15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

crapp0
post Mar 2 2010, 02:33 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 2 2010, 01:35 PM)
that is why i said, i am dam pissed when the last forumer i recommended ffk for the interview cause i write a glowing review for her.
can't fully blame it o her as i am too tempted for the referral fees last time. So from now onwards, I am not going to recommend anyone unless i know that person very well.
You dont even know the fella very well and you give a "glowing" review?
crapp0
post Mar 2 2010, 03:16 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 2 2010, 03:07 PM)
I think its no harm trying to help someone.
Help is help. But telling that someone is good when you dont know much about a person is unwise, i would only recommend a person in writing if i know the fella.
crapp0
post Mar 4 2010, 07:19 PM

4,414 posts

If i not mistaken if you earn less then 20k a year you dont need to pay income tax. Anything above that is rated according to how much your earning.
crapp0
post Mar 4 2010, 10:39 PM

4,414 posts

Does anybody know which area has a hight property market rate, pasir ris or tampines for an executive 3+1 hdb?

Around 500k?

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 4 2010, 10:39 PM
crapp0
post Mar 5 2010, 07:54 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 5 2010, 07:41 AM)
So, Singapore is tax free for EP holders?
Oddly enough my younger bro who has an ep and meets the income tax requirement hasnt received a letter for over 2 years now.

Added on March 5, 2010, 7:54 am
QUOTE(SPS @ Mar 4 2010, 11:01 PM)
For sale or rental?

Pasir ris and tampines are certainly not districts with either high rental rates or sale prices by Singapore standards.

Districts 9, 10 and 11 are the prime areas in Singapore.
For sale.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 5 2010, 07:54 AM
crapp0
post Mar 5 2010, 09:44 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Mar 5 2010, 08:46 AM)
Crapp0,

Maybe the company taht he is working in has not submit on his behalf. Anyways, not to worry, the IRAS will surely track him down.

S, EP, WP holders have to pay tax if the requirements are met. >183 days, gross >$20k (I think).
Its been more then 2 years and they havent sent him anything. So i doubt that the singapore gov will track him down anytime soon since they would have after the first year of his employment. Plus if he leaves now, he can escape paying tax since they never requested him to file his income tax.
crapp0
post Mar 5 2010, 10:42 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Mar 5 2010, 10:25 AM)
Yup, if he leaves now, then he wont be tax. But if you plan to buy a house in Msia and you have no IRAS statement to support your loan application, chances are the loan might not be approved.
You need singapores tax info to buy a house in malaysia? Doesnt that sound ridiculous?

If he quits singapore and finds a job in malaysia then whats the prob?
crapp0
post Mar 5 2010, 11:07 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Mar 5 2010, 11:02 AM)
That is just my experience, providing IRAS statement would definitely strengthen your loan application. Cause initially I couldnt find my IRAS statement so wanted to email them my payslip, but the banker insist to have my IRAS, cause I am applying for a loan >RM500k. Maybe the banker just wanna play safe cause I am working in Sg and not locally. One of their procedures to prevent fraudulent lender I guess (though u can argue that the IRAS sttaement can be fake).
If he goes back to Msia, no problem la. Whats the problem?
Well, my 2nd question was more directed to the scenario where. If he leaves singapore without paying the income tax and gets a job in malaysia, then it should be no prob to get a loan, as opposed to what you mentioned where if he wanted a loan but was working in singapore, then he would need to furnish the IRAS statement.

For conscious reasons i wouldnt want 2 pay taxes in malaysia since i know its going to some blackhole where nothing good comes out of it, or someone undesirable will take a big chunk of my tax money.

Maybe thats why so many ppl cheat on their taxes. Either that or they know that paying taxes to the gov is a waste of public funds.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 5 2010, 11:09 AM
crapp0
post Mar 5 2010, 11:19 AM

4,414 posts

So i am to assume that location is the prime factor for pricing, followed by unit type? Is punggol something like pasir ris or tampines which has a very suburban atmosphere. Compared to congested high rise areas like ang mo kio or to toa payoh.
crapp0
post Mar 5 2010, 11:39 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Mar 5 2010, 11:33 AM)
Location is the prime consideration for a property's price tag in any part of the world and not just in Singapore.

Are you looking to buy a HDB resale flat?

Punggol is considered far-flung by Singapore standards and have relatively fewer amenities compared with the likes of bishan or ang mo kio.  Why don't you visit Punggol and see for yourself? 

Obviously, properties in AMK and Tao Payoh fetch much higher prices compared to Punggol.
Bishan is still ok but i find ang mo kio a congested area and feels very cramped up.
I stayed in yishun and i like to over there since theres a park nearby and obviously its less crowded compared to ang mo kio.
crapp0
post Mar 5 2010, 03:03 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Mar 5 2010, 01:08 PM)
Yishun is not a favored property spot as it's further from the CBD and downtown areas hence it's lower property values.  Also, Yishun has a higher percentage of blue collar workers staying there and this also does not add to the perceived value of the housing prices there. 

AMK has a slew of schools, proximity to Orchard Road (only 13 mins by train and plenty of buses), amenities (AMK Hub, market, etc) and a large park.
All of singapore is interconnected, what with the number and frequency of busses, not to mention the MRT for faster travel compared to the bus. That means woodlands pricing should be lower since its mostly foreigners and blue collar workers working there. Which would be a perceived drop in value of housing prices, i guest racial and social status does influence housing prices. This speaks answers quite alot of questions about singaporeans though.
crapp0
post Mar 6 2010, 11:44 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Mar 6 2010, 10:53 AM)
yeah, i just feel lucky that i found a job here, although is not the job tat i want, but then, i rather work there till i obtain PR status before i move to other company
The only reason for any foreigner to get a PR in singapore is to enable he/she to jump ship more easily.

For those who asked their company to apply PR on the employees behalf, they sure are pretty pissed when after helping their worker to apply for PR status, the letter of resignation is soon to follow.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 6 2010, 11:46 AM
crapp0
post Mar 6 2010, 08:36 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 6 2010, 07:18 PM)
Good luck getting a work permit to "make the best of your free time" in the current "citizens first" environment.
There will always be a place for the "foreigner" in singapore. I would suggest you get external certs like ccna or microsoft certs since every organization uses one or another windows platform. But ultimately it depends on which route you want 2 take since computer science is general as compared to web development, programming or networking.

Anybody else checked the stomp site where theres a video of a girl taunting her ex with her new c-cups? I suspect that video is just a viral vid for boos enhancing pills.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 6 2010, 08:42 PM
crapp0
post Mar 7 2010, 09:30 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(NymX @ Mar 7 2010, 09:25 AM)
To those of you that is working in SG, hows the lifestyle like? I've had people that told me its dead boring cuz its small, it has little to no pretty girls etc lol biggrin.gif. What do you think?
If he working in engineering firm. Confirm no pretty girls.

You want pretty girls, get a job in geylang. Or a bank.
crapp0
post Mar 7 2010, 02:49 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Mar 7 2010, 02:21 PM)
Different people has different kind of view regards how to define a pretty girl smile.gif

As for me, i saw a young lady, probably between 18-20 years old, accent, sound like a malaysian, definitely, working in SG,not student. The overall how she dress herself definitely show she's young... the point is, she's pretty, got a beautiful smile and voice! gosh, too bad, i doesn't have the courage to speak to her in the MRT that time.. btw, i know "might" be staying in Ang Mo Kio... because she stop at the ang mo kio station with her friend...
Its hard to tell by accent if the fella is malaysian or singaporean. Coz whenever i talk to somebody, the fella always think i'm either singaporean or donno what, but they dont usually say i am from malaysia and im talking to them in english no less. The same goes for my younger bro who gets this as well with his colleagues.
crapp0
post Mar 8 2010, 04:20 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Mar 8 2010, 08:30 AM)
well let these ppl stay in Msia then... my take is simple..... they think MY is better than SG then let them stay in MY...   laugh.gif
I used to think SG as a place that is like... no nice food... no life... pressure cooker environment...

However after I start working in SG, i feel thankful and a bit pityful for the ppl in Msia...

Food? There's lots of nice restaurants at upper east coast road... I've still haven't tried all of them.. However Werner's OVen, the CheeseCake Shop stands out for me. Ang Mo Kio mee hoon crab soup stands out for me as well... And don't forget the pork ribs at Tony Romas!!

No life? You tell me one thing that's in MY that is not in SG. Okay probably the mamak that opens at night?  One thing i like about SG is the no smokiing thingy actually works at pubs/bars. I can enjoy nice band playing at the pubs (I recommend Timbre, Wala Wala, Balaclava - the band on friday night is good) without the smoke smell!! And these places aren't that expensive... if you don't convert that is...

People? This is perhaps the most plus thing about SG. However really depends from individual to individual ... for myself I feel that working and meeting people from around the world is somewhat one of the best things SG has to offer. By just talking to them I've learnt a lot. A lot as in their culture, the way they live and so on. I soon realise there's a very different life out there other than staying in a country like Msia.

Advice to all.. don't be narrow minded... even if you want to and like to stay in Msia... have a go at other countries (not only SG) for a few years and then go back... saving money is one thing however, the experience will be priceless.
Havent tried tony roma's ribs but ive tried their steaks and its ok. Value for money steaks i would goto botak jones, they have steaks that are priced reasonably. Tried the ribs at the newly opened TGI friday and australian outback steakhouse, the outback was better since TGI fridays ribs are coated with sickly sweet sauce like hoisin sauce. I actually prefer my ribs without the sweet sauce, more like dry rub.

Tried the angus steak house which ppl say is quite good. Its like a mix of japanese/european decor, one thing i can note the steak are extremely tender, almost melt in your mouth, the waygu steak i tried wasnt as good as i had expected compared to their normal steaks. Btw, if you get the course meal, its quite filling eventhough your steak is around 200-300gm.

Im still looking for a steakhouse which serves a real porterhouse steak.

Anybody here tried mortons which is said to have the best steaks in singapore. I'm planning to try it but its rather expensive at around 100++ per head for the steak alone.

Added on March 8, 2010, 4:24 pm
QUOTE(SPS @ Mar 8 2010, 01:56 PM)
What does my residence status have anything to do with my response to your baseless postings in this thread? But if it humours you, I have lived in Singapore for an extended period of time in the past and still have a fair bit of business dealings with Singapore based clients.  Heck, I even own assets in Singapore.

Boring place, etc are all stereotypical remarks that have been made ad nauseum in thread - there is no need for another such idiotic posting. 

Likewise, going along the your suggested vein, why are you posting crappy remarks in a thread when you are not working or residing in Singapore?

Is there a rule that states non-Singapore residents cannot post in a Working Life in Singapore thread? 

What I mock are your pathetic attempts at trolling with moronic remarks about the perceived plainess of Singapore women and the over-used "boring life in Singapore" nonsense.  The fact that you stated you had a relationship with a Singapore woman and have relatives in Singapore is a further slap on your own face when you can't even ascertain what is factual and what is hearsay about Singapore women and the Singapore lifestyle.

Added on March 8, 2010, 1:58 pm
Yah, for someone who claims to know people from Singapore, he sure can come out with a piece of thrash like Singapore is a boring place and try to excuse that by claiming it's from a friend.

Classic trollish behavior.

Take this to PM if you wish to.
Well, your credibility on a country and its affairs are usually intertwined with fact that you actually stay at that particular place. So providing info about an area that you dont live or stayed b4 make you as credible as asking a mexican about the property prospect in siberia.

Added on March 8, 2010, 4:28 pm
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 8 2010, 04:19 PM)
but SG ticket sold till 7788 already, i wanna watch the concert again in SG coz according to China Press, they will expose more in other country and their shirts is a bit edited version de to comply the malaysian govmen, I see the Taiwan stage is even better, but the concert ticket can only be bought at Taiwan it self  cry.gif  cry.gif , or else i sure fly to Taiwan watch tongue.gif
Dont they have the "welcome to taiwan" advertisement for this year? One could score on a good deal on travel packages. If say i and a fren would like to backpack to taiwan, since the medium there is chinese, would there be any problems with language, say like japan, france or italy where the locals dont like to or dont know english?

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 8 2010, 04:28 PM
crapp0
post Mar 8 2010, 08:49 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(J(o)y @ Mar 8 2010, 08:39 PM)
Serious!!!    drool.gif

Added on March 8, 2010, 8:42 pm

U wana watch SHE or their shirts, huh?

Btw, should u go to male singer's concert to watch more chicks?  Normally female singer's fans are male, and vice versa right?
Hebe's the guy right?

Looks like its that time in the year where the Buddhist start polluting the air with their burning offerings.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 8 2010, 08:54 PM
crapp0
post Mar 8 2010, 09:04 PM

4,414 posts

Nobody clean up the area? Go and complain to your local municipal that the cleaners in the area arent doing their job.

Its every morning izit or only on weekends coz most indian/bangla workers are too dead tired to eat outside unless its their day off.
crapp0
post Mar 9 2010, 08:45 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Mar 8 2010, 10:56 PM)
Speaking of concert, I've attended a metal gig here in Singapore, but the crowd is less than 100 person and mostly teenager. I guess Singaporean only listen to mainstream music, or what is being played in the fm. lol
Hmm, metal not so popular anymore. Why dont you hear aquabats "I fell asleep on my arm", its a parody of other bands, most notably limp bizkit and korns freak on a leash.

Singapore here still same like malaysia in terms of music preference, they go for mainstream stuff like top 10 hits from the radio/mtv or the standard taiwanese chinese factory pumped artist like S.H.E, jolin kanasai and fish leong. At least da mouth and FIR is abit refreshing since they dont always go for the soft melody. But then again, im more of an alternative rock guy, still listening to good old smashing pumpkins, garbage and beastie boys.

I cant relate to the korean "nobody but me" song which i cant get it.
crapp0
post Mar 9 2010, 11:36 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Mar 9 2010, 11:33 AM)
anyone going to the Jam Hsiao concert this saturday ?  biggrin.gif
I still waiting for jamiroquai concert in singapore, he did come to malaysia during F1 but i was busy so couldnt attend.

Added on March 9, 2010, 11:38 am
QUOTE(skon9 @ Mar 9 2010, 11:34 AM)
Sometimes, I really admire those work in Singapore.. Why? Because of their earning, see how they spend when they come back to Malaysia.. wub.gif
They spend alot? I come back usually just chill at house or goto fren place and chill. I also dont do shopping coz singapore has better variety.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 9 2010, 11:38 AM

15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:29 PM