Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

Mackiddo
post Feb 19 2010, 12:16 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 19 2010, 12:09 PM)
With 1.5 years.. one can expect $2.5K to $2.8K for Malaysians and $2.8K to $3.2K for Singaporeas.
is there such a salary difference for different nationality ?
Mackiddo
post Feb 19 2010, 06:23 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 19 2010, 02:01 PM)
Nope. That's not always true. That's too much of a broad sweeping motherhood statement to make.
I couldn't have agree more. Sg is a country with a very transparent system, unlike our BolehLand.

Added on February 19, 2010, 6:24 pm
QUOTE(zenwell @ Feb 19 2010, 06:22 PM)
For Malaysians who don't have PR status in SG, do you still apply for jobs that states:  " only Singaporean or PR needs apply" ? I wonder how many can get job if most of the job requires Singaporean or PR?
why do you wanna apply for a job that have no opening for you ?

Added on February 19, 2010, 6:27 pm
QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 19 2010, 01:37 PM)
Yes, Singaporeans are always offered a higher salary by 20% - 25% compare to Malaysians and Indonesians.

Even PR salary is lower by 10% compared to Sporeans.
probably in 'chinaman' type of company.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 19 2010, 06:27 PM
Mackiddo
post Feb 20 2010, 09:12 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 20 2010, 12:24 AM)
The price of food is generally S$0.8:RM1. The price for everything else is S$0.4:RM1. The only exception is rental which is S$1:RM1.
best is still their electronics item like LCD TV .... branded 42" can easily goes under SGD$1k.
Mackiddo
post Feb 21 2010, 11:25 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(zom @ Feb 21 2010, 09:46 PM)
hi there would like to ask, do we need to submit the tax payment ourself? if so where can submit? thanks  smile.gif
depends on your company. if u have to submit individually you could do it online at www.iras.gov.sg ...
Mackiddo
post Feb 22 2010, 09:42 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

Foreign workers levy confirmed going up ! New Budget revealed.
Mackiddo
post Feb 24 2010, 11:47 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Feb 24 2010, 11:09 AM)
when is the date of budget revealed singapore?
Monday, 2 days ago. Budget not so favorable for foreign workers, levy is up.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 24 2010, 11:49 AM
Mackiddo
post Mar 6 2010, 10:47 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 6 2010, 03:46 AM)
i m from yew tee too ^^  rclxms.gif
hey me too... i'm in yew tee rclxm9.gif

Added on March 6, 2010, 10:51 am
QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Mar 5 2010, 05:26 PM)
if u are interested to work in Singapore, it is better that u come to Singapore and search for a job rather relying on online resources. Recently, Singapore just Increase the levy prices causing the company need to pay more just to hired foreigner. So it us getting tougher just to find a job in Singapore.

not only that, expected room rentals to be going up also since now the Gov set a max loan of only 80% for buying HDB resale flat from previous 90%. Not many ppl can come out that kinda amount, so a lot of ppl will rent.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 6 2010, 10:51 AM
Mackiddo
post Mar 7 2010, 07:00 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Mar 6 2010, 10:02 PM)
no la.. for the meal, i spend around 10$ per day. my work place got cafeteria and the food there is cheap, 2 meat 1 vege only cost 3.2$ and the drink cost only 1$. then at night my place there selling economy rice only 3$ also... lol, for breakfast, i only need a tea peng.

my rental le, is 380$ and not sharing with others. got internet, and include electric and water. staying at bukit gombak, currently working at jurong island.
my workplace 2 meat + 1 vege only $2.70 smile.gif ... 1 meat + 2 vege $2.20 ..., so yours is not cheap
Mackiddo
post Mar 8 2010, 01:22 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 8 2010, 12:40 PM)
Just went for the SHE concert in KL, feeling like going again for the 1 in SG, the concert was superb. anyone have any lubang to get ticket that got a good place to view?
i thought sistic website give you the whole layout of the seatings ?
Mackiddo
post Mar 8 2010, 06:17 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Mar 8 2010, 04:04 PM)
Not worth going for Malaysia concert. I rather go for SG concert, much more comfortable.
In Malaysia, I paid RM400+ near to RM500 ticket for Jay Chou, yet I still need to sit on the field and just give us a plastic chair, leg damn itchy. Yes. Distance are damn freaking far away. What's the point?  doh.gif

In SG? You paid S$100+ you can sit the 1st few row already.
quite true, concert tickets are slightly cheaper in Sg compare to My, after conversion. And you could actually select your siting from the comfort of your home.
Mackiddo
post Mar 12 2010, 01:55 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(yokatasan @ Mar 11 2010, 12:50 PM)
that means once i entry sg, den i need to pay $20-30?
how about petrol? can i enter sg with full tank petrol?
and where do you plan to park your car for the 5 days ? just curious .

Added on March 12, 2010, 1:58 am
QUOTE(Dark NT @ Mar 11 2010, 08:53 AM)
Thanks..
I will reword my question to : is PR children discriminated or treated differently , by other kids or teachers? ( i am sure not by the government, but at the kids/teacher level, u never know)
nope. no such thing, at least not at my kids primary school.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 12 2010, 01:58 AM
Mackiddo
post Mar 12 2010, 11:31 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(5tar5cr3am @ Mar 12 2010, 11:27 AM)

Is it going back and forth by CAR? I`m planning by MOTORBIKE
whats the life when going by motorbike?
bike is even worst than car. have you check out the rush hour jam ?
Mackiddo
post Mar 12 2010, 11:34 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(5tar5cr3am @ Mar 12 2010, 10:45 AM)
Hai to all,
I would be graduating this coming MAY 2010. and plan to be employed in Singapore. many factors interest me  icon_rolleyes.gif
How and where do I go? I`m a fresh graduate in

DIPLOMA IN ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (COMMUNICATION) from UNIVERSITI TEKNOLOGI MALAYSIA  

I would like to receive some direction in a step by step manner, as I`m very new. I do have a passport already. BUT i don`t know if its applicable to use it, since I only use passport for travelling purpose.

If get a job in singapore, I would like to stay in Johor cause of the currency power which is cheaper for living standards here in Johor.
HOW DOES THE DAILY LIVE OF PEOPLE WHO WORK IN SINGAPORE AND STAY IN JOHOR. PLEASE SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE. TIME MANAGMENT IS ALSO APPRECIATED    notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Thank in advance, and have a nice day  biggrin.gif
probably you should brush up on your English 1st. took me a few attempts to fully understand your post.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 12 2010, 11:35 AM
Mackiddo
post Mar 12 2010, 11:40 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 12 2010, 11:33 AM)
And you have to really love carbon monoxide to do the bike thing. It's terrible... they get herded like cattle at JB and Woodlands.
another alternative is to use the 2nd link if your work place is near Tuas, jam is still terrible but minus the carbon monoxide poisoning coz the area there is more spacious.
Mackiddo
post Mar 12 2010, 11:54 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 12 2010, 11:46 AM)
Not worth staying in JB if u ask me. to bring the bike into Singapore, u need to pay $4 daily. that makes up $88 a month assume that u work 22 days a month. what about the petrol? i would rather pay around $100 more to save the time and most importantly. Johor is not a very safe place to live in (my personal opinion), no offense to johorean.
you haven't factor in the food, rental and transport cost. A room in JB cost around rm400 (sgd166) and normal day to day food there is almost 50% cheaper. Probably his $88 + petrol $ per month is equal or less that your mrt/bus/taxi fares. I noticed quite a number of them using Sg registered bike, so no need for $4 VEP.

I do agreed with you on the safety part. I always take extra precaution when I drive to JB as compare to when I'm in Sg.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 12 2010, 11:55 AM
Mackiddo
post Mar 24 2010, 08:20 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(-SaSa- @ Mar 24 2010, 07:30 PM)
Dear all,

I'd just wanted to ask, if any of you happens to know what is the budget range for rental (w/o utilities) for a common room in Clementi HDB area?

Helps are appreciated, thanks a lot  notworthy.gif
Clementi is a 'hot' area. Around sgd400-500 ?

Added on March 24, 2010, 8:25 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 24 2010, 08:36 AM)
Best Japanese food I've had is at Kuriya. First time I've ever had fugu. It's not cheap though, so it's best if the company's paying for it.

Kuriya Penthouse, Orchard Central
for me the best still Shima at Good Wood Park Hotel. smile.gif definitely not cheap, a sashimi meal for 2 could easily come out to SGD$300

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 24 2010, 08:26 PM
Mackiddo
post Mar 25 2010, 04:57 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 25 2010, 12:55 AM)
1300. AMK.
enough for me to service the bank loan for my HDB apartment every month with that kinda amount smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 25 2010, 04:58 AM
Mackiddo
post Mar 25 2010, 09:39 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 25 2010, 09:23 AM)
Whole flat Apartment lah, not house. House is landed property.

biggrin.gif ..sounds nicer

Added on March 25, 2010, 9:43 am
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 25 2010, 08:58 AM)
2 room HDB = whole house la  sad.gif
why u didn't get to buy HDB? i tot all PR is elligible to buy used/2nd hand resale HDB flats rite?
This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 25 2010, 09:43 AM
Mackiddo
post Mar 25 2010, 06:09 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 25 2010, 12:09 PM)
not worth buying a car in SG la, u dun really need it and the island is so small, drive a bike will do if really need own transport. rather save more money for their properties.
not really. sometimes having a car is more convenience. Heck, with the COE skyrocket i might be able to break even selling my 2 years old car in a couple of months if the trend continues.
Mackiddo
post Mar 26 2010, 07:56 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Mar 25 2010, 08:07 PM)
Erm..is it SG can use "xunlei" to download movie?
because i heard that there are possibility will get caught o?
is it true?
in SG, you WILL get caught. it's just a matter of when and if they wanna take any action. So better stay off any illegal downloads, especially mp3 and movies.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 26 2010, 07:56 AM

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0634sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:43 PM