Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

crapp0
post Mar 26 2010, 08:03 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 26 2010, 07:56 AM)
in SG, you WILL get caught. it's just a matter of when and if they wanna take any action. So better stay off any illegal downloads, especially mp3 and movies.
Unless you use a corporate line, they dont check the traffic on a corporate line.
crapp0
post Mar 26 2010, 08:14 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Mar 26 2010, 08:11 AM)
problem is if your company fiinds out you're more screwed than being caught by authorities?

authorities you pay a fine... if your company catches you you lose your job?
Unless your the administrator of your network and your co-workers and bosses are IT idiots. My fren who is working in the IT department of a bank in malaysia torrents 24/7 on his company line, and his bosses are none the wiser, as long as they have access to their e-mail they dont complain.

Like in southpark, its ok if you dont get caught. Plus he encrypts his entire hard disk as well as the files which he downloads with 256 bit encryption. Good luck for malaysian authorities to crack that in their lifetime.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 26 2010, 08:18 AM
crapp0
post Mar 26 2010, 08:35 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Mar 26 2010, 08:23 AM)
walao which bank is that.... tell me...
Maybank no less brows.gif
crapp0
post Mar 26 2010, 11:20 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Mar 26 2010, 09:01 AM)
Who say SG download will get caught?

They are so many ppl download these days.

My fren which is a Singaporean has been downloading since he was 18 until now, 27.. nothing happen just like we download in Malaysia.
Me every night sure download 1.5GB blueray porn before going to bed.

If download cannot, I sure watch PPS stream oso must get caught.
So your the one sucking the bandwidth and making night time net surfing a nightmare mad.gif

Not seeding is opposite of the torrenting mantra which is "sharing is caring".

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 26 2010, 11:23 AM
crapp0
post Mar 26 2010, 11:30 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Mar 26 2010, 11:24 AM)
Haha, but I download not using torrent, I use Rapidshare..  rclxms.gif
If your always online, instead of downloading music which can be questionable from a torrent site, why not stream the music.

I use Grooveshark to listen to most songs, the quality is fantastic and they have a large variety of music, even foreign ones.
crapp0
post Mar 29 2010, 04:50 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Mar 29 2010, 03:39 PM)
Yeah, MCA will lead Malaysia into "Strengthening" phase.
With CSL as a major race political leader, malaysia might as well woo tiger woods to join mm2h.

But i guess the "delegates" had to choose the lesser of 2 evils. You choose a sex addict to be your political leader, one wonders why clinton never even thought of going back into the presidential race.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 29 2010, 04:51 PM
crapp0
post Apr 2 2010, 10:59 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Apr 2 2010, 10:47 PM)
Half of the Singapore cars come to jb hold malaysian passports lol, so it dont matter which national holiday.  Even during normal days it takes me about 1.5 hrs from the causeway back to home in JB and it really makes me wonder sometimes if taking bus is faster than car.
Anything is faster then using a motocycle. have you seen the lines?

I know a fella who wakes up 6pm everyday to goto work from jb to singapore using a motorcycle and reaches office around 8pm.
crapp0
post Apr 4 2010, 06:50 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Jin@jinn @ Apr 4 2010, 06:49 PM)
Hi,  Anyone has a Master Bedroom to rent at Pasir Ris? Need your help!!
one fella or otherwise?
crapp0
post Apr 5 2010, 08:44 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 4 2010, 06:58 PM)
Tourist or student visa.
What about the legal ones? I believe the illegal ones are either tourist or students visa. If get caught, sure the students who moonlight as whores kena sent back, unless they offer their services to the immigration staff.

Added on April 5, 2010, 8:46 am
QUOTE(Jin@jinn @ Apr 4 2010, 07:17 PM)
Couple here E pass n S pass! Thanks!!
sorry, the room for only 1 fella. Not couple.

Added on April 5, 2010, 8:49 am
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 4 2010, 11:11 PM)
I'd better go Geyland and CHinatown a bit more often.
If you goto geylang, you would be labelled a OKT. Until now i still dont know what the OKT abbreviation means, if i not mistaken its for old sleazy uncles.

Nowadays the younger crowd prefer to go through the net since it offers them discretion on their seedy activities. Plus its very convenient whereby the girl will provide the guy the time and venue as long as you bring the cash. My boss son has used this online service.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Apr 5 2010, 08:49 AM
crapp0
post Apr 5 2010, 06:48 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Apr 5 2010, 05:47 PM)
haha dont be conned by the reviews given by those fellows in SB forum. The pictures they have there are damn hot, but real person its not that great lol .
Very true. All of the pics gone through photoshop, just think of the same girl, bumped down a few notches.
crapp0
post Apr 5 2010, 09:24 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Apr 5 2010, 07:15 PM)
OKT - Or Kui taw? I think so...
Old kuay teow?

lipas seems very knowledgeable in the singapore sex lingo.

The hdb was almost sold. Was talking with my external auditor on this and he thinks house prices are just simply ridiculous and out of control. He's planning to retire in malaysia, too bad the minimum value that a he can buy in malaysia is now half a million ringgit, up from 250K.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Apr 5 2010, 09:27 PM
crapp0
post Apr 6 2010, 08:09 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 5 2010, 11:11 PM)
utility room? is that the store room in most HDB? can fit a mattress + cupboard meh? i think after put mattress + cupboard u cant walk at all inside.
Yup, near to 400 just for a slightly oversize cupboard space.

Added on April 6, 2010, 8:13 am
QUOTE(Argiope @ Apr 6 2010, 03:33 AM)
What are the differences of a Utility room and a Common room? Are these the only 2 types of rooms for rent in SG?
No, the other one in a hdb is the master bedroom which comes with attached toilet.

I notice some landlords are rather quirky like telling tenants that they will come and clean your room for you uninvited so theres no such thing as privacy. Thats why im looking for a co-opt place rather then have to rent a place from a landlords house coz some of their stipulations border on asinine.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Apr 6 2010, 08:13 AM
crapp0
post Apr 6 2010, 08:47 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 6 2010, 08:39 AM)
what's wrong with landlord cleaning ur room for you?. i think it is good that they are willing to clean it for u. Just make sure u lock ur room when u are inside ur room naked la. who ask u dun lock ur room when u are at home tongue.gif
I prefer to clean the room myself and i really dont like other ppl, especially the landlord to come in unannounced, who knows what he/she maybe doing in my room. I believe that the landlord "a guy" or some other is particular about the cleanliness of the room. The odd thing is he kept on insisting to clean the room himself when naturally, the tenant is supposed to look after the cleanliness of the room he/she is residing.

I once went to another place when scouting around for a room and the landlord told me the last tenant was a china man and the landlord mentioned to me that the china man likes to sleep naked. Once i heard that i was out of that place.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Apr 6 2010, 08:48 AM
crapp0
post Apr 6 2010, 09:03 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Apr 6 2010, 08:57 AM)
lol... you scared you will be molest by the landlord or tenant? lol  laugh.gif

what if, the tenant/land lady is a young lady in early or mid 30, beautiful,. single, and has a hit on you, will you consider?  brows.gif
I just dont like people going into the room since thats an invasion of my privacy, plus i am worried they may take things.

If my landlord is beautiful and hit on me, then thats a diff story, but then again thats just your fantasy. Reality is much more grim.
crapp0
post Apr 6 2010, 10:16 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Apr 6 2010, 10:08 AM)
some people here very 'k poh" they many clean your room but leaving a hidden camera. So for female better clean your own room.

K about HDB, correct me is I am wrong.

3 room HDB, 4 room HDB : the room number here include the living room. so there is actually left with 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom
5 room HDB = For one of the common design, it is one living room, one dining area (room?) and 3 bedroom.

The GOV have law to limit how many people can stay in a particular HDB type. So if you see your 3 room flat have 10+ people staying then you can report to HDB if you want to.

Master room : common room + a small toilet
common room : just a normal room where you can touch the ceiling if you are a tall guys.
store room: old design -- width is about our normal door can not stay.
                  new design -- it is build like a bunker. larger than normal store room, have steel wall and ventilation hole. This is like your panic room
                                       during war or emergency.
maid room: some condo have this small small area (I don't call it a room) for maid, near kitchen or toilet and usually a pull down bed with no window.

Utility room: normaly before a general election, some HDB got offer to pay some money to have extra small room build as an extention to their HDB. If you are PR owning that HDB hoho.. you're in big trouble as you have to pay a good 5 figure cost over low 4 figure cost for singaporean. The size of the room is about 2 single bed + a little walking path, have window and usually windy. Build at the back of HDB (near kitchen and toilet). If you are renting this room better make sure you are ok with the cooking fume(if any). If you are on low floor, you will know when the cleaner will come to collect garbage.. by the smell.
Wow, your common rooms height is quite short if you can touch the ceiling without jumping.

Does the limit extend to private housing like condos? Coz i know a fella who rented out a condo to around 20+ ah tiongs.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Apr 6 2010, 10:19 AM
crapp0
post Apr 6 2010, 11:56 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Apr 6 2010, 10:27 AM)
I can't but I have friends above 1.8m.  Ok, some HDB have removation work on the seiling, so still possible to reach for a tall guy. Well I should say no one use those ceiling fan we have in malaysia  tongue.gif 
It is HDB rules, unless your condos build by HDB. Condo have their management commitee, go to them.

More likely the neighbours would complain about the amount of people, the noise and the smell coming from their ah tiong neighbours.
crapp0
post Apr 6 2010, 01:30 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 6 2010, 12:42 PM)
my room is using those ceiling fan wor~~~ and even i take my hand up, still won't touch the fan (I am 176cm). the ceiling fan u are referring to is this type right? and my room's ceiling is plastered as well. so a plastered ceiling will make it lower than usual.

I am staying in a 4+1 room HDB flat  biggrin.gif

Added on April 6, 2010, 12:43 pm

cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  i only will get my salary next week and need to convert to RM to settle my CC in Malaysia... Pleaseee dun drop anymore.....
U use a malaysian cc in singapore?
crapp0
post Apr 6 2010, 09:34 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Apr 6 2010, 08:40 PM)
once you have a salary review and reach 2.5k and at the same time if you're PR, Ting! you're entitle to it.
You can bypass this prob with a debit card. I found theres little diff in terms of the actual usage of a debit card as opposed to using a cc. Just that with a debit card, your money is directly deducted from the bank account rather then you getting the cc bill and paying it.

I still have my debit card and i usually use it over my cc.

Most of my overseas online purchases are done with my debit card and i have yet to encounter a prob with it.
crapp0
post Apr 7 2010, 02:55 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Apr 7 2010, 02:04 PM)
I do not have any card with me now so i seriously consider to get one of it, as it seem helpful smile.gif
I rarely make local payments with cc or debit card unless its overseas transactions. Usually i have enough cash on hand or i just goto the ATM to buy what i need. On the other hand i do use nets quite alot since its convenient in most places. The cards are there to get on some promotions.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Apr 7 2010, 02:56 PM
crapp0
post Apr 8 2010, 08:39 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Apr 8 2010, 07:07 AM)
When the medical report come out with a big HIV POSITIVE

and you can kiss byebye to your job offer as well as your future...
On the off chance that you get a false positive, then how?

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:55 AM