I usually "chia" my fren and parents dinner and such but me usually go for value for money restaurants, but then again there arent that many expensive restaurants in my place, and the grand restaurant in my hometown sucks. Only idiots go there to pay for sub standard food but the decor is nice.

In singapore, i usually goto subway like at least 2 times or more coz i am fed up of eating "economy" which is very boring and taste like crap. Their hokkien mee is also boring, but i guess my area toa payoh doesnt have that much good food.

So far only 2 stalls have food which i am ok with, ones a roast chicken stall which only opens in the afternoon and sliced fish soup stall. The others are just meh.
crapp0
post Mar 9 2010, 01:08 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Mar 9 2010, 12:09 PM)
i always thought that TPY got a lot of good things to eat.  biggrin.gif
Maybe i havent gone the special stalls. I tried their soy chicken at one so called famous restaurant. It was ok, nothing to shout about, just like most of the food that i have tried at TPY.

At least bedok have way better food at the stalls near the MRT.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 9 2010, 01:08 PM
crapp0
post Mar 10 2010, 02:58 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Patricia_85 @ Mar 10 2010, 02:07 PM)
May I know what is pinoy?? sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Its filipino for "guy" or generic for a filipino person. Baboi means pig in tagalog btw since filipino ppl go crazy over pork products.

Added on March 10, 2010, 3:00 pm
QUOTE(cktwai @ Mar 10 2010, 08:37 AM)
Usually this period of time it'll go down .. mainly coz of CNY. Many ppl in SG changing into RM smile.gif

Added on March 10, 2010, 8:39 am
there's Botak Jones at TPY... nearer to Braddel MRT.. smile.gif
Well, i've tried it over there as well.

Their steaks arent that bad, i feel that ashtons is just like botak jones but with a better ambience and setting compared to BJ's premises which are primarily at food courts.

Nobody here has tried mortons steak?

Added on March 10, 2010, 3:04 pm
QUOTE(SPS @ Mar 10 2010, 01:16 PM)
Black Angus at Orchard Parade is probably the best steak (I had prime rib and tenderloins) I have ever had in Singapore - much better than pretentious outfits like Lawry's. 

Fosters at Holland Village has a good ambience to bring your other half along and I find its fillet and ribeye up to my exacting standards tongue.gif
I've tried angus steakhouse at ngee ann city. If you like fine dining, thats the place to go since they mainly focus of a full course meal rather then ala carte. So far i;ve yet to find a place which has a classic porterhouse steak, most places so called t-bone equivalent of a true porterhouse still falls flat, even a new york strip pales in comparison to a porterhouse.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 10 2010, 03:04 PM
crapp0
post Mar 10 2010, 10:06 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(tommy79 @ Mar 10 2010, 09:18 PM)
This is quite low for a 3 yrs experience. Fresh graduate working in MNC normally get SGD 2700-2900 per mth.
Not according to jobstreet singapore

http://myjobstreet.jobstreet.com/career-en...neer|000|sg||sg

crapp0
post Mar 10 2010, 10:25 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(f.e.a.r @ Mar 10 2010, 10:23 PM)
actually 2.8k is only 80% on my salary in malaysia..
so it is not a wise choice to accept this offer?
You earn about 5k?
crapp0
post Mar 10 2010, 10:33 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(f.e.a.r @ Mar 10 2010, 10:30 PM)
considering that i can save more by working in sg..lets say i can save 1.5ksgd (MYR3600) with income SGD2.8k. I am not able to save that much in Malaysia although my salary is >4kMYR.

fyi, i haven't accept the job offer yet.still in dilemma
3 year exp at more then rm 4k is quite good.
crapp0
post Mar 10 2010, 10:35 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(f.e.a.r @ Mar 10 2010, 10:33 PM)
another reason is SG actually nearer to my hometown, so i can go home more frequent. I m Johorean...
If you commute everyday then sure can save quite alot. If you rent a place there then thats a diff story.
crapp0
post Mar 10 2010, 10:41 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(f.e.a.r @ Mar 10 2010, 10:37 PM)
Not really, bro. The inflation rate in MY is quite high now, a plate of chicken rice/mix rice cost around MYR5.00 - MYR6 at my working place...
After reduction of EPF and Tax..the amount i can save each month is very less. sad.gif
Thats coz johor near singapore, so its natural every hawker is going to exploit the fact that ppl there have more money per capita compared to pahang or kelantan. Heck, you only have 3 years exp and your earning above 4k is oledi very good. How much does epf take from you anyway since its cant be that high. Tax would be higher since you earn more but thats to be expected.

I guess you feeling the pinch due to other financial obligations like a house or a car loan.

Or you can do freelance IT troubleshooting. Troubleshooting vmware servers cost around 300 an hour, minimum with a minimum charge of at least 3 hours.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 10 2010, 10:45 PM
crapp0
post Mar 10 2010, 11:07 PM

4,414 posts

[quote=f.e.a.r,Mar 10 2010, 11:03 PM]
Of course. Virtually every industry (with the exception of palm oil and agriculture related industries) is bigger in Singapore vs Malaysia.

Main attraction... MONEY, MONEY, MONEY.

[/quote]

MONEY rules brows.gif

[/quote]

Same motto what the lovely ladies in geylang have.
crapp0
post Mar 11 2010, 08:14 AM

4,414 posts

[quote=f.e.a.r,Mar 10 2010, 11:09 PM]
Same motto what the lovely ladies in geylang have.

[/quote]

haha. so how about urs?

[/quote]

Not much into motto. I do like "if first you dont succeed, try again".
crapp0
post Mar 11 2010, 08:47 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Mar 11 2010, 08:34 AM)
Hi all.. I have some questions on Singapore PR's children education questions I hope you guys can help me with.

Assuming I am a PR, (and i am chinese)
- What type of schools can my children attend? (public vs private?)
- Will my children be treated any differently from citizens' children? (will my children be identified as PR, or can they just mingle with others easily)
- Any fees / what about cost of school bus and related expenses?

Basically i am looking for job in SG, and I have 2 children (still not yet schooling).

Thanks in advance!
On Q2, why do you think the government may restrict your child from mingling with other ppl? This isnt malaysia and even malaysia dont have the school policy where you cant mingle with each other.

I do know school fees are hiking, especially for PR's since the G wants to differentiate citizens from PR's.

Added on March 11, 2010, 8:49 am
QUOTE(viper88 @ Mar 11 2010, 08:46 AM)
Go for it. 

SG offer much better future.

With 2.8K SGD mthly salary  - u can save 1.5K sgd - RM3600. almost your 1 mth current salary in Malaysia.  is abt RM4K
Every year increment/bonus also u will get 2.4X more than in malaysia. With the money u save, you can easily invest in stocks, buy property or car by installment monthly.

Food court in singapore nearby office or mrt station, Chicken rice, noodles/mee, rice price abt SGD 3.
Drinks abt SGD 1- 1.30

Alot PRC girls studyin and working there - more choices n better chance to find life partner
My relatives 29 yrs old married a 21 yrs old hot PRC recently.  She is still studying brows.gif
My cousin earn about SGD 3.5K

In malaysia, living cost is high, the money you can save every mth is still the same amt cant X2 doh.gif
Eg. if earn 4K.. mthly saving abt 2k.. pay house and car installment, very little balance left.

Some KL girls said guys earning 4-5K in malaysia only good enuf for 1 person use, if have gf or family will be very tight budget ady.
usually PRC's, once they get hitched with you. It is near inevitable that they will import their family to stay together with you. The sucking your finances dry like a vampire to blood is optional.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 11 2010, 08:49 AM
crapp0
post Mar 11 2010, 08:59 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Mar 11 2010, 08:53 AM)
Thanks..
I will reword my question to : is PR children discriminated or treated differently , by other kids or teachers? ( i am sure not by the government, but at the kids/teacher level, u never know)
If your not a PRC or "Ah tiong", then it should be fine. But like most singaporeans, they will be cheerful and helpful in your face but deep down inside they will resent you, more so if your a PRC.

I dont think the teachers will treat your child diff unless they want 2 lose their job coz if you made a complaint, the school authorities will look into it unlike malaysia. Children on the other hand is a diff story, you cant tell the other children to not treat your child differently.
crapp0
post Mar 11 2010, 09:32 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Mar 11 2010, 09:18 AM)
Thanks for the advice~~

My eldest kid is 3.
If I can get citizenship before he is 6, I hope to minimise the differences between him and other kids.

For me personally i am not worried. i can deal with it.
i am more worried abt my kids.

btw, what is Ah Tiong?
I learned of the term from the stomp website. Its derogatory term for chinese nationals, akin to indonesian called "indons" or bangladeshi's to "bangla".

A fren of mine likes to call PRC's "Ni hao" but in a very condescending way. At least he does it in the PRC's face and does not shy from it.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 11 2010, 09:36 AM
crapp0
post Mar 11 2010, 10:01 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(yokatasan @ Mar 11 2010, 09:49 AM)
hey, i need advice from here
i want drive my car from m'sia enter s'pore on monday
and then back to m'sia on friday

so i would like to know what's rules to drive m'sia car enter to s'pore?
how long my car can stay in s'pore?
I too would also like to know to this related topic, if i not mistaken, malaysians are entitled to a number of days per year where they can drive in their cars without paying the entrance fee. Do i need to have some kind of documentation on hand to provide to the singaporean immigration or what is the procedure?
crapp0
post Mar 11 2010, 01:03 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Mar 11 2010, 11:49 AM)
Crapp0, your maths fail la.... $2,800/80% = $3,500. mana ader 5k?
Well, theres now no doubt your in the accounting line tongue.gif
crapp0
post Mar 11 2010, 01:36 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Mar 11 2010, 11:58 AM)
If not mistaken, u need to pay SGD 20 -30 for free entry up to 9X in a year.
If exceed, den need to pay again .

One of my cousin stay in JB drive thru n back daily. Earlier he use Malaysia car plate, need to alwys pay after 9X use.. very costly lar..
So he buy cheap SG car with Sg plate no. den can save alot money.

My suggestion is if u goin alone or less ppl to SG.. take taxi into SG den chg to MRT.. very convenient to travel.. alot MRT station is direct to Shopping Mall.. the latest one is ION at Orchard road.

Can check out Iluma at Bugis oso.. there have SG biggest Cyber Cafe.  icon_rolleyes.gif
ION not new anymore at orchard, the latest is 313 at sommerset. I went 2 iluma a few times. I predict that place gonna close down for most retail outlet since the last time i went there, quite a number of outlets were closing down since lack of ppl visiting iluma.

crapp0
post Mar 11 2010, 02:37 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Mar 11 2010, 02:26 PM)
Ya, i heard bad stories abt prc in SG but some of them are hardworking and good ppl also.
My cousin went to slimming & beauty centre to slim down his body. There have a PRC staff recommend my cousin to make friend with her daughter. After see her daughter slim and pretty, sure on lar.  brows.gif

My cousin work in SG few years ady and doing quite well. No problem treating a 21 yrs old mei mei lar..
His 1 mth salary abt SDG 3.5 - about RM8K. With 1-2 month savings from salary is good enuf to go holiday overseas.
After go steady bring her holiday to Japan, Taiwan, Macau and recent one is Venice  before propose for marriage.. drool.gif
Their relationship about 1yr + abit only... damn lucky guy.
This year Nov will do wedding dinner. I will go back JB and SG to attend the dinner.  laugh.gif

Man.. i work so long in Malaysia also havent been holiday to those places. rolleyes.gif
It wont be so happy when the in-laws, and whatever brother and sister will move in. Coz thats the PRC way, find some fella who got money, the use their daughter like a noose and latch on for dear life.
crapp0
post Mar 11 2010, 03:00 PM

4,414 posts

So hubei and hunan is like the kelantan and terranganu of malaysia?

Mei mei is china girl rite? My bosses son would usually fling around with alot of china girls, but never in a serious relationship coz he knows that they sure import their parents over. He just goes out with them to bed, wham bang thank you ma'am.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 11 2010, 03:02 PM
crapp0
post Mar 12 2010, 02:17 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Find The Way @ Mar 11 2010, 09:34 PM)
$300 in Malaysia or Singapore? I know the course/certification is kinda expensive, but have no idea on this kind of lobang sad.gif
I never realize that. Thanks for sharing smile.gif
300 in sing dollar, its not worth mt time it if charged in ringgit.

If you want 2 deploy and manage vmware vsphere 4, its cost is around sing 2200++ for the course if you go for the IT training center.

Its cheaper if you go and apply online from vmwares site and get their e-learning solution.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 12 2010, 02:20 PM
crapp0
post Mar 12 2010, 04:12 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Mar 12 2010, 03:40 PM)
my colleague stay in Johor... house broken in 3 times over 2 years.
Thats to be expected since JB is the crime capital of malaysia, all the gangster set up shop in JB.

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:29 PM